生活的智慧(32)潔淨 (尤牧師)

經文:詩篇32:1-11 2005 814

 

引言﹕1植物需要﹕七月六日的每日靈糧有這樣一個故事;我不久前買了一棵植物 送給太太,使家裏增添了不少活力氣氛。但有一天早上,我看到植物的葉子下 垂,枝幹發軟,原本翠綠的顏色變得暗淡,沒神沒氣的,比前大不一樣,我猜 不到它有什麼毛病。傍晚下班回家,植物的生存氣色,翠綠和初買回來時一 樣。我問太太是怎麼一回事。他說他去看了一本栽培室內植物的書,書本教導 說,室內植物的葉子會被灰塵蓋住,阻礙了光合作用,必須時常清潔除去灰 塵。他早上清理了葉子上的灰塵,植物就回復生機了。

2人也需要清潔﹕我們活在一個充滿污染的世界中,微塵不斷地沾在我們生命 中,阻礙了聖靈光照的能力,妨礙了我們屬靈生命的生長力,我們也需要經常 作清潔工作,除去生命中,思想上的世俗污染,免使基督徒生活變得灰暗乏力 。我們如果缺少清理污染,必會失去屬靈亮光,失去神的祝福。

 

灰塵何處來?

1)         灰塵從世俗而來﹕這個世界本來就是由塵土造成的,萬物也是從微塵聚積而成的,我們活在這充滿灰塵的世界,被灰塵遮蓋是必然的事。

2)         灰塵從人的罪而來﹕人的罪性也像灰塵一樣會遮蓋人的靈魂。人心的惡念,妒忌,怒氣,貪婪,自私等都是塵埃,加上驕傲,慾念,道德上的污穢,是從人性的敗壞來的。我們的每一行動,每一句話,每個念頭,都將心中的灰塵發出去,使環境和周圍的人受污染。

3)         灰塵從和我們接近的人而來﹕人的言語,行動都有影響作用,我們影嚮別人

,也受別人的影響,正如先知以賽亞所說;我是咀唇不潔的人,也住在咀唇 不潔的民中。65)所羅門王要我們小心選擇交朋友就是為此。(箴18 24)我們從接近的人身上學到他們的為人,作法,思想等。

4)         灰塵也從撒旦而來﹕自從始祖犯罪之後,撒旦就不斷地撒佈灰塵在世界中,灰塵越積越多,使人不能分別是非黑白。他瞞騙夏娃去背神的旨意,今天仍然瞞騙許多人不明白或不信神的話,撒旦將成功和享樂引入人心,代替正義和道德,近年來的許多以人為主的言論都是撒旦的灰塵。

 

常見的灰塵是什麼?大家都知道灰塵是壞東西,其中有特有傷害力,對身體和心靈都有壞影響。

1)         世界本來就沒有真正的對和錯﹕這是道德上的相對論,是最危險的思想。它直接違反神的權威,也不尊重聖經的教導,將人升到自主的地位去判斷是非對錯。人類是自己的主人。

2)         個人自由主張﹕人人都贊成自由是寶貴的,是人人都應有的。但將個人自由高抬到不理會他人的利益就是危險的灰塵。個人自由須受道德和社會利益的約束,過份高舉個人自己必會傷害他人和社會。

3)         不論手段只求成功﹕這是一種致命的灰塵,但這思想深入人心,包括一些信徒在內,特別是用不正當手段得到的成功更有問題。神是成功的,他也祝福許多信他,愛他者的成功。信徒在世不是為了達到成功,乃是為了榮耀神。當我們全心跟從神的教導而活時,我們就真正成功了。

4)         物質主義代替屬靈價值﹕今天世人的生活目標都走偏了,物質的成功代替了屬靈的價值。世人的時間,力量大部份花在達到成功的事上,失去了與家人共聚的時間和興趣。人成了搖錢樹而失去花時間親近神的機會,結果就是其成功了心靈也是空虛的,沒平安沒意義的。

 

灰塵對我們有何害處?正如一般灰塵會傷害室內植物,精神和靈性的灰塵會傷害人靈性的正常發展,傷害的多少和污染的深淺有關,沒有人可以百分百地知道灰塵傷害到底多少,但傷害卻是必然的。

1)         世俗灰塵會使人變成屬世﹕當世俗的灰塵遮蓋太厚時,人就變世界人了。保羅在羅馬書121-2說;不可被世界同化,乃要在心靈上被聖靈不斷地更新。當我們容許灰塵積聚時,人對神和屬靈的事就就遲鈍了,對是非真理也模糊了。

2)         世俗灰塵會妨礙接受真理真光﹕神的靈是真光,他會供應我們內在生命的力量和健康,使我們能明白神的道,感受神的同在和帶領。那些容讓灰塵鋪滿心靈的人不明白神的真理,看不見神的帶領和同在。

3)         世俗灰塵會遮住眼睛看不到自己真相﹕許多容許灰塵堆積的人看不到自己可憐的屬靈境況,因為他們的靈眼昏花,看不到面臨的危險,起初是拒絕承認自己的情況不好,後來是對關心他們,肯指出他們的錯誤的弟兄姐妹生氣,甚至對教會,對神生氣。

4)         世俗灰塵會難阻我們接受神的祝福﹕正如灰塵難阻室內植物生長一樣,世俗的痳 會難阻神的恩典臨到我們,妨礙我們與神同行,我們不覺得神的保守和慈愛,看不到神的帶領和方,這只是列舉幾樣,還有許多恩典被難阻,不可不小心。

如何作清潔工作?除非你不理室內植物生死,否則你必會按時加以清潔。同樣道理,我們必需定時檢查自己的屬靈境況。我們必須時時注意自己的屬靈境況,下列是一些建議;

1)          要注意屬靈境況﹕不可讓忙碌生活佔據你太多時間和注意力,要時時檢查你與神的關係和屬靈胃口。你若忽略,必會一點點退後,離開神。看到什麼錯誤,必要馬上糾正,不讓退後下去。

2)          保持與神定時見面﹕這是天天需要作的事,正如屬靈營養一樣,天天需要;讀經,禱告,靈修,定時聚會去滿足內心的屬靈需要。清潔是每天該作的事,等待太久會更難清潔。

3)          使用除塵設備﹕植物有防塵噴液可以噴在葉子上去防止或減少灰塵的積聚。多與靈性深厚,成熱的信徒來往,參加門徒訓練,使自己更能拒絕灰塵的積聚。多唸屬靈書報也會對你有益。

4)          下決心剪除﹕植物需要修剪才有新葉生長,靈性生命也一樣,我們要有決心剪除世俗的價值,壞習慣,作事方式,生活態度,不正確的人際關係,除去世俗的生意工作方式,遠離一些對你有害的朋友和環境。時時清除才會有新生的力量。

 

結論﹕

1)          灰塵使植物軟弱﹕世俗的生活方式,思想,態度,作法會傷害你的靈性生命。要注意世俗灰塵積聚。

2)          定期作清潔﹕時時檢查自己的屬靈境決況,使自己可以更有力,有生命,結更多的果子使天父得榮耀。

3)          耶穌能潔淨一切﹕耶穌在十字架流出的寶血能洗淨人心的一切罪。只要你肯到他面前來認為罪悔改,必得耶穌的赦免潔淨,使你得永遠生命。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (32): BE CLEANED”                By Pastor YAU

Text: Psalm 32:1-11                                                         August 14, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)    It is necessary for plants:  The story in Our Daily Bread on July 6 reads like this: The rubber plant I bought for my wife Dorothy added a touch of life to our home. But one morning its leaves were dropping as if in a state of dejection. I wonder what happened. When I came home at the end of the day, the plant was transformed. It looked as hearty as it did the day I got it. The leaves were extended outward once again. When I asked Dorothy about it, she told me of reading a household hint on how to keep plants look fresh. Dust accumulated on the leaves can actually prevent the light from getting to them, so, it’s necessary to clean it regularly. She did just that and the result was amazing.

2)    It is also necessary for man: As we live in this world with all kinds of pollutants, tiny “particles” of the world can easily build up in our lives that could block the light of the Holy Spirit from entering us to keep our spiritual life healthy and vibrant. We also need to keep a regular cleaning schedule to wipe out all those unwanted “dust” from accumulating and clouding our Christian life. If we neglect this important process, we will lose spiritual strength, insights and blessings from the true Light.

 

WHERE DO ALL THE  DUSTS” COME FROM?

1)   Dusts come from this dusty world. Basically the world was form from dusts or particles, large or small or tiny. All material things, from grains of sand to metals to flowers to our bodies, are made from these particles or dust. We live in this world full of dusts and it is natural we get dusty if we allow it to happen.

2)   “Dusts” also come from our sinful nature: Sin and sinful nature of man is like dusts that come from the inside of man. Evil thoughts and actions, hatred and resentment, greed and selfishness, pride and lusts are all moral dusts which come from the depraved nature of man. Each time we think, talk or act, we send out moral dusts that will pollute our environment and others.

3)   “Dusts” also come from people we are close to: Thoughts, words and actions are all contagious: we learn from each other and are affected by others. Just as Prophet Isaiah confessed that “I am a man of unclean lips and I live among a people of unclean lips.” (6:5) King Solomon advised all of us to be careful in choosing companions—people whom we associate with and learn from. (Proverbs 18:24) We could pick up wrong or immoral ideas, words or ways of life from people we get close with.

4)   “Dusts” certainly come from Satan: Since the Great Fall recorded in the early chapters of Genesis, Satan continues to spread dusts all over the world. Dusts become so thick that people cannot tell true from false, right from wrong or black from white. It cheated Eve to disobey commands of God by clouding the clear words God spoke to them. Satan still tries to cheat many people by twisting truth to mislead people from doing right. Satan will substitute good and right with success or pleasure at all costs. Many of the modern day philosophy and conditional ethics are all dusts from Satan.

 

WHAT ARE THE COMMON DUSTS? We all know dusts are bad. We also know that some of them are worse than others to our physical and spiritual health. Here are some of the common dusts we find everyday in the modern society. “Dusts” are philosophies or common beliefs most people adopted or live by. Man lives with what he believes.

1)     There in no absolute right from wrong:  Relativism in moral and ethical issues is a very dangerous kind of dust we see today. It undermines the very foundation of truth and  authority of God and His Word. It substitutes man and his situation as the perimeter in the judgment of right and wrong, good and bad. Man becomes the master of his own life.

2)     Freedom and individualism above all: While we all applause the value of freedom and individual rights, to hold them way above everyone and everything else at all costs is another dangerous dust. Freedom and individual rights must be subjected to moral and social norms and well being of the society. Chaos will rise when freedom of one tramples the freedom and rights of others.

3)     Success means everything no matter how:  This is another deadly dust which has cribbed in to many people’s mind including some Christians. No one will argue the value of success. But success should never be the first goal of life, especially when it is achieved in questionable manners. God is the source of all success and He is always successful. We are here NOT to be successful according to worldly measures. We are truly successful when we live our life according to God’s law and order. Our existence is to glorify God and to witness for Him so others may find salvation through Jesus.

4)     Materialism over Spiritual matters:  The purpose of life is lopsided: the pursuit of material gain over spiritual matters. Time, energy and focus are all put into making more, getting better and higher at the expense of spiritual nurturing and relationship with people even those in the inner circle. Men become money making machines with little or no spiritual sense. Accumulation of wealth becomes the goal of life. Negligence of spiritual nurturing has robbed away the meaning and joy of living. Emptiness on the inside leads to many sinful indulgence and reckless life style.

 

WHAT HARMS CAN “DUSTS” DO?  Just as physical dusts can harm the normal growth of plants, ideological dusts can harm the normal growth of man. The level of harm is closely related to the amount of dusts we allow it to accumulate on our thoughts and minds. No one can pinpoint exactly what or how much harm dusts may do to him. But harms will surely happen if we are naïve to the danger.

1)    Worldly dusts will mold us into worldly people:   When dusts of the world accumulated too thick in our life, we are molded to look and act as the world does. Apostle Paul gave warning to the early Christians on this regard in Romans 12:1-2 when he admonished us “not to be conformed by this world but to be transformed by the renewing of the Spirit.” When we allow worldly dusts to accumulate in our hearts and mind, the sensitivity of our spiritual life will grow dull and numb until we don’t feel anything wrong or bad in following the worldly beliefs. (Flog in the pan)

2)   Worldly dusts will block us from receiving the True Light:  The Holy Spirit is the True Light of God. He ministers to our inner need of spiritual health condition. It is that ability we understand the truth of God through His Word. Those who allow worldly dusts to accumulate will either lose their appetite in the Word of God or the ability to see and to understand the meaning and benefits of the Word. No spiritual light is able to penetrate their lives to further their spiritual growth.

3)   Worldly dusts will cloud our vision to see our true nature. Many of those who have allowed layers and layers of dusts to accumulate their heart and mind will never see their pitiful spiritual condition or the pitfalls ahead of them. Their spiritual eye sights are blurred that they just can’t see the danger of their condition. Denial is the first step and anger is the next when someone points to them their condition. Many of these people either get mad with God or with those who tell them their true face. The common reaction is to get upset with those who love them enough to tell them the truth and even quit God and church.

4)   Worldly dusts rob us from receiving blessings of God:  Just as dust blocks natural light from entering plants to bring growth and vitality, worldly dusts block Christians from receiving blessings of God in many ways: a close and sweet relationship with Him, a sense of security from Him, a secured direction in Him and the confidence of knowing He is by our side every step of our life, just to list a few of the blessings we may receive without the clouding of worldly dusts. If conditions continue, spiritual life may wither.

 

HOW TO CLEANSE WORLDLY DUSTS?  Unless we don’t care if our house plants are growing or not we will cleanse dusts from their leaves regularly to keep them alive and healthy. We need to do the same to our spiritual condition and health. Regularly we need to see if any dust from the world has clouded our heart and mind and spiritual vision. Here are some steps we may take to keep our Christian life alive and vibrant:

1)    Be mindful of your spiritual condition:  Don’t let busy life stop you from regular examination of your spiritual condition, your relationship with the Lord, your spiritual appetite and such. Negligence on your need of God will slowly but surely drift you away from Him. We are not here only to work, to make a living, to do daily chores or to satisfy our human appetite. We are here to bring glory to God. We need to be mindful of our spiritual needs. Make adjustments and change direction anytime you find yourself slow down, slide back or even lose focus.

2)    Keep a regular time with God each day:  Just as we need regular nutrition to maintain a healthy body, we need regular time with God in Bible study, prayer, devotional study to give us sufficient spiritual supplies for the inner needs. When reading His Word, be mindful of the lessons it brings that may help you cleanse your life of worldly dusts. Cleansing is a daily procedure. The longer you wait the harder to clean the dust next time.

3)    Provide good resistance to dust accumulation: There are repellents that may help prevent or reduce the accumulation of dust on leaves. There are spiritual repellents which may help us to resist or reduce the accumulation of worldly dusts. Participate in worship services regularly with your spirit focused is the best way. Participate in in-depth Bible study and discipleship classes is another good way to being your spiritual sensitivity to a higher level. Keep a few spiritually strong friends and have fellowship with them on a regular basis may keep you from getting too close to worldly people. Reading inspirational books and magazines is another way to keep your spiritual tank full.

4)    Be determined to trim and cut: Just as we need to have hope on our house plants to grow, we also need to keep a strong desire to grow our spiritual life. As we trim and cut dried leaves from plants, we need to trim and cut worldly habits, beliefs, ways of doing things, secular values and purposes to allow us a better growth. You may need to cut some worldly ways of business practices or some worldly friends to keep you from falling. Keep yourself away from environment of temptation or compromise. It is through pruning we become healthier and will bear more fruits. (John 15:2)

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    As dusts will weaken the growth of plants, worldly life style, beliefs and practices will weaken our spiritual growth. We need to keep our eyes on worldly dusts that may cloud or blur our spiritual eye-sight.

2)    Plan and take steps to cleanse our inner spiritual condition that we may become healthy and productive in God’s vineyard bearing fruits to His glory.

3)    Jesus can cleanse it all: The sacrificial blood of Jesus can cleanse all the sins and iniquities from your life. Jesus will forgive your sins if you bring them to Him in repentance. He will also give you eternal life if you accept Him as your Savior and Lord now to begin a new journey to heaven.