生活的智慧 (8) 白发是尊荣

经文: 箴言 20:29

尤牧师

 

 

引言: 美国文化有不少地方使我好奇, 但有一样是我难以明白和接受的就是: 当有人过40岁生日时, 朋友们会送他黑白汽球和上面写着 开始走下坡了 的字眼. 40岁的人就被认为人生已过高峰, 前途暗淡, 再没多大用处了. 难怪有人说: 美国是小孩子的天堂, 中年人的战场, 老年人的坟墓. 但是圣经有不少跟上面看法相反的教训.

 

上面的经文是所罗门王所说的话. 他对人生不同阶段有较正确和中肯的认识. 他说: 强壮乃少年人的荣耀, 白发为老年人的尊荣. 他对各个不同年龄阶段的人都给予赞赏. 因为教会中各种不同年龄的人都有, 对年长者有正常的看法是很重要的. 这不只使教会团结合一, 也让各种不同年龄的人都有相同的机会参与和发展神国伟荣.

 

圣经对年岁有何教导?

(1)   人生有各个不同的年岁阶段, 而不同年岁的人都有特别的贡献. 年轻人强壮, 有力气, 年长者有经验. 两者都有尊荣, 都配得敬重. 因年龄的不同而轻视他人是违反圣经的教导的. 我们应当敬重不同年龄的人.

(2)   成长是智慧. 圣经记载不少伟人的故事, 当他们年轻时都作过错事. 旧约的亚伯拉罕, 雅各, 摩西, 大卫王和所罗门王, 以及新约的彼得和保罗都经历过年轻时的过错才到达成熟的年纪. 没有人可以不经过年岁的磨练而更成熟和更有用.

(3)   圣经有许多要我们 尊敬长辈 的教导. 例如, 我儿, 要听父亲的教训, 要服从你母亲的法则, 要尊敬年长的人等. 少年人要服从年长的.

 

人生的经历:

(1)   神的设计: 我们都会同意: 如果神要造人不会老, 他绝对可以作到. 但神并没有这么作. 神的智慧在造人时就给人会成长, 会老. 神不愿意人活在世上不老不死, 因为他已为我们预备了一个更美的地方, 可以与神永久同在. 神让我们经历: 婴儿, 少年, 青年, 成年和老年等阶段并各阶段独有的经历和挑战. 相信没有人会造人永远是婴孩, 不长大.

(2)   人生就象爬山: 你爬得越高, 你会看见的就更多. 我们称它为 经验, 没有别的方法可以代替经验. 当保罗还是年轻的使徒时, 因为马可在首次宣教旅程中半途而废很不满, 他拒绝马可参加第二次行程. 照理并不是错, 但到保罗年老时, 他却认为马可 在福音上对我有益. (提后4:11) 不经历时日, 你不会看到人生的底面.

(3)   人生又如旅程: 你从某一点开始人生, 没有人能保证你平安顺利, 事事亨通. 因此, 人奋力前进, 不断克服困难, 越过伤心岭, 渡过泪水河, 上高山, 下低谷, 最终你到达神为你一生计划的终点. 我们看到年老的人守住他们的信仰, 保住他们的婚姻, 养育他们的儿女成材. 但是在这一切成就背后, 他们经历过多少挫折, 伤痛, 是我们没看见的. 正如保罗在提后4:7 所说 那美好的仗我打过了, 当跑的路我跑尽了, 所信的道我守住了. 若不是他的毅力, 决心和不断的牺牲, 他不会到达这地步.

 

我们该如何对待年长者?

 

(1)   我们应当敬重他们: 他们的经历, 智慧和成就都值得我们敬佩. 没有前辈, 就没有后辈. 不管你有多少学问, 多高地位, 我们应当敬重那些比我们年长的人. 这是我们该有的态度.

(2)   我们应当虚心向他们学习请教: 年长的人经过的人生道路是我们未走过的. 我们若能虚心请教, 可以减少失跌, 错误. 罗波安王 (所罗门王的儿子) 因心中骄傲, 不肯接受年长者的劝诫, 就失去王国的四分之三并且带来的以色列人多年的战祸.

(3)   供应长者的需要: 物质的, 精神的和灵性的需要都重要. 神创造家庭和社会就是要人类可以彼此供应: 养育婴孩, 和供养老年人 (提前 5:8) 供养年老者是我们的责任和荣耀, 是神让我们学习爱心的环境. 我们更应注意领老人信主, 特别是自己的父母长辈, 这更是我们的使命.

 

结论: 我们天天都在 , 神让我们经历人生不同年岁的阶段是我们的福份. 让我们学习敬重年长的人, 以敬重和爱心待他们. 当神呼召亚伯拉罕去承受 应许之地 , 他已是75. 只要你的人生是按神的旨意而活, 你永不会 走下坡. ( 12:4)

“Wisdom of Living (8): Gray is Beautiful”           By Pastor Yau

Proverbs 20:29                                                   November 7, 2004

 

INTRODUCTION:  While there are things in the American culture trigger my curiosity, the custom of giving black balloons and birthday cakes with words like “OVER THE HILL” to people who reach age 40 is one of those things I find it hard to understand or appreciate. These 40-year-olds are deemed as people who are going downhill in their lives, future and usefulness. No wonder some people call America the paradise for the young, battlefield for the middle-age and gravesite for the old.  But the Bible has much to say in contrary to the American culture on being old.

       In the Scripture reference quoted above, King Solomon gave a more balance and wise statement on people who are in different stages of life. He said, “The glory of young men is their strength, gray hair the splendor of the old.”  He had given merits to both groups unique to their respective stage of life. Since there are people of all age groups in every church, a more balanced and biblically based outlook on older people is vitally important not just to maintain unity but to encourage involvement and service of all age groups for the furtherance of the Kingdom of the Lord.

 

TEACHINGS ON AGE IN THE BIBLE: 

1)   LIFE IN DIFFERENT STAGES: People in different age groups have their unique contribution: the young is in their physical strength while the older in their life experience and both deserve their glory or respect. To despise people base on their age is against the teaching of the Bible. We should respect the unique contribution of people on all life stages.

2)   GROWING OLDER AND WISER: Most of the giants in the Bible went through their youthful days with bad choices and faulty actions.  Abraham, Jacob, Moses, King David and Solomon in the O.T. as well as Peter and Paul in the N.T. all went through their years of maturity. No one will reach his highest usefulness without going through the cycle of aging.

3)   HONORING THE ELDERLY: The Bible has so much to teach us in honoring our parents, definitely older; listen to our fathers, also older; to obey our fathers and mothers who are older; and to respect the elderly. There are more than a dozen references in the Bible that encourage the younger to respect and listen to the older.

 

PRACTICAL CYCLE OF LIFE: 

1)   IT IS GOD’S DESIGN: We all will agree that God could have created man without the aging process if He so chose to but He didn’t. In His infinite wisdom, God installed in man the process of aging with all the beauty and problems of it. God did not intend for men to live in the world forever because there is another place for him, the heavenly abode, with Him.  God allows men to live through the stages of life: infancy, adolescent, youth, young adults, middle age and mature years, with all the different experience and glamour of life. No one can imagine God would like men to be babies all their lives.

2)   LIFE IS LIKE MOUNTAIN CLIMBING: the higher you arrive, the more you see. That is what we call “experience”, and there is nothing else could replace that. When Paul, the Apostle, refused to allow John Mark to be in his second missionary journey, he looked at Mark’s failure in the first journey and he was rightly. But when Paul was in his older years, he called Mark “profitable” to him. (2 Tim. 4:11) You can’t see life at its broader spectrum without growing older.

3)   LIFE IS A JOURNEY: you start somewhere without the guarantee of a smooth ride. But you persist, continue, struggle and getting ahead until you reach the destination God has designated for you. In the process, you conquer obstacles, cross rivers of danger, struggle through deserts of heart-breaking and passing mountains. You see people reach their older age in keeping their faith, their marriage, their commitment and many others achievements. They have gone through all the ups and downs to reach the stage you see them today. As Paul described his journey in 2 Timothy 4:7, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” He did not reach all these without sacrifices, determination and commitment.

 

HOW SHOULD WE TREAT THE ELDERLY?

1)   We should respect the elderly: their experience, wisdom and achievements. Without the former generation, there will be no next generation. It doesn’t matter how much you may have in education or position in your career, we need to respect those who have lived more years than we have. This is about attitude.

2)   We also need to be humble to seek their advice. They have gone through many of the paths we have yet to travel. By listening to them, we may save some setback, avoid some pitfalls or failures. It was his arrogance and disrespect to the advice of the elders, King Rehoboam, son of the wise king, Solomon, he lost 3/4 of his kingdom and brought in endless years of internal fights among the Israelites.

3)   Meeting the needs of the elderly: materially, emotionally and spiritually. God has created families and societies for the benefit of raising the young and caring the old. It is the duty and honor of the younger to meet the needs of the older. (1 Tim. 5:8) This is part the love we share in our own family and concentric circles. We also need to lead our older generation, especially our own parents, to salvation.

 

CONCLUSION:   We all grow older everyday. It is a blessing from the Lord who allows us to go through the different stages of life. Let us begin a legacy of respect and cherish the elderly among us. Treat them with honor and love. By the way, Abraham was 75 when God called him to leave his home for the “Promised Land.” A life in God’s will is never “over the hill.”