生活的智慧(27)美名 (尤牧師)

經文﹕箴言221 2005515

 

引言﹕在這個只管成功,不擇手段的社會中,許多人都忘記了名譽和品格的價值。直到有人掉進法律糾纏或道德破產的深淵中,人才認識到建立和保守名譽的重要。社會和企業,因著忽略品格和名譽價值的緣故,遭遇無可彌補的傷害和損失。政府首長,企業領袖,出賣人民對他們的信任,使他們自己和千萬百性遭受天文數字的損失。近來社會遂漸恢復對名譽和品格的重視。今天的社會,從政治到商場到私人關係,人們再次重視名譽的重要。

 

名譽(美名)是什麼?

1)     名字是人的身份証明﹕作為父母的有許多特有的權利,其中一樣就是給兒女起名字,名字一經命定,就是兒女一生的記號,我們認識人是從名字而來的。許多父母給兒女取名時有寄托期望和好意在內,作兒女的,當盡本份使父母的期望不至落空。名字中若有從父母而來的聲譽和品格,是一種福份,也是人生一個美好的起點。

2)     名字也表示一個人的本質和人格﹕當我們提起某人的名字時,腦海中就浮現出這個人的本質和人格,或好或壞,使人喜悅或叫人頭痛。一個名不只是一個字,乃是代表某一個人,包括他的本質,人格和道德。一個人 美名,表示他的人格和本質使人喜愛,令人敬重。

3)     名字也是別人對我們的記憶﹕不論我們仍然活著或已離開世界,我們的名字在人們的記憶中會存留很久,我們的為人,如何與人相處,對別人有什麼影響會在我們死後,或者在你離開某地方之後,仍然存留多年,有些人遺留的是臭名,壞事,沒有人願意記起他們。

名譽為什麼重要?

1)     名譽對你很重要﹕一般而言,我們如何待人,人家會照樣待我們,大部份人都樂意與有好名聲,好人格的人交往。你如果注意你的名聲,建立名聲,保守名聲,你會吸引一樣重視名譽的人,因為他們敬重你。這一來,不論是對學業,交友,婚姻,職業及社交生活,你都受人尊重,吸引有好名聲的人與你接近。不論是社會,商場,教會,你都有更好的機會發揮你的長處,接近成功機會更大。今天的世界,不論是政府,軍隊,商場或個人,人人都在尋找有好名聲的人。青年男女也注意找好名聲者結婚。

2)     名譽對你的家庭很重要﹕社會和行為學者的研究結果都認為;人的品格和個性是在家庭中養成的。從與家人相處,我們天天彼此學習,不論好壞,都深印我們的個性中。在家庭中我們養成一些習慣,斷定某些價值,對人對事的判斷等。當別人看見我們的言行舉止,就可以看出我們的家庭教養是成功或是失敗。使人敬重或是被人輕視,這一切都直接影響到我們的父母和兒女。在臭名聲家庭中長大的孫子,會有更多的阻力妨礙他們的成功機會,或改變他們的個性。父母的臭名聲留給兒女說不盡的痛苦和負累。

3)     好名聲對神和教會很重要﹕儘管教會是為罪人而設立,神卻可以用人的好名聲去吸引更多人認識他以至得救。信徒的好名聲,好品格,會被未信者看見因而吸引他們到神面前。當人類尋找可靠,可信的人時,自然會找到有好名譽的信徒來。教會也需要有好名聲的人事奉神,早期教會找領袖時,其中一個條件就是這些人必須有好名聲(徒63)許多教會需要有好名聲的人去領導,服事,成長,救人。有好名聲的人會對別人有正面的影響。

臭名聲有什麼傷害?

1 ) 臭名聲首先傷害自己﹕臭名聲例如﹕壞脾氣,壞態度,壞習慣,壞聲譽,出名 懶惰,不誠實,貪心,冷酷無情,不負責任,不可信任,自私,殘忍,不道 的生活習慣等,都會使你感到羞辱,使人不想與你接近。沒有人喜歡與臭名譽 的人來往。你會感到孤單,被人拒絕,遺棄,你會找不到朋友,就是找到了, 也維持不久,你找工作會特別困難。如果你結婚,你和配偶,兒女,親人之間 會有許多麻煩,你會成為別人的重擔,你的一生是孤單可憐的過程。

2) 臭名聲傷害與你接近的人﹕世上很少人一生獨居,我們一生都活在人群中﹕ 庭,學校,工作地方,教會,鄰居等。你若有一個臭名聲,必定會使與你接近 的人難過,受苦,受傷害。他們會因你而感到羞辱,難過。他們要加倍努力才 能彌補因你的臭名聲而來的不良印象,你會成為他們的負累,有人根本不想與 你認同。

3) 臭名聲傷害神和教會﹕沒有人會在神和教會本身找到錯處,但卻可以在一些 徒身上找到把柄去破壞神和教會的聲譽。我們的生活方式,脾氣,對人態度, 都對神和教會有影響,不論是好是壞,未信主的人用信徒的壞名譽作藉口而不 上教會當然不對,但事實上許多靈魂的失喪和信徒的臭名聲大有關係。

對好名譽應有的態度﹕

1)     有好名聲不是為了出名﹕我們第一要注意的是;好名聲不是為出名或出風頭,好名聲是指好人格,好名聲,不是為了要讓人知道而自覺光彩。人人都應當作得對,行得好,注意品格的培養,改正錯誤。信徒不當為自己的名聲努力,乃是要為主的名聲努力。

2)     名聲是別人給的,不是自加的﹕我們行得對,作得好,是應當的,是責任,也是主的教訓。(太515-16)好名聲是他人對你所行所作的認可和賞賜,是一種榮譽,是他人對你的敬重,當你不斷作得好,行得對時,總會有人看出來而賞賜你。就算沒人賞賜,我們仍然要行對作好。

3)     好名聲會榮耀神﹕因為我們是人,會喜歡別人對我們的欣賞和稱讚,但是,我們得好名聲的最高目的是為了榮耀神。我們活在世上是為了彰顯神的愛和他的名,若有人因我們的好名聲,稱讚我們,那榮譽應當歸給神,因為若不是神給我們恩典和力量,我們什麼也不能作,我們必須依靠神的恩典和保守,使我們能作得更多,更好,讓神在你生命中作主,你必會結更的果子。

為什麼美名勝過大財?

1)     這是價值觀的問題﹕今天的社會,大多數人都會選擇大財過於美名。社會風氣已大大偏向金錢和物質,過於人格和名聲。許多商店,企業或個人,都會用不法手段去得財富,而不顧名譽上的傷害和破壞。許多人都有只要發財,不擇手段的看法。但整個社會來看,人人都尊重有好人格,好名聲,受尊敬的人,比尊重財主更大更多,許多財主,不是社會人士所尊重的人。

2)     這是持久的問題﹕大多數人都想致富,但大多數人都知道財富存留不久,比不上名聲和人格。有些人是用非法手段致富的,例如打劫銀行,賭博,抄股票等,但要得人的敬重卻不是一天就可達到的事。很少人會因為某人的財富而敬重他,卻會因人的人格和美名而敬重人,所羅門王是個富足的人,他當然明白這些道理。

3)     這是個人選擇的問題﹕在聖經中,上帝為人的行為定下規範,人的選擇或遺背必會有後果。但上帝從來不強迫人去服從他。若有人因為愛神而肯順從神的規範,神的心就有喜樂,選擇的自由會帶給肯順從的人神的祝福,也會帶給反抗的人痛苦和管教,神是公義的,人有權選擇,但必須負上自己的後果。

結論﹕不論你今天年紀大或少,你都有自由選擇如何過你的一生,選擇大財或是選擇美名?所羅門王在這裏不是論到人的貧富,他是論到人的選擇。

世上再多的金錢財富也買不到永恆與神同在的生命,這卻是人必須在走完世路前必須選擇的。永生不是人能賺來的,只有靠信耶穌,得到他寶血洗淨我們的罪,人才能得永生,你今天就可以選擇相信耶穌作你的救主,使你的罪得到赦免,你就會得到世上最寶貴的美名;神的兒女。

WISDOM OF LIVING (27) GOOD NAME”              By Pastor YAU

Proverbs 22:1                                                                      May 15, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION: 

1)    Success: Whatever it takes: In a culture that promotes “success on whatever it takes,” people tend to forget the value of good reputation and character until they have plunged into either legal entanglement or moral scandal, then they begin to realize the true value of building and protecting a good name. Society and business have suffered so much loss because of the negligence of reputation and character. Government officials and corporate giants have betrayed their trust and suffered immense loss of confidence from their counterparts.

2)    Recognition of character and good name: It is now coming back to recognize the importance of reputation or the “good name” a person has. Today people begin to value “good name” in many aspects of life: social, political, business and personal.

 

WHAT IS A GOOD NAME?

1)   A name is an ID of a person: The privilege of giving names to our children is the highest honor of being parents. The names we give to our children will stay with them as long as they live. It is by their names we recognize people. Many parents named their children with hopes and good wishes. It is very important that we try our best to measure up to the names we were given. Bearing the names of good character and reputation is a blessing and a good start of the journey of life.

2)   A name also represents the nature or character:  When we mention the name of a person, we visualize the nature and character of that person in our mind, good or bad, pleasant or irritated. A name is more than words. It is “who” he is and “how” we recognize him. A “good” name means a “good” person, a person of good nature and character. That name carries our respect and good feeling.

3)   A name is also how people remember us:  Either while we are still living or after we die, our names will last much longer in the hearts and minds of people. How we live our lives, how we relate to people and what impact we may have on others will last many years after we left a place or this world. That’s all our names will remain in others. We see some people with bad name and character no one wants to remember.

 

HOW IS A GOOD NAME IMPORTANT? 

1)   A good name is important to you:  People respond or react to us mostly on how we treat or respond to them. Most decent people love to associate with people with good character and good name. If you build and keep your good name, you will draw people of like kind who respect you because of your character and good name. This will, in turn, enhance your character building and future: education, friendship, marriage, career and social life. Your good name and character will certainly be recognized by your peers, your company and your church. You will have better opportunity to develop your potential. The world continues looking for a few good men in government, military, business or any other aspects of the society. All young people are looking for men and women with good name and character to marry.

2)   A good name is important to your family: Studies of sociologists and behavioral scientists point out the importance of family in the formation of character and personality of all of us. We are products of our family. We learn the good and the bad from people in our family. We form values and judgment from that of our family. When people see us, they see the kind of family we are from. Our good name, or bad one, reflects either respect or disrespect from others. Our good name brings glory and honor to our parents and children. Our bad reputation also brings shame to our family. Children grow up in families of bad name or character will have hard time to form proper attitude and manner. The last thing we want to do to our children is to leave them a bad name.

3)   A good name is important to God and His church:  While the church is for sinners, God may use your good name to bring more sinners into a saving relationship with Him. A good name and good character will be recognized by non-believers and attract them to know the Lord. When people are looking for someone to follow or listen to, people with good name will be sought out. People with good name are also sought out to serve in God’s churches. This has been so from the first century when leaders of the church were chosen. One of the qualifications of those chosen was a good name. (Acts 6:3) Many churches need men and women with good name and character to lead, to grow and to spread the gospel to save more souls. Men and women with good name and character will impact others in their character building.

 

WHO MAY GET HURT BY A BAD NAME?

1)   A bad name may hurt you:  Any bad name: bad temper, bad attitude, bad habit, bad reputation, being lazy, dishonest, greedy, relentless behavior, irresponsible, undependable, very selfish, cruel, immoral life style, just to list a few, will certainly bring you shame and blocking you from others. No one likes to associate with people of those bad names. You will be isolated, despised and rejected. You will have hard time to find friends who will last long. You will not be able to keep jobs and be productive in what you do. If you married, you will have lots of problems with you spouse, children and relatives. You will be a burden to your neighbors or anyone who is close to you. You certainly will feel lonely all your life. Your existence will be a terrible journey of suffering.

2)   A bad name may hurt people around you:  No one lives his/her life alone. We all live with others: people in our family, at work, in school, at church, in your neighborhood, the community, etc. If you bear a bad name, character or personality, you certainly will make the lives of those around you miserable and suffering. Your negative influence will affect others and impact those who are closest to you: your spouse and children. Your family and closest friends will feel shameful and painful to be identified with you.  They have to struggle extra hard to compensate the negative impact you have left in their lives. You will be a burden to them and at times, they wish you were not there.

3)   A bad name may hurt God and His church:  No one can find fault in God and His church except faults of people who have bad names, character and personality. How we live our lives, manage our temperament, respond to others will all bring impacts, either good or bad, to the name of God and His church. It might not be the proper reason for some non-believers who don’t want to go to church because they see some people in the church carry their lives around with bad names, character and personality. But many souls were lost because of bad names of some Christians.

 

PROPER ATTITUDE ON GOOD NAME:

1)   Good name is not fame: First of all, we need to know that good name is not the same of fame or popularity. Good name is about character, reputation, personality and nature. No one should live his life for the purpose of building a name, fame or popularity. Everyone should live his life focus on building good character, personality and improve his human nature and good name will come. Christians should not seek to build their own fame. We all should focus on building the name of the Lord and His church.

2)   Good name is given, not demanded: No one should focus on good name by do good and right. Doing good and right is our duty. It is the Lord’s command. (Mathew 5:15-16) A good name is the recognition of a person on his character, nature and personality by people around him. It is a gift of honor and respect others bestow on you. We just do our best, fulfill our duties, treating others what we are required to do and beyond to make the lives of others better, warmer, easier. In due time, someone will crown you with a good name in sincerity and respect. Even if not, we have done our part and that is enough.

3)   Good name is to glorify God:  While we are all human and will enjoy praises and good will from others, our ultimate purpose in having good name is to glorify God. We are here to magnify the nature and love of God. If anything we do and in the process someone is benefited and bring us a good report, same as good name, we need to give that to the Lord. For it is through His grace and in His strength we are able to do what we do. All we need to do is to rely on His protection and grace that we may be able to do more and better. Keep God at the center of your life and you will bear more fruits.

 

WHY IS GOOD NAME MORE DESIRABLE THAN GREAT RICHES?

1)   It is about value system: Most people today will definitely take great riches than good name. Our society has moved so much to materialism from character and respect. Many people will scheme others, be it corporation or individual, to get rich at the expense of their character and respect. The “get rich regardless of how” mentality has prevailed in the mindset of many people. But in reality society at large still respect those who care about character and respect more than riches. Many of the richest people are not the kind of people society will respect or honor.

2)   It is about duration:  Few people don’t like riches but all know that riches never outlast good name, character and respect. People may get rich by illegal or unethical means or pure luck, like robe a bank or strike a jackpot or flying high on stock market. But no one will gain respect or good name on character overnight. Very few people will remember someone because of his fortune but most of those whom we remember are people of good name and character. King Solomon, being a very rich man, he knew exactly what will last longer.

3)   It is a matter of choice:  God sets rules of life in the Bible and the consequence of man’s choices. But He never forces anyone to do anything against his own will. God is delighted in seeing people obeying His commands because of love and obedience. Freedom of choice always brings blessing to those who choose God’s way but loss and misery to those who choose their own way. That’s why God is righteous. We make our choices and we face our consequence.

 

CONCLUSION: 

1)   Making the right choice of your life: It doesn’t matter which stage of life you may be in at this point, you always have the freedom to choose which way you will spend your life: to choose rich, silver and gold or to build a good name or character and gain respect of people around you. Solomon was not talking about rich and poor. He was talking about riches and character. The choice is yours.

2)   Choose the best name on earth: No amount of gold or silver may pay your way to heaven to be with God after you finish your journey on earth. It is only by the grace of God and your faith in Jesus Christ, you will be saved from eternal perish. Choose to believe in Him and you will be rewarded with a good name above all good names, the name of being a child of God.