生活的智慧(50)等待 (尤牧師)

經文﹕創世記151-6 2007年二月4

 

引言1自然世界的等待﹕任何作母親的可以告訴你,等待九個月懷胎期到孩子出生 是一段學習忍耐的經歷。你以為九個月太長嗎?可憐母象要懷孕22個月才生下 小象,鯊魚的平均懷孕期是22-24個月,住在高山的蜥懷孕期是38個月之 久,作母親的若沒耐心等待,世上許多動物,包括人類恐怕早已絕種了。

2屬靈世界的等待﹕亞伯拉罕有足夠的等待經歷去了解上面所列的例子。當他 75歲的時候,神應許要使他的後裔成為大國,(創122)但一年又一年,沒有 兒子出生,他正在懷疑的時候,神又應許他會生一個兒子(154),過後卻毫 無動靜。自從神初次向他預言,直到他真的在100歲生下以撒,中間相隔25 年。這實在是長久等待。(211-6

 

從來沒有人喜歡等待﹕

1等待不合文化﹕在這個快速社會中,等待是不受歡迎的,故此有一連銷 店用美國人不要等作廣告,表示他們作事快速。人類生下來就沒有耐性, 我們要什麼,馬上就要。三十年前,我在德州一間銀行工作時,有同事交代我 作事情,告訴我﹕我昨天就要這個!我聽了莫明其妙。後來有人告訴我,他 的意思是十萬火急,不能等待。

2等待是浪費時間﹕今天,人人認為花在等待的時間是浪費,沒有人會想到, 等待其實是作成事的必要經歷。今天的人過份注重後果,花時間在等 待等於沒效果。許多人以為忙就等於有效果,有效果就等於成 功,故此,許多人都忙,忙,一直忙。如果要等交通燈轉綠色,排隊買午 餐,在診所等醫生,慢車經過交通瓶頸,人人都認為,花時間在這些事上 面真不值得,是浪費。

3等候失去控制﹕人人生下來就想控制。從夏娃開始,人人都想能控制一切﹕ 人生,前途,事業,週圍的人,不必神來幫助。當我們無可耐何要等待時,表 示別人或事物在控制我們,我們一點辦法都沒有,實在使人不高興,我們會 想,假如我能控制,改變,就不必這樣呆等。

4等待過於被動﹕近代人喜歡主動。主動表示有控制,有活力,能自主, 會有更好效果。大多數花在等待的時間都是被動的,凡是被動都是浪費, 沒功效。故此許多球員喜歡進攻,不喜歡防守,人人都喜歡主動,不 喜歡被動。

 

等待的益處﹕

1等待是成長﹕我們活在一個充滿自然律的世界中,其中一條就是等待 就是成長。沒有等待,沒有成長,要知識的成長,那一樣不經過等待。成長 的過程其實就是等待的過程,任何美好的結果都必須經過等待,這是神定下的 律,人是無法改變的,更無法除去,你要成長,就必須耐心等待。

2等待真美好﹕在任何美好的音樂作品中,等待,或靜止,是音樂之美的一部 份。任何從靜止的音樂不是好的音樂。人生過程也是如此,例如人生只有匆 忙,趕,作,動作,拼,搏,沒有休息,沒有停頓,那是什麼人生?花在休 息,停頓,靜養的時間絕對不是浪費,乃是人生美好的一部份。故此,許多人 放下工作,去釣魚,打球,作鍛練,看書,與孩子一起玩,多美的事。

3等待是成熟﹕成熟需要時間,不管是一個人或是一棵樹,我們要花時間去學 習,去思考,去了解,去消化,去成熟,性格要時間去培養,作人的藝術要慢 慢磨練。不肯等待的人常常作出匆促,卻是錯誤的決定或選擇,你要作得好, 少犯錯,要安靜等待。

4等待是健康﹕人人都知道,許多與心臟和血液循環系統有關的病,都和緊張 生活有關。假如你能放慢步調,心平氣和地等待,對你的健康會有益處。許多 人年輕時過度消耗心力,到年紀大點時,百病出現。善用等待,靜止的好處, 對你的長遠健康有益。人生到五十歲之後,得失不再是那麼重要,健康才是最 重要,信不信由你。

 

等候神﹕(創世記151-6,以賽亞書4031

1等待重新得力﹕以賽亞書4031說﹕那等候耶和華神的人必重新得力。 這句話中的動詞是被動式,這樣翻譯會更貼切﹕那等待耶和華神的人,他們 必得著新的能力。以賽亞先知告訴我們;等待神不是浪費時間,反之,卻是 讓神更新我們力量的必要過程。正如你重新充手提電話的電池(瓶),必須花 時間,卻是充電必須的過程。當你的能力耗盡時,要等候神。

2等待神的應許﹕從亞伯拉罕到歷史上數不清神忠心的兒女,我們都等待神按 他的時間表作他的事,這不是因為我們絕望,乃是我們對神滿有信心和 盼望。世上的人無奈地等待,是因為他們別無他法,無可奈何。我們等 候神乃是因為它是最佳選擇。神應許將最好的給我們(馬太711)。亞伯 拉罕等待神成全他的應許,神永遠會成就他的應許,以前會,將來也會。

3等待增加信心﹕信心的增長不像掏金礦一樣,一夜之間大大發達,信心增長 是個緩慢卻不斷增長的過程,等待是一個很有效的功課。有時在等待時會不夠 忍耐,或會產生疑問,但我們若能堅持信靠等待,信實的神會成全,他必會成 全。我們等候的不是神答應的事,乃是神自己,我們信心的基礎是在 神身上,不是在神所作的事身上。

4等待絕不徒然﹕有時候我們等待人給我們幫助會落空或因為人實在無能為 力,或是人忘記,或是人根本不肯幫忙,結果我們會失望。但等候神卻永遠不 會失望,神的作為,成全,未必照我們的時間,但他的時間一到,必定成全, 不會差錯。神應許給亞伯拉罕一個兒子,結果就給他一個兒子,雖然等到他100 歲才生,神作一些人認為絕不可能發生的事。(詩篇216)神常用人意想不 到的時候方式去達成他的應許。故此,大衛王說﹕那等候耶和華的,必不 至於羞愧。(詩253

 

結論﹕1認識人生的循環﹕人生的循環有高有低,有活動時,也有靜止時。神這樣設 計,使人不會過度緊張,不會折斷。對等待要持正面的看法,讓身心靈得到該 有的調整休息,計充。無論是學業,工作,任何方面都必須有靜止等待的時 間。

2用信心等待神﹕花時間認識神和他作事的方式。唸聖經,多認識神。將人生 和一切的事交托他,他必會成全,時候一到,永不失誤,信心要堅固。

3一件事不要等﹕這就是永生的事,是你永遠得福的事,不要因為你未曾完全 明白,就耽誤時日,不要等到明天因為沒人知道你會有明天,今天就決定向耶 穌認罪,求他赦免,你就得到永生。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (50): WAITING”             By Pastor YAU

Genesis 15:1-6; Isaiah 40:31                                    February 4, 2007

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   Waiting in the natural world: Any mother can tell you that waiting for the baby to grow and to give birth are an experience that builds patience. But pity the poor mother elephant. It takes about 22 months for a baby elephant to mature to birth. Mother sharks have a pregnancy of 22-24 months. At the high elevation of 4,600 feet, the Alpine salamanders endure a pregnancy of up to 38 months.

2)   Waiting in the spiritual world: Abraham had all the experience and knowledge to identify with these examples from nature. At his old age, about 75, God made a promise to him: “I will make you a great nation.” (Gen. 12:2) But as the years passed, Abraham began to ask how the fulfillment of the promise was possible without the basic element, a son. So God came to reaffirm him, “One who will come from your own body shall be your heir.” (15:4) Yet he waited for 25 years from the time of the initial promise to the birth of Isaac when he was 100 years old. (21:1-6)

 

WAITING IS NEVER POPULAR: Although we all understand that waiting is, in most case, a necessary step in many things, we never like to wait. We don’t like to wait because . . . . .

1)    Waiting is not in our culture: In this fast moving society, waiting is not something we like. That’s why a drug store used “America can’t wait” as the slogan of their commercial. Beginning from our early years, we never learn to wait. When we want something, we want it now. Thirty some years ago when I worked at Texas Commerce Bank in Fort Worth, TX I was greatly confused when a colleague asked me to do something for him and told me that he needed that “yesterday.” I guessed he meant that it is urgent but I couldn’t understand why he asked me to do it that day when he really needs it the day before.

2)    Waiting is non-productive: We don’t see the time of waiting as part of the process of getting things done but as non-productive. We are so “productive” oriented and time is part of the factors affecting productivity. That’s why many people see “being very busy” as being “productive and successful.” We see waiting for a traffic light to change, in line to buy a burger, to see a doctor or to get through a traffic jam as times wasted and non-productive.

3)    Waiting is a sign of losing control: Wanting to control is part of being human. Since the days of Eve who wanted to control her life without God, man always longs for control of his life and things surrounding him. Most of the time when we have to wait, we do so because we are in situations that are beyond our control. We believe that if we have control, things will happen according to our wills and we never have to wait.

4)    Waiting is not pro-active: The term “pro-active” is relatively a new word that means “initiating” or “engaging” in accomplishing results. Most of the time we spent in waiting is spent as “passive” use of time and therefore is a waste of life. That’s why most basketball players love to play offensive than defensive. We love to act, not to wait.

 

THE BENEFITS OF WAITING: No one can list all the benefits of waiting. Here we just list a few for your consideration.

1)   Waiting is growing: We live in this world full of natural laws and one of them is “waiting is growing.” No waiting, no growing. From growing a baby to growing a plant, from growing our physical statue to growing knowledge, the process of growing is the same as waiting. No good things, if any, will grow properly without the process of waiting. God has installed a process of growing we can’t change much less to eliminate. We need to wait if we want to grow.

2)   Waiting is beautiful: In any beautiful musical creation, the art of waiting is an important part if we want to have a beautiful music. No music is good music if all notes are rushing through without the intervals of silence or stops. The same applies to life. What is life if all is about rushing, pushing, acting and getting without pauses and stops? Time spent in waiting, relaxing, just doing nothing is never a waste of life. It is part of the beauty of it. That’s why we take time out of our busy schedule to play balls, to read a book, to be with our family and friends.

3)   Waiting is maturing: It takes time to mature, be it a tree or a person. We need time to learn, to meditate, to understand, to digest and to mature. It takes time to mature character, personality and the art of living. We make more mistakes in life when we have no patient to wait. Rushing to make decisions, to pass judgments or to get things done without the proper time of waiting usually turn out not the best we can do. If you want to do better, you have to wait.

4)   Waiting is good for health: We all know that many heart diseases are related to hyper tension in our heart and blood flow. If we can manage our life to a slower pace, like taking waiting as a time to slow down, it can be good for our health. Too many people over worked their hearts when they were younger and suffer many heart problems from that when they get older. Making good use of stops and waiting may be good for the long run. Toward the later part of your life, say 50 and after, what you have achieved matters very little. What really matters is a good health. Take this advice.

 

WAIT UPON THE LORD: (Genesis 15:1-6; Isaiah 40:31)

1)    Waiting for renewal: “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength.” (Isaiah 40:31KJV) Since the verb here is in passive form, a better translation will be like this: “Those who wait on the Lord will have their strength renewed.” Isaiah tried to tell his people: waiting on the Lord is not a waste of time. Instead it is a process the Lord will renew their strength. Like recharging your cell phone battery takes time, we need to give the Lord time to renew our strength. When your strength runs out, wait on the Lord.

2)    Waiting on His promise: From Abraham to millions of faithful Christians through out history, we wait for God to do His work on His schedule not because we are hopeless but because we are hopeful. People in the world wait because there is no other choice. We wait because this is the best choice: we have the promise of God to give us His best. (Matt. 7:11) Abraham waited on God to fulfill His promise. God can never fail in fulfilling His promises. He always has and he always will.

3)    Waiting grows faith: Faith is never like striking a goldmine that you change your luck overnight. Faith is a growing process and it takes time to grow. One of the most effective ways to grow faith is the process of waiting. Sometimes we may grow impatient, even have some doubts, but as we keep waiting on the faithfulness of God on His promises, we grow our faith in Him, not in things He has promised. Be careful where you based your faith: always on God, not on what He can give or do for you.

4)    Waiting not in vain: When we wait on people, often times, in vain. People either not keeping their promises or they are unable to fulfill them, we end up empty handed. But that won’t happen when we wait on God. He may not fulfill His promises on our schedule but always will on His schedule. When God promised Abraham a son from his own body, He delivered that promise at a time no one believes it can happen: at the age of 100. (Ps. 21:6) God often times does the impossible to fulfill His promises. That’s why King David affirmed his faith in God when he says, “Let no one who wait on the Lord be ashamed.” (Psalm 25:3 KJV)

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Understand the cycle of life: The cycle of life consist ups and downs, fast moving and waiting periods. God designs it that way so we won’t get too tense and break like a rubber band. Take waiting in a positive way and allow your mind and body the opportunity to readjust or recharged. This includes your school, job, family life and other endeavors.

2)   Wait on God with faith: Learn to know God and His promises in His word, the Bible. Commit your life and all your needs to His care. Then wait on Him to deliver His promises on His timing. He will never fail you. Keep your faith strong.

3)   Wait no more:  As to your salvation, do not wait till tomorrow because you don’t know if you will have tomorrow. Make that commitment today to accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior.