生活的智慧(30)安全 (尤牧師)

經文﹕詩篇181-6 2005724

 

引言﹕1安全很重要﹕在美國和世界許多國家,安全是一個重要課題,也是一 門大生意。從國家安全,關及千萬人民,到家庭安全關及每個家庭和家中 各人。許多對國家或家庭安全負責任的人,花費心思及大量金錢,就是為 了增進國家和家庭的安全感。

2) 安全是個切身問題﹕人人都想住在安全的地方。喜歡將孩子送去安全的 托兒所,將存款存放在安全可靠的銀行。找工作也想找個安全的公司。有 關安全的事物太多了,我們注重環境安全,也希望家人得到安全。

3) 安全 個心理問題﹕人的心理需要感覺到安全。儘管有人喜歡用數字或觀 感去衡量安全的程度,其實安全是個心理問題。人人有不同的安全要求和 感覺。在同一情況下,這人可能覺得安全,另一人卻覺得不夠安全。

 

為何人類需要安全?

1)          人類為了生存需要安全﹕人類的幾個基本生存條件中,安全列在第一,遠遠比愛,尊嚴等更重要。故此,食物,衣穿和房屋非常重要,因為這些東西增進生存的安全,人人都需要有基本生存的條件才會得安全。

2)          我們的內心需要安全﹕除了上述所列基本的物質條件使人的生存安全之外,心理的安全感也非常重要。人類不止要求擁有生存的物質條件,人更需要感覺安全。人若心中沒有安全感,心靈就沒有平安。沒有心靈的平安,是生存的大敵。

3)          我們需要安全感去建造未來﹕若有人對他的工作沒有安全感,他就很難會盡力去作。結婚的人若對婚姻失去安全感,就不會竭力去建造美好的家庭生活。同樣道理,在戰場上的士兵,若認為這場戰爭必敗的話,他就不會奮勇去作戰。人對今天安全感的感受會影響他對未來的成功或失敗。

4)          對安全感的要求是人性的特點﹕因為人自知有限脆弱,因此,就要創造多種外界條件來增進安全感﹕人群,物質,環境等來增進生存的安全。人人都知道,沒有人可以百分百的滿足自己的安全感。因此,我們需要一些可靠的外界條件去支持我們的安全感。

 

一般人建造安全感的方法﹕

1)          從增進物質得安全感﹕一般人相信我若能擁有更多物質,就會感到更安全這是絕大多數人在追求安全感時的作法。因為人的生存需要物質,食物,衣服和房屋。在滿足生存的基本需要之後,人會為未來的安全儲存更多的物質。這種對物質擁有和儲存沒完沒了的追求,使許多人陷進許多愁苦中。對物質的貪婪,產生許多犯罪行為,使人心靈傷害,甚至造成戰爭。

2)          從增進個人價值得安全感﹕不少人認為只要他們有更多的價值,他們會更安全。例如強壯的身體,更聰明,更好看,受更高教育,有更高社會地位,住更大房子,開更名貴汽車,認識更有地位的人等等,會增加他們的安全感。故此,有人拼命得學位,學更多謀生技能,在學校得更好成績,在工作上爬更高職位。他們將個人的價值和安全感連在一起。價值越高,越有安全感。

3)          從結交關係增進安全感﹕大多數人都明白聚伙能給人心理感覺安全。我們都知道人多勢眾所產生的力量,是單獨個人難以相比的。這種情況也發生在壞(流氓,黑社會等)中。也有人喜歡交結有金錢權勢的人,使自己覺得安全。有些青年人自己沒有任何價值,喜歡參加

,就是這種心理。

4 從權勢去增進安全感﹕人人都知道權力與安全感之間有緊密關係。各種各 樣的權力會使人覺得安全。不管是政治力量,社會或經濟力量,軍事力量 等,加上社會地位和關係,都會增加人心理的安全。權勢有影響力,而影 響力又會增加權勢。

 

人為安全感的脆弱﹕

1)     因為人為的安全感建立在物質或外表上﹕安全感是一種內心的狀態,感覺,外表或物質造成的安全感只是一種幻覺或狀態,是無法深入到人心中去,更無法填補人心中失去的平安和憂慮,故此,我們看到許多有錢,有勢的人心靈卻沒有平安,沒有安全感。

2)    造成人為安全感的恩素會改變﹕每一個人用來增加安全感的因素(條件)都會改變,是人無法控制的。沒有人能夠控制多種安全因素使他們不改變,當造成安全感的因素(條件)失去時,安全感也隨之失去,人若期望在必然會改變的各種外表條件上建立安全感,他只是在建造沙土城堡,是不可靠的。

3)    因為這種作法過份自我﹕人人都知道汽車的輪若沒有路面的承擔,不論它轉動多快,永遠無法使車子向前移動一寸。沒有人可以單靠自己的努力去建造真正的安全感。人為的安全感,絕不會比人本身的脆弱強。人若要向前,向上,他需要外來非常人力的支持才能作到。

4)    人為的安全感永遠無法填滿人心的空虛﹕不管你已經有多少,或覺得夠安全,你的心理還會告訴你﹕還不夠,還可以得更多,使自己更安全。這是一種沒止境的追求和壓力,因為人為的努力爭取是沒有標準,沒止境的。沒有一個終點人可以覺得夠了。人心比海洋更深,永遠填於不完。

 

別擔心,有更有效的方法﹕尋求安全並沒有錯,用不正碓的方法尋求安全才是錯,大衛王在這方面有許多經歷,他的經驗可以給我們提示正碓的作法,在今天的經文中,他提出更好的方法。

1)     安全感的開始是你與神的關係﹕181)人為建造安全感的條件都是沒有人性的。大衛王卻從與神建立個人關係作起點。人人都知道安全感是一種人性心理和感情的狀況,難怪太多人在多種外來因素中找不到真正的安全感。沒有人能夠建造比神更穩固的基礎去在上面建造安全感。當你從神開始去尋求安全,你就找對門路了。

2)     找到一絕對安全的地方﹕182)大衛王找到一個包括一切安全的地方去建立安全感,在這節經文中,他用八個不同的描寫去形容他得到安全感的原因;因為神是他的巖石,山寨,救贖,神,磐石,可投靠的,盾牌,拯救的角和高台。上列八種描寫,每一個都可以成為一篇論文的題目。這一切都在大衛所信的神裏面,就是他所信所愛的神。除了大衛王所愛的神之外,沒有人會找到更可靠,更完全的對象去建造安全感。大衛王的神也可以成為你的神。

3)     建造最可靠的安全感﹕183-5)大衛王所信靠的神有能力將他從仇敵手中救出來,能為他解開困繞他的死亡繩索,能阻止使他驚懼的急流,能為他解纏繞他的陰間繩索和網羅,從死亡中將他拯救出來。大衛所說的不是物質的擁有多少,不是名譽的高低,也不是社會或財力的多少高低,他面對的是生死關頭的事。他所信所愛的神能救他脫離任何人可能會遇到的傷害。

4)     全天候的安全專線﹕186)雖然許多人家裏都裝了全天候的安全系統,服務公司說他們每天24小時都有人接電話,但實在情況是當我們真的有危急需要時,電話的另一邊是一位與我們毫不認識,只會為了賺每小時幾塊錢的接線員,他根本就不會為你的安全操心焦急。但大衛王所信所愛的神就不一樣。儘管神是至高,他住在高天的殿中,他永遠會垂聽我們在急難中的呼求。這位神聽見以色列人在埃及的呼求,他也聽見灰心絕望的先知以利亞的呼求,他也聽到保羅和西拉在腓立比監獄中的呼求。神一樣會聽到你的呼求。

 

結論﹕

1)          對我們的生存和心靈,安全是很重要的。你若不注意安全,必然會遇到危險,也沒有保護。千萬不可大意,認為萬事必然順意。

2)          將安全建立在穩固的神手中﹕將你的一生和所有的一切,都放在神手中,讓他保護你免至受傷害。不可將安全感放在會改變的物質和人事上,要建立在永不改變的神身上。

3)          為你的永生找安全地﹕你的靈魂,你的永生的安全十分重要。沒有人能用在世積存的任何財物,地位,權勢去買到永生的保障,讓耶穌進入你的心,作你的救主,請他為你在永恆的國度中為你留個座位。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (30) SECURITY”                 By Pastor YAU

Text: Psalm 18:1-6                                                              July 24, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

     1) Security is important: Security is a big and important subject and business in this country and other countries around the world. Ranging from national security that affects the safety of nations to home security that affects homes and the families in them, security has been in the mind of those who hold the responsibility to protect a country or a family. Safety or security is one of the most basic needs of human beings. Nations spend billions and families invest hundreds of dollars to make sure that they feel they are safe.

     2) Security is personal. We want to live in communities that are safe. We like to leave our little ones in daycares that are safe. We want to buy a car that is safe. We want to put our savings in banks that are safe. We like to work for companies that have a good job-security history and the list goes on and on. Safety and security are important to our lives and that of our loved ones.

     3) Security is a mental condition: The feeling of safety or security is a mental condition. Even though we may have statistics to support our definition of safety, it is our feeling on that particular object that makes us feel safe or not. Different people have deferent levels of secure feeling. One may feel safe while another may feel not.

 

WHY DO WE NEED SECURITY? 

1)    We need security to survive:  Survival is the number one need for mankind under any circumstance. Survival leads all other needs such as love and dignity. That’s why food, shelter and clothing are important because they promote and protect survival. Everyone needs to have the basics to feel secured and safe.

2)    We need security for inner peace: Besides physical needs which are important to our survival, mental or emotional conditions are also important. We need to FEEL safe, not just to HAVE things for basic survival. No one may have inner peace without the sense of safe or secured. Life without inner peace is far from adequate.

3)    We need security to build our future: No one would put in his best efforts in his job if he feels his job is at risk. No spouse would do his/her part to maintain a sweet home if they feel their marriage is falling apart. Again, no soldier will fight a battle with all his courage if he feels they are losing the war. Security of today plays an important role in the security of tomorrow.

4)    We need security because we are human:  Part of being human is being finite and fragile. We depend on our surroundings such as people, things and environment for our existence and security. We understand that we are unable to provide or protect ourselves in all conditions. We need dependable or secured conditions to function properly.

 

COMMON WAYS TO SECURE SECURITY:

1)     Security through material possessions: Many people believe that if I have more, I’ll feel more secured. This is the most common denominator most people hold in building their sense of security. This is true because of the need of survival. We need material things to survive: food, shelter and clothing. After basic needs are met, people will build more material possessions for future needs. The pursuit of acquiring and accumulating material possessions have become the root of all troubles man faces. Greed plays a big role in many crimes, pain and suffering even wars.

2)     Security through personal value:  People feel that if they have more value: stronger, smarter or better looking, higher educated or social status, they are more secured. Some may feel more secure just by driving a bigger car. That’s why people desire to increase their value by pursue higher education, learn more trade skills, make higher grades in school, climbing corporate leaders, making bigger salaries and many other ways so they feel more secured now and in the future.

3)     Security through association: This is called security by association. Most people understand the power or sense of security through grouping. We draw support from each other in groups, some good and some bad. Some even pursue association with people of high position or prestige to feel secured. Young people, many of them have little or no personal sense of value join gangs for the purpose of feeling powerful or secured.

4)     Security through power: Most people understand the relationship between power and security. Power of all kinds, political, socio-economic, military and others such as connection and position all play important role in making people feel secured. Power carries influence and influence builds power in return.

 

THE FRAILTY OF HUMAN SECURITY:  Human security is fragile:

1)   Because it is built on matters:  Security is an inner power or feeling. Material or physical condition only creates mirage of security which in fact is not there. False sense of security cannot and will not fulfill the need of inner peace and strength.

2)   Because conditions are ever changing: All the conditions many use to build their sense of security are subject to change beyond human control. No one is capable of keeping things unchanged forever. The sense of security is gone when the foundation on which it is built in gone. Men are building sand castles when they build their security on changing factors.

3)   Because it is all self-reliance: We know that no amount of spinning of wheels of a car may move the car forward for an inch without the support of road surface. No man can build real security by his own power or scheme. The best security man may build is no better than the power of that frail man. Man needs support other than himself to push him forward or upward.

4)   Because it is never enough to fill the vacuum: Man-made security can never fill up the vacuum in his heart. He always feels not enough. He always wants more, get higher and do better to feel secured which is a never ending burden in his life. It is because there is no boundary, no secured point where man may rest and feel secured. A man’s heart is deeper than an ocean.

THERE IS A BETTER WAY:  Seeking security is nothing wrong, seek it in wrong places is. King David had many precious experiences on this subject we all may learn from him. In today’s passage, here are some great suggestions:

1)   Begin a love relationship with God: (18:1) Most of the things man tries to build his security are impersonal. David started his search for security from a personal relationship with his God. Security is a mental and emotional condition as we know it. No wonder few men feel secured by seeking it from either impersonal matters or frail human beings. No one may build any stronger foundation of security away from a personal relationship with God. When you begin with God, you begin it right.

2)   Find an all-inclusive location:  (18:2) David used 8 different ways to describe the all-inclusive location where his security is built: the rock, the refuge, the shield, the fortress, the deliverer, the salvation, the strong hold and the horn. Each of these descriptions may be the topic of a thesis. All are in his God, the God David loved. There is no other place anyone could dream of to build his security other than the God of David. This is the same God we all have.

3)   Build the highest security ever: (18:3-5) The security David built in God was strong enough to rescue him from enemies, able to release him from the entanglement of the cords of death, powerful enough to stop the torrents of destruction, timely to uncoil the cords of grave and delivered him from the snares of death. David was not talking about material possessions or name or socio-economic status, he was talking about life and death situation. The God he loved is able to protect him from all possible harm.

4)   The 24/7 personal security service hotline: (18:6) Even though many of us have installed home security system which promised 24/7 customer service. Often times we may talk to total strangers who may be making few dollars an hour and doesn’t really care what may happen to you when you call. But David had built his security with a personal God who even in His highest place, His temple, He will always hear our cry in time of distress and urgency. This same God saw the suffering of His people in Egypt. He heard the cries of King Hezekiah while he was in his death bed. He heard the hopeless prophet of Elijah in the mountains. He also heard the prayers of Paul and Silas when they were in the prison. God never forges to hear our call of help.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    Security is important to all of us for survival and peace of mind. To neglect this is to put your life in danger without protection. Don’t be so naïve that all things will be alright just because you think so.

2)    Build your security on rock solid grounds of God. Anchor your life and everything else on Him and see how He is going to protect you from all harm. Do not build your security on things that can change and disappear. Build in God who is the same yesterday, today and forever.

3)    Prepare your eternal security needs: your soul and eternal life. No one may buy eternal life with thing he accumulates on earth. Invite Jesus into your heart as Lord and Savior and secure your place in Heaven with God.