你會知道更多 (尤牧師)

經文﹕約翰福音167-13 2006123

 

引言﹕1導遊觀光﹕一位旅客這樣說﹕不久前我去倫敦旅行,我參加一個導旅雙層 車,在倫敦的觀光團,我們乘坐一輛開蓬的旅遊雙層車,在倫敦的街道上足足 逛了兩小時。隨車的導遊詳細地告訴我們許多名勝古跡,它們的歷史,有什麼 特別的重要性。其實我早兩天都走過那些街道,也見過那些建築物,卻一點也 沒有注意到它們有什麼意義。導遊提及英國著名的尼爾遜公爵故居,沙士比亞 的書房,還有首航沉沒的鐵達尼號豪華游船公司辦事處的舊址(這是我加上去 的,現址是一個著名的德州牛排餐館)。這次舊地重遊,竟然完全不同。

2你會知道更多﹕你去外地旅遊,不論是一個城市或是一個國家,手裏拿著地 圖,毫無目的地到處亂跑,你會看到許多東西,山,水,農村,國家公圖,城 市的許多建築物,但你無法知道它們的來歷,意義,價值。一直到有一位資格 老練的導遊,或是一位當地原住民向你解擇,你會恍然大悟,原來你所看見 的,到過的地方是那麼重要,那麼富有歷史價值,是你從來不知道的。人對認 識神,認識聖經也是如此,你若自己去摸索,知道的不多,直到有經驗的人告 訴你,你就會知道得更多。

盡量尋找能幫助你的﹕假如你想學好對某一個問題的答案或是對某一行業的認識,你必須找最好的幫助。你若只是無師自通,你不會學到最好的結果。如果你真的有心尋求認識神,了解聖經,試用下列幾個建議;

1第一: 強烈的追求心態﹕一個人不論想學什麼,如果是三心兩意,不會學得 好,這原則也應用在追求認識神上面。你追求心志越強烈,你就會學得更多, 更有成就。有些人說因為他們對神認識不夠,所以不能胡里胡塗地信。聽起來 好像有點道理,其實是他們自己的錯失,你不肯專心去看,去知,去學,那來 有足夠的認識?這種可有可沒有的心態就像人去逛公司,根本沒有心想買什麼 東西,只是隨便東看看西看看,根本就沒有意思花錢,又想人沒心看書,只是 到書店順翻翻,你當然不會知道書中說的是什麼,你沒有辦法詳論這本是好還 是不好。一般情形是這樣,凡是你認為重要的事,你必會花時間去知道,認 識,世上沒有任何別的事比認識神更重要,你應有強烈追求認識的心志。

2讓聖靈自由在你內心工作﹕認識聖經,認識神,不像認識數學或物理。正如 耶穌對撒瑪利亞女人所說的﹕神是個靈,人無法單用人的理性去認識屬靈的 神,耶穌又說﹕等聖靈來了,他會引導你們進入(明白)真理。(約16 13)任何真心尋求認識神的人,必須肯放下自己的驕傲,屬人性的觀點,去讓 聖靈在他心中有活動空間,引導你向正確的方向,途徑,接受聖經的真理,放 下屬人意有限的理性知識,將心門向聖靈打開,你必會明白真理的意義。當一 個人固執用人的一點學問,知識的時候,他就是拒絕聖靈的工作,這個人就不 可能會真正認識神,當然也不會相信

3你需要個好響導﹕記得去倫敦旅遊嗎?你自己去逛和經過導旅指點的不同 嗎?認識神也是一樣。如果你真心想認識神,可以請教一些已經深深認識神的 人,他們的經歷可以給你指出方向,使你認識神是你從前從來未認識的。如果 你知道認識神是一條認識真理的路,有一位有經驗的人給你指點,幫助你解決 疑難,肯定事半功倍,大有成功。

4你也需要一個好教會﹕在教會前面加個字,是因為今天有不少名為教會 卻是不好的教會,甚至有些不信聖經的宗教團體也自稱為教會。所以選擇教會 時要當心。據統計,大部份人認識神,信耶穌,都是通過教會的活動而信的。 歷來,教會是傳廣福音見証,服務社會,照顧貧窮無助,醫治人的心靈和肉 體,教會和教會團體領了千千萬萬人信主。如果你真心尋求認識神,你要到一 間篤信聖經,遵行聖經的教會,參加崇拜,主日學,查經班,交朋友,認識那 些在教會熱心學習和事奉的人,從他們身上,你可以看到信耶穌是什麼一回 事。教會是唯一受神指派領人認識神的地方。

為什麼這麼多人仍然不信?

1他們不覺得有需要﹕認識相信神是一件屬靈的事,那些一心只知道追求物質 和肉體生活的人,不認識他們有屬靈的需要。這是大多數人仍然不信神的最大 原因,這類人忽略了人有屬靈的一面,就算他們在物質和肉體上得到滿足時, 他們的心靈卻是空虛的,沒有意義的。耶穌在馬太1626就說﹕人若賺得全世 界,卻失了自己的靈魂,有什麼益處呢?人還能拿什麼去換取他的靈魂呢? 與動物之間最大的分別是人有靈魂,需要屬靈的供應和滿足。

2他們總是太忙﹕這是第二個許多人不信神的原因;太忙。這類人知道必須供 應靈魂的需要,就是為了供應肉體物質的需要而太忙了。這類人常常在心中有 掙扎,但總是被物質的追求勝過。他們常說﹕我現在實在太忙,等我生活好一 點後,賺錢賺夠之後,孩子完成大學出去工作之後,我會試試尋求神。這種人 其實是將一個非常重要的事抹在一邊,以後再說好了,認識神不是他們目前最 重要的事。

3) 他們用錯誤的途徑﹕有些人一直不肯信耶穌,因為他們採用錯誤的方式途 徑。他們要求有人能夠解答他們心中有關神的一切疑問。你答了一個,他們有 第二個,你答了十個,他們還有另外十個疑問,永遠沒個完。不論是牧師或信 徒,我們給他的答案永遠不滿足,不夠。沒有人能回答他們的問題到他們完全 滿意,連神也作不到。這些人自以為有知識,相信神不是一件知識的事,這種 人永遠不會真心認識神,因為神不活在人的知識中,像物質一樣,神是萬物的 創造主,比世上萬物更高,更大。

4他們從來未聽過﹕世上有千千萬萬的人,不分種族學問,不分富貴貧窮,仍 然未曾聽過信耶穌得永生的美好信息。遠在天涯海角,近在我們居住的社會, 鄰居朋友,他們尚未知這位創造天地的主宰,有些是因為政治迫害,有些是因 為別宗教的限制難阻,又因為太多已得救的人,不盡本份去傳,只顧自己得 救,太少肯放下自己人生目標,肯為主出去傳道作見証,引領人歸向真神,耶 穌要我們到普天之下去作見証,使萬人作他門徒。你可以從自己家人開始,擴 大到工作地方,學校,鄰居,親戚朋友,將你自己信主的經歷告訴他們,也讓 他們得永生的喜樂。

你可以幫助他們知得更多﹕

1為你所有的引以為榮﹕大多數人對自己國家,城市的歷史,文化,持點,名 勝,出名人物都會引以為榮,他們會滔滔不絕地樂意告訴你許多故此事跡。基 督徒作見証也是一樣,如果你對信仰耶穌引以為榮,以教會所作的一切引以為 榮,你會樂意不斷告訴別人。信主的人應當時常為信仰,為耶穌,為教會自己 感覺得光彩興奮,就會樂意去告訴他人。如果你自己什麼感覺也沒有,就很難 有什麼可以去告訴別人。故此,你要自己追求不斷成長,有活力,衝勁,你就 會有許多美好的事去告訴別人, 看看摩門教徒雖然信的是錯的,但他們的熱心 值得我們效法。

2要肯熱心學習﹕俗語說﹕知識就是力量,一點也不錯,不管你作任何行 業,如果你對該行業有充份知識,你作起來就會得心應手,會更順利成功。向 人作見証也是一樣,為了要作更有效的見証,我們必須先在神的道上多學習, 多曾長,學習作見証的方法,如何接觸,如何表達,如何回答問題等,我們並 且要天天與主親近同行,你對這題目知得越多,會對所說的話更有把握。

3要肯熱心分享﹕大多數人都會為他所知道的引以為榮,但卻是膽怯地不敢向 別人分享。如果你永遠留在家裏,不肯與人分享你所有的,沒有人可以得到你 的好處,大部分人不知道怎樣開口,講話什麼,怕不會回答問題而自覺慚愧, 又有人怕與陌生人說話,又有人根本就不管別人下地獄。人人都知道練習會使 你作得更好,作見証也是一樣;開始大膽嘗試,你會越來越有自信心,會一次 比一次作得更好。你只要告訴別人你信主的經過,主如何使你人生產生改變, 沒有一個人生下來就會作見証,人人都經歷過一面作一面學的經歷。你既然學 過,就要去練習。

4要熱心出去﹕如果你整天呆在家裏,沒有遊客會知道你的城市多美,多有歷史意義,為主作見証也是一樣,你必須要肯出去,到人群中去,到朋友家中去,同學,同事,鄰居都是你的好對象。在大使命中,你們去是第一個吩咐,不肯去,就沒有人會作主的門徒。

結論﹕1如果你真心尋求﹕你必須找到一切能幫助你的,使你更清楚正確認識神。耶 穌說﹕你們尋找,就必尋見(馬太77

2為什麼你仍然不認識神?自己問自己這個問題,看看原因是什麼。其實神 天天在你心外叩門,你願意打開心門讓他進入嗎?

3你肯不肯幫忙?你當然可以,只要你向四週看看,多少失喪的靈魂,求神 給你勇氣和願意的心,去告訴別人你信主後的福份,使更多人蒙受你所得的福 份。

“YOU’LL KNOW BETTER”                                 By Pastor YAU

Text: John 16:7-13                                                   December 3, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   A guided tour:  A tourist has these to say, “While I was in London, I took my first sightseeing tour in an open-top double-deck bus. During the fascinating 2-hour ride, the tour-guide pointed out famous landmarks and their history. I was amazed to see things I had walked past the day before without noticing or knowing the meaning or importance of them. Stories about Lord Horatio Nelson, William Shakespeare and the old office of the shipping company of the ill-fated Titanic shed new lights and meaning of the city. (I add this last point. We also took that tour while we were in London in 2005. The Titanic old office is now a popular Texas steak house.)

2)   You may know better: You may take a trip to a new place, a country or a city, have a map in hand and wonder around for a couple of day and still don’t know much about the importance or the meaning of the places you have been. Until a professional tour-guide or an old timer of that place comes to your assistance and tells you story after story of the places, buildings, history and the significance of them to the local people, then you suddenly realize how fortunate you are to be there to know all about these and begin to appreciate the meaning of things you never know before. This is the same about getting to know God through His word, the Bible.

 

GET ALL THE HELP YOU CAN: If you want to learn the best of any thing, you need to get all the help you can. You won’t learn the best by “do-it-yourself” instruction. If you really want to know God in the Bible, here are some very useful help you need to know.

1)    It begins with a strong desire: No one can learn anything well with a half-hearted attitude. The stronger your desire is, the better you will learn and understand. This same principle applies in learning and knowing about God in the Bible. Too many people complain that they just don’t know God enough to believe Him and their problem is they never have that real desire to know Him. A casual attitude about getting to know God is like blousing through windows of shops or flipping through pages of books, you won’t really get to know what is on the inside by doing that. Usually the level of desire matches the level of importance we have in our mind. We all will try very hard or do our best to learn and to know something if we see it as important to us. There is nothing more important to your life than getting to know God.

2)    Allow His Spirit to work: Knowing God and the Bible is not the same as knowing math or physics. As Jesus pointed out to the Samaritan woman that God is a spirit, no one, on his own human ability, will truly know God or understand the Bible. It must be the work of the Holy Spirit as Jesus said, “But when the Spirit of truth comes, He will guide you into all truth.” (John 16:13) Anyone who is serious about getting to know God must allow the Spirit to work in his heart, to lead him to the right path, surrender his own pride and accept the truth in the Bible instead of his own knowledge. He needs to keep his heart open to spiritual insights even they are in direct contradiction of his worldly wisdom. When a man insists on his human pride and knowledge, he is resisting the work of the Spirit and there is no way he may truly know God and believe Him.

3)    You may need a good guide: Remember about taking that tour in London both by yourself and then with an experienced tour-guide and the difference it made? This is also true in getting to know God. If you are really serious about knowing God, ask someone who has personal experience and close relationship with Him. His personal knowledge about God may shed new light on the kind of God you never know before. If you see the way getting to know God is like a path of search the truth, it is always helpful to have someone who knows where to go and how to get there.

4)    You also need a good church: I add “good” before church because there are too many “no good” churches all around plus many other religious organizations called themselves “church” but never really churches in the biblical sense. Majority of people who had made decisions for Christ did so through the ministries of churches. The church has been instrumental in spreading the gospel message, in teaching the truth of the Bible, in reaching people for Christ and serving the needs of millions both physical and spiritual. If you are sincere in seeking to know God, go to a Bible believing church, sit in the worship services and Bible study classes, make friends with those who know and serve God and you will find out first hand what does it mean to know and believe God. The church is the only God appointed agency where you learn to know God.

 

WHY MANY STILL DON’T KNOW? No one knows all the reasons why so many people still don’t know about God and not believe in Him.

1)    They don’t feel the need: Knowing God is something spiritual and people who care only material and physical don’t feel they need to do that and this is by far the most common reason many people still don’t know God. These people neglect the spiritual side of their nature as human beings and will suffer loss in their heart feeling life is either empty or meaningless even if they make it to own the whole world. Jesus warned people like these in Matthew 16:26 when He said, “What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world yet forfeits his soul? What can a man give in exchange for his soul?” The difference between man and animals is man has a soul and he needs to meet the need of his soul as much as his body.

2)    They are too busy: This is the second common reason people don’t know God. These people do feel the need of taking care of their spiritual needs but are just too busy because of their physical needs. People in this category are in constant struggle but mostly put their physical needs over and above their spiritual needs. They will tell you they are too busy right now but will find time later to seek God when they have a better life, more money, after kids go to college or when their jobs are not as demanding. They just brush it aside and wait for the future to get better. Knowing and believing God is not on the top of their priority list.

3)    They take the wrong approach: Some of the people who still do not know God because that take the wrong approach: they want all their questions about God be answered to their satisfaction before they make that decision to seek God. The problem of these people is they never stop having more and more questions and they will never be completely satisfied with answers given by preachers or their Christian friends. No one, including God, can make them happy with answers to their never ending questions. They think they are so intellectual and seeking to know God is not in tune of their intellectual capacity. These people will never get to know God because God doesn’t live in intellectual world like matters. He is the creator of all matters and is beyond matters.

4)    They have never heard: There are millions and millions of people, intellectual or otherwise, in our community or on the other side of the planet earth who do not know God because they don’t know there is a true God, the Creator of the universe. These people do not have the opportunity to know God because of political and/or religious persecution. The other reason they never heard the gospel is because there are not enough Christians fervent or care enough to dedicate their lives to be messengers for Christ in bringing the salvation good news to these people. Jesus called us His witnesses to the utter most part of the world but so few are willing to answer His call. Start with your family and friends, people you know. Tell them about your experience with God and the joy of salvation.

 

YOU CAN HELP THEM KNOW BETTER:

1)   Be proud of what you have: Most of the local people will be happy to tell tourists about the history of their town and country, stories of important landmarks or famous people, special meaning of their food or culture when they feel proud of what they have. The same applies to Christian witnessing. If you are proud of your faith, your God, your church and your relationship with Jesus, you won’t wait till people ask but find opportunity to tell them. Christians need to feel proud and excited about our salvation experience and feeling can’t wait to tell others about that. If you don’t have much, you have little to tell. Grow your spiritual life and you will have so much to tell. Look at the Mormons: even though what they believe is so wrong but they are so excited and fervent to tell others.

2)   Be willing to learn: People believe that “knowledge is power” and there is good reason on that. When you have good knowledge on things you do, you are more confident in doing a good job. Same applies in telling people about God. We need to learn more about the Word of God, the techniques of sharing and witnessing, the proper approach and attitude in answering questions and walking close with the Lord everyday. The more you know your subject, the better you give the correct answer.

3)   Be dared to share:  Most people are proud of what they know but some are timid to share what they know. They are afraid of not knowing what to say, feel embarrassed when not able to answer a question, shy of talking to people or strangers or just don’t care if someone is going to be lost forever. We all know the importance of practice in doing things better, so, telling others about Christ and your personal experience is the same thing: be dared to start telling and tell more and you will do better each time you try. No one was born a natural witness. It is all about learning from doing. If you have learned, then you need to practice what you have learned.

4)   Be fervent to go: You can’t help a tourist to know about your town or country or share with someone about God if you stay home or inside the walls of your church all the time. You have to go to those who need your help. Reaching out is the key to make a difference in helping people to appreciate your country and culture or to know God and be saved. Begin with people close to you: your family, friends, classmates, coworkers or neighbors. In the Great commission, the key words are “go and tell.” No going, no telling.

CONCLUSION:

1)   If you are truly seeking: You need to get all the help you can get to know God if you are a true seeker. Jesus promised those who “seek and shall find.” (Matt. 7:7)

2)   Why you still don’t know God? Ask yourself this question and see if you have any problems or taking the wrong approach. God is knocking at the door of your heart. Are you willing to open?

3)   Can you help?  Yes, you can. Just look around you and see so many lost souls. Ask God to give you courage and willingness so you can tell someone about God and lead him/her to salvation and an abundant life.