生活的智慧(33)誰作主意? (尤牧師)

經文﹕馬太福音2636-39 2005821

 

引言﹕卡通片主角吏奴皮說;當事情都照我主意作時,我是很隨和的

1)          這是人性的本質﹕我們從很小的孩子身上看到這種自我主張的人性本質。當父母叫小孩子停止他們正在作的壞事時,很少孩子會乖乖地停下來,總是要爭執一陣子才肯放棄。我們看到許多人在路上沒有警察時如何不守時速,又可從有些人當上司不在時的作事方式。

2)          這是一個嚴重問題﹕若人人都堅持事事只能照他主意作的話,許多問題就會發生。人人都知道合作的重要,小從家庭生活,大到打一場仗,如果各人堅持行他所願的,不理會別人,不理會整體利益的話,這世界必會有更多的混亂,更多的問題。

3)          這也是個屬靈的問題﹕自從人類歷史開始,人就堅持照我主意行事。故此,這是個靈性問題。當夏娃被魔鬼試探時,魔鬼就是用這方法。魔鬼告訴他;你吃了這果子之後,你就會像神一樣。你就不必再聽神的吩咐,你可以作自己的主張行事。這是人類歷來的夢想。

耶穌在馬太26章的這個禱告,向我們提示出一個基本的改變;改變人 性的態度,個人的權利,甘心謙卑服在全能神的旨意下面。正因為他甘心 樂意的降服和他謙卑的態度,我們人類才有機會得救,得永生。

 

為何放下自己主意是這麼難?

1)          因為這傷害我們的自主權從人類和個人發展過程來看,獨立自主並不是壞事。人人都喜歡看到孩子長大,受教育,找到工作,自己供給自己,結婚成家,處理自己的事。向神降服,放下自己作主的權利,就表示要依賴神, 要靠他引導我們的人生,定我們的人生目標,凡大小都要照他旨意行。許多人對於這種放棄個人權利的作法,認為傷害到他們的自主權利

2)         這作法將我們拉得與神太接近﹕許多人喜歡與神搭上關係,但最好是與神保持相當距離。人人都知道有時候會需要神,但若要依靠神,那就與神太接近了,會覺得不自在。要讓神管理我們人生的一切,都等於要讓神知道我們生活的一切細節,知道我們的一切秘密,心思意念,一切行動,言語。許多人要有自我的空間某些自由。我們樂意讓神處理得救的事,但至於其他我可以自己作決定的事,最好我自己決定。

3)         這作法會妨礙神與我在看法的不同﹕人人都知道神作事的方法不一定符合我們的方法,我們的方法神也不一定同意,神與我們之間必定會有衝突。大部分人就是不肯,也不信任神比我們強,不甘心讓神為他們出主意,在許多事上我們要自主獨立。

4)         知識和信心不配合﹕大部分人都知道神比人強,智慧比人高,能力比人大,在神作決定時,會照顧到我們的利益好處。但這種對神的認識很難應用在讓神處理人生事務上面;去上那間大學,找什麼工作,找什麼樣的男朋友,與誰結婚,如何處理人際關係等等。太多時候,我們相信自己多過相信神,雖然我們知道我們不該這樣作。知道容易,相信難,特別是有關個人的事時。

 

我們要作什麼才能順從神的旨意?

1)         第一,先要與神建立親密關係﹕與神沒有親密關係的人,不會也不肯順從神的旨意行事。人若不親近神,知道神的作事原則,很難會讓神管理他的人生各種事。你必須認識神才能信賴神。

2)         你必須學會信賴神﹕認識神是第一步,信賴神是第二步。你必須信任神的智慧,神的能力,神的好意,你才會照他旨意行事。你也必須相信神會為你的利益著想,他想你好,相信他有能力作對你有益的決定。這是信心,你必須信任神,神才能為你作事。

3)         你必須有耐心﹕許多時候,神作事不照我們的時間表。我們只能看到有限的時間,神卻能看到永恆裏去,你必須有耐心去等候,看到神作事的果效。這與信心有關,如果你肯信神,就算神行事的結果遲遲未來,你還是相信他。

4)         你必須肯甘心接受神的決定和結果﹕許多時候,神的決定和結果與我們所想的不完全一樣。這時,你必須有信心去相信神的決定和結果是最好的,雖然不是你想看到想要的。相信神的智慧和善意是關鍵。這是許多人不肯信靠神,讓神旨意成就的最大原因。他們不要也不肯接受與他們想要的不同的結果。他們要照自己意思作,想得到自己想要的結果。

 

為什麼一定要照神的主意行?照神旨意行的原因太多了,在此只是略略列舉幾樣﹕

1)          神要我們完全順服﹕神喜歡的不是我們為他作多少,乃是我們順從他多少。順從神才是得神喜悅的上策,撒母耳告訴掃羅王說;順命勝於獻祭,順從勝過羔羊的脂油。(撒上1522)神賜人十誡和許多誡命,是要人遵行。讓神管理我們人生的事務是表示對神的順服。

2)          神會將最好的賜給我們﹕將人生和人生各種事務交托神絕對不是示弱,或表示你沒智慧。這乃是最好的決定,最有智慧的決定,因為神知道什麼是對我最有益,比我們知道的更好,更多。選擇讓神作主不是一個無可奈何的作法,應該是我們最佳選擇。你什麼可與神的旨意和能力相比?

3)          我們會心裏有平安﹕如果你真正信任你的投資顧問,你會將金錢照他的建議投資,又覺得心中有平安,你對神的智慧和能力的信任不是應該比信任人更高嗎?當你信任神,將人生大小事交托他時,信任他必會為你的利益著想,你心中應當有平安。許多信徒卻甘心擔負許多重擔,天天擔心。

4)          我們可以作最好的見証﹕在人還沒有尋求永生之前,人會想知道相信神在今天有什麼好處,當我們信任神處理我們人生事務,並且得到神的祝福,心中滿有平安,別人看到就是一個好見証,促使他們去相信神作救主,救恩不只是只在來生有效,救恩也在今生有效。

 

如果我選擇我行我素又會怎樣?你當然可以這樣作,但你必須為這行為負責。請記住;

1)          你必然會失去神的祝福﹕神在申命記2817-68清楚記明,凡不遵行神旨意的人,不會得到神的祝福,在人生道路上沒有神,沒有他的祝福,就好像一個人迷失在沙漠中沒有食物,沒有水一樣。

2)          你要凡事自己擔當﹕在人生道路上沒有神的引導,沒有神賜的智慧,沒有神給你作選擇,加你力量,是一件可憐的事,你決定我行我事時,你等於放棄最大的寶藏。

3)          你的人生沒有果子﹕耶穌應許與他連接的人必多結果子(約155)讓神的生命能力注入你的人生是結美好果子的最佳保証。神願意看到你的人生成功,如果你讓他作主的話。

4)          你不會作個好見証人﹕只要你行自己的路,遠離神,你不可能成為有效的見証人。無法領人信主,因為人不能從你身上看到神的能力和智慧,也看不到神的愛,你一生白過,因為沒有人會因你信耶穌。

 

結論﹕

1)          你自由可以選擇怎樣過你一生﹕你可以選擇順從神,依賴他的領導,聽從他的吩咐。你要作聰明人,因為相信神的道路是最好的選擇。

2)          記住你的使命﹕神選召我們不是要我們行自己的道路。神召我們是要為他作見証,使他人可以找到他,信他。讓神管理人生,使神的能力,愛和帶領彰顯在你身上是完成蒙召使命的最好方法。

3)          你只有一條路﹕神的路得到永生﹕耶穌是得永生的 唯一道路,(約146)在得救和永生這事上,你只有一條道路,神的路。你今絕對不能靠自己或任何人去得永生,你今天就應當接受耶穌的旨意,相信他作救主。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (33): WHO’S WAY”                By Pastor YAU

Text: Matthew 26:36-39                                                   August 21, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:  Most people would agree with Snoopy when he said, “I am an easy going guy when things go my way.”

1)   This is part of human nature: We see this insistence on “my way’ in little children. When parents told them to stop, few of them will just stop without a fight. We see this in how people drive when there is no policeman around. We also see this how people do their job when the boss is sick at home.

2)   This is a serious problem: Serious problems could happen when everyone insists on doing things his way. We all know the importance of team work in many things, as little as things at home to as big as fighting a war. Chaos would certainly happen when everyone insists on doing it his way.

3)   This is a spiritual problem: The root of insistence on “my way” is inherently a spiritual problem since the beginning of history. When Eve was tempted to be like God, Satan offered her the choice of independence from God. “I want to handle my life my way” has been the goal of life since.

             Jesus’ prayer as recorded here in Matt. 26 reflects a fundamental change of attitude, rights and willingness to surrender to a higher power. It is His willingness to surrender His rights and His attitude of humility we have the way of salvation opened to us for eternal life.

 

WHY IS IT SO HARD TO SURRENDER MY WAY?

1)    Because it hurts our independence: Be independent is not that bad when it is about human development and growth. We all like to see children grow up, educated, get a job, become self support and starting their own families and managing their own life affairs. But surrendering to God means a complete dependence on God in directing our lives, setting our goals and managing our life matters His way. Many people feel hurt to give up that right.

2)    Because it puts us too close to God:  Many people like to have a relationship with God so long as to keep a distance from Him. All of us agree that we do need God sometimes one way or another. But to be dependent on God just too much and too close to Him to feel comfortable. To allow things done His way means He will know our every thought and every move. What about my own freedom and wiggle rooms? We may allow Him to manage things like salvation, but leave the rest to ourselves.

3)    Because there are differences between God and us: We all know that God may not do things our way and we may not do things His way and there will be times we may have conflicts with God. Most people are just not ready or willing to give up their part of control to relinquish their rights to manage their own lives. We want to be our own little masters in many things.

4)    Knowledge and faith just don’t match:  Most people do know that God is stronger and wiser in making decisions and He always has our best interest in mind. But that knowledge doesn’t translate into personal matters like committing to Him our personal matters: where to go to school, find what kind of a job, to whom should we marry or how to handle a personal relationship. Often times, we trust ourselves more than trust God even though we know we shouldn’t. It is easier to know, harder to believe when it comes to personal matters.

 

WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO DO THINGS HIS WAY?

1)   You must start with a close relationship with God:  People who do not have a close relationship with God cannot or will not do things God’s way. No one could turn his life to God without knowing God and His way. You need to know God to trust Him.

2)   You also need to trust God:  You need to trust His wisdom, power and good will to do things His way. You need to believe that God wants the best for your life and He can do that for you if you allow Him to. That is faith you need to have. You need to trust Him to let Him do it His way.

3)   You need to be patient:  God seldom does things on our schedule. We see things in a short distance but God sees them from eternity. You just have to be patient to see His way and the results He brings. This has to do with trust. If you really trust Him, you know He will bring results even way later than you expect.

4)   You also need to accept His results: Often enough His results are not exactly the same as to our expectation. Again, you need faith to accept His results as the best even they are not exactly what we want. Trusting His wisdom and good will is the key. This is one reason many people won’t let God handle matters of their lives. They don’t want surprises. They want it their way, their results.

 

WHY MUST IT BE HIS WAY?  There are many reasons and benefits:

1)   God demands our obedience: It is not how much we may do that may please Him. It is how obedient we are that pleases Him. God told King Saul through Samuel this important command. (1 Sam. 15:22) God gave the Ten Commandments and many other laws to the people of Israel and demanded that they obey His laws. To have things of our lives go God’s way is a sign of obedience.

2)   God intends to give us the best: Relinquish our lives to God and all things go His way is never a sign of weakness or lack of wisdom. It is the best way, the wisest way to live our lives because God knows much better what is the best for us. Choosing God’s way is never a backup decision. It should be our first choice. How dare you to compete with God’s wisdom and ability to do the best?

3)   We may have the best peace of mind: If you trust your investment advisor enough you would put your savings where he directs you and have peace of mind. How much more you can trust God and His advice on managing things of your life and have peace of mind knowing that He will always do it well for you. Too many people including some Christians who just want to carry all the burdens themselves and have so much to worry everyday.

4)   We may be the best witnesses to the world:  Before people look for salvation of eternity, they want to see if there is anything good in believing God in this life. Our trusting Him to do things His way and the blessings we receive, the peace of mind we enjoy is a good reason for others to believe Him as Lord and Savior. Salvation is more than just eternal life in the future it is also about the joy and peace in this life.

 

WHAT IF I WANT THINGS GO MY WAY? Yes, you can. But there are consequences. Listen to these:

1)       You will certainly lose His blessings: God has specifically decreed that those who do not live their lives God’s way will not receive His blessings. (Deut. 28:17-68) To live a life without God and His blessings is like lost in the desert without food and water.

2)       You will be on your own:  Without God to direct your path, to give you wisdom to make the best decision, to grant you strength you need to go through life is too much for anyone. You have forfeited the ultimate source of help if you choose to go life your way.

3)       Your life will not be as fruitful:  Jesus promised those who are connected with Him to be fruitful in their lives. (John 15:5) To allow God’s life and energy to direct our lives is the sure way to have abundant and fruitful life. God wants to see you do well in your life if you allow Him to do things His way.

4)       You will not be an effective witness: As long as you live your life away from God’s way, you won’t be able to lead others to God. No one can see the power and love of God in you when you insist on doing things your way. You waste the opportunity to attract others into the Kingdom of God because of your life style.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   How to live your life is a free choice: It is your choice to surrender to God’s way or to be independent from Him. Your decision does carry consequences. Be wise to choose God and His way as God wants us to be.

2)   Remember your call: We are not called to live our lives our way. We are called to be God’s witnesses to others will find Him. One of the ways to fulfill that commission is to allow God to manifest His power and love through the way we live. It is because of Jesus’ willingness  

3)   This is one way you must go: His way to eternity:  Jesus is the only way to eternal life. (John 14:6) On this matter, you cannot and should not do it your way. No human way is ever possible to find the way to eternal life except through Jesus, the Son of God.