"生活的智慧(41)空白" (尤牧師)

經文﹕提摩太後書47-8 2006115

引言﹕1一個真故事﹕安蓮達是個出名的專欄作家,在40多年的寫作生涯中曾為一 千兩百多份報紙寫"生活專欄",為讀者回答許多有關人生的問題。她結婚數十年 後終於離婚。在離婚正式生效的那 天,她寫了一篇短文,比平時的篇幅短很多

。她要求各報紙編輯准下在原來的編幅中留下"空白",表示她對自己因離婚而來 心中那"一片空白"的感受。她在短文的結束時說;"我沒能夠維持到終點"。我相 信當日的許多讀者都會體會到她心中的傷痛。

2一個及時警告﹕我相信大都份人都知道人生沒有一帆風順那麼簡單。許多事 情都不如我們的願望,有一些是我們完全無法控制的。但另外有些事情是我們 可以控制的,但我們自己的誤失以致"沒能維持到終點"。當我們回想的時候,內 心不難覺得"一片空白"

為什麼有"空白"

1我們的優先次序搞錯了﹕沒有人可以有足夠的時間和精力去作他願意作的所 有事,所以我們必須選擇優先次序,先作重要的。這作選擇"什麼是優先"就很重 要。當我們的"優先次序"(什麼是重要)搞錯時,我們就會花許多時間,精力和 資源在一些根本不值得的事物上,而放下一些其實真正重要的事沒作。當許多 真正該作的事沒作或沒作好的時候,只要你稍為停下來看看你的人生,你就會 覺得其中"一大片空白"的。

2我們錯過機會﹕許多故事,比喻,都教導我們不可以錯過機會,要我們注意 當機會來臨的時候,能把握住,機會是沒有人可以控制的。但它們來臨的時 候,我們可以控制能不能把握主,聰明人會看到機會的來臨,不會白白地讓它 溜走。許多時候,我們忙亂於日常事務的煩瑣中,沒法看到機會的來臨,白白 地讓它們溜走還不知道。能不能把握機會對人際關係,職業,家庭,感情和心 靈的平衡十分重要。當你一再讓機會溜走之後,回頭一看,留下來的只是"心中 一片空白"

3我們太多驕傲﹕許多人際關係的最後破裂到無法彌補,都是因為雙方過份驕 傲,不肯放下傲氣,走出第一步去作和好的行動。驕傲難阻人,不肯先向對方 表示善意,說"對不起!"伸出友善的手,以恩慈的態度尋求和睦。許多家人之 間,朋友之間,夫妻之間,兄弟姐妹之間,甚至教會中一起事奉的同工,就因 為驕傲,造成無法彌補的傷痕永遠存在。其實人人都想修好破裂關係,為什麼 就是那麼驕傲,不肯先踏出一步呢?許多這些長久傷痕會在我們生命中留下" 片空白",令人覺得無奈。

4我們以為時間有的是﹕推延是造成空白的另一大因素,許多我們知道該作又 想作的事,就因為我們認為還有時間,以後再作不遲,直到沒有時間為止,人 家的心已經冷了,硬了,搬走了,死了,濠溝太深了等等,就太遲了,不少家 長知道要多花時間與孩子相處,談話,但為了工作,賺錢,嗜好,社交佔去了 太多時間和精力,以為孩子可以等,後來才發現孩子長大了,習慣不和你說話 了,不再需要你了。當你覺得孩子跟你一點也不親的時候,你必然會覺得"心中 一片空白"

5我們太過自我﹕人人都有某些程度的"自我中心",不止是別人會,我們也 會。我們常常是"只顧自己門前雪,不管他人瓦上霜"。這種自我中心的人很難會 成功,就是萬一成功了,也沒有人去分享他們成功的喜樂,那是多次空洞的人 生,多麼無聊。

那些空白?人生的空白是這樣來的﹕

1該愛不去愛的空白﹕不肯或不敢去愛必會造成人心中的空白﹕你和對方都空 白,神造人,給人有愛的需要和去愛的本能。當你將愛藏起來,不肯給出去, 人心中就住不通,對方心中就會空白一片。人人都知道愛對人生的重要,(你 和對方)不管你的原因或理由是什麼,當你不肯將愛給出去的時候,你和對方 都會受害,且在雙方心中存留無法填補的空白。

2不肯仁慈的空白﹕每個基督徒都是因為神的仁慈(Grace)得救的,所以,我們 都應該懂得什麼是仁慈。仁慈是指寬饒,放下,忘記和接納。當我們不肯用仁 慈待人時,我們就不肯寬恕,不肯放下,不肯忘記,不肯接納,內心就有無法 填補的空白。一個沒有仁慈的心,很容易讓怨恨,苦毒,氣忿佔住。

3該作好事沒作的空白﹕大部份人,特別是我們這些蒙神的恩慈得救的人,都 有一顆願意"作得好"的心,作好事,對人有益的事,有好結果的事。但當我們沒 有作我們知道該作的好事時(不管理由是什麼)。就是作些對別人,家庭,人 際關係,友誼有益的事時,我們心中就有一片空白,覺得不完全,不滿意,未 能達到理想的空白。

4作錯事的空白﹕信主的人都從神領受"作得對"的認識和能力去作對的事,對 神,對人,對事,都要作得對。但是當我們向"對錯"妥協,對的不作,反而作錯 事時我們的良心就有一片空白。這空白的良心在呼喚,希望能改正,作得更好 ,使自己覺得作人有價值。作對不是為別人好處,乃是為你自己。

5不盡職責的空白﹕自從人類被造開始,神就給人有責任,神對人這樣的創造 是要使世界井井有條,當有人不盡自己責任時,旁邊的人,物,事就會被連累 受傷害。盡本份,責任的人是有價值的人,但你不盡本份責任時你的心就有一 片空白。

堅持到底﹕很少人活到年老之時能回頭 ,可以說他一生沒有遺憾,該作的都作了沒有任何空白在心頭,保羅卻是一個了不起的好榜樣。讓我們 看看他怎樣走人生的路到達終點的﹕

1他有一個明確的目標﹕保羅不只一次說他的一生就是為了要成全神選召他的 旨意,他的人生目標十分清楚。他所作的一切,所作的決定,都向導著這目標 前進。

2他有一個不改變的意志﹕保羅不止一次說不會,也不可能違背從天上而來的 異象,甚至在極大的壓力之下,他也不會放棄,困難,苦難,傷害,都不能使 他放棄他的意志,他堅持他起初的心志。

3)他決心一直忠心到底﹕忠心是對責任絕對負責,你深信你的責任正確,盡你 能力去完成使命。這不只是要知道你的使命,乃是要有"絕對忠心"去完成。

4他不斷向前走﹕雖然保羅有許多性格上的美德和品質,但他一生卻仍有許多 苦難。有許多遭遇是很容易使人頹喪,放棄,洗手不幹的,但他自己說;我只 有一件事,就是"努力前面的,向著標竿直跑"

5他有不盡的能力﹕哥林多後書47-9告訴我們,他有秘密的能力去走完人生 路程,這力量使他能勇往直前。他說﹕"我們有這寶貝在瓦器裏,要顯明這莫大 的能力不是出於我們,乃是出於神。"許多時候,人的能力會用盡,不足,無法 再繼續向前。故此,保持靠近神,與神天天接連,就能勝過,就能走完全程。

結論﹕當雅各被法老王邀請到埃及住時,法老王為他擺設盛宴洗塵,在宴會上,法老王尊敬雅各,請他坐在王的旁邊。席間,王問雅各今年多少高壽,雅各想起他一生之中多少失敗,多少傷心事,多少空白。他傷感地回答;"我寄居在世的日子是一百三十歲,我生平的日子又少又苦。"(創478-9)雅各會這麼說,是因為在他一生中有許多事他作錯了,作得不好,留下一片空白,但他老了,太遲了。

1請不要在生命中留下空白﹕注意效法保羅的榜樣過日子。能作的要作,所作 的要作得最好,不要讓你年老時沒後悔生命中太多空白。我們只能活一次,要 盡本份去活得最有結果。

2趁你還有機會的時候﹕人生過去之後,永生是你唯一的盼望。因為耶穌替你 死在十字架上,他為你留了一個天堂的住子,你願意接受嗎?你現在就可以向 他認罪,悔改,接受他的恩典,不要讓天堂,你的座位留空。

"WISDOM OF LIVING (41) EMPTY SPACE" By Pastor YAU

Text: 2 Timothy 4:7-8 January 15, 2006

INTRODUCTION:

  1. A true story: Ann Landers, a popular columnist, had written advice on everyday life for more than 1,200 newspapers over 40 years. When she and her husband divorced after a long and once-good marriage, she requested the editors of those papers to leave some empty space at the end of her article that day as a memorial of a marriage "that didnít make it to the finish line." I am sure most of the readers could feel how regretful she must be when she wrote her article that day.
  2. A timely warning: Most of us, if not all, understand that life is not always a smooth ride. There are times when things happen not exactly the way we expect them to. Some of those things we never have control but others we do. The fact that we regret on things we do have control but chose either not to do them or simply because of procrastination would certainly leave us feeling empty on the inside---some empty space in our lives.

WHY EMPTY SPACE?

  1. We mix up priorities: No one on earth may have all the time or energy to do all the things he/she wants to do. We can only do the things we deem to be important or necessary with the limited amount of time and resource. That is where priority comes into place. When we have our priority mixed up, we tend to choose doing things that are not really important or necessary leaving things that are. When too many of those things we should do but didnít get done accumulated, there will be a sense of emptiness on the inside---the blank space of life.
  2. We miss opportunities: Many stories or parables were told on the importance of catching opportunities when they are within our reach. Opportunity is one of those things we have little control but have the "opportunity" to make the best use of them if we are wise and alert enough to do so. Often times, we are engulfed in minute and routine affairs that we are blinded of the coming opportunity and we just allow them to slip through our fingers. This is very important to our relationship, career, family, emotional balance and many areas of life. When we missed the opportunity, there is an empty space inside us that leave us with regret.
  3. We have too much pride: Many broken relationships could have been restored if one side could just let go of the pride and take the first step of reconciliation. Pride blocks people from going to the other side and extend love and grace that certainly will melt the ice between people: parents and children, spouses, siblings, friends and even people in the church. Pride stops us from doing what we always want to do: to repair or restore that broken relationship that used to mean so much to us. Often time it is until too late that we feel so regretful and that is empty space in our life.
  4. We think we still have time: Procrastination is another big problem that causes blank space in our lives. We always believe we still have time to do what we know it is important until there is no time: people move away, pass away, the ditch of separation is too deep or hearts have hardened beyond human efforts. Many parents know the importance to spending more time with their children, but jobs and other things took precedents until kids have grown up so much that they no longer want to talk to you. The blank space left by our own children is painful to take.
  5. We are too self-centered: All people are capable of being self-centered, not just those who think they are better than others. Many of us are tempted to only care about ourselves. Not all these kind of people will make it to the top but even if they do, there is no one to share their success, glory, pride, wealth or anything else. That is the real blank space in life to have no one sharing whatever you may have and worth sharing.

WHAT EMPTY SPACE? We create blank or empty space in life by:

  1. The empty space of love withheld: Withholding love creates empty space in both sides: you and the other person. God has created us with capacity to love and to receive love. When love is with held, it becomes congested in our hearts and leaves that empty space in others unfulfilled. We all know the importance of love in our lives and that of others. When we hold back our love, for whatever reason we may find to justify, it hurts and creates empty space in hearts that will never be complete.
  2. The empty space of grace not given: Christians should fully understand the importance of grace in our lives because we are the very recipients of grace of God. Grace is about forgiving, letting go, forgetting and accepting. When we treat others without a touch of grace that keeps us from forgiving each other, let go of the grudges against people who are suppose closet to us. When our heart is empty of grace it becomes the fertile ground bitterness and even hatred.
  3. The empty space of good not done: Most people, especially those of us who are saved by the grace of God, have the inherent desire to do good: we want to be good, to do good and to bring good results on things we do. But when we, for one reason or another, do not do what is good in our job, relationship, family, friendship, we create in us that empty space feeling incomplete and unworthy.
  4. The empty space of not being right: People who call Christians have been given the knowledge and desire to be right, to do right and have a right relationship God and people. But when we compromise our sense of right for selfish gain or sinful desires, there is an empty space yarning for change and for fulfillment of do right and be right. Our conscience will not let us go until we correct the wrong with right. Be right is not for others but for yourself.
  5. The empty space of duty left undone: Since the day God created the world, men were given the opportunity to fulfill responsibility or duty as part of Godís design to keep things going properly. When duties were not done, people and things around fall into problems even chaos. Keeping duties done demonstrates the quality and value of the person. You will feel empty when you donít fulfill your duties.

CROSSING THE FINISH LINE: Not everyone could look back on his life when he is old and feels that he has done all he needs to do and have no empty space in between. That is how Paul felt about his life when he wrote to Timothy. Letís examine some of the reasons on how did he achieve such a success and fulfillment and may be we could do the same.

  1. He had a clear purpose of life: More than once, Paul expressed the reason of his life is to fulfill a call received from the Lord Jesus on the road to Damascus. His life is a life of purpose and mission. Whatever he did, he did it to fulfill that purpose God gave him. The purpose God gave him served as the guiding light for his life.
  2. He had a steadfast commitment to his call: In more than one occasion, Paul claimed that he would not and could not abandon the call God had given him. Even under much pressure to give up his call, facing tremendous persecution and suffering, he continued to live what he was called to. He did not surrender to problems or setbacks. He was determined to finish what he was called to do.
  3. He was determined to remain faithful: Being faithful is being truthful to your responsibility: you believe in what you are doing and do all you can to get it done. This takes more than just knowing your purpose of life or having some kind of commitment. It takes hard word, determination and endurance to pursue and press on what you are called to do.
  4. He kept pushing forward: With all the virtues and merits in the life of Paul, he never had smooth sail in his endeavor. There were many circumstances he might quit, give up, fold his hands and say to God, "Enough is enough." Yet he wrote that "I do not consider myself to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead." (Phil. 3:13)
  5. His secret power: In 2 Corinthians 4:7-9, Paul revealed his secret of power to keep pushing forward by saying "but we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and nor from usÖ" There are times human power is far from adequate to achieve our goals. It is of supreme importance that we stay close, connected and consistent with God that He may continue to use us to finish the tasks He has called us to do.

CONCLUSION: At the royal banquet set by Pharaoh, king of the most powerful Egyptian kingdom at the time, in honor of Jacob, father of the most honored and trusted Joseph, Pharaoh asked Jacob of his age. With all the memory of failure and sadness on too much empty space in his life, he said, "The years of my pilgrimage are 130. My years have been few and bitter of evil."(KJV) Jacob felt that way because there were things he wished he wouldnít have done and things he wished he could have done better. But it was all too late to do them over again.

  1. Donít leave any space of life empty: Follow Paulís example to live your life to the fullest extend. Donít leave any space empty that certainly would cause you to regret and feel sad later. We only live once. Make the best of the opportunities God allows you to have.
  2. While you still have the chance: Eternal life is the most important thing anyone could ask. Through the sacrificial death on the cross, Jesus had prepared that for all who will believe in Him and accept His gift. Make that important decision NOW that you wonít feel regret and despaired at the end of your life. Donít leave any empty space in your spiritual life.