生活的智慧(20)好意 (尤牧師)

經文﹕雅各書417 2005313

 

引言﹕在卡通片花生米中,有一天,瑪茜送給她的老師一朿美麗的鮮花。她的同學帕蒂心中很不是味道,覺得自己好像落後了,就對老師說:其實我早就想過要送給你鮮花,就是一直沒有時間去作,你能不能就接受我 朿好意?許多時候,我們都曾經有好意要作一些好事,就是一直沒有去作,結果那好意對誰也不發生功效。

 

心存好意非常重要﹕人心中存有好意,十分重要。理由多得很。下面略舉數例﹕

1)  好意表示好心腸;耶穌說好樹結好果子,意思就是人心中有什麼,外表就表現出什麼。人只要看看他的意念,就知道他的心地如何。

2)  好意會引導人作好事;除了一些患了嚴重拖延症的人之外,大部份人都會因心中有好意而作些好事,使作的人和接受的人得到益處。

3)  好意使人良心安詳;就算是事情的結果與原來所期望的不完全一樣,但人自知心中有好意,他心中就會覺得坦然安詳。

4)  好意會使人活得更有勁;神在人心中給我們一顆良善的心,任何時候,人只要照心中的好意作事,必會有喜樂和滿足感。

 

好意的接受對象﹕世上需要好意的人多得很,人人都可以成為接受你好意的對象。下面提供數個作為參考。你可以加些上去;

1)  對自己﹕這是人性最基本也是最容易作的。人人都想自己得益。好意如;少吃些可以減磅,有個經常鍛鍊的計劃,小心舌頭不亂說話。早上早幾分鐘起床,就不必那麼赶,戒煙,戒酒之類列之不完。人人都知道這些都是好意,對自己有益。

2)  對家人,親人﹕人人都想為所愛的人作些好事,對他們有益;買個小禮物,作個善意的動作,說些使人受用的話,幫個小忙,一點點關心,表達愛心等,讓對方日子好過些。這些人是你生活的圈子中人,特別關切他們是重要的事。

3)  對朋友﹕神在我們四週會安排一些人,其中有一些你可能根本就不喜歡。但事實上他們就在你的生活圈子中,你就要去關懷,以善意對待,希望他們好。每天來往時有禮貌,態度溫和,幫個小忙之類。人人都知道能作什麼。

4)  對神和教會﹕這不是最不重要的事。神知道你的心思,比你更清楚。故此,對神和他的教會要心存好意,並且作些對神和教會有益的事。既然你是教會一分子,就應該在心態上,行動上,言語上和服事上心有善意,作些有益的事,你若對神的教會好,神也會對你好。

 

好意沒作成的一些通病﹕好意若沒有作出就失去了好意的功能。引言所舉的故事中,我給它加添了下面一段;帕蒂的好意永遠沒機會表示。因為在當天下課後回家的路上,老師在交通意外中死去。為什麼我們沒有及時表達好意呢?你可以找到一千0一個理由。但結果還是一樣﹕好意未曾表達,心中永遠覺得欠疚。讓我舉出一些常見的理由﹕

1)  時間有的是﹕不急。可以明天再作,或者後天也不遲。有一個基督徒知道應當向他母親作見証領她信主,但因為工作忙,一天過一天,一直到他母親急症住院, 一直昏迷不醒,過幾天就死了。正如帕蒂失去送花的機會一樣,這個好基督徒失去向母親傳福音的機會。

2)  我現在太忙﹕我忙完後會好好作。其實人人都有24小時。人人都有時間作他認為重要非作不可的事。你沒時間去表達好意,等於說你不認為那好意重要。對你可能不重要,但對接受好意的人可能是天大的事。可能你是唯一心存好意的人。我曾看到一修路工埸的小警告牌,上面說;對你來說,我只是普通的一個築路工人,但對我的家人來說,我是他們的一切,請你放慢速度。

3)  我不知道怎樣表達﹕有些人心意良善,好意很多,就是不知道如何表示,結果是意沒有耕種,沒辦法開花結果。其實只要問問自己;當我在 困難環境中時,我希望有人會向我表達好意,打電話,探望,寄個卡片 ,自願為人家作個事,表達關懷,好意,送點食物,花點時間與人家一 起。可作的事多得很,只要你有心,方法是不怕找不到。

4)  我不知道對方喜歡不喜歡﹕有些人對表達好意猶豫不決,結果是一推再推,一直沒去作,只要你的好意動機純正,你應該盡快去表達。擔心別人反應如何是膽怯的現象。聖經說;愛裏沒有懼怕,愛既完全,就把懼怕除去。(約一書418)只要你有愛心好意真誠,人家會感受到

 

將好意變成行動﹕有好意是好表達好意更好,沒有表達的好意對人沒益處,包括表達者和接受者都得不到好處。下列是幾個建議,讓你將好意及時表達出去。

1)     增強你心中的好意;你若想到一個好意,不要讓日常瑣事難阻你去表達,表達需要心中的力量去推動,讓你的心時時燃著愛心之火,就有力量去表達好意。

2)     注意他人的需要﹕今天的社會都是關心自我,很少關心他人。只要你肯打開心門和眼睛,你會看到他人的缺乏,感受到他們的需要。當你肯給出去時,你會找到自己的生存價值,別人會留下深刻卬象在心中,永不忘記,好撒馬利亞人故事是我們最好的鼓勵。

3)     要慷慨﹕表達好意需要代價;付出時間,金錢,甚至你的心。通過付出,你表示肯效法耶穌。記得謝謝你肯給那首詩歌嗎?你不會知道因為你肯付出,將來你在天上要看到多少果子。神會不斷加添你的福杯,使你可以更多地付出。

4)  不可希望回報﹕神知道你作了些什麼,祂會報答你。正如那奉獻五餅二魚的小男孩一樣,聖經沒有記載耶穌如何報答那男孩。我們付出是因為有愛,這就足夠了。不可希望受好意的人對你回報。神會在別處回報你。記住神的應許;好施捨的,必得豐裕,有施散的,卻更增添。(箴言112425)若有任何回報,是從神來的。

 

結論﹕這是個只顧自我的社會,一般人是不注意對他人存好心意。但從耶穌降生到人間這事,我們看到神的好意多偉大。他降生到充滿罪惡的人間,一生受到攻擊傷害,被釘十字架,受盡痛苦,為的就是要將神救罪人的好意向人類表達。這是我們在表達好意上最完美的榜樣。

在你全部的好意中,最重要的是為永生預備住處,就是相信耶穌作你的救主和生命之主。許多人都有這心志要信主,但時間過去了,就是一直沒有下個決心去付諸行動。今天應該是你行動的日子,你就決心認罪信耶穌,請他進入你的心中。還有你一直想向家人,父母,好朋友作見証,邀請他們上教會,聽福音,你的好意一直沒有行動,今天你就決心去作。

我們今天該作的就是效法耶穌,在他出名的登山寶訓結朿時,他說;所以凡聽見我的話就去行的,就是一個聰明人。(馬太724

今天的經歷文是使徒雅各的話﹕人若知道行善,卻不去行,這就是他的罪了。(417

“WISDOM OF LIVING (20) GOOD INTENTION”       Pastor YAU

James 4:17                                                                       March 13, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:  In a Peanuts cartoon, Marcie gives her teacher some flowers. Not to be outdone, Peppermint Patty says to the teacher, “I thought about doing the same, Ma’am, but just never got around to do it. Could you use a vase full of good intention?” We’ve all had good intention of doing something good but failed to follow through and that good will never gets to anyone to mean anything.

 

GOOD INTENTIONS ARE IMPORTANT:  There are many reasons why good intentions are important. Let me suggest just a few:

1)   Good intention shows a good heart. When Jesus said “Only good trees bear good fruits,” He told us a simple truth: what is on the inside will show on the outside. Just look at your intentions and you will see what is in your heart.

2)   Good intentions will lead you to do good things. Except those serious procrastinators, most of us will follow through with actions what we intended to do in our hearts. This in turn will bring good things to happen either to others or to your self.

3)   Good intention may sooth your conscience even when things don’t happen the way you want them to. There are things that happen, even with good intention, not exactly the way we want them to, but a good heart, or intention, may bring you some degrees of comfort.

4)   Good intentions help energizing your life. God has given all of us a sense of decency. Anytime we do something good because of a good intention, there is joy and satisfaction in our hearts.

 

OBJECTS OF GOOD INTENTION:  The list of objects or recipients of our good intention may never end because this world needs so much of them. Let me just suggest a few for your consideration. You may add a dozen more to the list.

1)   To yourself. Let us begin with the easiest or the most natural. We all have self interest of our own life. Intentions like cut down our food intake to lose some weight, begin a more regular exercise ritual, curb our tongues from saying filthy words, get up a few minutes earlier in the morning so you don’t have to be so rushing and the list goes on and on. We all know that things like these are good for our lives, so, we intend to do them.

2)   To your family/loved ones:  Almost all of us want to do something good to people closest to us: a little gift, a small gesture, a few kind words, a helping hand, a care attitude, all to show your love and support they need and to make their lives a little easier. These are people who are part of your life. Hold them high and important.

3)   To your acquaintances: God has a purpose in putting people around you and some of them you may not like the best.  But they are here and we need to have good intention toward them: want the best for them. Being helpful or cordial in your everyday dealing with them. Holding proper attitude and good will for their well being is another way. Making their lives a little better and easier in some small ways. You know what to do more.

4)   To God and His church:  This is placed at last but not the least important God knows your heart better than you know yourself. So, express your good intention to Him through His church and all the people in it. Do things, say things, express attitude and kindness to your church in which you are part of as God intends. If you hold good intention to His church, God will hold good intention for you.

 

COMMON EXCUSES GOOD INTENTION FAILED: Good intentions are not good enough when they are never expressed. To the story in the introduction, I added something like this: “Peppermint’s good intention was never fulfilled because the teacher was killed in a car accident on her way home that afternoon.”  We may have thousands of excuses why we never get around to act on our good intention and often enough what is left for us is deep regrets when the opportunity of expressing them is all but gone. Let me suggest some common excuses:

1)    I still have time: No need to hurry, I may do it tomorrow or the day after. But that day after may never come. A Christian knows it is very important to witness to her mother, but was too busy to do it. Then one day, her mom just died after she fell into a coma only for a few days. Just as Peppermint missed the chance to give her teacher flowers, this good Christian regrets the rest of her life because she will never have the opportunity to express her good intention.

2)    I am too busy now:  I will do that when I am not that busy. We all have 24 hours a day and we always manage to do all the things we consider important. The fact you never find time to do your good intention tells that it is not that important. It may not be so important to you, but it may be very important for the recipient. You may be the only person to do that good will. Once I saw a sign cautioning drivers to slow down on a street construction site. It reads like this: “PLEASE SLOW DOWN. To you, I may be just another construction worker. But to my family, I am everything.”

3)    I don’t know what to do:  There are people who have good hearts and good intentions but never get to express them because they don’t know what to do. Ask yourself what you want others do to you when you need some good will and do just that. A phone call, a visit, a card, a helping hand, offer yourself, some gesture of care and love, spend some time, the list ends only when your heart runs out of imagination. When you have a heart, you will find a way.

4)    I am not sure if he/she will like this:  Hesitation of expressing good intention is a big problem which stops many people from doing the right thing. If your intention is good and pure, go ahead to make it known to someone who needs. Worrying what others may say or think is a sign of intimidation and fear. The Bible says: “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear.” (I John 4:18) If you have love and good intention, people will know and appreciate.

 

TURNING INTENTION INTO ACTION: It is one thing to have good intentions but it is quite another when they are expressed in actions. Intentions that never shown help no one: not the doer or the receiver because nothing is done to show it. These are few suggestions to help you begin doing the good intention you have:

1)   Recharge your heart with good intention: Don’t let everyday routine stops you from doing what you know is right and good. The power of doing good come from your heart. Keep it burns with the fire of love. When your love is strong, it will show.

2)   Be observant of others and their needs:   In a society which focuses so much on what I need, few will pay attention to what others may need. Just open your eyes and hearts and you will see, feel and find someone who can use some good heart. It is by giving you find your worth, impression in some hearts and are remembered. The story of the Good Samaritan may be our best encouragement to do our good intention.

3)   Be generous: Showing good intention may cost you: time, money or even your heart. It is by giving we find our worth, demonstrate our love to people and show our obedience to the Lord. Remember the song: Thank You? You never know how much fruits you may bear in heaven because you give. God will always replenish your tank so you can do more each day.

4)   Do not expect returns:  The Lord knows what you have done and He will bless them. Just as the little boy gave up his little lunch, God may use it to meet the needs of 5,000. There is no record Jesus rewarded that young man. We give because we love and that is all. Never expect any return from your recipients. The Lord will bless you in many other ways. Remember God’s promise? “A man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper.” (Proverb 11:24-25)  If there is any return, it comes from the Lord.

 

CONCLUSION:   In this world of self seeking and selfishness, it is not natural to have good wills or good intentions. Yet we have the best example of good will which is the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. From His coming to this sinful world, went through a life with many sorrows and died on the cross of exceeding pain and suffering, we see the most perfect model of acting out the good intention of God.

       The BEST of all the good intentions we may have is to prepare our eternal life in believing Jesus as Lord and Savior. Many of you have that good intention for months or years, and NOW is the time to put it into action. Confess your sins and ask Jesus to come into your heart. Then share your faith with your loved ones: parents, family and close friends. Time may not be on your side. You have a good intention? Show it now.  

       Now it is our turn to follow His footsteps. At the end of His famous Sermon on the Mount, Jesus concluded it by saying: “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who builds his house on the rock.” (Matthew 7:24)

       James, the Apostle, says, “Anyone who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, he sins.” (James 4:17)