生活的智慧(24)深水 (尤牧師)

經文﹕詩篇6913-20 2005424

 

引言﹕近十數年來流行的SUV車的制造商要消費人相信他們出產的SUV實在萬能

。既可爬山,又可涉水,不論任何地方,任何路面SUV足可爬過。不久前在報紙上看到一則SUV的廣告,圖片有一輛SUV在深水中行走,就如游水一樣。圖片下面有小字說明﹕SUV行在深水中,可能會對機件造成損壞,會使保用失去功效。

人人都知道,不只汽車怕入深水,人類也是。在人生旅途中,我們有時會遇到深水駭浪。我們也知道不一定要有嚴重的海嘯才使人受害。許多一般的深水也會將我們捲進痛苦的深淵。在人生過程中,到處都有深水出現,一不小心,就將我們捲走。

在大衛王生平中,他多次遭遇到深水的傷害。在他所寫的詩篇中,許多是在深水中的呼求和哀鳴。當然,大衛不是落在深水中唯一的人,許多人都有類似的經歷可以作我們的借鏡,使我們不至跌入深水,或是幫助已掉入深水的人,知道如何爬出來。

深水是什麼?大衛王在詩篇中用深水描寫人生許多痛苦的遭遇。它們發生在他人生經歷史,也可能發生任何人的經歷中。

1)          深水可以是突發的可怕事件可怕事件不是今天才有,它們隨時會發生,形式不同,痛苦情形卻是一樣。許多時候是在你最不注意時候就發生了。例出在一個例行檢查中發現有了癌症,或是在一次交通意外中,家人突然死去,或是一位太太回家時見到丈夫留下的字條;我搬走了,不會回來,不必找我。或是一個忠心工作的僱員一天早上才上班,就接到通知,他剛剛被解僱。你可以填上十樣,二十樣可怕的事情。

2)         深水可以是被人出賣﹕大衛的悲傷多是因為被人欺騙出賣。就是一些設謀要他受苦的人;一個嫉妒的國王,想要他的命,一個背叛的兒子想要他的王座,一些自稱是他的朋友的在他背後用刀割他,一些與他同桌吃飯的人用腳他,一些他非常信任的人,原來就是陰謀出賣他的人。人類所遇到的信錯了人,被人出賣,人際關係破碎,是人生經歷上最痛心的經歷,使人覺得就像天要塌下來一樣。

3)         深水可以是生活上的無奈事故﹕例如社會上的罪惡,在罪案中的受害者,戰爭的破壞,天災無情的傷痛,別人對你的失信造成的損失,有時是我們的無知,使自己陷入綱羅不能逃脫,使我們無法自拔。有時是我們故意走進去,為自己掘了墳墓。

 

深水如何圍繞我們?沒有人可以全列人陷入深水的全部原因。但在一切被深水圍困的事件中,有些共同點,可以使我們得到警告或提醒﹕

1)     這是一個充滿罪惡的世界﹕有人認為只要普及教育,提倡民主,貧富平均,經濟發展,種族平等,機會相等,生活改善,這個世界會越來越好,終會成為天堂。上述各點,都是好事,但絕不能使世界更好,反之世界會越來越壞。世界的邪惡是不能變好的,只會越來越壞,直到耶穌再來,世界必要消滅,啟示錄早就預言過了。深水是無法消除的。

2)     我們常常低估深水的危險﹕大部份人不會天真到只看世界的美而不看世界的醜。人人都知道邪惡的存在和破壞力,但許多人卻自信心態強,以為他可以掌握,控制,不會有事的,我們自以為有智慧,有經驗,會小心,不會被纏住,自信自己判斷總是正確,不會有壞事。但是,這種自大和自信,就足以將我們拖到深水中還不自知。我們要知道;沒有人能預知未來,也沒有人能看透人心,我們也沒有能力去控制事件的演變,凡是有上述這種輕心大意,自大的人,肯定要掉在深水裏。

3)     掉進深水的路很滑﹕很少人一步就掉進深水的,總是一步一步向前走,到後來就全陷進去,出不來,因為通往深水的路是一條滑溜的路。起初是一個無意的念頭,但這念頭會引你到錯誤的路上,雖然經程中有不少警告牌,你的良心,四圍的環境,心中的聖靈,聖經的教訓,都亮起紅燈,但你卻故意不理會,一步一步走下去,到後來,路越走越滑,你就無法停止,結果就沉下去。舊約的羅得就是這樣,他將帳棚一步一步搬近所多瑪,到後來就住到城裏去,最終在火中,失去了他的一切。

 

如何避免陷入深水?社會到處都有深水,每天 都有新的出現,各人的深水不同,預防的方法也不一樣,下面所列,只是一些建議。

1)     預防的步驟﹕雖然耶穌在升天前應許與我們同在,但不少信徒卻喜歡單人行。有人不喜歡神常常看著他人生每一步,有些人是有選擇的同在,自己決定何時要耶穌,何時不要,這是個非常危險的作法,會引我們陷入深水還不自知。我們要抓住主的手,要用心唸他的聖經,要時常用聖經潔淨自己的思想,聖經是人生道路上最好的警告牌和紅燈。保羅又要提摩太親近屬靈的長者,尋求他們的指引,因為他們會看到提摩太看不到的危險。

2)    搶救的步驟﹕你若已掉在深水中,這是搶救的步驟。今天引用的經文,正是大衛王落在深水中的呼求,求神救他,他說;耶和華是我在患難中的避難所。(詩篇99)當他落在深水中,他又說;神使我站立在磐石上。(詩275)神的保証不像SUV廣告,神永不失誤,他的應許永遠有效,只要你肯求告他,他必拯救你。

3)    修建的步驟﹕任何人掉在深水中,一定會有傷害;他自己,他的家人,親人好友,和神都會受傷害,你必須作些修建的事,去醫治傷口。

a)     與神和好;當浪子回頭時,他第一個念頭就是承認他得罪了神,求神赦免,人犯罪,跌倒,神的心就傷痛。

b)    與人和好;浪子不只知道得罪神,他也知道得罪人,他的父親。任何人偏行己路,掉進深水,一定連累傷害與他親近的人,我們必須請求原諒,才能修好曾經破損的關係。

c)     與自己和好;我們自己要立定心志,不讓自己再掉進深水中去。要又建立自信心,要時時警醒小心,讓過去的失敗過去,不要老是回去挖開傷口,不然,你永遠心中沒有平安。

 

結論﹕要被海嘯沖走,可能一輩子只有一次,但要掉進深水,天天都有可能。

你是不是正走在一條滑路邊上,正向著深水走去,你要求神幫助你,請人幫助你,你不可一意孤行,你不一定要走到掉進去為止。

你正在深水中嗎?你沒有力量脫離嗎?神說;我的能力在人的軟弱中顯得完全。你要求神,他必會拯救你,使你重新站在高地。

你因為曾掉在深水中而傷害到別人嗎?快去與他們和好,請求他們原諒,你要重新建立失去的關係,神會幫助你,醫治你的傷口。

“WISDOM OF LIVING (24) DEEP WATER”           By Pastor YAU

Psalm 69:13-20; 27:5; 9:9.                                                April 24, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:  Sport utility vehicles makers want consumers to believe that their SUVs are invincible in all seasons and terrains, all powerful for anything and anywhere. We see SUV commercials where they roll on mountain crags or in swamps with water as high as their headlights and still rolling. One day I saw a similar ad on a local paper showing a SUV almost swimming through high waters. At the bottom of the ad, there was a disclaimer reads: “Traversing in deep water may cause damage to the vehicle that may void the warranty.”

       We all know that deep water is a problem not only for cars but also for people, you and me. As we travel on highways of life, sometimes we find ourselves surrounded by deep waters and crashing waves. We also know that it doesn’t take the power of a tsunami to sweep us off ground into oceans of grief and pain. Many smaller deep waters plotting on our paths of life may catch us off guard and cause us lots of harm.

       In the life of King David, he was surrounded by deep waters more than once. In many of the psalms he wrote, he lamented on the despair and helplessness when he was overwhelmed by deep waters. Certainly he was not the only one who went through deep waters. Many of us have similar experience which may serve as warning signs for others to stay away from deep waters or as survival kits to those who are struggling to get out.

 

WHAT IS DEEP WATER ?  King David used the expression of deep water, mostly in the Psalms, to represent many things and situations in his personal life. Some of them are common in our life experience.

1)    Deep waters may represent sudden tragic: Tragedy is not a modern day invention. They come in many ways and forms often times without any warning. Oftentimes they caught us off guard at the most unexpected moment. Someone may be diagnosed with cancer without any sign or prior symptoms. A traffic accident may take the life of our loved one in a snap. A wife may come home to read a note from her husband that he has just moved out for good. A faithful employee arriving to work may be notified that he has been layoff.  The list of tragic events that could happen goes on and on.

2)    Deep waters may represent human betrayal: Most of David’s cry for help were caused by human enemies, people who wanted to see him fall: a jealous king who wanted his life, a son who wanted his throne and countless others who just wanted to see him suffer. People who claimed to be his friends were in fact secret agents plotting evil schemes. Others who ate on the same table tried to stab him in his back. Those whom he trusted the most turned out to be his traitors.  Human mistrust, betrayal and broken dreams in relationship are some of the most heartbreaking and devastating experiences in which we feel like the bottom of our lives is falling.

3)    Deep waters may represent everyday trouble:  Things like evil of the world, crimes and victims of crimes, wars and military conflicts and destructions resulted from them, natural disasters and their destructive powers, failures of people that cause losses, pain and suffering on others and traps and snares we find ourselves got caught in because of our own foolishness, careless and arrogance. Some deep waters just come on us which we have no control. Other times we are part of the problems that caught on us.

 

HOW DO WE GET SURROUNDED BY DEEP WATERS?  No one knows all the causes of deep waters, but some common denominators may shade some light for us. Knowing them may help to prevent us from some of the pain and faint or help to keep us from falling into.

1)   This is a world full of evil: Some may believe that through education, social justice, creating more wealth or better distribution of it plus equal access to schools, jobs and opportunities will make changes and improve conditions that someday this planet earth may become a paradise. While all of these are good wishes and some of those who work hard to make it true are good people with innocent purpose, this world is full of evil from day one and it only gets worse everyday, every year and every generation. We see all the facts of evil with our own eyes. There are evil acts and evil thoughts and intentions. The Bible proclaims that this world of evil will come to an end when our Lord Jesus returns to judge the evil doers and to receive the faithful into His glory. The book of Revelation gives us a glimpse on what future will hold. Don’t be so naïve.

2)   We under estimate the danger of deep waters:  Most people are not naïve enough to see only the beauty and the innocence of the world and its people. We all know well the evil side of them. But many of us are too confident on our little wisdom and experience to think that we won’t fall into deep waters like others in the past. We think we are careful enough to see the traps and we will make good decisions and judgments to reap the good and to avoid the evil. But most of us are so wrong if we believe ourselves so much. First of all, we are not as smart as we think. Second we can’t see through the hearts of others. Three, we just don’t have the power to control anyone or anything. Thinking that everything is under your control is the worse mindset that may get you right into deep waters. Don’t be so proud.

3)   The path to deep water is slippery: Few people get themselves into deep waters over night. In most cases, it is a slow process. We begin with an innocent intent and a step in good will but it is on the wrong direction. Either you intentionally ignore the warning signs on the way or you enjoy the fun of your new adventure so much, you step deeper and deeper each step until one day you are too deep to pull yourself out. Lot, the nephew of Abraham, is a good example of falling into deep water slowly but surely until he moved in to Sodom where he lost his family in fire.

 

HOW DO WE STAY AWAY FROM DEEP WATERS?  Deep waters are everywhere and more are being formed everyday. Different people have different kinds of deep waters to watch out for. The following are some of the tested and proven steps we all may take to either keep us from falling into or help us getting out of if we are already in.

1)    Steps of prevention:  Even though Jesus promised to be with us before He went to haven, some of us just want to travel on the paths of life by ourselves. We just don’t want Him to look over our shoulders all the time. Others may be more selective on when and where they need Jesus or not. This is a dangerous step that may lead us into deep waters before we know it. Hold on to the Lord and His teachings in the Bible. Be diligent in worship and Bible study to refresh insights and understand to keep you from straying away into deep waters. The Bible is the best warning sign on the highway of life. It will point you to the right direction. Paul also advised Timothy to seek counsel of wise and mature spiritual brothers. They may see things you can’t see.

2)    Steps of salvation:  These are steps of deliverance when you are already in the deep water. In the Scriptural reference today, we see David cried out to God for help and salvation when he was already in deep waters. He said, “God is my refuge in time of trouble.” (Ps. 9:9) And in time of trouble, “He will set my feet on the rock.” (Ps. 27:5) Unlike the disclaimer of SUV makers, the guarantee God sets in the Bible will never void nor expired. He is always there when we need Him.

3)    Steps of restoration:  Anytime anyone falls into deep water, there is hurt to the person, others around him/her and God. To restore the loss and heal the wounds, steps need to be taken to recover.

a)      Restore with God:  As the prodigal son repented his sins, he admitted that he has sinned against God. Asking for forgiveness from God is the first step to restore your relationship with Him.

b)     Restore with people: The prodigal son also confessed that he had not just sinned against God but he had sinned against his father. Every time we fall, we hurt people around us and we need to ask forgiveness from them to restore our relationship with them.

c)      Restore with yourself: You need to make a commitment to prevent same thing from happening again. Rebuild your confidence up and be strong in handling your life in the future. Never lick old wounds. It only reopens them and relives the pain of former failures.

CONCLUSION:  To be swept away by a tsunami may happen once in a life time, but to fall into deep waters may happen to you everyday.

       Are you on the slippery path of falling into deep waters now?  Seek help from God and godly people. You don’t have to fall all the way.

       Are you already in deep waters and don’t have the strength to get out? God promises you His strength is sufficient for you. Cry out to Him and He will deliver you to high ground.

       Have you hurt someone close to you because of your falling into deep waters? Ask for forgiveness and restore the broken relationship. God will help you and others around you to heal the wounds.