生活的智慧 (4)

雅各书 4:13-17

尤牧师

 

 

引言: 圣经列举的许多属灵美德都很好, 例如: 爱心, 信心, 忍耐, 饶恕, 悔改, 祷告, 谦卑等. 但这一切若与 顺服神的管理 相比, 就显然失色. 耶酥的一生就是 顺服神管理 的最好榜样, 特别是在他祷告中说 然而照你的意思, 不要照我的意思 (26:39) 达到最高峰. 只有完全让神掌管的生命, 才是真正属神的生命.

 

想要掌管是人性败坏的本质. 亚当和夏娃冒违背神的旨意的行为, 就是要 像神, 可以自己掌管自己的人生. 人性追求掌管的结果造成许多冲突, 斗争, 战争和伤害. 许多称耶酥为主的人. 其实都在 自己掌管一切. 上述经文就是使徒雅各对人性掌管欲望的教训.

 

 

自己要掌管 就是轻视神的旨意 (4:13-14)

你们有话说 是指一句流行的说法, 想法和作法. 从雅各时代到今天, 人性一点都没有改变. 人总是认为自己知道一切, 可以掌握各项事务. 在人生计划中, 根本不必神来参与. 人们自己决定时间: 今天明天; 要去什么地方: 某城; 住多久: 一年; 作什么: 作买卖; 目的: 得利. 他已经有个周详的计划, 大事小事都想过, 必会成功. 但是他们忘记两件大事, 是他们绝对无法掌管的. 第一, 明天将发生何事, 第二, 明天是否仍然活着. 这两点是任何人都无法掌管的.

 

世上许多事, 根本就没有可以掌管: 经济发展, 社会情况, 政治, 政府政策等. 多聪明, 多有权柄的人, 也无法控制这些事会如何发展.

 

生命的脆弱也是没有人可以控制的. 尽管我们可以通过运动, 适当食物,不吸烟,减体重等去使身体更健康. 但仍然没有人可以保障能活多久? 或保障能活到明天. 雅各将生命形容为云雾十分恰当, 是那么短暂, 无定.

 

在我们每天生活中, 神的位置在何处? 他有任何参与决策权吗? 为什么许多人, 包括少数基督徒, 在计划人生上面好像 自己就是神 一样? 当我们决志信主时称他为 , 我们曾决定 尊主旨意. 这决心又到哪里去了呢?

 

张狂誇口 就是罪 (4:16)

张狂 原意是 大嘴巴. 誇口 是指 无中生有的假话. 原是市集上卖假货者的吹嘘. 两字连在一起是指对明明知道是 假的事物 大吹大擂. 今天许多人就是这样, 绝大多数人都知道自己其实什么也无法控制, 但他们假装可以不靠神, 不必理会神的旨意而自己计划一切.

 

比这种张狂誇口的作法更危险的是: 人们不认为这种作法是 恶行. 反之, 许多人认为是智慧和负责的行动. 圣经没有反对人为未来打算 (如对永生的打算), 圣经所反对的是: 人不可以, 也不应该无视神的主权而自以为有智慧, 骄傲地安排一切.

 

凡是将神拒在人生计划外的行为当然是 恶事. (4:17)

 

圣经对 掌管 的教导 (4:15)

雅各举出三个既合圣经, 又合情合理的作法:

(1)   在人生道路和一切相关事务上承认神的主权. 主若愿意 是我们对掌管的基本应有态度. 因为神是我们人生和有关的一切事务最高的主宰. 在没有得到神的许可, 支持之前, 我们什么也不能作.

(2)   承认生命比事务 (物质) 更重要. 可以活着 放在 作这事或作那事 前面是很重要的一点. 正如耶酥所说, 人若赚得全世界, 赔了自己的生命, 有什么益处呢? (马太福音 16:26) 这里的 生命, 包括今生的生命和永恒的生命 (永生).

(3)   只当说 意是 应该有的, 恰当的, 合理的 的态度, 向神降服, 交出人生主权不是 要行或不要行 的选择, 乃是 必定的, 理所当然 的作法. 任何人任何时候自己想作 自己的神, 就是违背神的 掌管主权 的权柄.

 

 

结论: 人若认为 我自己可以掌管一切, 那是顶大的无知, 狂妄的作法. 如果你真正相信神绝对从你的益处着想, 相信他的能力和智慧比你强, 为何你仍然不肯放手, 让他去掌管呢? 请坐下, 安静, 享受神为你所预备的一切, 神绝对不会出差错.

“WISDOM OF LIVING (4): CONTROL”         By Pastor YAU

James 4:13-17                                                        October 3, 2004

 

INTRODUCTION:  Although all the biblical virtues are good, such as love, faith, patience, forgiveness, repentance, prayer, humility, etc. they are in no way when compared with “SURRENDER CONTROL”.  The life of Jesus was an excellent example of complete surrender, especially when He told His Father: “But thy will be done.”  No life is really a dedicated life for God unless God is in absolute control.

       The desire to have control is part of the sinful nature of human being. The desire of Adam and Eve wanting to be like God is a desire to control their own lives. That same desire causes conflicts between people, businesses, social classes, military power and war. Many Christians, although claim to surrender their lives to follow Jesus, they in fact desire to have control of their lives and everything else about it.  The Scripture reference quoted above is some admonition from James to all those who desire control.

 

DESIRING CONTROL IS TO IGNORE THE WILL OF GOD: (4:13-14)

       The “you say” carries a customary pattern which means what following is a common saying, belief or practice.  From the days of James until now, people hasn’t changed a bit: they think they know it all, can handle their lives, they don’t need God in their plans for their future.  The present infinitive carries the idea of “continually” doing or saying so. They made decisions on what time: today or tomorrow, where to go: to a predetermined place, how long: a year or two, what to do: start a business, and what purpose: make tons of money. They have everything charted out, planned. They feel confident that they can handle all the details and they will be successful in so doing. But there are two things they certainly have NO control.  First, they have no control on what will happen tomorrow, and second, they certainly have NO control if they will still be alive tomorrow.

       There are so many unknown factors in this world: the economy, social condition, political system, government policies and many others. Even the wisest guy or the most powerful person on earth does not have control of any of these things.

       The frailty of life is another thing no one has control. We can do all we want to improve our health condition: proper diet, exercise, quit smoking, lose weight, just to list a few. But no one knows how long he will live or will live beyond tomorrow.  James properly described that life is like mists, short lived and uncertain.

       Where is God and His sovereignty in our daily life? Does He have any say in this? Why do men, even Christians, plan and live their lives as gods themselves? Where is the WILL of God which we vowed to follow and obey when we decided to believe in Him?

 

BOASTING CONTROL OF LIFE IS EVIL: (4:16)

       To “boast”, alazoneia, in Greek, means big mouth loud.  To “brag”, kauchaomai, in Greek, means to tell lies or pretend of fake products. Putting these two words together is to mean telling things with loud voice but they are not true.  Too many people are doing this everyday.  Most people certainly know they have NO control on anything, and yet, they pretend to have control by doing long term planning without subjecting themselves to the will and authority of God.

       The worse part of this kind of philosophy and practice is that most people do not see this kind of self confidence and reliance as evil.  To the contrary, most people credit this as wise and being responsible for the future. The Bible certainly does not discredit the value of prudence in planning for the future.  The teaching here is to remind readers not to rely on our wisdom and arrogance without considering the importance of surrendering control of life to the Almighty God.  To leave God out of our life is certainly evil.

 

BIBLICAL APPROACH ON CONTROL:  (4:15)

       James, the Apostle, suggested practical and biblical attitude related to control of life:

1)      Acknowledging the supreme control of God in our lives and things related to it. James added: “If the Lord wills,” as the ground work of control. It is the Lord who has the ultimate control on our lives and all else related. There is nothing we can or should do without the permission of the Lord.

2)      Acknowledging the value of life over things. “We will live” supercedes everything else. As Jesus said in the Gospel, what is to gain if anyone who gains the world but forfeits his life.  “Life” here represents both this life and the life to come, the eternal life.

3)      Acknowledging our duty to surrender control to God. The word “ought” means proper, correct or must be this way.  Relinquishing our right of control to God is not an option but mandatory.  Anyone at anytime tries to play the role which only God can play is a serious offense and violation to His sovereignty.

 

CONCLUSION:   Trying to control our lives and everything else about life is too much for anyone to do. If we really believe God has our best interest in His heart and is lot more capable of doing more and better, why would anyone of us want to try it himself? Sit back, relax and enjoy the ride of your life.  You are in good hands.