生活的智慧(38)黑點 (尤牧師)

經文﹕詩篇 6819 20051023

 

引言

1)                 一個故事﹕一位牧師在一個弟兄小組上講專題,他手上拿起一張紙,在上面點了一個黑點,然後問大家﹕你們看到什麼?有好幾個人同聲說﹕一個黑點

牧師說﹕。又說﹕還看到什麼?頓時靜肅無聲。牧師說﹕你們都忽略 了最重要的東西;我手上的這張紙。

2)                 一個教訓﹕我們很容易被小黑點影響,轉移我們的注意力;一些芝麻綠豆的小事,一點點挫折,一個小失敗,一句不中聽的話,就使我們心裏不高興了大半天。卻忽略了神賜給我們的許多更美的福份。人生就像一張紙,比紙上的一個小黑點大多了,好多了。

 

小黑點對我們有什麼影響?黑點雖然小,但對我們人生的喜樂影響很大﹕

1)          黑點是人生的一部份﹕不管你多努力,多小心,多勤勞,多用工去避免,人生過程中一定會有黑點,它們會不請自來,並且來了就不走。黑點是指不順心的事,不喜歡的人,作事結果不如理想,這些一定會發生,我們就是活在這麼不完美的世界中。

2)          黑點損害我們完美的人生﹕儘管人人都知道人生沒有完美,但我們天天都在盼望有一天可以完美。當黑點出現時,對我們完全的希望打破了,我們就灰心,就生氣,會想盡辦法想將它除去。

3)          黑點雖小,卻佔據我們注意力﹕許多人被小黑點的影響很大,大到看不見黑點之外,還有許多值得活下去的好事,許多人讓黑點影響到坐立不安,煩躁無奈,甚至擋住了看見好事物的注意力,生命變得無奈,乏力,甚至失去意義。

4)          黑點趕也不走﹕許多人想盡辦法除掉人生中的小黑點,但是無法除得乾淨,正如老年人眼睛昏花一樣,是無可改變的事實,並且不會好起來的毛病。我們應該學習如何接受事實,帶著黑點活下去,正如保羅身上有一根刺,神也不為他除掉,我們要接受事實,人人生命中都有黑點,我們要在黑點中過一輩子。

 

人生有些什麼黑點?人生遭遇的黑點不少,我們要有智慧去應付它們﹕

1)          神諸多祝福中會有黑點﹕正如那班弟兄們一樣,只看見紙上面的一個小黑點而看不到那麼大的一張紙。許多人也一樣只看到生活中一些小小的不愉快事情而看不到神賜下的許多恩惠。如果你安靜坐下來,拿出一張紙,分兩行,一行寫下神給你的祝福,另一行記下你的缺乏,不滿足等,然後對照一下,你一定會看到,神豐富的恩典遠遠多過一些小小的失望和挫折。

2)          許多人身上也有黑點﹕許多時候,我們被人的不好言語,行為,態度,作事方式引起我們的難堪不快。我們常會因此就對某人的整個人格和價值抹煞掉,輕視他,貶低他,有意無意間會在態度上表示對他不滿,有些人甚至會因此不跟某人來往,其實這種作法,同時會傷害我們的人際關係。

3)          我們自己身上也有黑點﹕有些人喜歡用沒有任何人是完全的作藉口,繼續活在不負責任的生活方式中,我們知道人人都會犯錯。你若耿耿於懷過去的過失一直為過去的失敗憂傷,那是不必要的,也是無用的。我們應坦然承認自己的過失,找出改正的方法,正如浪子的故事一樣,為自己的過去負責,然後找轉回的道路。人實在沒有十全十美,聖經中的偉人,每個人都有他們失敗跌倒的經歷,神是有恩典的神,他常常給我們第二次機會,東山再起。

4)          世界到處有黑點﹕我們看世界可以有兩個角度;一個是積極的,另一個是消極的。不管你選擇那一個方法,有一件事是絕對逃不掉的﹕世上必然有一些事是你看不順眼的。我們將這些事稱為黑點,世事許多不完美,甚至簡直是違反正義,毫不公道,實在邪惡,壞人橫行無阻,許多事情完全錯誤,無人能改正。

 

克服黑點的步驟﹕(詩篇6819)聖經的大衛王就是許多偉人的一個,在他人生經歷中,也有許多過失,失敗,挫折,他找到克服黑點的途徑﹕

1)          向神支取安慰﹕19節上)儘管他生命中滿是黑點,大衛王將安慰和盼望放在神身上,他開始讚美神,他稱神為主,就是管理生命的主,也是救他脫離失敗的主,他心中的歡樂情緒,使他開始從失敗灰暗中回轉。在黑點中讚美神是我們回頭的第一步。

2)          向神支取能力﹕背負人生的重擔不是易事,許多時候我們覺得擔子太重。責任的擔子,欠缺能力的擔子,人際關係的擔子,本身軟弱的擔子,加上罪的擔子,叫我們擔當不了。大衛王將所有的擔子交托給全能的神,他為我們擔當一切擔子。

3)          天天向神支取﹕這是非常重要的一點﹕我們天天需要神,神沒有一次過給我們一座能力山,使我們永遠有用不完的能力,他乃是要我們天天與他同行。他會看顧我們的缺乏,就是我們每天的需要,大衛王用天天背負這四個字是非常安慰的字眼。人不應當自己作主,走自己的路,遇到危險時才找神幫助。我們要神天天幫助,背負我們的重擔,就必須天天與神同行。

4)          黑點的好處﹕英王鑑定本對這節經文的譯本是這樣﹕我們要稱頌天天向我們裝滿恩惠的神。神不只是天天消極地背負我們的重擔。(NIV譯本),他也是天天向我們施恩典,恩惠的神。

 

結論﹕

有人曾經說過一句名言﹕在人生道路上,不要只看黑雲,你應當注意看到籃天。

1)          人生不盡是順境﹕人人都知道人生不盡是順境的,有時有光明,有時有黑暗。我們對人生的看法應該是看整體,不要只看見黑點,沒有人能盡除黑點,故此,我們應當耐心接受,與黑點同行。

2)          靠近主﹕不要在生道路上孤軍作戰,要靠近神,他永遠會支持你,加你力量,救你脫離困境。你能天天與他同,他就天天為你背負重擔,賜你恩惠。

3)          需要除去的黑點﹕罪在人生命中就像黑點一樣,起初是少數小點,後來點數越來越多,黑點越來越大。如果你不盡快清除,終有一天會遮蓋你整個人生,你要求神赦免你的罪,使你清潔,沒有人可以帶著罪上天堂,耶穌要拯救你。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (38) BLACK DOTS”                By Pastor YAU

Text: Psalm 68:19                                                           October 23, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   A story: A pastor was talking to a men’s class, he took a sheet of plain paper and made a black dot in the center of it. Then he held the paper up and asked the group what they saw. One man replied, “I see a black mark.” “Right,” the pastor said. “What else?” All were silent. “I am surprised,” said the pastor. “You all have completely overlooked the most important thing in this—the sheet of paper.”

2)   A lesson: We are often distracted by small black dots in our lives—little things that are not as good as we want them to, set backs, failures, etc. and we are prone to forget the many blessings the Lord has sent our way everyday. Like the sheet of paper, the good things are far more and better than that little black dot.

 

WHAT DO BLACK DOTS DO IN OUR LIVES?  Even though black dots are small, they play an important role in our lives and often times they catch most or all of our attention.

1)   Black dots are part of real life:  No matter how hard you try or how good you want to be, there will be black dots happen in your journey of life. They will come to you without your invitation. Things that are not perfect, people who are not perfect, results that are not as you want them to will come your way. This is never a perfect place to live.

2)   Black dots spoil our otherwise “perfect” life:  Even though we all know that there is no such thing as a perfect life but we are looking for that perfect life everyday. And whenever a dot comes our way, it spoils the whole picture of our lives and we can’t stand it. We will try all we can to get rid of it.

3)   Black dots get all our attention: Most of us will get distracted by the black dots in life to the point that we forget there are so much to live for. We will focus so much on the irritation created by the little dot or dots that we are paralyzed or blinded from seeing the good side of life. Many people can’t get over the irritations and setbacks and have lost so much fun and joy in their lives.

4)   Black dots will never leave: This is a real problem for many: they try to get rid of the irritating things in their lives but just can’t get rid of them all. Just as the floaters in many aging eyes, black dots are going to stay and we just have to live with them you like it or not. As Paul prayed many times asking God to remove the thorns in his flesh and God didn’t do it, we have to accept the fact that dots are going to be there all the times.

 

WHAT ARE SOME OF THE BLACK DOTS? There are many kinds of black dots in life. We need to have correct perspectives in dealing with them.

1)    Black dots in the blessings of God:  Just as the men in the class missed to see the much larger piece of paper but saw only the black dot, small unhappy experience in life may blind us from focusing on the blessing God provides us each day. If you can just sit down with a quiet heart, write down all the good things God has given you on one side of a piece of paper, and then list all the black dots you may think you have on the other side, almost without exception, you will see many more blessings in you life than the set backs, irritations or failures.

2)    Black dots are short comings in others: Many of us are irritated by words, actions, decisions or attitude of others that we begin to cut down or even eradicate the true value of them. Instead of seeing the whole person and the good side of them, we tend to blanket them with bad impression and negative words and attitude against them. Some even go all the way to draw some psychological or emotional circles to exclude them out. This will greatly damage or hinder our relationship with others

3)    Black dots in our own lives: Some may use the saying “nobody is perfect” as excuse for their failures and continue to live their lives that way, we all know we do fail one time or another. To stay in the mood of failure and mourn about them gets us no where except continue to fail. Recognizing our failure and try to find a way back is a better way to life. Just as in the prodigal son story, we are to take responsibility on our failures and take appropriate steps to come back. Few people, if any, live a failure proof life. Even the most respect people in the Bible had their fair share of failures. Get out of that mood and keep going. God always gives us a second chance.

4)    Black dots in this world: There are two ways to look at this world in which we live: optimistic and pessimistic. Regardless of which way you choose to look, one thing that will never change is: there are things you don’t like to see. We call them black dots. There are many imperfections as well as out right injustice and even cruelty. Many things happening around us are so bad, evil is so real, some people are so rotten, things are so wrong and there is nothing anyone can do to correct them. There are people who believe if they change a new job, a new girl friend, a new spouse or a new church, things will become better. They forgot that black dots are everywhere in everyone. Once you get to know the place or that person enough, you know all are the same.

 

STEPS TO OVERCOME BLACK DOTS: (Psalm 68:19) King David was one of those great men in the Bible who had their fair share of black dots in their lives. He lived with many setbacks and failures and had found a better way to live with them:

1)    Drawing comfort from God: (v.19a) With all the black dots in his life, David placed his confidence and hope in the all loving and powerful God. He began his call with praise to his Lord and Savior. Instead of feeling low and giving up, David credited God as his Lord, the one who controls his life, and his Savior the one who will save him from more failures. His up beat attitude of giving praises is the beginning of his victory over failures. Rely on God instead of yourself is the beginning of your coming back and getting up.

2)    Drawing strength from Him: Bearing the burdens of life is never an easy task for us. Often times, we are overwhelmed by all the burdens that come our way. Burdens of responsibilities, burdens of sin and burdens of human inadequacy are just a few to name. Each one of us has our own burdens and at times, we find them too much to hear. David found his Lord as the one who bore all kinds of his burdens. The Lord is strong enough to bear all our burdens.

3)    Walk through life with God each day:  This is an important point to address: we need Him everyday. God never gives us a large deposit in the Bank of Heaven so we may draw little at a time for our needs. He wants to walk with us each and everyday to see and meet our needs on the way of life. The word “daily” or “each day” is so comforting. This word, daily, also calls for our close walk with the Lord. No one can live his life his way or away from God and then cries to God for help in time of trouble expecting God to be his rescue. We all know that God has His expectation on us as well.

4)    Burdens turned to benefits:  The KJV translated this sentence as “the Lord loadeth us with benefits.” God does more than just bears our burdens in a passive way as in NIV, He pours out, heaps up His many benefits daily on those who walks closely with Him.

 

CONCLUSION: Someone once said something like this: “As you travel down life’s pathway, may this ever be your goal: Keep your eyes on the donut, and not on the hole.”

1)   Life is never all rosy: Everybody accepts the fact that life is never all rosy. There will be rosy time and there will be times with black dots. Look at life as a whole picture instead of focusing only on the dots. You are not going to completely eradicate them, so, take them along and enjoy the good side of life.

2)   Keep yourself close to God: Don’t walk down the path of life alone. Keep close with God. He is always there to support, to strengthen and to rescue you in time of storm. It is your daily walk with Him that will guarantee His presence and blessing.

3)   Black dots you need to erase: Sin comes to our lives as black dots. They begin as small dots but soon they will grow bigger and more serious if we do not confess to God and ask for forgiveness. No one is going to heaven with black dots or sins. Jesus has provided a way to get rid of them. All you need to do is accept Him as Lord and Savior, confess your sins, ask for forgiveness and He will wash them away and make you as white as snow. (I John 1:9)