生活的智慧(36)蓄水池 (尤牧師)

經文﹕約翰福音49-14 2005109

引言﹕時代不斷在變,但人的本性沒有變,古代人作的事,今天人還是再作,其中一樣就是建造蓄水池。古代的人, 得水不方便,人人在家都要建造蓄水池,以備必要時有水用。

1)          你努力地建造﹕假想你是古代的人,在你家附近的石頭中挖水池,你非常用功地挖,經過烈日,經過風雨,希望有一天水池挖好,可以享受

2)        不如你的理想﹕你勞苦用功多年,終於挖成了水池,你看一看,心滿意足,很有成就感,你就將水倒到池子裏,你才發現;原來水池漏水。你不灰心,另外再挖一個,又是漏水。你接二連三努力地挖,但每個水池都漏水。

3)        人的努力徒勞無功﹕自古到今,人類不斷設法找尋滿足人生的方法和方式,雖然一再失望,卻是不斷追尋,結果是無限的勞苦,帶來不斷的失望。

 

為什麼要蓄水池?﹕自古到今,人總要造大小不同的水池,到底是為什麼?

1)          人類有缺乏﹕人要生存就必須有水,蓄水池是必須的建造,在沒有自來水以前,人人都要有蓄水池。這是生存的必須品之一,在落後地區,人還是用水池畜水,這是合理的作法。

2)        人有慾望﹕慾望與需要不同,人人都必須有生存的基本需要,但人還有慾望,就是心中認識為重要,寶貝的東西。許多人就要建造蓄藏慾望的水池,收藏他們心中覺得非有不可的。人的需要不多,但慾望的種類名目多到無人能數得完。

3)        人還有驕傲﹕需要和慾望是屬於個人的。驕傲卻是人際的。有些人建造水池是為了要陳列他們成功的標幟,要向人顯示他的能力,成就。許多人用種種方法向他人玄耀他們的成就;金錢,地位,財富,學問,能力等。玄耀成就其實是虛偽的。因為成功只是這人的一方面,他還有許多不敢見人,不想人看到,知道的弱點,過失,罪性,行為,不敢拿出來陳列的。現今流行的總統圖書館,其實就是這種片面陳列驕傲的作法。

4)        人心永不滿足﹕人心 慾望比海更深,比高山還高,為了要蓄藏這無止境的慾望,人就不斷建造蓄水池,越造越大,歷史如此,今天也如比。

 

蓄水池中收藏什麼?今天大部份人不知道什麼是蓄水池,因為我們有自來水的供應,人不再需要挖造水池為今天或明天的用水費心。但現在人有不同的蓄水池,收藏各種人認為需要達到願望,以為驕人的成就,人心中有什麼最寶貴的呢?

1)          物質的堆積﹕人生下來就有這望想,需要。起初是為了生存,後來是為了安全,再後來是為了玄耀,人心對物質的追求是沒有止境的,越多越大,越好,總是沒完沒了。多少人一生就是為了追求得到蓄藏物質,用各種方法;合法的,非法的,總要得到更多,更好,更大。有人作奸犯科,身敗名裂,就是為了要得更多物質。

2)        名譽,地位和權力﹕在得到金錢,物質之後,人心又空虛起來,又要填滿,就追求名譽,地位和權力。這現象出現在商界,政界,學術界,甚至宗教界中,人追求名譽,地位和權力,要比別人更高,更大,更有權力。作了財主又想作議員, 作了議員又想作總統。作完第一夫人之後又要作州議員,又想作總統。

3)        心靈的快樂和滿足﹕雖然想得到快樂和滿足本身沒有錯,但為了達到想望中的快樂和滿足而用的手段方式,許多時候不只是錯了,還是危險的,用不法手段去追求,會導致陷入痛苦,不道德,有害的行為,生活方式,有人甚至陷入毒品,邪教,甚至為此喪生。人造的快樂和滿足是短暫的,不可靠的,不能真正滿足人心的。

 

水池為何會漏?

1)          人造水池必定會漏水﹕因為世上沒有一樣人手所造的東西會存留長久,王國有興衰,人也有來有去,凡升高的必要降低,只是時間而已。

2)        人或物會失色﹕凡是使人喜樂滿足的事物都不會長久。美貌,可愛,價值都會漸漸失去,褪色,減低,沒有一個人,或一樣東西會永遠使你滿足。人會老,珠會黃,物會舊,歡樂會消失,只是遲早而已。

3)        人的慾望不斷改變﹕為什麼年年有新的時裝出現,新的汽車款式,新的玩具?就是因為人的慾望不斷在變。如果人心不得滿足是因為得不到更新更美的東西,可能是人的心本身是漏的,存留不住許多不久前才令你神魂顛倒的人,物,如今你還那么緊戀嗎?未必。

4)        滿足不在水池中﹕人心真正快樂和滿足的東西,不是你能用水池藏起來的,真正的喜樂和滿足是從神來的,神造人使人有需要,有慾望,是從心中出來,而不是用世界外面的東西藏進去。許多人想找幸福,快樂,滿足,卻找錯了地方,找錯對象。人的心是神的靈的座位,除了神,沒有別的人,事,物能填滿。

 

聖經的教導﹕(約49-14

1)          人人都有需要﹕不論時代,種族,貧豐,人人都有追求快樂和滿足的願望,人人心中有一個屬靈的空間必須填滿,是不能否認的事實。

2)        人不知正確方向﹕10節),在人沒有神以前,他會用盡自己的方法去填滿那空間,人嘗過用不同方法,不同的事物,但都徒勞無功。不管人有多少,沒有一個人是真正快樂,就是這原因。

3)        人不斷努力﹕11節),井又深,又沒有打水工具,當然不會得到水。天天到深井來打水,是非常勞苦的事,但也是人必須天天勞苦的

4)          沒人能幫助你﹕12節)祖先,宗教,文化,傳統都不能幫你打水, 人人都要為自己的滿足負責,寄望在他人身上必定使你失望。

5)          你還會再渴﹕13節)人在世上能得到的滿足都會過去,會消失,不論是金錢,財富,地位,名譽,權力,美色,成功,都會失色,貶值,你永遠不會因世上的東西滿足。

6)          活水﹕14節)活水在人心中,這是神所賜,人心中有神,就有活水,永不會乾。

7)          選擇在你﹕14節)人若求耶穌,耶穌就會將活水給他,神不勉強人,你自己要作聰明的選擇。

 

結論﹕

1)          你在作什麼?你在挖什麼水池,你想積存什麼,想得到什麼,追求什麼?你今天所有的令你快樂嗎?

2)          你怎樣補漏?你的水池一定會漏,你怎樣修補呢?你要轉向神,讓他為你造新的心,新的水池,新的活水,永不乾涸。

3)          享受活水﹕耶穌才是永遠的活水,千萬人已從他得到滿足。你今天就可以信他,向他認罪,求他進入你心,你就得看他所賜的活水。

ďWISDOM OF LIVING (36) CISTERNSĒ†††††††††††††††††††††† By Pastor YAU

Text: John 4:9-14, Jeremiah 2:13†††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††October 9, 2005†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

 

INTRODUCTION: Time may have changed but man has not. There are things man will do the same way today as those in the ancient time. One of the things man tried, and still tries is to build ††cisterns: some kind of containers to hold water to meet the needs of man whenever he needs it.

1)    You work very hard: Picture yourself swinging a pick, digging from dawn to dusk chiseling a cistern out of a hard and unyielding rock. You stay on the job, working through the biting cold of winter and the blazing heat of summer tirelessly looking forward for a success someday.

2)    Not as you have expected: After years of strenuous effort you finally complete the project. Then you step back, connect the pipes and wait for it to fill and---it leaks. Then you try another one and try to build it better and higher, investing all your time, energy, resources and hope and you discover, too late, that all cisterns, no matter how well constructed, will leak, in time.

3)    A picture of futility: From the ancient of time men have tried all they know attempting to find satisfaction on their own and they failed once and again miserably suffering heart-breaking pain. Itís an age-old dilemma.

 

WHY CISTERNS? Through out history, man tries to build cisterns in all sizes and shapes for all kinds of reasons and purposes. Letís find our some of the more obvious reasons or purposes of doing this.

1)    Men have needs:Men need basic necessities to survive and one of them is water. Cisterns were hewn or built to store water for everyday needs. Before water pumps were invented and electricity was discovered to pressure water into pipes, cisterns were the only means to store water, one of the most important needs for human next to air. Some people in under-developed areas today still use them to store water everyday. This is a legitimate purpose.

2)    Men have wants: Wants are not the same as needs. We all have needs to support our survival and safety. But men also have wants, things that are precious and important to their hearts, not bodies. Men will build their own cisterns to store up their wants, keep them safe and make them available whenever they want to enjoy them. Men have few needs but have so many wants.

3)    Men also have pride: Needs and wants are mostly personal but pride is mostly inter-personal. There are people who built cisterns, large and small, to display their collections of success. The reason of this practice is to show off to others about themselves. There are many ways of doing this. One of the less than noble practices of building these cisterns for pride is: they are mostly superficial and incomplete. They only show the bright side while hiding the dark side or the truth. The practice of building presidential libraries for former presidents is just one of the more obvious acts of pride.

4)    Never ending hunger for more:The desires of man are deeper than the deepest abyss of the ocean or higher than the tallest mountain on earth. In order to accommodate all the things men could possess or accumulate, cisterns of all sizes were built to keep them safe. We see this in history and we see it today.

 

WHAT ARE IN THE CISTERNS?: Most people today donít know what a cistern is because we have running fresh water from the taps in our homes. We donít have to build cisterns to store water for today or tomorrow. But many of us are building modern day cisterns or storage houses to store things we consider needs, wants or pride. What are the most important things we like to store in those compartments in our lives? Here we name a few more common items most people want:

1)   Material possessions:This is an inherent issue from the day we came to this world. We need material things to survive, to be safe and secure. But when time goes on, we begin to accumulate things way beyond needs into wants and pride. We want them bigger, better and we want more. The desires of our hearts never stop in wanting and accumulating material possessions. We see people spent all their lives in making and storing more and more money, houses, jewelry, clothing, cars, bank accounts, investments, etc. far more than they need. Cheating, stealing and many other forms of illegal and unethical or even criminal practices were employed to achieve their shameful goals.

2)   Fame, power and status:The next thing people want to have after money and material things is power, fame and status. This is true in political, business, academic or in religious circles. Name and power are sought after by some to elevate themselves over others, or they think. Thatís why we see a former first lady wants the senate seat from a state she never lived. Money loaded businessmen wanted to run for presidency of America. People buy fake diplomas from mail box institutions are all hungry for name and fame.

3)   Happiness and satisfaction:While the pursuit of happiness and satisfaction is not bad in themselves, it is the ways and means many people use in their pursuit that have trapped them into pain and suffering because of relentless life style and/or harmful ways. Some will turn to illicit and immoral sexual encounters, others turn to illegal and harmful drugs. Still others will seek happiness in man made religions or self reliant practices. All these people will never find the kind of happiness and satisfaction they search for. All they have is disillusion and empty dreams.

 

WHY DO CISTERNS LEAK?

1)   All man made cisterns will leak sooner or later because nothing in this world is meant to be forever. Kingdoms rise and fall and people come and go. Everything that goes up must come down. It is only a matter of time.

2)   All things and people will lose charm: What makes a person happy and content today will not and cannot maintain or protect its charm or power from fading or going down tomorrow. There is nothing and no one in this world who may satisfy someone else forever by his/her own effort. Everything and everyone get older everyday and lose charm along with the passing of time.

3)   Man and his desires are ever changing: The undeniable reason fashion designers and toy makers keep making new fashions and toys is men, women and children are changing their desires and wants everyday. If the leak is not from the things in the cisterns, it must be from the hearts of man. Most people get bored from eating the same food or wearing the same outfit all the time. The importance of all things will leak in manís heart.

4)   They are not in cisterns: True happiness and satisfaction do not come from things in cisterns. They come from God. It is God who created man with needs, wants and desires and it is God, only God, who can meet those needs, wants and desires. Most of us agree that true happiness and satisfaction come from the heart and not form things in this world. Many people look for true and lasting happiness and satisfaction in the wrong places from wrong things. God created that ďspiritual cisternĒ in manís heart that cistern will never leak.

 

LESSONS FROM THE BIBLE: (John 4:9-14)

1)    The need is universal: (4:9) All men, modern or ancient, Jews or Samaritans, Christians or pagans, we all have a longing heart for happiness and satisfaction because God created us that way. There is a spiritual empty space in each person that demands filling up and keeping it full. To deny the need is to deny the truth.

2)    Man does not know the right way: (v.10) Before a man knows God and His power to provide, he tries to make it on his own. Man has tried many different ways and means and has proven to be futile on his own efforts. Thatís why we see no one is truly happy with whatever he may have.

3)    He tries it really hard: (v.11) It is reasonable that no man may get water from a deep well without human means: a rope and a bucket. Drawing water from a deep well everyday is strenuous and tiring. But man has to do that in order to keep the needs met. It is hard.

4)    No man may help you: (v.12) Ancestor or tradition, culture or man made religions, no one and nothing may save you from the chore of drawing water everyday of your life just to keep you alive.

5)    You will be thirsty again: (v.13) All satisfactions man may get from this world and everything in it are doomed to be short lived. Be it money, fame, relationship, power, achievement and anything else will fade and lose its charm. You will not be happy ever after.

6)    There is a better place: (14b) The living spring is in manís heart if he has that gift from Jesus Christ. God can and will install a living fountain in all His children so they will never be thirsty again.

7)    The choice is yours: (v.14a) If a man believes in the gift of Jesus, he will have that spring of living water in him and he will not be thirsty again. God never forces anyone to accept His gift. He only offers His gifts and it is our decision to accept or reject.

 

CONCLUSION:Taking inventory on a business let you know where you really are. Taking inventory on your life will do the same thing.

1)   What are you doing?It is very important to take a look on the things you are doing: what, where, why and how? What are you building and what are in your little cisterns? Are they safe or leaking? Are you happy and satisfied in what you are building?

2)   How to fix the leaks? If you find out that your cistern is leaking, how will you fix the leak? Will you turn to God and His provision for lasting satisfaction? Look into your heart instead of things in the world and you will find God there ready to give you true happiness and lasing satisfaction.

3)   Enjoy the living water: Jesus is the living water who will satisfy all kinds of thirst. Millions have received that gift and today is your chance. Commit your life and future to His hands and He will lead you from your leaking cistern to a living fountain that will never run dry.