生活的智慧(34)福利 (尤牧師)

經文﹕詩篇1031-14 2005828

 

引言﹕1慷慨僱主所給的福利﹕許多人在找工作時,除了注意薪金之外,還要看看 有什麼福利。福利是除了正常薪金之外,僱主為僱員預備的利益;包括醫療 保險,退休金制度,假期,公司盈利分享等。好的公司一般都為僱員提供上 述所列的福利。一個為僱員提供慷慨的福利條件的公司,表示公司對僱員的 重視,一套豐足的福利制度,可以使員工工作心理安定,工作能力及果效提 高,帶著公司也得到利益。

2全有的神所提供的福利﹕雖然許多人相信耶穌,除了要得永生之外,很多 人會想到要從神得什麼福利或好處。但神除了給信耶穌的人永生之外,也給 他許多福利。與神和耶穌有屬靈關係,不只是保障將來上天堂得永生,神向 信他的人應許今生也得著好處。這個福利制度蔭及所有信耶穌是救主的人, 並且是從信主那霎時間開始,一直福蔭我們直到離世那天為止。

3福利蔭及真人真事﹕神對我們應許的福利不只是口頭上的,乃是一生天 天隨著我們的好處,是那些專心跟從神的人一生享用不盡的福份。大衛王在 上述經文中述說他對神賜他恩惠(原文作福利或好處)的感激。從經文中, 讓我們數算大衛王所領受的福份有多少。

 

神所賜的福利有多少?沒有人能完全數算神賜給人類一切的恩惠(福利)。因為每個人的需要不一樣,神給各人的福利內容也不一樣,大衛王從神領受的福利清單很長,今天千萬人天天正在領受這些福利份﹕

1)          神赦免我們的罪

2)          神醫治我們的疾病

3)          神拯救我們脫離危險

4)          神將他的仁愛和慈悲給我們

5)          神供應我們一切的美物

6)          神在我們生命中更新力量

7)          當我們受枉屈時,神為我們伸張正義

8)          當我們迷失時,神向我們顯明前面的路

9)          神向我們傾倒他的慈悲和憐憫

10)      當我們悖逆時,神按住他的怒氣

11)      神向我們彰顯他無限的慈愛

12)      神用他的愛遮蓋我們的罪

13)      神除去我們的過犯

14)      神待我們如父親對待兒女

上述這些是大衛王經歷過的。我們各人可有自己一些特別的需要和經歷神的福份,除了上述所列舉之外,我們各人都可以加上一些大衛沒有經歷過的,不管你的缺乏多大,神總能夠供應,不管你的罪多嚴重,神總能赦免,無論你的境況多麼艱難,神總能為你解決。只要我們保持與神之間的生命線連接不斷,神隨時會垂聽你的祈求。

 

為什麼神的恩惠(福利)比誰都更好?神為信他的人所預備的福利,遠比任何僱主所提供的好得多。(林前29

1)          神的福利是個別設計的﹕這是最重要的一項,我將它列在第一。不管一個僱主多麼慷慨,設計福利多麼週到,他所能提供給員工的福利內容總是人人一樣。這樣作有它的好處,所有員工人人平等,但卻忽略了各人有各人不同的環境和不同的需要。神為我們預備的福利計劃就不是這樣。神知道我們每個人的環境,各人不同的缺乏和情況。他為每個人精心設計適合各人需要的福利清單,正好是我們所需要的。

2)          神給我們的福利益是基於愛心﹕這也是非常重要的。絕大多數僱主為僱員提供福利,若不是因為法律規定,就是為了使僱員安心工作,增加生產力,使公司得益,很少是因為愛僱員的緣故。

神給我們他一切的恩惠出發點是﹕神愛我們。大衛王用憐憫在這經 文中出現多次,憐憫是描寫神心中的感受,神因為心愛我們,就向我們傾 倒他的恩惠(福利)。神沒有責任要這樣作,也不是他會得什麼回報。 原意是心腸,是人體中最敏感的器官。神看到我們的缺乏,心腸被觸動,就傾出他的恩惠。

3)          神的福利是全面的﹕沒有一個僱主能提供一個福利制度去滿足全體員工之 所能發生的全部需要。沒有人可能預料,也沒有可以供應。但神就有可 能,因為神的全知,他能知道今天和未來,因為神的全能,他能供應任何 缺乏。神常以我們的好處為念,必會賜我們一切的好處,甚至無地可容。

4)          神提供的福利永遠用不完﹕僱主提供的福利是沒有保障的。要看整個社會經濟,公司營業情況,利潤收入多少,還有其他許多無法預料的因素。但神卻不受上面所列的任何條件限制,神是全能全有的,他不靠任何人,物,事,或條件才能提供給我們福利,神提供恩惠的來源在於他的全能和全有,神應許的絕不會落空。

 

人為什麼會忘記神的恩惠(好處)呢?有一個故事這樣說﹕很久很久前,有一天太陽突然不在早上升起,清晨六點,天仍很黑,到七點,還是像半夜一樣,中午來了,一點沒有陽光,下午四點,人們踴到教堂裏去求神讓太陽出來。

第二天清晨,千萬人都走到屋外,面向東方,等待看看太陽出來沒有。當陽光射破黑暗的天空時,人人歡呼,彼此擁抱,臉上帶著眼淚感謝神賜下陽光

1)          因為人看不見神如何賜下他的恩惠﹕正如小孩子不會看見也不會明白父母作事和作事的原因。許多信徒也看不見,不明白神是如何供應世人一切的恩惠和需要,所以,這些人就不會感謝神的作為。

2)          因為人覺得神的恩惠供應是理所當然的﹕許多神天天供應我們的恩惠,我們都以為是必然的事,一直到失去時才知道何等寶貴,許多我們天天享受的恩惠是我們自己永遠無法造成的,但因為天天都有就不覺得可貴,也不會去感謝神。例如健康,機會,身邊的親人,好友,一個稱心的工作,心裏的平安,社會的安定等,這都是神所賜的。不要習以為常而失去感激知覺。

3)          我們領受太多習以為常﹕在經濟學上有一個定理稱;邊際效用原理。在一個乾喝難耐的人面前,你擺上五大杯水,請他喝,第一杯水對他的效用(價值)最大。下面每一杯水的效用會按次序減少,到他最後能喝的那一杯水已達到邊際(最低)。許多人對神所賜的恩惠正是如此。因為神所供應的是如此的多,我們太習以為常,失去領受感激的心情。

4)          有人以為他不需要神﹕有人在享受神一切恩惠時不承認是神所賜,認為是他們努力創造得來的。驕傲使他們看不到他們成功的背後是神的祝福,神若不賜給成功的各種條件(如健康,智能,力量,機會,作事能力等)你就是再努力也必是一事無成。盜取神的榮耀是大罪。

 

如何作才不致忘記神的恩惠?大部份人都承認神所賜的恩惠可貴,但日子久了,就不記得了,或是環境變壞了,就忘記神從前所賜的恩惠,不忘記是什麼意思?我們要作些什麼才不會忘記?在此獻上幾個建議﹕

1)          數算再數算神一切的恩惠﹕這是不要忘記神恩惠的最佳方法,記住,不斷數算,提及神的恩惠,自然不會忘記。人性的敗壞使人容易忘記人家對我們的好處,而永不忘記人家對不起我們的地方。我們需要時常記住神對我們的好處。也要記念別人善待我們的事,這樣會使我們心靈喜樂感激。那些專注記得人家的壞事的人,心靈必定沒有平安,沒有喜樂。

2)          要謙卑才看見神的祝福﹕我們會對一些實在感激的事深記在心。常記念神的恩惠會給心靈帶來喜樂,當我們肯謙卑時,就會看到許多事都是神的祝福而不是人的努力得到的,每一次看看是神的恩惠,你就向神拉近一步,看到你與神親密的關係。不可讓人的驕傲遮蓋你的眼睛,要謙卑記住這一切都是神所賜。

3)          不讓黑影抹煞神的祝福﹕有些人因為看到今天的難處,就忘記了從前神的祝福。世上沒有一人是一生順利無憂的,今天的困難,不應該抹煞神以前的祝福。反之,應該讓我們因神從前的祝福,使我們今天雖然落在黑暗中時反而有信心有勇氣,因為知道神必會再祝福。

4)          對神所賜的恩惠時時心存感激﹕有些人不會也不願意記得神的恩惠是因為他們要個沒完,永不滿足,當他們今天尚未見到神新的恩惠時,他們就不滿意,不滿足於神昨天的祝福。一個充滿感激的心是一個喜樂的心。對神的恩惠,無論大小,都要記住,都要感激。

 

結論﹕1福利(恩惠)是人生重要的事﹕不論是對工作或是對神,我們都需額 外的福利(恩惠)。追求福利(恩惠)是正當的事。不過,我們都追求上 好的福份,那只有從神而來。

2我們不可忘記一切恩惠﹕不論恩惠從神或從人而來,我們都不應該忘 記,都當常存感激的心領受。若要忘記,請忘記傷心的事,痛苦的事,人 家傷害你的事,心中不滿的情緒,這會使你的心靈滿有喜樂和平安。

3不可缺少的恩惠﹕就是藉著信耶穌作你的救主,神會將最大的恩惠賜給 你,就是永生的福份,你今天就可以打開心門,接受耶穌進入你心,你就 得著這最大的福利。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (34) BENEFITS”                       By Pastor YAU

Text: Psalm 103:1-14                                                       August 28, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION: 

1)   Benefits from a generous employer:  One of the important things people look at a job offer is “benefits” besides salary. Benefits are things employers provide for employees on top of salary. Common elements in benefits include insurance coverage, retirement plans, vacation and days off, profit sharing, pension and others. Good companies provide most of the benefits people are looking for. A company that provides generous benefits shows that the employer values the importance of the employees. A good package of benefits provides security and peace of mind for those who work for the company and therefore boosts the morale and productivity of the employees in return to benefit the employer.

2)   Benefits from an abundant God:  Even though most people accept Jesus as Lord and Savior did not look for benefits beyond salvation and eternal life, God does provide many of benefits to go along with salvation in eternity. Having a personal relationship with Jesus and God means more than just have a seat in heaven at the end of our lives. God has promised us benefits in this life while we are still here on earth. The benefits “package” of salvation begins at the moment of new life given by God when we accept Jesus. It will last each and everyday all the way until we depart for heaven.

3)   Benefits enjoyed by real people:  The promise of benefits by God is more than words. It is a life experience enjoyed by all who have accepted God and kept a close relationship with Him. King David described his joy and gratitude in receiving the benefits God had bestowed on him. Through these verses in Psalm 103, we can see and count many of the benefits David had received.

 

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF GOD? No one can ever count all the benefits God has ever given to His people. God gives to each of us a different package of benefits suitable to our needs. David had received a long list of benefits which many of us continue to receive.

1)   He forgives our sins.

2)   He heals our sickness.

3)   He rescues our lives from danger

4)   He gives us His love and compassion

5)   He provides us with good things.

6)   He renews power in our lives in our weakness

7)   He brings justice when we are oppressed

8)   He reveals His ways to us in time of confusion

9)   He pours out His love and compassion on us.

10)  He holds back His anger on our iniquities.

11)  He shows us His abundant love

12)  He covers our sins with His love,

13)  He removes our transgressions

14)  He treats us as a loving Father.

These were the benefits David had experienced. We all have our unique needs and experience. Each one of us can easily add a dozen or more into the above list. No need is too big for God to meet. No sin is too bad that God cannot forgive. No pit is too deep God cannot reach. As long as we keep our life lines open to God, He is always there to answer our calls.

 

WHY IS GOD’S BENEFIT BETTER? The benefits God provides are far better than all benefits any employer could provide.

1)   God’s benefits are personal: This is so important I list it as number 1. Almost all employers provide benefits for their employees, no matter how good it may be, on an “all the same” method. This may be good in treating all employees equal, it certainly does not put individual needs and conditions into account. God doesn’t work that way. God knows each one of us, our needs and conditions. He customizes each package to meet just exactly what we need.

2)   God’s benefits are compassionate: This is also very important. All employers provide benefits because either it is required by law or intended to boost productivity which in turn will directly benefit the company. But God provides benefits for us only because of His love. David used the word “compassion” many times in this short passage. It is His love and inner feeling in His heart, God pours out His goodness on us. He doesn’t have to nor doest it benefit Him in return. The word translated compassion means “intestine”, the most inner soft part of a body. God is touched with feelings on our needs when He pours out His benefits on us.

3)   God’s benefits are comprehensive: No business may provide a benefits package that may meet all the possible needs of all individuals at all times. No employer will ever be able to imagine all the possible needs of all his employees nor is he able to provide them. But that is not the case with God. With His all-knowing and power, God can and will be able to know, to adjust and to provide all the possible needs of all the people at all times who call Him Father. God has our best interests in His heart. He will always give us the best beyond our understanding.

4)   God’s benefits never run dry: Benefits provided by business is on a get-as-you-go basis. There is NO guarantee on benefits. It depends on the condition of the business and that in turn depends on many unknown factors of the economy. But that is not the case with God either. God is always independent and all resourceful. He never depends on anyone or anything to provide all the benefits He is so gracious to give us. Any and all benefits God may give us are all guaranteed by His power and love. When God makes a promise, He will never change.

 

WHY ARE WE FORGETFUL ON GOD’S BENEFITS?  A story tells like this: “Long, long ago, there was a day when the sun didn’t rise in the morning. At 6:00 o’clock it was dark. At 7:00 it was still night. Noon came and it was like midnight. By 4:00 in the afternoon, people flocked to churches to beg God for the sun.

       The next morning, huge crowds of people gathered outdoors to face the eastern sky. When the first rays of sunlight pushed open the door of the morning, the people burst into cheers and tears and praised God.”

1)   We are unable to see how God works: Just as little children are unable to see or understand how parents do things for them many Christians are not mature enough or capable to see or understand how God provides all the benefits for them and all the people in the world. Therefore these people are unable to acknowledge benefits from God.

2)   We take God’s grace for granted:  Too often, until they are taken away we take God and His benefits for granted. There are so many things that are given to us way beyond our own ability to create or provide we take them for granted and are numb to acknowledge that they are benefits of God. Our health, opportunities, circle of loved ones, a job that is both satisfying and gainful, peace and safety in our community, just to name a few. We have all of these because they are given by God. Don’t take any of these for granted.

3)   We are too used to His many benefits: In economics, there is a simple principle called: The principle of marginal utility. If you have 5 glasses of water offered to a man who is very thirsty. The utility, or value, of the first glass is the highest and the utility of each subsequent glass is reduced according to his need of water. The last glass may be the least or marginal utility. Many of us   treat God’s benefits the same way. When God has given or provided us so many benefits, we become too used to them and therefore are not as thankful as we should.

4)   We live as we no longer need God: Some do not give credits to God for benefits they receive because they have hard time to recognize that it is God who gives them all the benefits instead of the results of their own efforts. Pride blinds many people from seeing the source of their success. If God doesn’t provide the elements or venues, there is little we can do to make things happen. Taking credits from God as yours is as bad as stealing from God.

 

HOW NOT TO FORGET GOD’S BENEFITS?  Most people recognize benefits come from God but many will forget them after a little while or when problems come along. What does it mean not to forget? What can we do to show that we do not forget the benefits God has given us? Here are some suggestions:

1)   Count and recount the blessings of God: This is the best ways to help us not to forget the benefits or blessings from God. Remember and talk about them often so you won’t forget them. Forgetting the good things people do to us but remembering the bad things they do is a human defect. We need to remember good things done to us by God and others so our heart will be filled with gratitude and joy. People who remember only the wrong and the bad things are more likely to be bitter and sorrowful.

2)   Be humble to see and acknowledge God’s benefits:  Things we are grateful of will register deep in our hearts and mind for long time. If we can be humble, we will see more of God’s work than our own pursuit in the things we have and enjoy. We will see more of God than ourselves in our success. Each time when   we see and acknowledge God’s blessing we draw closer to His presence and improve our relationship with Him. Never allow pride to stop you from giving credit to God.

3)   Do not allow shadows to erase blessings: Some people forget God’s benefits in the past because of present day problems and shadows. No one ever lives a life that is trouble free. Your present day trouble should not stop you from remembering and counting past benefits from God. They should be vehicles to bring you back to God and seek His love and power. Do not forget His benefits just because you have problems now.

4)   Be grateful to God and His benefits: Some people can’t or won’t remember God’s benefits because they never have enough. They are never satisfied with the benefits God has given them. They will either discount or forget past benefits because they have not seen new ones coming. A grateful heart is a joyful heart. Be grateful to all the benefits God has bestowed on you and you will always remember how sweet they are.

 

COMCLUSION:

1)   Benefits are import parts of life: Be it with a job or with God, we all need benefits. Seeking benefits is a legitimate pursuit. But we need to seek the best and the most secured benefits and that can only come from God.

2)   We should not forget benefits: Either they are from God or people we are to remember and be grateful of all the benefits we received. If there are things we need to forget, forget the unfair, the bitter and the wrongs other did to you. This will keep your heart joyful and make your life happier.

3)   Don’t forget the most important benefit: Eternal life through Jesus Christ is the highest benefit God ever gives to man. None of the benefits we may receive will be brought to heaven at the end of your earthly journey. Seek to find this important benefit from God by accepting Jesus as your Lord and Savior.