生活的智慧47美名 (尤牧師)

經文: 箴言221-6 2006716

 

引言﹕1一個卓越的見地﹕班爾瑪是個十分成功的作家,他的寫作生涯橫跨三十年,從1960年代直到1990中期,除了為全國幾個大報紙寫數以千計的專欄外,他還著了十二本書,得到十六個榮譽博士學位。在他因癌症在1996年之前,他接受ABC電視台名人訪問。記者請他說出他一生中認為最重要的事是什麼,他回答說﹕不管我寫過多少專欄,作了多少本書,得了多少個學位,他一生認為最重要的是他的三個兒女, 他說﹕假如我沒有盡心教養我的三個孩子,他們 變壞了,我其他一切的成功就都不重要。

2一個重要的教訓﹕班爾瑪有錢,有名,有千萬愛戴他的忠誠讀者,但他認為 他一生最重要的事是教養他的兒女,使他們成長,行為端正,正如所羅門王所 說的。雖然沒有任何為人父母者能保証他們的兒女長大後作好人,在社會作良 好公民,我們作父母的應當有班爾瑪那樣的心志,教養兒女不件易事,要我們 付出許多時間,忍耐,愛心和智慧,但兒女成長的結果,遠越過我們其他一切 成就的總和,我們的兒女是我們的名聲(美名)。

 

為什麼美名那麼重要?美名和遺產不同,遺產一般是人留給兒女物質的東西,美名卻是你,你的名聲,榮譽和留給後代的記念。你不必等到死後才留美名,像遺產一樣。我們的一生會影響別人,在別人心中留下回憶。他們想到你時,心中滿有敬意。

1美名就是你﹕遺產是你死後留給兒女的物質財產,美名卻是在你仍然活著 時,兒女就可以享用。美名不是你有什麼,乃是你是一個怎樣的人,不是你留 給後代的財產,乃是你在生時如何生活,你的生活方式和態度如何,你留在人 的記憶中,故此,美名對生存者更重要,重要過死者留給後代的財產。

2美名是你的人生﹕今天,人們注重的是你有什麼?有多少?美名乃是你如何 生活,並且你的生活方式,態度如何影響別人,特別是對兒女的影響。那些只 注意你擁有什麼的人,不會計較你是如何得到的,但美名卻十分重視你 何得到你所有的。你的生活方式,你的行為,品格。故此,美名遠比財產更重 要。許多有財有勢的人,卻沒有什麼美名。反過來,不少既不是財主,又不是 有權有勢的人,卻在人心中留下令人難忘的美名,乃是因為他們的一生充滿誠 實,愛心,關懷,慷慨,和自我犧牲,留下許多美好的回憶,久久留在人心中 不會忘記。

3美名是指榮譽﹕今天的人只注意成功,美名卻注重榮譽。人成功的例子很少 大大影響別人,但可敬的行為;如愛心,毅力,關懷,自我犧牲,卻在人心中 留下難忘的回憶和美好的印象。在一個只注重物質的社會,美名和榮譽給人帶 來人性美好的一面。

4美名是你的家庭﹕美名大多數是家庭中令人難忘,富有意義的事跡,是子孫 後代引以為榮的往事。在這個不重視家庭價值的社會,家庭面對破壞,攻擊, 污損,甚至變質(例如同性婚姻的家庭),家庭的美名更顯得重要。作人父母 的在生活行為上留下美名給兒女是件榮耀的事。作人兒女的,若能從父母承受 美名,又能繼承,維持這美名,那是件極美的事,社會學家認為家庭是社會的 基礎,我認為家庭是個人價值培植和發展的搖籃。

 

作為父母者的本份﹕

1一切從你的價值觀開始﹕人人都在心中有一個隱藏的價值觀去指引他一生的 方向,在成長過程中,我們天天面臨許多選擇,這時刻,我們的價值觀就發生 作用,我們認為最重要的價值,就會推動我們去追求得到,我們會為這目標花 時間,精力,注意力等。對班爾瑪來說,他認為最有價值的是他的三個兒女。 其他的成就;如職業,作品,寫專欄時的卓越意見,對時事的評論,他所著的 書,得到的榮譽學位,千萬讀者對他的仰慕等,若他沒有好好教養兒女,作正 當的人,上面所有的一切都不重要。人人都有選擇價值的自由,希望你小心和 有智慧地作正確的選擇。

2其次是你的決心﹕選擇人生正確的價值不容易,決心維持你的選擇更難,人 若不能堅持他的選擇,他的人生不會有什麼成就。對你的兒女,除了盡心盡力 愛他們,供應他們,花時間精神在他們身上之外,你還必須堅持管教他們。聖 經中管教兩字原意是規範,即是為他們的生活行為定下界限,規則,像教練 一樣督導,常常加以注意,隨時糾正錯誤,並且堅持不變。我們知道,這種管 教方式很有功效,栽培出色的運動人才,出色的軍人,和專業人才,我們要用 同樣原則去管教兒女,使他們長大後也不偏離。

3你的榜樣很重要﹕人人都知道,孩子效的榜樣第一個是他的父母,我們不能 告訴孩子說;你作我告訴你的,不可作我作的。孩子就是會作父母所作的,孩 子的心告訴他,既然爸爸這麼作,當然是好的,對的,我當然也可以作。父母 若不在孩子面前,在言語行為上作好榜樣,就會失去作父母的權威,孩子不會 再尊重你,你會失去教導他們的威信。告訴孩子作什麼或不作什麼很容易,在 言語和行動上作孩子榜樣就難了。如果你要孩子信任你,尊敬你,聽你的話, 你自己就必須作個好榜樣,你的價值觀,你的作法,對孩子有絕大的影響。假 如父母不作好榜樣,就不能期望孩子會作得比父母更好。

4要作得好,你需要神﹕人是最複雜的,要教養孩子走正路,作起來有時很難。作父母的有不盡的責任,在智慧,愛心,能力和忍耐這些方面,有時會感到不足乏力。雅各向我們提供重要的補給線,他說﹕若有人缺少智慧,他就當求那厚賜與眾人,也不斥責人的神,主就必賜給他。(雅各15)這句話的意思是;作父母的必須自己保持與神有親密的關係,你要尊重神的教訓,切實遵行,當你需要智慧去教養孩子時,神的智慧就在你心中。耶穌說﹕好樹結好果子。(馬太717)你的言語行為,不久會在你孩子的身上看到,聽到。

 

作為孩子的本份﹕美名是家庭之寶,是榮耀,由父母傳給孩子,作孩子的就有責任繼承,發揚光大,使家中的人,一代傳一代都會引以為榮,孩子當然會有責任本份。

1注重家庭﹕注重家庭是舉國聞名的家庭專家杜信博士(Dr. James Dobson) 版刊物的名稱,同時也是每個切望建造家庭美名的家庭成員應該注意的事。今 天的社會大大忽略家庭的價值,甚至打擊家庭的社會地位,太多人過份注重自 己的利益,但家庭仍然是家人的安全窩,仍然是教養兒女的最適合地方。作兒 女的要知道交朋友雖然重要,但家庭更是重要,沒有人比家人更親密。

2善於表達謝意﹕破壞家庭團結最大的傷害就是兒女對父母失去感謝和尊敬。 不論父母作出多太犧牲,盡多少能力,有些作兒女的永遠認為不夠,一點不表 示感謝,對父母也不尊敬。人人都知道世上沒有完美的父母,正如世上沒有完 美的兒女一樣。作兒女的應當注意到父母作出的犧牲,時時存感謝和尊敬的心 態,尊敬父母所作的,重視父母的苦心和努力。兒女和父母共同合作,彼此扶 持,必能建立美名,使每個家人都感到榮耀。

3樂意薪火相傳﹕薪火相傳是成語,意思是將美好的傳統保留並且盡力傳給 下一代。若下一代的子孫不肯承擔使命,不斷地承擔使命,將美名傳遞給下一 代,美名(或優美傳統)很快就會消失。許多每個家庭都有的優美傳統很快消 失,無影無蹤,因為下一代的人不肯立志繼承上一代留下來的美名。過份自私 是其中一個大原恩。作為父母的,只能創始美名(傳統),若兒女不負責任去 發揚光大,父母是毫無辦法的。美名的傳留,是兒女的責任,也是榮譽。你不 必生在富貴之家族才能享有美名,只要你以你家的傳統為重,寶貴你家族的傳 統,你就有個美名可以繼承,當兒女肯留心保持優美的家族傳統時,美名就會 一直傳下去。

4可以從你開始﹕不是每個家族都有美名留下來。有些人出生在破碎的家庭, 上一代的名聲傳統並不太美。這並不表示我們不可以從我開始。每個人,每個 家庭都有同等機會可以開始一 些優美的傳統,留下一些令人敬重的美名,包括 在道德上,榮譽上,美好的回憶上,令人敬仰的品格上,這些都是美名的寶貴 內容。不要怪責上一代沒有留下好傳統,好名聲給你,你可以從自己作起,自 身小心言行,注意自己品格,對人對事的態度,作個令人敬仰的人,這就是你 的美名,不要注意你擁有什麼,要注意你是一個怎麼樣的人

 

結論﹕1注意品格,不注意擁有﹕試試作個實驗,當你要向別人介紹自己的時候,不 要提及你作什麼工作,有什麼學位,頭銜,擁有什麼財產,你會怎麼介紹自 己?目的是要人認識你是誰?,而不必介紹你擁有什麼。真正的美名是在 你這個人,不在乎你作什麼,有什麼。別人尊重你的為人,遠遠多過尊 重你擁有什麼。

2建立美名永不太遲﹕當你不再在原處時;離家出外工作,搬到別城市,畢業 離學校,離開一些朋友,一個教會,別人如何看你,這是有關美名的事。不論 你過去如何,今天起你可以開始建立美名,作個令人敬重,懷念,使人覺得與 你有交情,引以為榮,給人留下美好回憶,使你的家人,子孫以你為榮,這是 你的美譽。

3最美的美名﹕當約書亞向全以色列會眾宣告﹕至於我和我家,我們必定事奉 耶和華的時候,(書2414)他就創立了他的美譽傳統,他全家敬畏神,世上 沒有別的美譽,過於一個人能將他的全家帶到神面前,作忠心的僕人。

“WISDOM OF LIVING: (47) LEGACY”                       By Pastor YAU

Text: Proverbs 22:1-6                                                       July 16, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)    An important insight: Erma Bombeck was a very successful writer. Her writing career spanned over three decades from the mid-1960s to the mid-1990s. Besides the hundreds of columns appeared in dozens of national papers, she also wrote 12 books and received 16 honorary doctoral degrees. But three years before she died of cancer in 1996, Erma told an ABC TV interviewer that no matter how many columns and books she has written, her most important legacy would be her three children. “If I did a bad job with them,” she said, “then everything else I do isn’t very important.”

2)    An important lesson: Bombeck had riches and fame and the good will of millions of faithful readers, but she realized that her top priority was train her children so they grow up the right way as King Solomon said. Although no parent can guarantee that his/her child will turn out to be good, godly and honorable citizen, those of us who are parents must have Erma’s attitude. Sometimes it’s a battle hard to win, often it’s costly to our time and patience, but the value of our children overshadows all other success we may achieve. Our children are our most important legacy.

 

WHY IS LEGACY IMPORTANT? Unlike inheritance which is mostly material possessions you left to your children, legacy is about you, your name, memory and honor. You don’t have to be dead to leave behind a legacy like that of inheritance. Our life may impact others, leaves behind memory in people’s heart so they may attribute you with honor.

1)    Legacy is about you: Unlike inheritance which is mostly, if not completely, material possession you may leave for your children when you die, legacy is about you, the person. Inheritance only becomes available after the owner is dead but legacy begins to exist even when you are still alive. Legacy is not about what you have but about who you are. Legacy is not what you have left for others it is about how you live your life that may stay in people’s heart. This is why legacy is far more important to the living than inheritance to the dead.

2)    Legacy is about how you live: Most people today care more on how much you make or what you have, but legacy is about how you live your life and the impact on others mostly on your children. People who care how much you have don’t care how you made it, but legacy focuses exactly on how your made it, the way you live and act to get you this far. That is why many rich and powerful and famous people do not have much a legacy, but simple people who are honest, loving, caring and self giving left many memorable legacies others will never forget.

3)    Legacy is about honor: People today care so much about success but legacy is about honor. Few success stories impact people lives in substantial way but honorable acts of love, persistence, caring and self sacrifice in legacy bring honor and respect to those who originate the legacy. In a society which knows material matters so much, legacy of honor brings out the best of mankind.

4)    Legacy is about family: Most legacies are family stories worthy and deeply meaningful to members of family especially children. In a society where the value of family is being attacked, abandoned, ignored and even destroyed, legacy becomes more important than ever. It is an honor for parents to live their lives that build legacies that impact the lives of their children. It is also an honor for children to inherit legacies from their parents and continue to build on the foundation parents had lain. Sociologists may focus on family as important foundation of civilization, but I will attribute family to be the cradle of personal value and memory.

 

ON THE PARENTS’ SIDE:

1)   It all begins with your value: We all have a hidden value system that guides our pursuit of life. In the process of growing up, we will face many choices. The one we value the most will dominate our attention, time, energy and focus. As to Erma Bombeck, her most valuable choice is her children. All other achievements with her career, her insightful columns, life advices she had given, analysis of current events and books she wrote, honor she received with the degrees and admiration from millions of faithful readers all summed up to nothing if she didn’t do a good job in bringing up her children the right way. We all have a choice of values. Make that choice wisely and carefully.

2)   Then it is your commitment: Choosing the best value for life is not easy, but commit to that value is even harder. No choice of value will bear fruit without the commitment and efforts we put into it to make it work. Besides our investment of love, time, energy and patience in our children, we must be determined to “train” them. The word “train” in Proverbs means “discipline.” It means setting of boundary and guideline, efforts of coaching, paying attention, steps of correction and unwavering pursuit along the way. We all know this is true in the making of good athletes, soldiers and professionals. We need to apply the same principles in “train up” our children the right way so they will not depart form it when they get older.

3)   It is also about your example: We all know that children learn their best from examples of their parents. We can’t tell them, “do what I say and not do what I do.” That won’t work. If it is good for you, why it isn’t good for them? If we don’t set good examples in front of our children, we lose the respect and authority in coaching them to do the right thing. Telling them what to do is easy setting good examples for them is hard. But it is very important if you want to see them obey your guidance and correction. Your value system and the way you practice it have profound influence on your children. It won’t work if you expect your children do better than you.

4)   You need God in every step: Life is a complex business and often times it is not that easy to “train” our children. We need wisdom and unlimited love in discharging our responsibilities as parents. To this, James offered us treasures of resource when we need them. In James 1:5, James said, “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” This means you need to keep a closer walk with God. It also means you need to humble yourself to God’s word and personally practice what they say, so when you need wisdom in “training” your children, God will give you through His words. Jesus said, “Good trees bear good fruits,” in Matthew 7:17. Whatever comes out of your life will be seen in the lives of your children.

 

ON THE CHILDREN’S SIDE: A legacy is a family treasure, memory and honor from their parents held by members of that family especially children. It takes both sides of the family to create and preserve a sweet memory or legacy that everyone in the family is proud to have. Children have much to contribute to build and preserve the legacy of their family.

1)   Focus on your family: While this is the title of a program produced by the famous Christian Family Ministry sponsored by the world renowned education Dr. James Dobson, it is also the backbone of all members in every family if they want to build a sweet legacy. In the secular world today when the value of family is being attacked from all sides, people are so individualistic, family is still the most important safe haven and training ground for children. While we recognize the need of friends for children to grow up, they need to build a strong sense of belonging with the family.

2)   Demonstrate appreciation: One of the most destructive attitudes any one may have to ruin a family is lack of appreciation and respect from children to parents regardless of how much they have done or sacrificed. We all know there are no perfect parents just as there are no perfect children. A sense of observant, respect and appreciation on the good things parents have done, character they have shown, honors they have tried to achieve will contribute greatly to the building of a memorable legacy that will make you proud of being part of such a family.

3)   Willing to carry the baton: All legacies will die if no one is willing to continue the holding, building, expanding and passing on to the next generation. Many of the precious legacies of our former generations were lost because people of next generation were not committed to continue the pursuit. Individualism is one of the major reasons why legacies didn’t survived. There isn’t much parents can do to continue a legacy. It is up to the children to continue the process of building, keeping and expanding. You don’t have to be born rich and famous. But you need to be proud of your family and the legacy your parents leave to you. Meaningful traditions and family pride will be preserved when children are willing to continue carrying the legacy.

4)   You may be the founder: Not all families have legacies. Some of us came from shaky or broken background. That doesn’t mean we cannot start our own legacy. We all have equal opportunity to start a new legacy by doing what is honorable, good character, sweet memory and worth of respect. Do not blame your parents or ancestors for not passing on legacy to you, you can start a new one by being conscious how you live and who you are instead of what you do or have. Legacy helps us build roots of our family and guide us to right direction and future.

  CONCLUSION:

1)   On being, not doing: An experiment was conducted like this: Try to introduce yourself to others without referring to what you do or have. The purpose is to tell people who you are instead of what you do or have. It is the “being” of you that contributes to your legacy, not the “doing” or “having”. People remember “who you are” better and longer than your grades, job or wealth. The important part of you is “YOU” the person, nothing else.

2)    Never too late: a legacy is what you will leave behind when you are no longer there: a family, a job, a school, a church, etc. The value of that is about you. Regardless of what was in your   past, you may start a new legacy from today. Be someone worthy of honor, praise, respect and memory so your family and others will feel proud of being part of your legacy.

3)   The best legacy: When Joshua declared to his whole world, the Israelis, saying, “As to me and my household, we shall serve the Lord,” (Joshua 24:14) he set the stage of a family legacy: their faith in the living God. No legacy is better than a man and his family devoted themselves to the sovereignty of God.