生活的智慧 (3) 态度

箴言 17:5

尤牧师

 

 

引言: 在这注重科技的时代, 知识和技能当然十分重要. 但社会越来越看重 合作精神, 人与人之间的关系也非常重要. 在人际关系中, 态度的正确常是列在前面. 人际间的态度若良好, 就可以团结许多人去达成更高的目标.

 

上面所列经文是所罗门王的教导. 他教训人不可嘲笑穷人, 也不可以看见别人失败而幸灾乐祸. 凡是轻视他人的, 不论是因人家贫穷, 愚笨, 出身低贱, 少受教育, 长相难看, 这人等于鄙视神, 必受刑罚.

 

 

拥有 的态度

没有人能为他人定下 他需要什么. 追求拥有更多是人类的通病, 并且在你争我夺的过程中. 造成许多摩擦, 伤害, 甚至斗争. 人人都想多得, 不论是财富, 学问, 社会地位, 名誉等等. 追求更多, 常造成个人和社会在道德上的堕落. 虽然耶酥教导我们可以为生活所需要而祈求 (6:11), 圣经却也教导我们 有衣有食就当知足 (提前6:7-8), 贪婪永远是有害无益的态度.

 

少有者 的态度

人类历史上不断有阶级斗争: 多有的对抗少有的. 上世纪九十年代初期共产主义的兴起就是利用阶级磨擦起家的. 社会的不公平, 富人欺压穷人, 剥削穷人, 造成许多悲剧. 作为神儿女的, 若是戏笑轻视穷人, 就是侵犯神的公义和智慧. 以赛亚书 61:1-2和路加福音4:17 都清楚记载神的眼看顾贫穷人, 孤儿寡妇, 被社会丢弃的, 无依的. 任何人, 若因他人 少有而歧视他, 就等于蔑视神. 人的价值永远不应该因他拥有多少而决定.

 

对骄傲的态度

不论是个人, 家庭, 社会或是国际关系, 骄傲造成的伤害是无法估计的. 明亮之星之成为撒但就是因骄傲的缘故. 人若因富有, 美丽, 才干, 背景, 教育, 地位等比他人高而骄傲, 他就犯了轻视神的主权和恩典的罪. 虽然人的努力是件美事, 但人若在他所得的一切上归功于自己的智慧, 努力, 聪明和能干, 他就是轻视神的慈爱和恩典. (林前4:6-7) 我们要小心骄傲导致失败的教训, 箴言11:2: 骄傲来, 羞耻也来. 圣经又说: 神讥誵那好讥誵的人. 赐恩给谦卑的人. (箴言3:34)

 

对成功的态度

成功是可贵的人生目标, 甚至圣经也如此教导. 我们的神绝不是一位失败的神. 神赐给许多人大大成功, 旧约的亚伯拉罕, 摩西, 大卫王, 所罗门王等神所爱的人都是大有成就的人. 神从来没有责备人成功, 但神多次责备那些在成功上 自己居功 的人. 神管理万有, 包括人的成败. 75:7: 惟有神断定, 他使这人降卑, 使那人升高. 并且, 没有人永远成功的, 凡曾成功的, 必有一天会失败. 故此, 当你成功时, 心中要有谦卑.

 

对灾祸的态度

幸灾乐祸, 看见他人失败而心中暗笑是恶毒无良的心态. 耶稣责备那些认为在亚罗亚楼倒塌中丧生者是因罪恶过多的人. (13:4) 凡是在不幸事件中受害的人, 如车祸, 战争, 罪案, 自然灾害中等, 都不应被人嘲笑, 轻视. 当我们看见有人遭遇不幸时, 我们应当心存怜悯, 同情, 并且尽力去帮助扶持. 发生在他们身上的不幸事件, 也有可能发生在我们身上. 你我今天活在平安的环境, 应当衷心感谢神的保守.

 

结论: 这世界本来就是变化无常的. 我们今天无能生存, 工作, 拥有, 活得好, 都是神的创造, 允许和祝福. 不论贫富, 学问高低, 拥有多或少, 生活安定或是艰辛挣扎, 神的眼都看见, 没有人可以自高, 轻视别人. 对他人和自己, 都应当有适当的态度, 这才是荣燿神的作法. 因为神管理万有, 包括你我.

“WISDOM OF LIVING (3): ATTITUDE”        By Pastor YAU

Proverbs 17:5                                                  September 26, 2004

 

INTRODUCTION:  While knowledge and skill are important in the demands of science and technology, people today pay more attention to the importance of attitude, especially attitude toward others. In a society which emphasizes so much on teamwork, attitude is like cement that bonds people together to achieve higher goals.  The Scripture quotation above stresses the danger of wrong attitude toward others, especially those who are less-accomplished, poor, less educated or less fortunate.  King Solomon says: “He who mocks the poor shows contempt for their Maker; whoever gloats over disaster will not go unpunished.”

 

ATTITUDE ON POSSESSIONS:  While it is impossible to measure NEEDS, possession of material fortune has been the root of conflicts in human history. Everyone strives to have more: wealth, power, status, fame, and so on.  Those who have more usually enjoy more privilege than those who have less. The quest for more has been the primary cause on the moral, social and economical conflicts between people and nations.  While Jesus set the legitimacy on the request of daily supply of needs, (Matt. 6:11) the Bible asks that people of God should be content with food and clothing, for we did not bring anything into the world and we can take nothing out of it. (1Timothy 6:7-8)  Greed is always a harmful attitude toward possession.

 

ATTITUDE TOWARD THE LESS:  Class struggle is as old as human history: the have verses the have-not.  The rise and power of the Communist movement in the early 1900s reflects the friction of classes. Usually the rich oppress the poor, rule over the poor and take advantage of the poor. For the children of God to mock or look down on the poor is a direct violation of the heart of God.  Both in Isaiah 61:1-2 and Luke 4:17, the Bible gives us a clear picture that God sets His eyes on the poor and the disadvantage, the widows, the orphans, the outcasts and the vulnerable. Anyone who puts a label of value on a person base on possession, be it wealth, education, status, etc. is mocking the wisdom and justice of God.  The value of a person never depends on the amount of his possessions.

 

ATTITUDE ON PRIDE:  Historically, pride has been the cause of many human tragedies, be it personal, social or national.  The cause of Satan is nothing but pride. To be proud on possession, beauty, talent, background, physical appearance, and many others is sinful. It is against the mercy and sovereignty of the Creator God. While human efforts are legitimate contributing factors, God’s people should attribute all they have to the love and grace of God. (1 Corinthians 4:6-7) It is very important that we know the relationship between pride and downfall. Proverbs 11:2 says: “When pride comes, then comes disgrace.”  The Lord mocks the proud but gives grace to the humble. (Proverbs 3:34)

 

ATTITUDE ON SUCCESS:   Success is a noble goal even in the Bible.  Our God is NOT a God favors failure.  In fact, God bestowed great successes to many giants of faith, especially in the Old Testament. People like Abraham, Moses, King David, Solomon and many others are good examples of success both in worldly and spiritual areas. God never despised success. But God does despise those who credit their success to themselves. God is the only one who controls all people including their success.  “It is God who judges: He brings one down, He exalts another.” (Psalm 75:7) No one stays successful all the time. Anyone who is up must come down. Therefore, be humble when you are successful.

 

ATTITUDE ON MISFORTUNE:  Gloating, or secretly feeling happy, on disasters on others is vicious and disgraceful.  Jesus rebuked those who gloated on the death of their fellow countrymen in the fall of a tower in Siloam. (Luke 13:4)  Those who suffer tragic loss or die in accidents or natural disasters or any other situation, should not be the subject of gloat or secret rejoice. Compassion is what the Bible says we need to have when we see people suffer misfortune. What happens to them could happen to all of us. Be thankful to the Lord that you are not the subject of the tragic event.

 

CONCLUSION:  This world is full of uncertainty.  We live, work, possess and enjoy life, because of the grace of God who allows us to enjoy His creation. The rich, the poor, the higher educated and the less educated, those who have and those who have less, many who live peaceful life and some struggle to survive are all under the watchful eyes of God. No one should feel proud, nor look down on others who are less fortunate. Proper attitude to people, possession, fortune or any other thing on earth is the key to honor God who gives us all and controls all.