生活的智慧(31)行李 (尤牧師)

經文﹕哥林多前書924-27 2005731

 

引言﹕1一個悲慘的故事﹕1845年,在英國公爵法蘭克林帶領下的探險隊在北極洋 遇難。兩艘探險船帶備許多不必要的行李,例如有1200本書的圖書室,名貴的 水晶杯,各式刻有船上長官名號的銀餐具,各種名貴的瓷器等。但船上卻只有 12天燃料。當燃料用完後,船被困在冰洋中,數月後,船員決定分隊求生,結 果卻無一人生存。其中有一曾用雪耗拖行了65英哩,結果還是死於冰洋上。後 來救護人員找到他們的屍體時,發現他們拖著滿滿一車的名貴銀餐具。

2旅行該帶什麼?許多人出外旅行,不論旅途長短,都不知道該帶什麼行李。 雖然有人主張輕便行李,大多數人還是帶備許多,結果全沒用過的行裝,有人 裝滿許多不必用的,卻忘記帶必須用的。旅行該帶什麼,實在要有智慧。

3人生是客旅﹕假若人生是旅程,而天堂是目的地的話,我們必須小心帶備 的行李。帶合適的行李走天路是必須的,也是智慧的選擇。

 

為何帶多餘的行李呢?人類歷史開始,就有人出外旅行時帶了許多從來用不到的行李,有人是帶得太多,有人是帶而不用。旅行帶太多行李的壞習慣至今仍有不少人這樣作,為什麼呢?

1)     我們擁有太多了﹕許多人旅行時帶太多東西,因為他們家裏東西太多。如果你家東西少,就不會也不可能帶太多。今天人類擁有太多東西。有人面對滿滿的衣間卻埋怨沒衣服穿。

2)     我們忘記這只是旅行﹕有人出外旅行像搬家一樣,只要他們能看到的,想到的都帶,他們想在旅途中,好像在家裏一樣方便,他們忘記了旅行的目的。

3)     我們分不清那樣重要﹕不管你行程長短,是旅遊或是開會,觀光或是探親,你旅行的目的應該放在第一而不該是帶許多行李,如果你將注意力放在裝備行李上,帶越多越好,你就失去這次旅行的目的和意義。

4)     我們心中沒安全感﹕許多人旅行帶太多東西,因為他們害怕萬一要用的東西沒帶,他們無法預測旅途中需要什麼,若有臨時需要時怎辦?他們寧願多帶,為求心理安全,結果是一大堆多餘行李。

 

多餘行李是什麼?各人的多餘行李都不一樣,共同點是多餘。我們若真知道人生在世如客旅,天堂才是永遠家鄉的話,我們必須明白,許多今天我們認為非帶不可的行李,在走天路上卻是多餘的。

1)          我們有太多東西可帶﹕除了少數例子外,許多人一生擁太多東西了。許多是一生都用不到的。物質,金錢,房子,堆積東西數不清。他們買,積存,堆起,卻從不需要,這些是多餘行李

2)          我們有太多的掛慮﹕因為人是脆弱的,無法知道明天會發生何事,許多人就會為許多事憂慮,天天活在憂慮中,心中十分沉重,美其名人無遠慮,必有近憂,自以為安慰,結果是失去人生的喜樂和心靈的平安。這些就是多餘行李

3)          我們的價值觀有問題﹕有一個故事這樣說;有一個人背著沉重包袱,艱苦地上天堂,到了天堂門口時已累得像半個死人,天使問他背包裏是什麼?為什麼那麼重,他解開來給天使看,說這是黃金,是世上最寶貴的東西,天使說;你錯了,這正是天堂上的沙土,我們用鋪路的。許多人一生背著名譽,地位,身份,特權,面子等沉重背包,以為這些太重要了,其實在我們要去的天堂,卻是毫無價值的。

4)          我們的罪擔太重﹕許多信徒覺得天路難行,因為他們帶著大堆從不認錯,也未蒙赦免的罪。罪像綱羅一樣纏繞著他們,使他們舉步艱難,無法前行天路,聖經說;我們應該放下各樣重擔,脫去容易纏累我們的罪,存心忍耐,奔前面的路面程度。(來121

 

多餘行李有何害處?

1)          它們消耗我們的精力﹕旅行時太多行李的人,旅途非常困倦,因為他們的精力都花在太多的行李上,他們原本應該將精力用在享受旅途中的風景事物,風土人情,但他們的精力都花在處理根本用不到多餘的行李上了。

2)          多餘行李產生麻煩,使旅途複雜﹕旅行輕便會消少許多麻煩,行李太多,太大,太重,都是麻煩,結果失去旅行的樂趣。

3)          多餘行李會妨礙你的行程前進﹕如果你人生目標是在天堂的話,行李太多必會延慢你的行程,妨礙的靈命長進,減少你結果子的能力,因為你的注意力都放在太多行李上,你會失去正確目標,失迷在屬世的煩惱中、

4)          多餘行李會阻礙你得永生﹕正如引言所述的故事,他們為了拖帶沉重的行李結果未到達救護站就已經凍死了的人一樣,不少人為了拖他們認為寶貴的多餘行李。結果一次又一次地失去得救的機會,這是人生最大的損失。人生在世上所能積存的東西,沒有一樣會在神眼中有價值。

 

如何除去多餘行李?

1)          下定決心,行裝輕便﹕這是第一個最重要的決定,就是你的心志,絕不讓多餘行李纏繞你。你決定了之後,你就會小心選擇你應帶不應帶的東西,你要心中決定,越少越好。你的人生只是旅途,不是永遠的家,我們不會永久居住在世上,在行天路上,不必帶太多東西。

2)          注重你的人生果效﹕我們在世是旅途,重點不在行李。神留我們在世上是要我們活出他的樣式,為他作見証,使更多人相信他而得救。你要注重你一生的果效,不可將時間,精力,花在不必要的沉重行李上。

3)          注意真價值﹕許多旅客會在旅途中買許多東西,紀念品,將行李箱裝得滿滿地,回到家中,過後不足一星期,當時覺得好吸引,有趣,非買不可的東西,你會失去興趣,亳無用處。在旅途中太興奮時買東西是沒智慧的作法。許多你今生認為寶貴,有趣,非有不可的東西,到天堂時一點價值都沒有,你要有屬靈智慧,要認清真正價值,使徒保羅在腓立比書48-9給我們列出一張清單,讓我們明白什麼才是有價值的事物,不妨翻開聖經看一看,對你有益。

4)          將行李存在天上﹕耶穌對世上的行李如何處理,有很好的教訓(馬太619-21)你存在天上的行李才真正永遠是你的。你在世上積存的東西,到你離開世上那天,你絕不能帶走。你現在就應當將行李托存在天國,交給神,給教會,給傳福音之用。

 

結論﹕

1)          人生如客旅﹕有起點也有終點,你如何處理行李會決定你旅途是否愉快或是煩惱,你要有智慧選擇,你只能活一次。

2)          注意神為你的目標﹕神給每一個人都有生存的目標,不可讓任何人,任何事物妨礙你的前進,到旅途結束時後悔就太遲了,不讓世務纏身,不讓多餘行李纏住,拖後,使你更長進,更有能力結果子,更對神國有用。

3)          為到達終點作準備﹕千萬要注意你將來必能上天堂,你必須今天就接受耶穌作救主,成為神的兒女,當你走完人生旅途時,你肯定有一個永恆居所可去。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (31) BAGGAGE”                         Pastor YAU

Text: 1 Corinthians 9:24-27                                                  July 31, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

      1) A sad story: In 1845 the ill-fated Franklin Expedition sailed from England to find a passage across the Arctic Ocean.

     The crew loaded their two sailing ships with a lot of things they didn’t need: a 1,200 volume library, fine china, crystal goblets and sterling silverware for each of the officers with their initials engraved on the handles. Amazingly, each ship took only a 12 day supply of coal for their steam engine.

     The ship became trapped in vast plains of ice. After several months, Lord Franklin died. The rest of the men decided to trek to safety in small groups, but none of them survived.

     One story is especially heart-breaking. Two officers pulled a large sled more than 65 miles across the treacherous ice. When rescuers found their bodies, they also found that the sled was filled with table silver.

     2) What to carry for a trip: Many of us have difficulty in deciding what to carry on a trip long or short. While some may advocate and practice the benefits of travel-light, many people still pack their baggage things they never need nor use. Some even pack things they don’t need but forget to bring what they do need. It takes certain measures of wisdom to choose the right things to carry when you are planning for a trip.

     3) The journey of life: If life is a journey and heaven is your destination, it is important to choose and pick the right things you may carry. Packing the appropriate things in your baggage for the life journey is both an act of wisdom and necessity.

 

WHY CARRY EXCESSIVE BAGGAGE?  Carrying more than we need on a trip is a common practice for many travelers since the beginning of time. Many people either packed too many things or things they never need. Excessive baggage is a problem for travelers and many still do just that but why?

1)    We just have too many things:  People bring many things on trips because they have too many things at home. We can’t bring things we don’t have. Excessive possession is the primary cause of excessive baggage. Too often, we hear people complain that they have nothing to wear facing a wardrobe of clothing. We just have too many and too much.

2)    We forget that it is only a trip: Many travelers mistaking a trip as a move or relocation. They pack everything they can see and find around the house like they are moving to a new home. They want to enjoy as much convenience on the trip as they have at home. They have lost the sense or purpose of traveling.

3)    We mix up the priority: Either your trip is a cruise or sight seeing, a tour or a study, a conference or just for leisure, the purpose of your trip should be the primary concern much more than packing and carrying all the things you think you may need. When you place your primary concern of a trip on bringing more and more baggage, you lost the sense of priority and the meaning and benefits of the trip.

4)    We are uncertain and insecure: Some who like to bring so much on trips because they are afraid they may miss something they may need. These people do not have the ability of foreseeing things and don’t know what to do if they miss something. They will feel much more secured to be surrounded by so many things even knowing that much of the baggage they may never touch.

 

WHAT IS YOUR EXCESSIVE BAGGAGE? Few people have the same excessive baggage but they all have too much to carry. If we truly know that we are here on earth as sojourns or travelers and our final destination is heaven, we may need to see that some of the things we treasure so much are in fact excessive baggage we don’t really need.

1)     We just have too much to carry?. Except in rare cases, most people have too much for their lives to the point that they may never or seldom use some of the things they have accumulated. Material possessions, monies, rooms in their houses, junk in the garage, just to list a few. They own, they keep, they pile up but they don’t need. This is excessive baggage.

2)     We have too many things to worry: Because we are all human and are finite, we don’t know what may happy tomorrow or the day after. Many people carry worries each and everyday of their life and drag on day after day in heavy steps that they never know what it is to live life with joy and peace. This is excessive baggage.

3)     We have a value problem: A story tells like this: “A man carried a heavy load on his way to heaven. When he arrived at the gate, he was exhausted and looked like half death. The angel asked what it was in the bag. The man said it was gold, the most precious metal on earth. The angel said, “No, these are just dirt up here. We use them to path streets.” We carry loads like fame, status, position, prestige, how others may look at us, etc. We think they are so important, but they are nothing in the place where we all are going.

4)     We carry too many sins around:  Too many Christians feel the road to heaven is so steep and hard to travel because they have heavy loads of sin never confessed and forgiven. Sin is like a snare which may trap us into and slows or stops us from progressing in our Christian journey to heaven. The Bible says: “Let us throw off everything that hinders and sin that so easily entangles, and run with perseverance the race.” (Hebrews 12:1)

 

WHAT HARM COULD EXCESSIVE BAGGAGE DO TO US? 

1)     They could waste our energy unnecessarily: Too often people who have excessive baggage are more exhausted when they travel or arrive at their destination because of the energy it takes to care for them. They suppose to use their energy to enjoy the trip, the sights and sounds of the new surroundings, but they have to use so much energy to take care of those unwanted and un-needed baggage.

2)     They could create trouble and make trips more complicated: Travel light is popular because it cuts out lots of trouble from taking care of excessive baggage. Over sized, over weight and too much baggage are common problems for those who want to travel with their house around them. This certainly reduces the joy of the trip.

3)     They could slow you down from your progress: Especially if you are going to heaven, unnecessary or excessive baggage surely will slow you down from your spiritual growth. They certainly drain your energy from producing more spiritual fruits. When excessive baggage occupies your attention so much, you have lost your focus of pursuit and may be lost in the world of care.

4)     They could prevent you from eternal life: Such as in the story in the introduction two men died because they carried unnecessary loads which eventually prevented them from reaching rescuers. Too many people may lose their precious opportunity of salvation and eternal life because they have too much to carry and worry. This is the ultimate loss in anyone’s life. No matter what may be in that excessive baggage, they are of no value in the eyes of God.

 

HOW TO GET RID OF EXCESSIVE BAGGAGE: 

1)   Be determined to travel light:  This is the first and most important step: your mindset: do not be tangled up by excessive baggage. Once you set that in your mind, you will be careful and selective to choose and pick what are the really needed items to carry. You need to set in your mind: lesser is better. You are taking a trip, not moving to a new home. We are not going to stay in this world forever. There is no need to have so much on your trip to heaven.

2)   Be focused on your productivity: It is the trip, the journey, you are taking, not the baggage. God has placed us in this world for to be His witnesses so others may find eternal life through our daily life and testimonies. Be mindful of the level of your productivity and effectiveness. You can’t afford to lose time or energy in managing the excessive baggage.  

3)   Be careful on true values: Many travelers spend a lot in buying merchandize and souvenirs to fill their bags to the maximum just to find out that they are of little or no use a week after they have returned home. Allowing excitement or impulse to control your appetite of buying is a foolish practice in travel. So many things we value so much here on earth turn out to be useless or valueless when we get to heaven. Be spiritually wise when choosing what to obtain and keep that are of real values. Apostle Paul has a list of suggestions in Philippians 4:8-9. Look it up and learn something.

4)   Store your baggage up there:  Jesus has so much to say about storing our treasures in heaven in Matthew 6:19-21. All that you store in heaven is going to be yours forever without any risk. All that you may accumulate here on earth is going to stay here when you are ready to depart. Be wise to store what you have in the most secured place. Bring all of them to God, God’s church and God’s ministry.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)     Life is like a journey, a trip. It has a beginning and an end. How you manage your trip can determine how effective and rewarding or what a mess and waste of time. The choice is yours. Be wise and be careful. You only live once.

2)     Focus on the purpose God has given you a purpose to live here on earth. Don’t let anything or anyone slow you down or mess you up that you may regret at the end of your journey. Let nothing entangle you from being productive and effective. Get rid of all the unwanted or excessive baggage so you may grow fast and become more useful in the eyes of God.

3)     Be prepared for arrival at the end of your life. Make sure you have a place to go to be with God in heaven. Accept His invitation today to become His child so you are sure of an eternal home you may go to when you finish the journey on earth.