生活的智慧 (6) 教养孩童

经文: 箴言 22:6

尤牧师

 

 

引言: 看到近年来在美国发生的少年罪案之多, 严重性之高, 许多教育家, 社会学家和少年心理学家都归处于家庭和学校教育的失败. 最近发表的一篇有关 教育儿童与疾病 的报告指出, 许多成年人有高血压, 痴肥, 胆固醇过高及其他不少疾病, 与他们儿童时期缺乏父母教养辅导大有关系. 上周FOX NEWS 播放的 宠坏了的孩子 一篇报导, 正证明教养孩童的重要. 上述引用经文是被誉为人类历史上最有智慧的所罗门王所说的话: 教养孩童, 使他走当走的路, 就是到老他也不偏离.

 

 

什么是 教育孩童?

翻译成 教养 的希伯来文有两个相关的意思: 1) 献给, 2) 开始. 犹太人大节期 Hanukkah 就是从这字而来, 是纪念他们在罗马帝国统治下 将圣殿献给神, 开始敬拜. 所罗门王用这字的意思就是要父母们在孩子一生开始时, 就将孩子带到神面前来, 献给神.

 

第一, 所罗门王注重父母将儿女交托给神, 让神关爱, 教导. 这表示作父母的必须自己有坚固的信仰和与神的关系. 今天太多父母, 包括不少基督徒父母都是 随己意, 随社会风气 去教导孩子. 父母自己没有稳固的信仰基础. 当然孩子也不会有信仰基础.

 

第二, 所罗王注重 尽早开始 将孩子带到神面前. 反观今天的社会, 多少父母为了职业和金钱将他们幼小的儿女交托给托儿所去教养. 他们以为等孩子长大后自己教养还不迟. 儿童心理学家告诉我们, 孩子的品性, 习惯和价值观念, 在四岁前已建立90%. 托儿所的员工是不可能教导圣经的价值和品格的. 许多父母叹气说为何孩子长大后没法教导或改正他们的脾气, 品格, 习惯和价值观, 太迟了.

 

如何 教养孩童?

箴言书满是 教养孩童 的教导 (2-7, 10, 13, 22 29 章等), 下列只是几个建议供父母作参考:

 

(1)   制订 规则和范围, 绝不可以让孩子为所欲为. 孩子必须知道 可行及不可行 的限制. 规则和范围 让孩子学习使用自己和限制, 他们长大后会习惯 尊重纪律 (法律).

(2)   责成 顺从 和说明 违反的后果. 这让孩子学习尊重 权柄 自己负责任. 我们一生都要尊重某些权柄, 孩子必须学会这点.

(3)   当他们违反规则时, 必须受到惩罚. 孩子要知道对自己的行为负责, 行为必会有后果. 若是孩子犯了错但没有受惩罚, 会使他们不明白错对是非的选择, 危害一生. (箴言 13:24).

管教孩子时必须用爱心, 不可因为生气, 仁慈爱心的管教 (惩罚) 才会生良好

果效.

 

什么是 当走的路?

谁的路才是正路 是历代人人喜欢辩论的题目. 有人认为 父母至上, 应是父母的路是正路. 有人认为要适合文化和社会情况, 又有人认为这是自由国家, 应该孩子自由发展. 在他们碰壁多次之后, 他们会学到正路.

 

翻成 正路 (当走的路) 的希伯来原文与神创造万物时 (创世记第一章) 所用的神看着是 好的, 是同一字 (1:4, 10, 12, 18, 21, 25 ). 这里所指的正路, 应该是 神看为好的路. 不是父母的路, 不是社会文化的路, 更不是任由孩子自己去发展的路.

 

要达到这点, 父母必须自己对神有坚固的信仰和信心, 对神的教导自己有认识, 自己与神亲近时常从神支取智慧和能力去使用父母的权柄.

 

为人父母本也必须 言行一致 前后一致, 时时变化的思想, 原则, 教训, 只会使孩子模糊不清, 使他们无所适从.

 

他们 永不偏离吗?

 

不论大人孩子, 人人都面临 偏离正路 的危险. 经文所指是从绝大多数人教养孩童的经历和孩童成长的表现 基本现象. 不是一个 绝对的应许. 绝大多数小时候经正确教养的孩子, 长大后多数不会怎么偏离.

 

不少人在人生过程中遇见许多陷阱: 父母的失责, 社会的歪风气, 坏朋友的影响, 自己的叛逆, 都会使孩子成长变坏. 当以色列人立心违背神时, 神也无法迫使他们行 当行的路.

 

 

结论: 作父母的和作儿女的, 都要向神谦卑, 才使 教养儿童 有成效, 对孩子的教养, 改正, 管教, 对他们的一生非常重要. 孩子好坏, 甚至对整个国家社会和人类都有重大关系.

“WISDOM OF LIVING (6): TRAINING CHILDREN”

Proverbs 22:6                                                      October 17, 2004

 

INTRODUCTION:

       Seeing the devastating rise of juvenile delinquency and crimes committed by children and youth in this country in recent years, many educators, social scientists and juvenile behavioral experts attributed to the failure of childhood training both at home and in school.  A recent report also shows that the failure of parental guidance contributes to the rise of health problems, such as high blood pressure, obesity, bad cholesterol and other diseases, when these kids grow to adults.  A FOXNEWS report: SPOILED AND ROTTEN KIDS: TAKING CONTROL, aired just last Sunday, confirms the desperate need of training our children. The Scripture quotation above says: “Train a child the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn away from it,” are the words of King Solomon, believed to be the wisest man on earth.

 

WHAT IS “TRAINING A CHILD”?

       The Hebrew word, HANAKH, translated “training”, bears 2 related meanings: to dedicate or give to and to start or to begin. The Jewish festivity, HANUKKAH, comes from this word to denote the dedication and the first worship service in a new temple during the Roman control of the Jewish nation.  King Solomon chose this word to teach parents to dedicate their children to the care and teaching of God at the beginning of their lives. Seeing what the emphasis of Solomon in terms of training our kids and that of today’s parental concepts, it is obvious to see our failures.

       First, King Solomon attributed to the importance of dedicating our children to God, His care and teaching. This in turn, demands a strong faith and high level of dedication of parents in order to achieve the goal. How often parents, including many Christian parents, try to train their children on their own wisdom, purpose and value. When parents are not dedicated to God themselves, it is impossible to ask them to dedicate their children.

       Second, King Solomon stressed the importance of starting early, from the beginning of the life of a kid.  Today, we see too many parents trust, or dedicate, their children to teachers and workers of daycare facilities because of their own career or financial pursuits. They believe they can train the kids when they are older. No teacher or worker in daycare facilities will or be allowed, to train your kids according to the teaching of God’s word or principles from the Bible. The values, habits and other essential personality growth of a child will be 90% developed in the first 4 years of his life, according to childhood psychologists. Many frustrating parents wonder why it is so difficult to change or remold values and habits of their children.

 

HOW TO “TRAIN A CHILD”?

       There are many teachings in Proverbs on training sons and daughters, chapters 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 13, 22 and 29. A few practical steps are listed here for your reference:

1)      Set guideline, limits or rules.  No child should be left to set his own rules. They need to know where they may go and where they need to stop. Setting proper limits help kids to recognize boundaries as well as freedom. Following guidelines will help them in their years of life to come.

2)      Demand obedience and explain consequences if they do not follow. This step helps them recognize authority of parents as well as their own responsibility. All of us have to obey someone in all stages of life. It is very important for kids to learn this valuable step to be responsible adults.

3)      Exercise punishment when they violate rules. Children need to learn that there are consequences of their behavior. Letting kids do wrong and get away from it is hurting their sense of right and wrong. When applying discipline or punishment on kids, do it with love, not anger or frustration. Gentle and kind are the basis of training.

 

WHAT IS THE “RIGHT” WAY?

      “Who’s way is the right way?” is a hot topic of debate for centuries. Some will stress the supremacy of the parental way.  Others will lean to culture or social norms. Still others will give total freedom to the kids, trusting that they will learn the “right” way someday or somehow, after many bumps and bruises. The Hebrew word in the text above is the same word used in Genesis chapter 1 to describe what God said after He created many things, 1:4, 10, 12, 18, 21, 25, when He saw them, He said “it is GOOD”. The right way is the way God sees it, not parents, not culture, not social norm, not even religions.

       This belief demands the complete trust and faith of parents in giving their children to God, train them in the words of the Bible, keeping themselves close to God to draw strength and wisdom in discharging their parental duties.

       It is of equal importance that parents need to be consistent in their beliefs and practices. Flip flopping in beliefs and practices can only confuse kids and creates resistance.

 

WILL THEY EVER GO ASTRAY?

       Stray away from the right path is a danger all should avoid, kids and adults. The verse quoted is the result of a general observation not a promise.  Great many kids who were well trained with God’s words, parental love, guidance and coaching are more likely to stay on the right path when they grow older.

       There are many pitfalls on the way of growing a child: failures of parents, evil influence of the society and culture, bad peer groups, resistance of teaching and guidance from the child himself, etc. Not even God can force anyone to be good  when he wants to choose evil, like the Israelites in the Bible.

 

CONCLUSION:

       Both parents and children are to be humble before God in the training of children. It is vitally important to the future of children to be trained and be corrected when they go astray. The future of a nation and even civilization depends on what kind of children we are raising.