生活的智慧(48)牆 (尤牧師)

經文﹕以弗所書213-18 20061217

 

引言﹕1古代的牆﹕世界聞名的中國長城,其實是一道很長的牆,除此 長城 外,世界還有許多牆存在,可能不及長城出名。主前55年,羅馬皇帝朱利安 揮軍渡海攻佔英倫南部,受到強硬的反抗。戰爭歷時170年,不分勝負。到主後 122年,羅馬皇帝下令築造長城,保護南部的羅馬人,免受北部野蠻人的攻 擊,所謂北部的野蠻人,就是今天的蘇格蘭人。該牆直到如今仍然存在,以當 時羅馬皇帝哈利安為名。

2近代的牆﹕第二次世界大戰之後,有更多的牆建造,分隔政治制度不同的國 家,最出名的有柏林圍牆,將柏林市分為東西兩半,朝鮮半島三八線的無人 地帶牆,已經存在近五十年,將韓國分為兩半。以色列為了防止巴勒斯坦人的 侵入,在迦薩地帶建造了迦薩圍牆。美國國會正在考慮在南部邊境,建造千里 圍牆,防止從墨西哥非法入境的難民。

 

還有更多的牆﹕到底有多少人造的?沒有人會知道,下面列出的是幾個比較常見的,你自己可以加幾個上去。

1種族的牆﹕這不只是美國社會黑白之間的牆,也是許多少數民族,包括中國 人之間的牆。早期移民來美的中國人,備受歧視,從法律到就業,從居住地方 到孩子上學,從工作種類到天天受到的言語態度的虐待。主流社會用種種方法 建造圍牆,將中國人隔在外面。其實中國人也很會有種族歧視,許多中國人仍 然不喜歡與其他少數民族一起工作,住在鄰居,更不必說交朋友。中國人與外 族通婚仍然被看為是不得已的事。

2文化的牆﹕人人都說美國是個文化大熔爐,其實許多不同文化之間有數不 清的牆;語言牆,風俗牆,價值觀念牆,生活習慣牆,食物牆,數也數不清的 牆仍然將人與人分隔,就算同是中國人,還有分從那裏來的,講什麼方言的等 等,因為這麼多的牆將人分開,不少人就不願意垮過去和不同背景,語言, 風俗習慣的人來往,讓分隔的牆繼續存在,甚至越久越厚。

3感情的牆﹕這是個比較嚴重的牆,也是比較關及個人的牆,這牆是人際關係 中很有害的事,會影響到你活得快樂或不快樂。有些人對一些他不喜歡的人在 心中築起一個牆,去隔那些人。他們不跟那些人來往,不說話,心中沒有這些 人存在,甚至有人用這感情的牆去懲罰他們的家人,親人,朋友,這種感情的 牆使人在心理上拒絕對方,就算對方和你一起生活,工作,在同一桌子上吃 飯,坐在一起做禮拜,你可以在心中將他們隔得遠遠的。這情形常出現在夫妻 之間,兄弟姐妹之間,父母兒女之間,甚至是教會同工之間。從他們的面部表 情,說話的語氣,態度,從他們的默不作聲,我們可以感覺到中間有一道牆。 感情牆是傷害人際關係的最凶武器,要小心預防。

4靈性的牆﹕這是所有牆中最嚴重的一個,是人生命中最傷害的一道牆。神造人成為有靈的活人,但許多人建造許多人建造牆將神從他們心中,生活中,思想行為中隔開,拒在門外,卻不知神正是他們靈魂最需要的對象。人因為過份注重滿足肉身的需要,追求成功,富足,忙得不可開交,就將神隔在遠遠的地方。一直到更深人靜,反覆輾轉睡不著時,你心中那無名的空洞,失落,沒意義的感覺,使你在物質和成就中覺得毫無滿足,沒有喜樂。這些人中有不少猛然覺悟,回頭尋求真神的帶領,重新建立人生意義。但也有些更是沉迷,自暴自棄,結果是以悲劇結束人生。

 

的害處﹕大部分人造的牆都有害處,列舉數項以茲參考﹕

1會造成仇恨﹕歷代以來,種族間的牆造成多少彼此間的仇恨,妒忌,憤怒 和斗爭,我們這些新來的移民,仍然看到因種族分隔產生的毒素充斥社會。牆 兩邊的人不斷累積怨氣,憤怒,到一天就發作出來。神造人時,是沒有分別 的,不分種族膚色,文化背景的。但人的驕傲,自私,保護主義,造成許多人 造的牆,導致許多彼此相害,不平等的待遇。作為信主的人,我們必須從神的 角度去看人,盡力除去人際間的牆,不論有形的,無形的,都必須除去,也不 應該有種族優越感,每個種族都有好人,壞人,勤勞成功的,懶惰失敗的,我 們不可用種族為出發點去衡量人的價值。

2牆造成無知﹕人人都知道,人際關係的和諧在於彼此間的溝通,來往,聯 絡,不論是家庭,朋友,同事,教會,都是如此。人造的牆,心靈的牆,感情 的牆等等,只會難阻人的來往,減低彼此間的了解認識,使人與人之間越來越 無知,不了解,產生更多的錯覺,甚至懼怕,結果是更多的誤會,衝突,磨 擦,甚至爭執,分裂。信主的人必須有勇氣去突破這些難阻, 去了解語言,文 化,風俗,生活習慣不同的人,我們都是神的兒女,彼此不應該有分隔的牆。

3牆破壞關係﹕從國際關係到人際關係,從婚姻到家庭,從朋友到教會,人造 牆是破壞一切的最大兇手,特別是感情牆的殺傷力更大。對別人泠漠造成對方 失去在你心靈中原有的份量。我們必須效法耶穌的榜樣,對人滿有恩慈,心中 充滿溫柔良善,樂意親近人,也讓人容易親近你。我們要盡力作人際的橋樑, 與人親切來往,親熱友善,使人容易親近你,也鼓勵人彼此親近,特別是對一 些你不太喜歡的人,不了解的人,平常少來往的人,只有通過溝通,建立關 係,才能達到人際間的和睦,使人看見就願意親近主。

4妨礙成長﹕人際間的牆常常是分裂的象徵,既然是分裂,根本就沒有合 作,也就沒有成長。這情形無論是個人關係,國際關係,家庭關係,都是如 此。當人建牆將別人摒在人外時,他就無法與人和睦成長。許多人為著人際 間,家庭間,甚至教會間的互不往來,隔絕擔心難過,看見關係從泠漠變成破 裂是令人傷心的事。許多事情是單獨一人作不成的。必要有與人合作才能作 到。

 

神拆了中間的牆﹕自從人犯罪之後,人與神之間就有一道厚厚的牆分開,(創324)盡管世人用種種方法去尋求神,總是無法折除這中間的隔牆,一直到。。。

1神主動地與人建立關係﹕你們從前遠離神的人,如今已經得與神親近了。 213)基督信仰的開始是神尋找人,而不是人尋找神,像其他許多宗教一 樣。從創造世記神呼召亞伯拉罕起,到新約神差他獨生子耶穌降世為人死在十 字架上,我們看見神不斷尋求與人和好,這是了不起的愛的表現。正如(約3 16)所說﹕神愛世人,甚至將他的獨生子賜給他們,可見到神是如何主動地尋 求與人和好。

2神折除阻隔的因他使我們和睦,將兩下合而為一,拆毀了中間隔斷的 。(214)保羅所指是神如何拆除阻隔神人和好的牆,藉著他兒子耶穌的 血,除去人的罪。神也拆除人與人之間的牆,就是猶太人與外邦人的隔牆,神 差保羅將福音帶到外邦人中間。過去兩千年的教會歷史,神幫助成千上萬的人 拆除了千萬人之間的隔牆,夫妻之間,朋友之間,家庭之間,教會兄弟姐妹之 間,這就是聖靈托付我們,和好的信息,人與神和好。

3神付了巨大代價﹕你們卻在基督裏,藉著他的血,已經得(與神)和好 了。213)拆除神人之間隔斷的牆,要付出巨大代價,神犧牲了他獨生子的 血,才能將世人因罪所建的牆除去,世上任何東西都有代價,越是價值高的, 代價亦是更高。這原則也適合在除去人際關係間的牆上面。關係破裂的雙方, 必須肯付上代價,破裂才能修復,才能和好。

4神的計劃尚未完成﹕並且來傳和平的福音給你們遠處的人,也給近處的人, 因為我們兩下藉著他被一個聖靈所感,得以進到神面前。217-18)神拆除 人間隔牆的計劃尚未完成,一直要到全人類都聽到福音,都與神和好為止。故 此,神給我們一個大使命,要我們將和好的福音傳給近處的人,也傳給遠處的 人。這也是我們活在世上的最大目的。教會和每一位信徒,都要繼續神開始了 而尚未完成的拆牆工程,我們一定要繼續,直到一切人為的牆都除去,神與人 和好,人與人也和好。

 

結論﹕1你看見任何牆嗎?看看你自己,你的心是否有任何牆存在,是否與誰有隔 膜,心靈不暢通?你的家庭,婚姻,同學,同事,教會中的弟兄姐妹,有誰是 你心中遠離的人?如果有,你今天就要求神幫助你除去,使你與那人和好。

2你曾受傷嗎?人際間的牆妨礙關係,妨礙長進,妨礙你心中的喜樂。你要求 神給你力量,除了這些無形的牆,使你活得更喜樂,更有衡勁,有更高的成 就,更蒙神喜悅。

3與神之間的牆﹕你與神之間是不是有一道厚厚的牆使你不敢,不能親近神? 不能得救?是什麼牆呢?你知道嗎?你可以求神幫助你,克服障礙,除了攔 阻,你今天就可以進到神面前,接受耶穌作你的救主,使你今生有意義,來世 得永生。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (48): WALLS”                 By Pastor YAU

Text: Ephesians 2:13-18                                          December 17, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   Ancient walls: Most of the world knows the Great Wall of China. But there are other walls built in ancient times for similar purpose as that of the Great Wall. When Julius Caesar invaded the south coast of Britain in 55 B.C. he met with fierce resistance. After more than a century and a half of wars and the loss of over 30,000 Celtic lives, Roman Emperor Hadrian ordered a wall constructed in 122 A.D. to separate the Romans from the barbarians to the north known as Scotland now. The Hadrian’s Wall stands to this day.

2)   Modern walls: After the WWII, many more walls were built to separate political worlds: the famous Berlin Wall separated East Berlin from West Berlin for more than half a century. The wall at 38 parallel in Korean Peninsular separates the Communist North Korea from the Democratic South Korea. Israel is building a wall in the Gaza strip to separate the Jews from the Palestinians. A new wall is being considered by the US Congress on the southern border to stop illegal immigrants from Mexico and other countries.

 

STILL OTHER WALLS: Too many to count. Here are some common ones: certainly you may add a few more to the list.

1)   Racial walls: This is not just a problem in American society at large it is also a problem of minorities including Chinese. In the early history of this nation, Chinese was discriminated against in many ways from immigration laws to employment, from restricted location to live and work to attending schools to everyday abuse in words and attitude. On the other hand, Chinese are not less discriminating against other races. Many Chinese still feel uncomfortable to work with or live close by or make friends with people of other races. Interracial marriage still is being looked at by some as less preferable.

2)   Cultural walls: Even though we want to believe that America is a melting pot of all cultures, the truth is there are many walls built to separate cultures. Walls of language, custom, value, life style, food and many other cultural issues still separate people from different origin even within the same race such as Chinese. Because of these cultural differences, some are reluctant to cross over to get to know each other and thereby allow the wall to remain or to get thicker.

3)   Emotional walls: This one is more serious and personal. It affects our relationship with people and the level of happiness we may have in life. We build emotional walls against those we don’t like, people who may not act, speak or live as we think they should. We also use emotional walls to punish others even our loved ones. Emotional walls block out our feeling about them even they may sit next to you or eat dinner on the same table. This could happen between spouses or children to parents or even at the church. Sometimes we feel the chill in the air when we are with people by looking at their faces or the tone of their words or their silence and we know there is an emotional wall in between. Emotional walls are the most effective weapon to destroy relationship in all settings: at home, at work, in church and among friends.

4)   Spiritual walls: By far this is the most serious problem we may have. This has to do with the essence of our deepest needs. Man, as the supreme spiritual being God has made, has built many walls to block out God, the source of all spiritual needs. We block out God by focusing on feeding our physical needs, striving for things to build our self esteem and flood our schedule with activities to feel that we are successful and important because we are so busy. Until you are alone in a sleepless night, looking at all the things you have and feeling how empty and lonely you are on the inside. You feel the total meaninglessness on all the things you have achieved and the terrible emptiness in your soul. Many of the wise of this kind have turned around their life, torn down those walls and become fervent on spiritual pursuits. Others chose to ruin their life in reckless life style or to end their emptiness in tragic ways.

 

THE HARM OF WALLS: Except in rare cases, most walls do more harm than good even to those who built them.

1)     Walls hedge hatred: For centuries, the wall between races created more hatred, suspicion and anger than peace and harmony. For those of us who moved to this country relatively a short time, we still see the venoms of the walls of segregation and discrimination. People on both sides accumulated ill feelings of the other and it is a matter of time waiting to explode. God did not create people to be segregated by race or skin colors. It was unfound pride and selfish protectionism that promoted walls to be built. Walls also lead to cruelty and mistreatment based on pride and prejudice. We as Christians need to see people from God’s perspective and try our best to abolish any possible walls between races. We also need to reject the temptation of pride over others because of skin color.

2)     Walls create ignorance: We all know the importance of mutual understanding through communication be it at home, between friends or in a community. Walls, real or imagined, block people from getting to know each other and therefore create ignorance on each other. Ignorance oftentimes creates fear and false assumption that leads to many unnecessary conflicts and harm on both sides. Walls between languages and cultural differences create struggle and mistrust which leads to weakened cooperation between people. Christians need to be courageous to crossover to others who are different from us in language, background, culture and value. We are all in God’s family and there is no room for walls.

3)     Walls destroy relationships. From international politics to personal relationship in a marriage and family, a friendship or a church, walls are the most vicious enemies that will practically destroy anything we may achieve. Emotional walls is the most vicious to destroy relationship. Withholding emotional warmth and energy to others can create chill effects and blocks others out of your heart. We need to learn from Jesus to have compassion in our hearts that will generate emotional warmth toward others and to draw them close to each other. We need to be bridge builders in relationship with people even to those we may find it hard to understand. It is through this endeavor we are able to build harmony with others so they may be drawn to know Christ.

4)     Walls hinder growth: Walls between people means segregation and division. This will effectively hinder cooperation and growth. This is true in personal growth as well as growth of all kinds: political, business, missions and church. When people build walls to keep others out, there is little room, if any, for more effective growth. The fact that we have many walls to separate people from working together to achieve more and bigger purposes is something many of us lament. Walls that divide the Chinese community make it impossible for us to achieve higher goals or make bigger impact in the community at large.

 

GOD DEMOLISHED WALLS: From early days of human history, a wall was built between God and man after man had sinned against God. (Gen. 3:24) The wall of separation remains through history even when man was in search of a way to God. Until. . . . 

1)   God initiated a relationship: “But…you who were once far away (from God) have been brought near.” (Eph. 2:13) The starting point of Christian faith is God sought men instead of men seek God like other religions do. From Genesis where God called Abraham to the New Testament when God sent Jesus to die on the cross, God always seeks to draw them close to Him. This is a tremendous act of love. In John 3:16, “For God so loves the world that He sent is only begotten son,” says it all about the active role God has taken in establishing a relationship with man.

2)   He demolished existing walls: “For He is our peace, who has made the two one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing walls of hostility.” (2:14) Paul was talking about God demolished the wall between man and God because He removed the wall of sin by the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. God also demolished the wall between the Jews and the Gentiles when He called Paul to bring the message of salvation to the whole world. Through out the 2,000 years of Christian history, God has helped millions removed or destroyed many more walls between hostile parties at home, at work, friends and others. It is the message of peace and the power of the Holy Spirit that enable people to reconcile with each other.

3)   He paid a heavy price: “You have been brought near through the blood of Christ.” (2:13) The removal of walls between man and God has cost the blood of Jesus, the Son of God. “And in this one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross.” (2:16) We know that everything with value there is a cost, the higher the value, the higher the cost. God gave His only begotten Son to die on the cross so the wall between man and God may be removed and be reconciled with God. Same principle applies in the removal of human walls. One or both sides of a broken relationship need to be willing to pay a price in order to reconcile with each other.

4)   His job is not yet done: “He came to preach the message of peace to those who were far away and to those who were near. For through Him we both have access to the Father.” (2:17-18) God’s job of demolishing walls is not yet done until all men have made peace with God. That is why we have the Great Commission which commands us to preach that same message of peace to all people near and far. This is the primary purpose of our existence, both the church and all Christians. The church and all Christians are the extension of the mission of wall-removing. God started it and we need to finish it.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Do you see any walls?  Look at your life, better in your heart, and see if there is any wall you may have built between you and others in your family, marriage, people around you at school, work or even the church. Find out why the walls are there, if you see some, and find ways to remove them.

2)   Have you been hurt by walls? Walls hurt relationship, growth, potential and the joy of life. Ask God to help you demolish those walls so you may grow higher, achieve more and live happier.

3)   A wall between you and God? Do you feel there is a thick wall that blocks you from getting close to know God and be saved? Do you know the reason? Ask God to help you remove those reasons and the wall so you may have direct access to God for eternal life.