"生活的智慧(40)明天" (尤牧師)

經文﹕馬太福音625-34 200618

引言1一個故事﹕小娟(十歲)跟祖母正在廚房作早餐。祖母正在煮雞蛋。祖母說 她要煮雞蛋恰恰好,不太生也不太熟,小娟注目看著雞蛋在開水中煮,好想知 道到底雞蛋煮得怎樣了,她對祖母說;"很可惜我不能打開雞蛋看看它們裏面是 怎麼樣。祖母說;"那當然不可以,打開沒煮好的雞蛋不完全都壞了嗎?我們只 能猜測,估量,沒辦法看到。"

2一個教訓﹕許多人像小娟一樣很想能知道"明天的日子"會如何。我們知道了 ,就可以早作準備,預防,躲避或是加以控制。人總希望能控制明天,雖然都 知道人是無法改變明天將要發生的事。正如打開沒煮好的雞蛋一樣,人想知道 明天只會使明天更糟糕。

"明天"對不同的人有不同意義﹕

1對小孩﹕對絕大部小孩來說,明天(或稱未來)是個美好的名堂,因為它代 "未來",沒有限制的可能和機會。每個小孩都夢想將來要作什麼,成為什麼 人,可以有什麼成就,去買,去擁有,去作,好多事都與"將來"連在一起。對未 來的"未知數"(或稱"不可知")對他們一點都沒有嚇阻作用,"未來 "是他們生命 的一切。

2對少年人﹕少年時代既是祝福,也是困難的時期。祝福是因為他們有用不完 的精力和無限的機會。他們比小孩子更懂事,更有知識,也能作更多的事。但 少年人面對明天也有難處,因為少年人知道世界並不如孩子時所想的那麼簡 單,順心。他們開始懷疑,心理不安定,使他們小孩時代的夢想變得不那麼可 靠。

3對樂觀者﹕樂觀者對"未來"的看法就如"尋寶"經歷,雖然未知,但必有收

獲,他們充滿信心,希望和高昂的情緒。但樂觀者的問題是;他們一樣無法控 制未來,心理的樂觀不保証實質的成就和成功,他們需要有;"萬一"的安排,當 樂觀沒有結果時怎辦?

4對悲觀者﹕悲觀的人總覺得未來可怕,危險,總會有問題。心理的恐懼和疑 惑將未來的任何可能或亮光都擋住了,他們只想到"壞事可能發生",不會想到

"好事也有可能成真",悲觀者也需要有另一準備;"萬一"事情並不像想像中那麼 壞又會怎樣?

5對現實主義者﹕大部份人都可稱為現實主義者,站在樂觀和悲觀的中間,人 生是不可測的,但總會有一條出路。盡管今天大雨滂沱,明天太陽一樣會上 來,就是明天沒有太陽出來,後天必會出來,每一件壞事都有它的好處。過得 一天是一天,明天的事明天再說。

人為什麼想知道明天﹕人想知道"明天",造成不少生意﹕看相的,算命的,看手紋的,占卦的,說預言的,千奇百怪,生意興旺。每到年底,總有人會預言明年會如何如何,有人寫文章,出書,演講,千萬人湧去聽,看,就是想知道;明天會怎麼樣。其實大多數人都知道,那些看相的,算命的,演講的,說預測的,自己一點都不肯定,不知道,但是人心渴望知道,還是要去看,去聽,真的有趣。人為什麼會這樣?

1因為人需要安全感﹕在人生命存活的五個要素中,安全放在第一。人想知道 未來如 何,他會安排如何去保護他的安全,免受意外。

2因為人想能控制﹕想控制 是人的本性;控制別人,控制環境,事物,去達到 個人的目的。許多人際衝突,鬥斗到戰爭,都是因為有人想控制別人和別人所 擁有的。他若能知道明天人家會作什麼,他就可以設法控制他們。

3為了財富﹕"內幕交易"人人都知道是犯罪行為,但許多人還是會作。那些知 道未來會如何的人(例如股票市場,金融市場)他們就可以或買或賣,從中得 利。賭博也是,如賽馬,彩票,吃角子老虎等,人若能知道"什麼時候會發生什 麼事",豈不是財源廣進嗎?所以有不少人就說他們有"內幕消息",重金出賣, 保証你發大財。

4因為好奇﹕絕大多數人都知道就算他能看見,知道明天會發生什麼事,他也 不能改變什麼。但還是想要知道,是因為好奇心,越是"不可知"的事,越是有人 想知道。

5因為人的驕傲﹕記得撒旦怎樣引誘夏娃嗎?它說你吃了這禁果,你就會像 神。只有神才能知道未來。許多不信有神或信任神的人,都想像神一樣能夠知 道未來,他們就會像神一樣,什麼都會。

我們其實不必知道明天如何﹕這不只是因為對神的順服,乃是對得勝的信念,理由如下﹕

1根本不是問題﹕我們不能知道明天如何,其實不是問題;因為我們有一位知 道一切的神,因此就是我們不知道明天發生什麼事,不明白到底會怎樣,也不 能改變任何事,那又有什麼關係。我們既然知道神一切都知道,也知道為什麼 會這樣,如果他要改變什麼,他一定會作到,他答應與我們同在,還擔心什 麼?

2我們也不能作什麼﹕就是你能知道明天如何,你還是無法改變一點點,耶穌 說﹕"我們不能用思慮使壽命延長一刻"。知道或不知道,有什麼分別?

3有些事我們寧願不要知道﹕神對我們一生的計劃與我們自己的計劃常是不一 樣,有一些事是你不想要的,但卻必定會發生的,早知道不一定對你有好處, 甚至可能是可怕的事,舉個例﹕如果你知道你將來必會撞車而死,那你每一次 從車庫將車子開出去,你會覺得怎樣?

4憑信心不憑眼見更好﹕這不是說我們肓目相信一位不可知的神,我們乃是相 信一位愛我們,為我們死的神,他了解我們,供應我們,比我們自己作得更 好。信靠這位神豈不是比信靠自己的知識和能力強多嗎?讓他處理未來比我們 自己處理實在不是壞主意。

5這世界非我永遠的家﹕我們在世只是寄居而已,不必作太長久的打算。我們 永遠的家是在天上,耶穌在為我們預備住處。不要花太多心思時間為世界煩 擾,甚至失去為永恆作準備。世上發生任何事情,對我們永遠的家鄉沒有什麼 大關係。將你自己當作旅客,我們路過的國家城市發生什麼事,其實與我們沒 有多大關係。

結論1凡事交托給神﹕我們太多時候操心應該讓神作的事,直到筋疲力盡。我們雖 然相信神愛我們,並且有無盡的能力,但卻不肯將事情交托給他,我們既然無 法明白如何,為什麼不凡事交托給他?

2我們應注意的事﹕大部份我們看得見的事都不是頂重要的事。反過來,眼不 能見的更是重要,可見的事是暫時的,不可見的事才是永久的。要用智慧將時 間精力放在更重要的事上。

3你或者沒有明天﹕許多人耽延相信耶穌,因為認為"還有明天"。但事實是沒 有人能擔保你還有明天,趁著今天有機會,能相信主耶穌,不要等到明天,因 為沒有人擔保你會有明天。

"WISDOM OF LIVING (40) TOMORROW" By Pastor YAU

Text: Matthew 6:25-34 January 8, 2006

INTRODUCTION:

  1. A story: Emily, 10, was helping her grandma cooking breakfast. They were making boil eggs. Granny wanted the eggs cooked just right. Emily stared into the boiling water and wondered how in the world she might know if the eggs were cooked right. She said to her granny, "Pity we canít open them up and see how they are doing." Grandma agreed. "But that would spoil them, so we have to rely on guesswork, with no guarantee of results." Granny replied.
  2. A lesson: We often wish we could see what lies around the corner in life. Then we could prepare for it, control it or avoid it. We want to be able to control our future even though we know we can do little, if any, to control or change what is coming tomorrow. But meddling with tomorrow before it comes is just like opening partly boiled eggs, we would certainly spoil both today and tomorrow.

THE MANY FACES OF TOMORROW:

  1. To children: To most children, tomorrow represents unlimited future. The sky is the limit on the future for children. Children like to dream what they may do or to become when they grow up. What are the things they want to achieve, to buy, to have, to do and list goes on and on. It is an exciting thing just to think about tomorrow. The unknown nature of tomorrow is never a problem to children. All they want to know is that they have tomorrow.
  2. To youth: To be young is both a blessing and a difficult thing. The blessing part is because they are full of energy and opportunities are everywhere. They know lot more than when they were children and they can do lot more as well. But facing tomorrow can be a huge challenge because they are old enough to realize that life is not as easy as they used to think. Doubts and uncertainty could cloud they mind and dampen their hopes.
  3. To the optimists: Those who are optimistic will see tomorrow as a treasure hunt trip: unknown but rewarding. It is full of hope and excitement to face tomorrow. The problem of the optimists is that they never have control of the future. Being optimistic doesnít give them the assurance of success or reward. They need to have plan 2: what if optimism is not enough.
  4. To the pessimists: Those who belong to this category see tomorrow as a thread, a danger, a dread or a potential of problems. Fear and doubt block them from seeing any light or possibility of anything good. The problem of the pessimists is that they never know there is a bright side of life and it is available to all who want to seek. They also need to have plan 2: what if life is not as bad as they expect.
  5. To the realists: Most people belong to this category: standing in the middle ground. Yes, life is never predictable but there is always a way out. It may be raining like pouring, but the sun will come out if not tomorrow then the day after. They believe in the silver lining of the dark clouds. Live one day at a time and leave the uncertainty of tomorrow to tomorrow.

WHY DO WE WANT TO KNOW TOMORROW? Wanting to know tomorrow prompts a huge business: fortune telling, palm reading, self appointed "prophets" will tell us what they predict to happen tomorrow, next month or the coming year. Books, articles, speeches, seminars are everywhere drawing thousands, if not millions, to pay and hear what they donít really know. The craving to know tomorrow is always there.

  1. For security: We talked about security before that it is the most important element in life or survival. Man wants to know what lies ahead tomorrow so he may plan or be prepared to handle whatever it may be coming to survive.
  2. For control: The desire to control is part of human nature: controlling things and people around for selfish benefit. Many wars and personal conflicts begin with the desire to control by one party over the other. If one is able to know what may happen tomorrow, he will be in control the environment and people.
  3. For wealth: Insider trading is a crime but it still is a popular game in business arena. People who knows what is going to happen tomorrow in the market, the stocks, the financial world, they will sell or buy or do other things to get rich. This is also true in betting: horse racing, lottery and other gambling business. If they can know what may happen next or tomorrow, they certainly will take a few steps earlier to gain wealth.
  4. For curiosity: Most men understand that they cannot change anything about tomorrow even if they can see what lies ahead but still want to know because of curiosity. Most people have the desire wanting to know what they are forbidden to know.
  5. For pride: Remember what the devil used to entice Eve: you will be like God. God is the only one who knows everything including tomorrow. Man wants to be like God so he must be able to know tomorrow. People who doesnít believe or submit to God certainly want to know about tomorrow so they can play God since God is suppose to be the only one who knows tomorrow.

WE DONíT REALLY NEED TO KNOW: This statement is not made out of spirit of surrender but the spirit of victory. Here are the reasons:

  1. It is not a real problem: The fact that we canít see tomorrow is not a real problem because we have God who can. Even in real life today, there are many things we canít see, donít understand, canít do anything to change it, but we still live happily. How much better when we have God who can see, can change, understands all who promises to be with us even to the end of the world.
  2. It doesnít make any difference: Even if we can see what lies tomorrow, what can we do to change anything? Jesus makes it clear that there is nothing we may do to extend our lives for another hour.
  3. Things we may not like to know: Godís plan for our lives is never the same as ours. There will be things in the future we donít like but we have to face them in advance if we know they are coming. That must be an awful feeling. There are times we wish we donít know, right? Think about this hypothetical situation: do you really want to know that you will die in a car accident? How will that knowledge play in your heart and mind every time you drive your car out of your garage?
  4. Better live by faith than by sight: We are not talking about blind faith or faith in finite beings. We are talking about faith in an almighty God who knows us better than ourselves, can do lot more than we can and love us more than we love ourselves. Trusting in a loving and all powerful God is much better than knowing all things and have to handle them all ourselves.
  5. This world is never our destiny: We are in transient in this world and therefore there is no need to be well prepared here. Our real home is up there in heaven where Jesus is preparing the mansion for all of us. Donít spend too much attention and energy on things here on earth or you wonít have much to work and plan for heaven. Whatever may happen to us here is not that important for our real destiny. Think as if you are traveling. We donít really need to know what is there in that country or city or what may happen to you. You will soon be going home. Right?

CONCLUSION:

  1. Let God do His work: Too often, we are so busy doing things for God and complain that we are exhausted. We believe that He is loving and powerful but we seldom allow Him to handle things we canít handle. Since we canít see what is there tomorrow, we need to let Him handle that. Being anxious or worrisome never help.
  2. Focus on the right thing: Things we can see are mostly not important. Things we canít see are more important. Things we can see are mostly temporary and things we canít see are eternal. Be wise on where to spend you energy and attention.
  3. There may not be another tomorrow: Many people delay to accept Jesus as Lord and Savior because they believe there always will be another tomorrow. The fact is no one can guarantee that. Make that decision while you can to save a place for your eternity. Donít wait till tomorrow because there may not be one for you.