生活的智慧(39)發現 (尤牧師)

經文﹕哥林多前書124-12 20051218

 

引言﹕1一件真事﹕在著名的探險家哥倫布的一次旅程中,他發現了一種形狀古怪的 樹。這樹的果子大若皮球,當地的土人稱它為會流淚的樹。這名字的來源是因為 這樹不時流出好像眼淚的樹脂。後來科學家發現這樹脂凝固之後可用來擦去鉛筆之 跡,就給這樹脂起名叫橡皮Rubber)。橡皮的用途可多了。從汽車的輪胎到手 術用的手套,還有數不完的產品都從橡皮而來。沒有人能預測流淚樹的用途有多 廣。

2一個應用﹕正如橡皮樹一樣,我們中間不少貌不驚人,看來十分平庸,沒有高 才大智,言談也不出眾的人,可能就是深藏不露,內涵非常豐富的人。誰能知道神 在各人身上所賜的恩賜能力呢?我深信在每一個自認平凡的人身上,必定有數不 完的特長正在等待被發現。

 

聖經對於潛能的原則﹕(唸今天的經文)

1)          人所有的潛能都是從神而來﹕124)神是萬物萬人的創造者,包括各人所有的潛能,才幹,能力,本事,沒有人可以自認他的才幹是屬他自己的,或為他而有的。

2)          各人的才幹有不同的功用﹕125-6)神賜給我們的不同才幹,正是為了生活上不同的需要而設。各種才幹的不同用途,並不表示這個高或低。 人不可以此自傲。

3)          各種才幹都是為大眾利益﹕127)神給各人不同的才幹是要為大家的益處。人不應該用神的才幹只為自己的利益,那是違反神旨意的作法。

4)          所有的才幹都 受聖靈管理﹕128-11)各人的才幹是從聖靈而來(因此叫作屬靈恩賜),故此,必須接受聖靈的管理,聖靈管理,指揮人去使用才幹,沒有人可以自作主張,或拒絕聖靈的指引。

 

為何許多才幹從沒被發現?

1)          有些人不知道他們有才幹﹕一個人若認為自己沒有才幹,他就不會試去發掘。這是因為他不明白神在他身上的旨意和期望。神造每個人必定給他一些特別的才幹,可以用來完成神創造他的目的。

2)          有些人認為才幹太小,不起作用﹕這是絕大多數人錯誤的思想。不少人將才幹比作出眾出名,自認才幹既不出眾,又不出名的人,就自認他的才幹不重要,這是十分錯誤的想法。在主的身體上,一只手指和一個頭有同樣的重要性。每一個才幹,不分大小,都是對整個身體非常重要。

3)          有些人不肯花時間去發掘﹕正如田間珍珠的比喻一樣,才幹是深藏的珍寶,等待有心人去發掘,需要人的智慧去發現,花時間去發掘,必會找到對神的事工大有益處的才幹。許多人太忙於世俗事務,不肯用時間去尋找神藏在他們身上的寶藏,這些人其實是白白浪費神給他們的恩賜。

4)          有些人不肯是因為曾經遭受挫折﹕學習如何運用神的恩賜好像學開車一樣,有些人可能會遇到挫折,或是出過小小意外,以後就一輩子不敢再學開車。人人都知道,在學習過程中一定會犯錯的,千萬不要因為犯錯就灰心喪膽,許多人在沒有學會之前就放棄,太可惜。

 

如何發現潛能?正如發現樹脂的潛在用途一樣,要經歷一些時間去發現,人的才幹也是一樣,許多有用的恩賜才能正在等待人去發現,一步一步來。﹕

1)          你首先要相信神造你必有用處﹕這是最重要的開始,是你心中的信念;在你裏面,神藏著不少寶貝,有用的才能,不必與他人相比,你本身就是寶貝,有用。這不是盲目的驕傲,乃是對神造你有信心,神永不造出廢物。

2)          你願意作有貢獻的人﹕不論是在家中,在學校,在工作地方或是在教會,你要作個有貢獻的人,不願作個只管坐享其成的人。你對生活的園圈有貢獻,使與你接觸的人得益處。這種樂意貢獻的人,不管到什麼地方,都會成為人人歡迎的重要人物,也使你更多與人接觸,在別人身上或參與的工作上作出貢獻。

3)          你開始參與﹕參與是成功的第一步。不論你有多少才能,你一天不參與,不應用,你不會有任何貢獻,更不必說有成就。自動參與作些事,站出來,捲起袖子,試作些事,幫些忙。這類的行動是你發掘你內在潛能的起步,你會發現你比想像有用得多。若你從來不開始,你永遠不會知道你能作什麼。

4)          永不放棄﹕才能的用途,好像鑽石的光芒,需要時間,需要琢磨才能顯出來。有時會經歷過重的壓力,太多的挫折,太慢的進展,環境人事的困難等。但你必須經過琢磨才能成為鑽石。

 

為何要使用才能?

1)          表示你對神托付的忠心﹕在馬太2514-30分金托僕比喻中,耶穌不強調僕人有多少托付,卻注重他們對主人托付的忠心態度。神沒有要求人人有同樣的恩賜,才能,或有同樣的成就。但神要求人人有同樣的忠心。將才幹藏起來,不用,是對神托付不忠的表現,不忠心的人會受虧損。

2)          神的家需要你﹕保羅在今天的經文中將教會的運作與人體的運作比較。正如身體的各個器官有各種特殊的功能,教會中的各個弟兄姐妹也一樣有特殊的功能,對教會的成長有貢獻。

3)          你應當有的機會﹕聖經不叫人因才幹驕傲,但聖經卻教導人各人有各人應有的機會去使用他的才能,作出貢獻。正如美國社會所注重的口號說同等機會

4)          神得一切的榮耀﹕耶穌在葡萄樹的比喻中所說(約翰151-8)他說當枝子應盡量用樹所提供的水份,營養,多結果子的時候,天父(園主)就多得榮耀。信徒使用神賜的才幹服事神,多結果子,使天父得榮耀,正如我們的兒女接受我們的照顧,栽培,努力得好成績給我們為父母的帶來榮耀一樣。

 

結論1神賜才幹是要應用﹕才幹正如金錢或衣服,你一天不用,不穿,它們就沒 有功能。發掘和使用神的才幹可以為神作些事。

2今天就開始﹕睜開眼,向四週看看,你就會找到一些可以開始作的事,大小 不重要,參與才重要。藏起來的寶物不使人得益。站出來,神會用你。

3神給人最大的恩賜﹕就是永生,藉信從耶穌作救主而來的永生。主為世人釘 死十字架,人人都可以得救,只要你口裏認罪,心裏相信他是神的兒子,你就 可以得救,人人都要有永生,你也不例外。

WISDOM OF LIVING (39) DISCOVERY†††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††By Pastor YAU

Text: 1 Corinthians 12:4-12†††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††December 18, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)     A true story: On one of the voyages, explorer Christopher Columbus came across a funny tree. The fruits of this tree bounced like balls. The Indians named it caoutchouc---ďthe weeping wood.Ē The tree was given that name because it emitted a sap that looked like the treeís tears. Later on scientists discovered that the sap could be collected and allowed to harden into lumps that rubbed off pencil marks. Hence it was renamed ďrubber.Ē Then rubber was used to make tires, latex surgical gloves and many others that no one is sure how useful rubber may be in the future.

2)     An application: Like rubber trees, many of us seemingly donít have much appeal to others and certainly donít have spectacular talents to make us stand out. In fact, some of us may have looks or acts that are unimpressive like the sap of a rubber tree. But who can tell how much talent or usefulness God might have created and installed in each one of us? There may be a lot more in all of us waiting to be discovered than we could ever imagine.

 

BIBLICAL PRINCIPLES ON POTENTIAL: (Todayís text)

1)      All potentials (gifts) are from God: (12:4) God is the Creator of all things including all of our talents, potentials and ability. No one may claim any of the talents or gifts God has given him for his personal glory or benefit.

2)      All potentials (gifts) are for different use: (12:5-6) God knows what we have and where we may use His talents meeting different needs in different situation. There is no one talent greater than another. We are given different talents for different purposes as they were designed by God.

3)      All our talents are for common good: (12:7) All talents are given to us for the common good of all people with whom we function. No one should use his talent for personal gain or interest. Using God given talents for selfish purpose is against Godís intent.

4)      All talents are under control by the Holy Spirit: (12:8-11) All talents are from the Spirit of God, thatís why sometimes they are called gifts of the Holy Spirit, and are subjected to its control. The Holy Spirit gives and controls the function of the gifts. It is given, free and unmerited. No one should boast because of any gift or talent.

 

WHY ARE MANY TALENTS NEVER DISCOVERED?

1)      Some donít believe they have any talent: When you donít believe you have any talents, you wonít try to discover them. This is the result of ignorance of Godís intent in creating people. God never creates anyone without any purpose. Each of us was created with a purpose and God always installed in us sufficient talents to fulfill that purpose.

2)      Some donít believe their ďlittleĒ talents can make any difference: This is the most common but faulty mindset in many Christians. Many people categorize talents in terms of popularity or visibility. If their talents are not as popular or visible compare to those of others, they donít feel they are important in Godís work. That is so far away from the truth. In the body of Christ, a finger is as important as the head. Each talent is important to the total progress of Godís church.

3)      Some donít spend time to find out their talents: Talents are hidden treasures as it was illustrated in the parable of ďPearl in the field.Ē They are there waiting to be discovered. It takes wisdom to know and time to dig out so they may be precious and useful in Godís work. Too many people are too busy in their worldly pursuit. They never have time to allow Godís talents to be discovered and to be made useful. They are wasting Godís treasure in them.

4)      Some were discouraged by setbacks: Learning how to use Godís talents is like learning how to drive a car. Some people may have a bumpy experience in learning how to drive and were scared off and never go through all the lessons and end up never really learn to drive. Learning is a try and error process. We may make mistakes here or there but that is how we learn the skill. Too often, people give up before they really learn how to use their talents.

 

HOW TO DISCOVER POTENTIALS? Like the potential usefulness of the sap of a rubber tree waited for many years to be discovered and to make a tremendous contribution to the world and its people, talents of many seemingly ordinary people are also hidden in them without being discovered for their better use. Here are some simple steps of discovery:

1)     You need to believe that you are valuable and useful: This mindset is the beginning of all the steps following: you must believe that there are qualities in you that are so good and important. No need to compare with other. Just you and you alone are important and useful. This is not blind pride but a confirmation of Godís wisdom and design. God never made junk.

2)     You want to make a difference: Be it in your family, at school, at work or in the church, you want to be a contributor instead of a consumer. You want to give what you can for the betterment of the surrounding. The desire to be useful may make you an important part of the circle in which you live and work. This desire bridges you with people around you so you can make a difference.

3)     You begin to participate: Participation is the beginning of success. No matter how good you may be in something, you will never get anywhere if you never participate. Get involve, volunteer, step out, get into, help, work, do, try. Many of these verbs are stepping stones which will lead you to discover more and more of your potentials and their usefulness. If you never try, you never know.

4)     Never quit: The usefulness of a talent is like the sparkles of a diamond: it takes time, effort and endurance in cutting and polishing to make them come out. There will be times you want to quit because it is too hard, not enough progress, no one appreciates or you just feel tired. If you stop the process, it will not be a diamond but only a piece of rock. All good things come with a price: the better the higher. Keep going and you will make it.

 

REASONS OF DISCOVERING TALENTS:

1)     Be faithful to Godís trust: In the parable of the ďtalentsĒ in Matthew 25:14-30, Jesus stressed the importance of being faithful to the trust of God. God never demands all His servants bring in the same results but He demands we all be faithful in discovering and using His trust. Hiding talents undiscovered or unused to the fullest extent is a sign of being unfaithful. We will suffer consequences because of unfaithfulness.

2)     The Body needs them: Paul used the human body to symbolize the Church and all the parts of the body members of the church. As all parts of the body have their unique usefulness and functions to the well being of the body, every member of Godís church has his/her unique and important function to the health and growth of the church. Any part missing will cause the body to suffer. Talents of all sizes and shapes are equally important in the Body of Christ.

3)     You deserve it: I am not talking about pride. I am talking about opportunity. Everyone deserves the opportunity to exercise his/her talents and make contribution to Godís church. No one in the church is higher than anyone else. You have something good to give you should have the equal opportunity to do that.

4)     God receives all the honor and glory: In the parable of the vine in John 15:1-8, Jesus concluded it that if we bear much fruit by using our Godís given talents, our Heaven Father will receive the glory. Using the talents we receive from God to bring Him glory is like we receive honor when our children demonstrate skills or attitude we taught them.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)      Talents are given to be used: Like clothing or money, if you donít use them they are not yours. Knowing that you have talents and use tem faithfully is good stewardship. Everyone has something to give for the good of God, church and people.

2)      Starting from today: Open your eyes and find something to do to use your talents. Hidden treasure benefits no one. Do not wait for another day to make yourself available in serving Godís church.

3)      The best gift of all gifts: The best gift God gives us is salvation through His Son Jesus Christ. Jesus has made salvation available to everyone who will confess his sin and ask for forgiveness. This is the eternal gift no one could afford to miss.