生活的智慧(35)懼怕 (尤牧師)

經文﹕馬太福音1422-33 2005925

 

引言﹕1人生下來就會懼怕﹕懼怕是人性的一部份,我們小時候怕走進黑暗的房間, 有些人怕高,有些人怕水,又有人怕看牙醫,也有人怕乘飛機。

2懼怕是對不熟悉環境的自然反應﹕人類生存四要素中一項就是安全感。當 人覺得安全感受干擾或傷害時自然就會懼怕,當你在一個自己毫無把握的環境 中時,懼怕是必然的事。

3懼怕的形成或深淺不一﹕處在同一環境中的兩個人有不同的懼怕程度,因為 每個人的理解,精神反應都不同,故此,我們不能將兩個人的懼怕程度作比 較。如果你不覺得懼怕,你不能說另一個覺得懼怕的人是膽小鬼

 

為什麼我們會懼怕?我相信沒有一個人會明白所有人懼怕的原因。但我們活在現實社會,從生活經歷和對他們的觀察,我們可以找到一些蹟象,我們懼怕﹕

1)          因為人是有限的﹕不管有些無知的人自認他們多厲害,人類是有限的,不是很聰明,並且會死的。世上有太多事物,太多變化是人不可能明白,不可能控制,也沒有能力去改變,沒有辦法可以躲避的。我們活在宇宙萬物順序運行的恩慈中,任何變化都不是人力可以改變或控制的。

2)          因為我們活在一個艱難的環境中﹕自從亞當和夏娃違背神旨意之後,世界和其中的一切就被咒詛(創317-19)神不再與世人同在,也不再祝福那本來應當享受神一切所造之物的夫妻。自然災害是人類面對最可怕現象,人類根本無法抗拒天然災害。許多 無法預料的災害令人懼怕。

3)          我們活在充滿罪惡的社會﹕因為人的自私和罪性,罪惡就成為人類社會的一部份,世上沒有一寸沒有罪惡的地方,世人不都是罪犯,但都是罪人,罪犯和罪行造成許多傷害。我們看到罪案不斷在社會,家庭,學校,工作場所,甚至在監獄中發生。罪案不只是個人的事,乃是社會的事,影響到四週圍的人,不少人不敢在深夜到街上散步是最清楚的描寫。

4)          因為我們不知道明天會怎樣﹕許多人都會為明天和未來準備,但我們都知道沒有人可以確實知道明天會發生什麼事。我們的家庭,工作,健康,社會經濟,甚至個人的安全,沒有人可以預料,更不必說可以控制,內心的懼怕是必然的。

 

懼怕造成的傷害﹕懼怕不只是一種消極的心態,它是一種殺傷力很大的心理狀況,若不好好加以控制,會造成許多損失﹕

1)          懼怕使人心靈沒有平安﹕當我們心裏滿了懼怕時,不論大小,不論是事實或是想像出來的,會奪去我們心靈的平安。人若容許懼怕佔據他的心,懼怕會奪去人的安全感,會惶恐終日。

2)          懼怕會使人失去理智﹕正如怒氣一樣,懼怕會使人失去理智,平時的理性,智慧,都在懼怕面前不見了,在懼怕中的人失去方向感,充滿疑惑,也不知道什麼是正確的選擇,這些人雖然沒有確切的証據,心中懼怕無法消除。

3)          懼怕使人體不能正常運作﹕心中的懼怕會影響身體的正常功能,造成分泌失調,消化不良,失眠,血循環失常,精神萎縮,若懼怕長期不治療,會造成生病及心理問題。

4)          懼怕使人懷疑神﹕因為懼怕是不正常的心理狀態,它會使人懷疑神的良善和能力,懼怕使人的靈眼昏花,看不見神的愛和同在。懼怕和信心是彼此敵對的,心中滿了懼怕的人,必然會懷疑神。

 

聖經對懼怕的教導﹕(先唸今日經文﹕馬太1422-33)這經文的教訓多得很,讓我們看幾個重點﹕

1)          可怕的事隨時會發生﹕經文記載一個驚人的風浪,幾乎將載滿門徒的船淹沒了,這事發生在一個了不起的大成就之後,耶穌剛剛行了大神蹟,用五餅二魚餵飽五千人,在他們尚未有機會開慶祝會之時,大風浪就來了,沒有人可預料壞事何時發生。

2)          危險是實在的,懼怕是難免的﹕耶穌的12門徒中大多數是漁夫,他們見過無數的風浪,但這個風浪不同往日,連他們也懼怕起來。許多人懼怕的事不是心中幻想來的,是現實環境,實在可怕的事,不容我們輕描淡寫能抹掉的。

3)          懼怕在人心中造成幻覺﹕當耶穌在水面上向船走去的時候,門徒以為他是個鬼怪,雖然他們和耶穌同行同宿三年之久,仍然幻覺他是鬼怪。當然耶穌不是鬼怪,是他們心中因懼怕而產生的幻覺,懼怕使人無法看清真相。

4)          懼怕會使人沉下去﹕1430)彼得沉下去的原因不是風浪,是他心中的懼怕,當他定睛在耶穌身上之時,他在水面上行走毫無困難,但當他定睛在風浪上時,他就沉下去了,風浪並沒有改變,改變的是彼得的信心。

5)          在懼怕中聽到神的安慰﹕1427)雖然門徒以為耶穌是個鬼怪,耶穌卻沒有責備他們,反而向他們說安慰的話,肯定他的同在。在我們懼怕的時候,神的話,他的同在,必會消除我們心中的懼怕。

6)          在危險中神的援手﹕1431)耶穌絕對不會讓彼得沉下去被淹死,他救彼得脫離險境。只要我們肯像彼得一樣在危難中呼求神,他必會救你脫離兇惡。

7)          懼怕的解藥﹕信心﹕31)信心和懼怕不能同時存在,兩者互不相容的,所以我們要加強對神的慈愛,能力的信心,不要看環境,不要看風浪,當我們心中被神的愛和能力,信心佔據時,懼怕不會找到容身之處。

8)          懼怕過去之後﹕33)當耶穌和彼得上船之後,風浪就止了,門徒知道是耶穌使風浪平靜下來,他們就向他下拜,感謝他,這也是我們該作的;認識是神的能力為我們解決困難,除去懼怕,並且從此要更忠心愛主,服事主,千萬不可自己邀功,自誇是你的辦法和努力,更不可忘記神的恩典使你重新得到平安。

結論﹕1懼怕好像影子﹕懼怕正如人的影子,永遠隨著每一個人,就是你看不到的時 間還是存在的,人生的經歷總會有使你懼怕的時候和地方,你要正視自己的弱 點,並且尋求有效的應付對策。

2尋求神建立信心﹕對付懼怕最佳的武器就是信心,特別是對全能神的信 心,要相信神的慈愛和能力,如果你肯交托信靠他,他必會救你脫離世上一切 令人懼怕的事。

3有一件事你必要怕的﹕你必要怕沉淪,沒有永生,這是每一個人必要怕的 事。當你仍活著,仍有機會,你要小心不可推延得救的機會,你今天就要信耶 穌,你就不必害怕死後沒有永恆的家。向耶穌認 罪,求他赦免,他就必救你, 賜你永生。這樣,你就什麼也不用怕。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (35) FEAR”                          By Pastor YAU

Text: Matthew 14:22-33                                          September 25, 2005

 

INTORDUCTION:

1)   To have fear is being human: Fear is part of life. We were afraid to enter a dark room when we were small. Some people fear of height while others fear large bodies of water. Some may be afraid of seeing a dentist when others are frightened to board an airplane.

2)   Fear is a natural response: One of the four basic needs of human survival is security or safety. People have fear when they feel their safety is being jeopardized. It is a natural response to be afraid when you don’t have the sense of security in a situation in which you have little or no control.

3)   Fear comes in different sizes and shapes: No two persons have the same level of fear in a same situation. We all are different in our emotional and mental energy which reacts to environment in different ways and degrees. Comparing one person with another in terms of fear is not wise or intelligent. 

 

WHY DO WE HAVE FEAR?  I don’t think if there is anyone who may give us all the reasons why we have fear. Yet, our experience being human living in this society gives us the opportunity to observe some of the reasons that cause us to have fear. We have fear because…

1)     We are finite beings: Regardless of how some insane people may think of themselves, human beings are finite, fragile, not that intelligent and mortal. There are too many things and situations we just have no way to know, no power to overcome and no chance to avoid. We live on this planet earth basically on the mercy of the balance power of the universe and nature. Far too many things are beyond the capacity of the human brain.

2)     We live in an unfriendly environment: After the Great Fall by Eve and Adam, this planet earth and everything else in it were under the curse of God. (Genesis 3:17-19) God took away His presence and blessings from the couple who supposed to enjoy all the good things God had provided. Natural disasters still is the most fearful and powerful dread of all time. There is no hope in the future that man may find ways to counter nature. There are so many unpredictable disasters that cause millions to have fear.

3)     We live in crime infested communities: Because of the sinful and selfish nature of man, sin and crime are part of human existence. No one may find a spot in this planet earth where there is no sin or crime. Not all of us are criminals but we all are sinners. Sin and crime cause harm and fear to fellow human being at home, in school, at work and in the community. Sin and crime are not just personal problems. They are also social problems that affect people around them. Many of us have fear of going out at night in some neighborhood is a vivid scenario.

4)     We can’t see tomorrow: You may be well prepared for tomorrow and the day after but we all know that no one will ever know for sure what may happen when tomorrow comes. Our job, family, health, the economy, even our own safety, we have no control at all and inside we have fear.

 

THE HARM OF FEAR: Fear is more than a just negative feeling it is a destructive power which could cause us a lot of suffering if it is not properly handled or harnessed.  Let us see what fear can do to us:

1)   Fear robs us the peace of mind: When we have fear, regardless of how strong or light, fact based or imagined, it robs us the peace of mind we have. When we allow fear to take control of our mind, it takes away the sense of security we have and the peace of mind.

2)   Fear paralyzes our intelligence: People who are under the grip of fear can not function properly on their intelligence or intellectual power. They seem to lose direction and are confused of their options. All they have is fear often times without concrete reason or basis.

3)   Fear cripples our normal functioning:  Fear causes malfunction of our physiological, digestion, circulation system and many other functions for normal life. People who suffer from fear cannot sleep have indigestion, head ache and many other symptoms of physical and emotional disorder. Physical and mental sickness may develop.

4)   Fear casts doubt on God: Since fear is a destructive emotional condition, it causes us to doubt the goodness and greatness of God. Fear could blur or block us from trusting God and His power because they just can’t co-exist. Fear and doubt are natural twins.

 

THINGS WE NEED TO KNOW: (Read Matt. 14:22-33) No one may list all the possible lessons from this story, yet we may try to see some of the more obvious ones.

1)    Fearful things could happen anytime: The story in the text is about a huge storm that almost sank the boat packed with the disciples of Jesus. It happened right after a huge success in the ministry of Jesus, His feeding of the 5,000 in a miraculous way. Before they could stage a real celebration of that success, here came that violent storm that could bury all of them alive in the bottom of the Sea of Galilee. No one may predict if fearful things would come.

2)    Danger is real and fear is inevitable: Most of the disciples were fishermen and had seen many violent storms in their life. But this one was just out of the ordinary that they were so frightened. Not all fears are man made. Many of the fears we have are results of real danger in the environment where we live.

3)    Fear creates illusions: While Jesus was walking toward the boat in the storm, the disciples mistakenly assumed that it was a ghost even though they had spent all those years with Him day in and day out. There wasn’t any ghost. It was their fear that created the illusion in their mindset. Fear distorts truth.

4)    Fear may bring us down: (14:30) It was not the storm or the waves that cause Peter to sink. It was his fear. When he fixed his focus on Jesus, he walked on the waves quite well. But when he fixed his eyes on the waves, he sank. What had changed was not the storm or the waves. It was his faith and focus that had changed.

5)    Divine comfort in time of fear: (v.27) Instead of rebuking His disciples on mistaken Him as a ghost, Jesus assured them of His presence to give them assurance and comfort that may subdue their fear. God knows our weakness and will bring us closer to Him through His words   in time of fear and doubt.

6)    Divine rescue in desperate situation: (v.31) Jesus won’t allow Peter to sink and die. He delivered him from danger. He will do the same to anyone of us if we will call on Him for help as Peter did.

7)    The antidote for fear: (v.31) Faith and fear could not coexist. Each will eliminate the other. That is why we need to build our faith in God instead of on the environment or things around us. Fear will not find any ground in our heart when faith in God is a full time resident.

8)    After fear is gone: (v.33) After Jesus and Peter boarded the boat and the storm died down, the disciples recognized Him as the reason for the peace they had. They also fell to their knees and worshipped Him. That’s what we all need to do: recognize the power of God in delivering us from fear and devote ourselves more in our dedication to God. Never claim any credit nor forget the grace of God in restoring peace.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Fear is like a shadow: We all have fear even when you can’t see it or deny its existence. There will be times and places when we will feel very much afraid. Acknowledge your vulnerable nature and learn to handle fear the right way.

2)   Seek God in time of fear: Nothing is better than faith in fighting fear especially faith in the all mighty God. Trust in His greatness and goodness. He can and will deliver you from all fears if you allow Him to work in your life.

3)   One thing you need to be afraid of: That is eternal loss without salvation from Jesus Christ. This is real and you need to tackle this fear seriously when you still have a chance. To ignore your need of eternal life through Jesus is the most fearful loss you may have to suffer.  Accepting Him as your Lord and Savior, confess your sins and ask for His forgiveness is the sure way to have eternal life. Then you have nothing to be afraid of.