生活的智慧(29)期望 (尤牧師)

經文﹕箴言1312 2005626

 

引言﹕所盼望的遲延未得令人心憂, 所願意的臨到,卻是生命樹.(箴言13:12)這裏所用盼望不是指沒有根據的意願或心中想要的事物。乃是指對未來的期望

閉上你的雙眼,用你的想像力,構想在耶穌死在十字架上之後,到他第三天復活這段時間內,他的門徒有些什麼想法。他們如何面對失去耶穌,就是他們盼望已久的彌賽亞?他們如何能接受耶穌實在死了的事實?他們多年來盼望復興以色列的救主真的死了嗎?以色列又如何能復興呢?我相信彼得會絕望地說;我一向以為他就是我們多年盼望的救主,現在我知道我是多麼錯了。你可以想像多馬沒有在耶穌復活後見到他嗎?他的信心隨著耶穌的死一同死去。跟從彌賽亞只是一個幻想。當希望死去時,活著真沒有意義。

每一位回應主的呼召跟從耶穌的人,都有他們各人的意願或期望。有人期望耶穌會給以色列帶來復興和榮耀,有人可能期望得到個人的好處。他們心中的期望使他們跟從主有目標。這共同的期望使他們連成一群。

人人都知道盼望對人生的重要。期望使人堅持下去,從不斷的挫折中不斷向前。為了達到期望的成果,我們會更努力,甘心作出犧牲,不斷從失敗中站起來,相信不久會得到美好的果效。

 

有關期望的一些原則﹕

1)          期望是什麼?期望是一種意識上的狀態,注目於通過努力,爭取將要得到的成果。有時是對自己,有時是對他人。當我們努力功課時,會期望有好成績。當我們在某事上有成就,會期望有人欣賞。我們買一件由名廠造的產品,期望它會耐用不出毛病。期望是人生不可缺少的一部份。絕大部份人都會有某些期望。當我們的期望落空時,心靈和感情都會受傷。

2)          為什麼我們會有期望?人都相信因果關係﹕如果你栽種得法,按時施肥澆水,天氣又合適,你的草地應當青綠可愛。我們也相信期望是公平的。如果你在校用功,認真工作,對人誠懇公平,對配偶有愛心,你會期望有好成績,工作順利,婚姻美滿等的收成。有人認為期望必然的,這些人沒想到有時期望會落空的。

3)          所有的期望都如願嗎?答案是不是。儘管大部份人的期望都會合乎常理,但仍然有時候沒有得到心所想的。許多在實驗室中成功的例子,在現實生活中就不一樣,原因是﹕我們無法控制各種條件或因素。得不到期望是常有的事,人人都要有這心理準備。

4)          期望是好還是壞?答案是﹕既是好,也是壞,問題在乎我們如何處理。人人都應該對未來有期望,作為人生追求努力的目標和動力;學業,事業,婚姻,理想,滿足等。不過我們也應當準備面對得不到期望時的挫折,難過,失敗或痛心。避免或減低受傷的一個方法是﹕不可將期望定得太高,太理想化。如果你將期望定得越高,得不到時的傷害必越大。

 

期望的決定因素﹕期望的成功或失敗,受兩大因素的影響,不管是期望自己或別人,都是一樣。我們的期望大多數與人有關,並且是由我們心中的追求心切程度有關。心中追求越切,期望會越高。

1追求心切的程度﹕越是心切追求,期望得到的程度就越高。當然有價值 的期望是可以有高度的期望,但若將高期望建立在週圍的人,物,事上, (是大多數期望的支柱)當結果達不到我們的期望時,傷害就越大。除了 切望追求更像耶穌,屬靈更長進之外,最好不要對他人或事情期望放得太 高。聖經有許多教導要我們要控制慾望,特別是世俗的物質的和肉體的 慾望。有人無法控制慾望,以致禍害終生。

2 追求對象的程度﹕我們期望的對象越是可靠,成功的機會就越高,以下 是三個常見的對像﹕

a)神﹕人人都相信神是最可靠的對象,許多人將期望建立在神身上。雖 然神實在是最可靠,但是神卻不是也不可能受人的控制,要為人成就 人的期望。我們常見有人真是傾心吐意,痛哭流涕祈求神成全他們的 期望,結果卻得不到他們心中想要的。我們應當知道神的主權是不容 侵犯的,他的智慧和全知也不是我們可比的。我們應當順服神的決 定,相信他的決定是最好的,不管合不合我們的期望。

b)他人﹕將期望建立在他人身上也不是明智的事。沒有一個人是全能 的,就是最愛你,最忠誠的朋友,也會有力不從心的時候,許多時候 人們有願意的心,就是無法作到你所期望的。許多人將期望建立在他 人身上,得不到時就痛不欲生。另一方面,我們也要明白,沒有人

欠你的債,必須作到你所期望的,就是家人也沒有欠你什麼。若有 人對你好是恩典。許多人對配偶,兒女,親人,好友,有很高期望。 這不只給對人太大壓力,並且是給自己挖個深坑,始終你會掉進去, 很痛苦。

c)你自己﹕對自己有期望是好事,可以使自己更有目標﹕有衝勁,發揮 更高的功能,達到更高的成就,人人都希望有成就,被欣賞。另一方 面,我們要有自知之明,沒有一個人是萬能的,也沒有人永遠成功的

。在人生實際環境中太多未知數,不可測的事會發生,有無法克服 的困難。自大自高是不實際夢想,聖經說是罪。

 

如何應付不實現的期望?期望不實現,是常見的事,每個人都經歷過,沒有人會達到他所想達到的期望。人人都要準備接受期望不實現的事實。有人沒有心理準備,就會一跌不起。以下五點是應付期望不實現的建議﹕

1)          定期望時要中庸合理﹕保羅在羅馬書123不要看自己過於所當看的。對自己或別人加上不合理的過高期望,只會使人感到壓力過重。另一方面;不要要求別人高過要求你自己。

2)          只有神才永不失誤﹕失誤是人性的一部份,人人都曾經失誤過,應當給自己或別人有失誤的餘地,從失敗中學取教訓,然後東山再起。失敗不是人生的終點,失跌而不起才是終點。期望成就沒有錯,但期望每天每事都成功是不實際的。

3)          沒有人有責任滿足你的期望﹕儘管你的出發點很好,動機純正,但沒有人

必須成就你的一切期望,對神也不可這樣。不達到期望而生氣,動怒是 沒用的,對任何人都沒有好處,只會使人難過,破壞原有的感情關係,甚

至傷害你的信心。

4)          不可輕易放棄﹕許多人歡喜下判斷,太快失去希望。多馬離群而見不到復 活的耶穌就是一個好教訓,在事情未絕望之前不可放棄灰心。耶穌最終是復活了,帶給人更美好的希望。

5)          遲到的成就仍是成就﹕許多人在他自己所定的時間表內達不到期望,就失望憂傷。我們應當給自己,別人或神再多五分鐘去達成我們的期望,人人作事的速度不同, 神的時間表與我們的就大不相同,如果你有足夠的耐心等候期望的成就來臨,你必會嘗到成就的美味,正如生命樹的果子一樣。

 

結論﹕1 人人需要有希望或期望﹕這會使人生有方向,有動力,有目標,絕望是 人生的盡頭。沒有人只為今天而活,我們應當為明天而活。明天如何 和你對明天的期望有關,只要活著一天,就應有一天的期望。

2耶穌是我們最佳的期望﹕如果你覺得人生孤單,沒有希望,沒意義,只 是一連串的失敗,你應當知道耶穌是你人生 期望成就的最大力量。主 耶穌是我們信心創始和成就的最大力量,主耶穌是我們信心創始和成 的保証。信主的人,信心的意願盼望不是空洞無憑的,乃是未見之事 的實底(希伯來書111)。所以我們要信心充足,繼續向前終必得 到神的成就。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (29): EXPECTATION”       By Pastor YAU

Text: Proverbs 13:12                                                         June 26, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION: “A delayed hope makes the heart sick, but a fulfilled expectation is a life giving tree.” (Proverbs 13:12) The word hope here is not merely wishing or desiring, but the sense of expectation.

1) Broken expectation for the disciples:

       Use your imagination to construct a picture of what the discipleship of Jesus might think or act between the days after He was put to death on the cross and the morning when He walked out of the grave to life again. How did they handle the loss of Jesus, the long-awaited Messiah? How could they accept the fact that their Master and Lord had died? Where would they anchor their hope and expectation for a revival of Israel? Peter, the most devoted, might bust to tears and uttered the death of hope and said something like this: “I thought He was the one, but I was so wrong.” Can you imagine why Thomas wasn’t there to see Jesus after His resurrection? He might well be broken hearted to see His hope died with Jesus and gave up his desire of following the Messiah. When hope is dead, there isn’t much to live for.

2) The power of expectation and hope:

       Each of the disciples might have his own hope or expectation in Jesus when they gave their lives to follow Him. Some of them might have strong expectation to see a great and glorious revival of Israel. Others might expect personal prestige. But hope had been the core strength that helped to hold them together for a common expectation.

       We all know the power of hope in our lives. We also know the value of expectation which often times is the driving force to keep us going. Hope and expectation are important in our pursuit of goals. We work hard, we sacrifice and we get up again and again from stumbles in hope of that rewards we believe will come or good days are just a day away.

 

BASIC UNDERSTANDING OF EXPECTATION:

1)    What is expectation?  Expectation is a mental condition focuses on probability of results or rewards of efforts or desires we have on ourselves or others. We expect good grades when we work hard in exams. We expect recognition when we have achieved something good. We expect merchandize to last long because it was made by reputable manufacturers and we had paid a high price for it. Expectation is an integral part of daily life. To most people, expectation is also a natural thing to happen. When the outcome doesn’t match our expectation, our mental and even emotional conditions get hurt.

2)    Why do we have expectations? We have expectation because we believe in the formula of cause-and-effect. If I plant it right, water it right, apply the right fertilizer and the weather is right, we expect the grass in your front yard will grow green and dense. We also believe in “fairness” in expecting results, rewards, recognition, etc. when we have done our best in school, at work, in marriage, inter-personal relationship, etc. To some, expectation becomes their sure thing. These people can’t take exceptions, mishaps or failures.

3)    Do expectations always come true?  The answer is no. Even though most of our expectations are within normal probabilities, there are times things just don’t happen the way we expect them to. Expected results are more likely to happen when they are conducted in controlled environment such as in labs. Life carries too many variables and conditions beyond our control. Failure on expectation is often times more of a norm than exception.

4)    Are expectations good or bad?  It is both, good and bad, depends on how we handle it. Expectation is a double-edged sword. We all need to have expectation as goals and/or rewards to keep us going forward in life, career, pursuit of happiness and satisfaction. But we also need to be prepared to accept the hurt, pain and broken hearted when what we expect do not materialize. The key to avoid excessive disappointment and hurt when what we expect never comes is to set realistic or balanced expectations. The higher you expect, the worse you will suffer when things don’t go your way.

 

FACTORS OF EXPECTATION: There are two major factors that affect our expectations both on us and on others. We build expectations on objects, mostly people, as well as on our desires. The level of eagerness of our desire and the level of our belief in the object determine the level of our expectation.

1)    The role of desire: The stronger the eagerness or desire we hold, the higher our expectation will be. While there are worthy causes we should have strong desire to expect results, building too much desires on people and things around us in many cases can only hurt us when results don’t match our expectation. Besides the desire to be holy and more like Jesus, most of our desires are human and worldly oriented. The Bible has much to say about control of desires, especially worldly and sinful ones. It is uncontrolled desires that had ruined so many lives.

2)    The role of objects: The stronger and more dependable the object of our expectation, the more likely the results may come true. Here are some common objects we often times build expectations:

a)    God: We all agree that God is the most dependable object in Him we may build expectations. While God is the most dependable, He is in no way under any body’s control to do things according to our desires. We see people pour out their hearts, pray in tears, cry with the utmost sincerity, but God did not do things as they have expected. We need to recognize the sovereignty and wisdom of God in answering our prayers or meeting our expectations. We also need to have faith in Him that He does have our best interest in His mind when He makes decisions on our prayers,

b)    People: Building strong expectations on people even our most beloved ones is a risky business. People are all fallible including the best kind. People are incapable in many things even the most willing. Building expectation on people and suffer loss of heart and hope when they fail to meet your expectation is a common but painful scenario. No one owes us anything even in the family. All good wills and kind acts are to be appreciated. Many times, building unrealistic hope or expectation on others such as our spouse, children, friends, colleagues and close ones can only create pressure on them and disappointment on us.

c)    Ourselves: It is important to set expectations for ourselves to push us higher, further and more. Sense of achievement, rewards and recognition are all important to many of us. But we also need to realize that we are not invincible or all knowing. There are too many variables and conditions we just can’t beat to handle them all. Self reliance is not just a sin, it is an unrealistic dream.

 

HANDLING UNFULFILLED EXPECTATION: Unfulfilled dreams and expectations are not things of random occurrence. It is a reality in every life. No one has had achieved all expectations. Failure and setback are part of real life. People who are not prepared to face unfulfilled hope and dreams will fall flat and shattered. Here are some suggestions on how to face unfulfilled expectations:

1)    Set appropriate and balanced expectations: Paul admonished us in Romans 12:3 “Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought.” Unrealistic expectation on you or on others can only put excessive pressure on them. On the same ground, do not expect others more or higher than you expect yourself.

2)    Only God can never fail:  To fail is part of being human. Everyone fails sometimes on something. Give room to yourself and others to failures. Learn from failures and get going again. Failure is never the end. Sitting in it is. Expecting best effort is right. Expecting success in everything and every time is wrong.

3)    No one is obligated to meet your expectation: Even if you have the best intention and the most sincere heart, no one is obligated to meet your expectation, not even God. Getting upset on unfulfilled expectation helps no one, not even you. It can only disrupt a sweet relationship, hurting feelings of both sides and damage your faith to the Almighty God.

4)    Do not lose heart too early: Some of us would jump to conclusion before finishing the story and get crushed. Thomas left the rest of the disciples completely heart broken when he saw his Master died on the cross and thought it was over. Never say it is over until it is over. Jesus did rise from the dead and brought in the beginning of a complete victory.

5)    A delayed fulfillment is a fulfillment: Man may get sick in his heart when a fulfillment of expectation doesn’t come on his timing. Give yourself or someone or God five more minutes to finish his job. We need to realize that different people has different schedule in finishing his job. Certainly God has different timing than ours. If you are patient enough to wait long enough for the fulfillment of expectation, you will taste the sweet fruits of the tree of life giving when your expectation is done right.

 

CONCLUSION: 

1)       We need hope and expectation: Everyone needs to have some expectation to keep his life alive and hopeful. The death of hope is close to the death of life. We don’t just live for today, we also live for tomorrow and expectation is an important part of tomorrow. Our future is as bright as our expectation and hope. Keep that light shine as long as you live.

2)       Jesus is our best hope and expectation: If you feel that life is hopeless and full of failure: failures of your own and that of others. You need to know that our ultimate guarantor of hope and expectation is in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is the creator and finisher of all we have expected. (Hebrews 11:1) The hopes and expectations of believers are not just wishes in our hearts. They are true images of things we have not yet seen. Therefore we need to strengthen our feeble arms and weak knees and keep going forward. Faith and perseverance are the keys to receive and taste the fruits of hopes come true and expectations fulfilled.