生活的智慧(37)太忙 (尤牧師)

經文﹕啟示錄314-22 20051016

 

引言﹕1開車用餐是一個常見的事,許多人忙到要一面開車一面用餐,為的是要 節省一點用餐時間。許多為了適應開車用餐的食品應運而生,除了常見的漢 堡包,三明治,汽水之外,新產品有牙膏型的奶昔。擠出從口裏放,可以放 在水杯裏的湯,小餅之類。一位消費品研究員說;越來越多人需要既方便又 簡單的開車食品,可以一面開車一面吃。坐在家裏餐桌上悠閒地用餐,已經 是難得一見的事。

2詢眾要求﹕我們今天活在一個多方面要求的社會,才華要出眾,效率 要高,多才多藝,成就要好,許多人都有好幾個身份,責任。並且人人都要 求你要有優秀表現。這麼多責任,每一樣都要你花時間。有些人就要將事 情按優先排序,有些人就什麼都答應,什麼都想作,就將自己的時間分得很 薄,為了要滿足眾人的要求。

3成功的象徵﹕世界用好幾個不同的尺度去衡量人成功的程度,其中一個是 看你有多忙。有些人將很忙比成很重要,和很成功。因為只有責任很 多的人才是重要人物,那重要人物當然就是成功人物了。一般人都知道責任 很忙,但將很忙比成很成功就不一定正確。有些很成功的人並沒有那麼忙, 有不少很忙的人卻不一定成功。

 

為什麼我們很忙?今天我們有很方便的交通工具,通訊系統,但比起我們的父母一代,我們忙多了,認為忙是完成每天必需完成的責任,工作,為什麼?

1)          我們被同化了﹕許多人被這世界的論調同化了,認為忙是件好事,許多人覺得忙等於重要,等於有成就,有高貢獻,也得更多人尊重。甚至有人認為不太忙的人等於不太重要,不太有成就,當我們接受這論調之後,我們就會越來越忙,並且心安理得。人人都知道很忙不一定等於很有效率或很有成就。但大多數人喜歡弄到自己很忙,並且覺得很值得。

2)          我們要得更多﹕很多人是為了要得到更多,所以就必須更忙,更多金錢,更多物質享受,更多自高,更多滿足,太多數人的忙,都是為了上面所提四件事;金錢,物質,自高和滿足感。你要得更多,當然要多付代價,第一個代價就是多化時間,更忙。

3)          樣樣都想作﹕世上有些太好人,人人要他幫忙,他都會作。這情形發生在辦公室,在家庭,在朋友間,在教會,也在社交圈子中,他們從來就不敢說我不能,他們怕說不能會得罪人,他們要使人人高興,結果就弄到自己忙得不可開交。人人都應當彼此幫忙,但答應 所有人的要求,為所有人作事,使所有人覺得你是好人,是不聰明的作法。

4)          不正常的人生意義﹕大部分具有一般智慧的人都想活得有意義,許多人不認為只要活著就滿足。在尋求意義過程中,不少人就變成很忙,我們稱這些人為工作狂。他們從很忙中去找尋意義,但這種以忙當成意義的意義,真實沒什麼意義。

 

太忙的害處﹕太忙的害處很多,神造人時,就在人裏面安放了適量的精力去作適量的工作,神給我們責任,我們應當忠心去作,違反神創造的規則必會引起傷害。

1)          太忙會傷害身體健康﹕如果你太忙,忙到遠遠越過神給你的能量,你的身體必會受到傷害,並且很快就看出來,你會精力不足,感到壓力太大,消化不良,血壓會太高,情緒緊張,甚至精神崩潰,許多人過份透支體力而傷害健康狀況,沒有人是鐵人,在過度疲勞壓力下,身體會垮。

2)          太忙會影響效率﹕很少人可以同時作幾樣工作。而每樣工作都有一流的效率。要達到最高效率,人必須集中精神,專注作一件事。人若太忙,責任太多,必然是樣樣都作,但沒有一樣作得最好,因為人不可能在所有事上都專心。

3)          太忙會影響人際關係﹕人活著不只是為了工作,我們活在人的圈子中。人際關係使我們有歸屬感,有存在價值,有精神和感情的支持,有意義,都很重要,從家庭到朋友,從工作地方到社會參與,我們建立人際關係,彼此溝通,互相關懷,在生活上有趣味,我們稱為社交。當你太忙,忙到根本沒時間去培養人際關係時,關係就會脆弱,甚至破碎。許多婚姻的破裂,孩子變成小壞蛋,都是因為父母太忙,沒有好好建立家庭關係之故。

4)         太忙會傷害屬靈長進﹕和別的事物一樣,屬靈生命的成長需要時間去栽培。許多被太忙困住的人,通常都會忽略屬靈生活的需要,根本就不必提到長進。他們根本沒有時間靈修,安心讀經禱告,很少上查經班,門徒訓練,甚至連崇拜也不來,為的就是實在太多事務要花時間去處理。這些人會沉溺在世俗價值中,忘記了生命的真正目的。他們應該給神的心思和時間,被世界的事物偷走了,他們在神國中成為無用的人。他們在世上得的一切,有一天,都變成廢物,失去天國裏神的賞賜 。

 

耶穌怎麼說?(啟示錄314-22)直接,間接在這經文中,耶穌對那些太忙於致富的人提出警告。耶穌要他們注意可憐的屬靈光景,他又提出警告一些回轉的步驟

1)          當權威人士發言時﹕314E.F. Hutton是投資界的權威,當他發言時,人人都靜心細聽。這節經文說耶穌是所造萬物之上的元首,他說話時,我們是不是應當專心細聽?

2)          毫無價值的境況﹕315-16)耶穌對老底嘉教會說話,等於向今天的信徒說話,他描述這教會的情形,(也是今天許多信徒的情形)他們太忙,沒有時間關心屬靈的事, 不泠不熱,毫無用處,他要從口中將他們吐掉。這正是今天許多自認為基督徒的情形,因為他們太忙,與神的關係就會泠淡了,神會收回他的保護,在神國變成無用。

3)          面對事實﹕317)大部份很忙的人都認為自己很有成就;有了錢,有了財產,有成功的事業,什麼都不缺。這些驕傲,空洞的安全感和自我價值,使他們以為自己達到人生的高峰。但在神的眼中看來,他們卻是貧窮,可憐,困苦,赤身,瞎眼的人,雖然他們自以為富足,發了財,一樣不缺。世上一切得著,無法使你在神面前增加一分一文的價值。

4)          回頭的步驟﹕318-20)正如浪子的比喻一樣,神永遠是大有憐憫,天天在等待我們回頭,神給我們回轉的路;

a) 向神求完全的醫治﹕18節)神有他的方法使你真正富足,他也有方法遮 蓋你的赤身,有特效藥醫你的眼,使你重新看見真理。

b) 管教和悔改﹕19節)太多信徒若不經過神的管教是不肯回頭悔改的。神 的管教包括受苦,損失,傷害。管教也是神憐憫的方式。

c) 打開你的心門﹕20節上)神站在你門外很久了,一直在等待你開門,開 不開門是你的決定,你若肯開門,表示你願意讓耶穌住在你心中,作你生 命之主,管理你的一生。

5極大的賞賜和榮耀﹕320下至21節)神所賜的有兩樣;神要與你一起坐 席,與你親切來往。第二,神要你與他同坐在寶座上,同享榮耀。這是象徵 的字眼,要讓我們看看在天堂裏的榮耀和福份。如果你現在不太忙,能放時 間和精神在神身上,你將會得到的賞賜。

 

結論

1)          除去太忙的捆鎖﹕太忙是魔鬼在你身上的捆綁,世界綁住你,將你從神面前帶走。你要求神給你力量打破這捆鎖,使你有時間去親近神。

2)          愛惜光陰﹕(以弗所書516)你若過去因太忙,失去許多應該給神,給家人,給孩子,給教會的時間,你今天要將時間贖回來,還給神,給家庭,孩子,教會,這些才是你人生最寶貴的需要

3)          贖回你的靈魂﹕過去你將靈魂出賣給忙碌,工作,享受,今天你要將靈魂交給耶穌,向他承認你過去的罪,求神給你新生命,新的人生方向和價值,神就會賜給你。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (37) TOO BUSY”                   By Pastor YAU

Text: Revelation 3:14-22                                                October 16, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   Dashboard dining: The term “dashboard dining” has come to signify the growing practice of eating while driving to save a little time. Popular freeway fare includes yogurt in squeeze tubes, soup in heat-and-sip containers and cookies that fit in cup holders. One consumer product analyst says people increasingly want food items that can be eaten quickly and easily while on the road. In many homes, a leisurely meal at a table is becoming an endangered luxury.

2)   The world demands it: Today we live in multi-dimensional society that demands more out put, better results, diversified ability and efficiency. Many of us wearing many hats and perform many diverse functions. All these demand our time which we do not have. Some will choose to prioritize and do what they can while others try to do everything that have come their way and stretch so thin. Meeting demands is always a tough decision.

3)   A symbol of success: The world defines success in several terms and being “very busy” is one of them. Many people equate being busy as being important or bearing many responsibilities which in turn means successful. While we usually agree on the relationship between many responsibilities and being very busy, certainly not all of us would agree to link very-busy with success. We see some very busy people who are not that successful and some successful people who are not that busy.

 

WHY ARE WE SO BUSY?  Even with the convenience of modern means of transportation and communication, people today are much busier than our parents’ generation. Many people just can’t finish their day’s work within reasonable hours of the day but why?

1)    We got sucked in:  Many people got sucked in by the philosophy of this world that being busy is a good sign. It may mean that you have many responsibilities you are important and are a high achiever, have much more to give and are respected. Some people may even dismiss people who are less busy as less useful or successful. When we buy in to these beliefs, we got sucked in to becoming very busy and feel good. But we all know that being very busy does not equal to being productive or successful. Yet many people are still proud of their being so busy.

2)    We want more:  Many people get themselves so busy because they want more: more money, more material possessions, more pride and more personal satisfaction. Almost all those who work so much in their job or jobs fall into one or more of the above 4 categories: money, things, pride and satisfaction. You want more, you have to pay a price and the first price is on their time.

3)    We try to do everything: There are people who are nice guys trying to do everything everyone else ask them to. This happens at work, at home, between friends, at church and in social circles. These people just can’t say no. They are afraid that saying no may offend someone. So they want to make every body happy and therefore are very busy. We all want and need to be helpful. But to do everything everybody asks is just too much.

4)    Twisted meaning of life:  People with average intelligence love to have meaning in their lives. Most people want more than just being able to survive. While we all search for meaning of life, some will devote their lives in being busy. We call these people workaholics. They get themselves so busy just to enjoy being busy. They find personal satisfaction and meaning in their busy life. But this kind of belief is so empty and meaningless in itself.

 

THE HARM OF BEING TOO BUSY:  Being too busy is harmful in many ways. God has set in each one of us measures of energy and ability to fulfill duties He assigns to each of us. God also has set in our lives duties and concerns we need to attend to. To jeopardize the balance of life as God designs for each one of us is going to hurt us.

1)   It hurts our bio-rhythm:  This is the first and the easiest symptom any one can see in living a life that is beyond the stretch God allows us to. Either by choice or by force, life too busy is harmful to the body in many ways. From fatigue to stress, from indigestion to high blood pressure, from tension to nervous breakdown are all possible due to over work and under rest. Many people hurt their health condition by stretch too thin their physical strength. We are not iron men nor are we invincible. Our bodies may collapse under excessive pressure.

2)   It hurts our productivity:  Very few people can handle many things at the same time and do all of them to the best of their ability. Concentration and focus are needed in producing the best of our ability. When we are too busy in too many things, we tend to spread too thin in order to cover all grounds that we may lose focus and therefore our best possible productivity.

3)   It hurts our relationships:  Men do not live only for work. We live in communities with others. Relationship with people around us provides meaning, identity and emotional support we all need. From family to friends, from social interaction to community, we build relationships to give and receive personal attention, care, fun and support. When you are too busy to spend time to cultivate relationship, you tend to neglect the nurturing and relationship may deteriorate. Many marriages were broken and children become delinquents all because spouses and parents are too busy to care.

4)   It hurts our spiritual growth:  Like everything else, our spiritual life needs time and nurturing. People who are trapped in life too busy tend to neglect their spiritual needs much less growth. They won’t have time with God in personal devotion, reading the Bible and prayer. Some even skip Sunday School, discipleship and worship just to catch up with their worldly responsibilities. Most busy people are drawn to worldly values and purpose of life. Their share of contribution in God’s church is stolen by their busy life. Their usefulness in God’s Kingdom is lost. All that they may gain in this world will be counted useless and there is no crown for them in heaven.

 

WHAT DID JESUS SAY?  (Rev. 3:14-22) Directly and indirectly Jesus gives warnings on those who are too busy to get rich, their miserable spiritual condition, steps they need to take to make a return and the tremendous rewards they may receive if they follow His instructions:

1)    When E. F. Hutton speaks: (3:14) Couple of years back, there was a TV commercial portraying E. F. Hutton, an authority in finance and investment, sitting in a noisy restaurant. When one of his friends asked him for advice on investment and he started to speak, the restaurant went dead silent because he is the authority and everyone wants to hear what he has to say. In the scriptural reference, Jesus was the supreme authority as described in 3:14. As the ruler of all God’s creation, He deserves our full attention when He speaks.

2)    The good-for-nothing condition: (3:15-16) In this passage, Jesus was talking to the church at Laodicea and us by application. He described the spiritual condition of that church, and those who are too busy for their spiritual growth, as lukewarm or good-for-nothing that he will spit it out from His mouth. This is the exact condition of many so called Christians. Because of their keeping a long distance from the Lord due to their being too busy, they will be spit out from the protection and blessing of God. This is a very serious warning.

3)    Facing the truth: (3:17) Most, if not all, of those who are proud of their being too busy think they are making it: they are rich, have acquired wealth and do not need anything else. The pride and the false sense of self worth push them to feel they are on top of the world. But in the eyes of God, they are just poor, wretched, pitiful, blind and naked. All these descriptions are applicable on the person himself while riches and wealth and need nothing are things in the world. There is nothing in this world that may increase any worth of a person before God.

4)    Steps of turning back: (3:18-20) As in the story of the Prodigal Son, God is always merciful and is looking for the return of His children. Here God offers practical steps for those who are far away from Him to come home:

a)    Come back to God for complete remedy. (v.18) God has means to make you really rich, ways to cover your shameful naked body and salve to clear your eyes so you can see.

b)    Discipline and repentance: (v.19) Too many Christians will not come back to God in repentance until they were disciplined in suffering, loss and pain. This is also a step of God’s mercy.

c)    Open the door of your heart: (v.20a) The Lord is waiting on the outside of your heart for a long, long time and it is up to you to open it to invite Him in. Inviting Jesus into your heart means to ask Him to be the Lord of your life and to allow Him full control of your future.

5)    The ultimate reward and glory: (3:20b-21) There are two level of rewards God has promised to those who are not too busy for Him: to dine with Him in close relationship and to sit on the throne with Him and God His Father. These are symbolic language to give us a glimpse of the glory and blessing if we set time apart to cultivate a close walk with Jesus each day.

6)    The encouragement: (v.22) “He who has an ear, let him hear.” That is an invitation of God to us in His mercy. If people in the world are so attentive to hear E. F. Hutton on monetary matters, Shouldn’t we Christians be more attentive to hear what Jesus has to say on spiritual matters?

 

COMCLUSION:

1)   Breaking the bondage of busyness: Being too busy is a vicious bondage from Satan and the world to pull us away from God. Ask God to help you break that vicious cycle so you will always have time for Him.

2)   Redeem time: (Eph. 5:16, KJV) If you have lost so much time in being too busy in the past at the expense of your family, your children and your church, you need to “pay back” (the real meaning of redeem) to put your time back where it belongs: your family, children and your church. They are the real treasures you need. Nothing you are so busy with is more important than people.

3)   No time for your soul? Are you too busy to take care of the needs of your soul? When your lease of life expires, do you have a place you may go for eternity? Take a little time to ask God to save your soul. Take Jesus to your heart and receive His forgiveness of your sin. Don’t take chances. Time may run out faster then you think.