生活的智慧 (2) 管教

希伯来书 12:5-13, 箴言 3:11-12

尤牧师

 

 

引言: 尽管施行管教的方式因地区, 文化不尽一样, 但绝大多数的社会和文化都重视管教的价值. 管教 两字包括 管束 教导. 里面包括教导, 训练, 管理, 权柄, 责任, 限制, 顺服和责备在内. 刚刚过去的奥运会的教练和运动员必定明白管教的意义和价值.

 

在学问追求上, 事业发展上以及家庭生活中, 我们都知道 管教 的重要性. 神将管教的责任和权柄赐给一些领袖和家长. 除了极少数例外, 管教常会结出美好的果子.

 

圣经有不少关于管教的教训. 我们的父神就是实施管教的好榜样, 也为了要使我们更合他的心意, 他会塑造我们, 提升我们, 洁净我们, 使我们成为他手中合用的器皿.

 

管教的目的

圣经和现实生活中有无数管教的事例. 每个管教的原因都不同, 根本无法细列管教的原因. 但为了让大家明白, 下列三大原因是常见的.

(1)   神的管教是为了 纠正错误. 有时有人称它为惩罚, 但其目的仍然是为了 纠正错误. 因为神爱世人, 他不可能闭目不看人犯罪作错, 他必要在人的生活中设立 阻止 人继续犯错. 我们看见亚当被管教, 大卫王和所罗门王, 包括以色列人都曾因犯罪而受管教, 神常用管教将离家出走的人再次回到他的面前. 每个人都要为自己的言行负责. 凡是违反神命令的必受管教.

(2)   有时管教的目标是 预防. 这原因许多人不明白, 不接受, 但神却是常用, 并且收效甚大.

我们都承认在耶穌众门徒中最有学问, 最出众, 最忠心, 最有好榜样的该是使徒保罗. 有人认为神该赏赐他荣耀的冠冕才对, 但神反之在他身上安排一根刺, 并且虽经三次恳切祈求, 神始终没有为他拔去这根刺. 相反地, 神让这刺留住, 为的是不让保罗 自高自大. (林后半部2:7)

(3)   有时管教是为了叫人得 洁净. 在提摩太后书2:21, 圣经说: 人若自洁, 就必作贵重的器皿, 成为圣洁合于主用. 当神定睛在某人身上, 预备大大用他之时, 神必要实行洁净的管教, 使人合于主用. 这正如你在世界闻名的运动教练手下, 受训所要经历的 管教 是一样的.

 

对管教应有的态度

各人对管教的态度不同, 有人会发怨言, 说神的不公平. 又有人会怀疑神是否公义. 又有人会变得更心硬, 又有人可能会倒下去起不来. 为了要在管教中得最大益处, 人的态度就十分重要.

(1)   在受管教时, 我们必须相信 神仍一样爱我. 神永远不会因为恨我们而管教我们. 正象父亲因爱孩子而管教孩子一样, 神也是因爱我们才管教我们, 希望我们变得最好.

(2)   我们必须相信神选择管教方式的智慧. 我们需要什么, 神知道的最清楚. 他必然会选用最适合我们的方式和程度施行管教, 使我们忍受得住. 只管信任他.

(3)   在受管教中, 我们要使下垂的手和发酸的腿挺起来继续长进, 不让撒但引诱我们离开神, 因为神永不离开我们. 受管教时必定有痛苦, 但经炼过后必然得益处. 我们常在艰难, 失败, 软弱的时候最容易受教, 最懂得学习. 我们应当相信: 神既然将我放在这情况下, 他必扶持我渡过难关.

 

 

结论: 所罗门王在箴言15:32说得好, 弃绝管教的, 轻看自己的生命, 听从责备的, 却得智慧. 让我们在受管教中求问神: 主呀! 你要我在这管教中学习什么功课?

“WISDOM OF LIVING (2), DISCIPLINE”      By Pastor YAU

Hebrews 12:5-13; Proverbs 3:11-12              September 19, 2004

 

INTRODUCTION:  The ways of exercising discipline may vary, but most societies and cultures value discipline.  The two Chinese characters that translate discipline “Guan-jiao”, mean teaching, training and enforcing supervision.  That includes exercising authority, responsibility, restriction, teaching and obedience.  Many of the athletes and their coaches in the recent Olympic Games certainly understand the value and meaning of discipline.

       Discipline is also important in academic pursuits, career advancement and certainly in training children at home and in school. God has endowed authority and responsibility in those who were given the job of discipline on those under their guidance. Besides rare exceptions, discipline most likely will bring results if it is done and responded properly.

       The Bible has much to say about discipline and the benefits of it. God, as the Father of mankind, is so good in exercising the art of discipline to bring out the best of His people. In His infinite wisdom God applies discipline upon His children to mode them, upgrade them and purify them so He may be able to use them for noble purposes.

 

THE PURPOSES OF DISCIPLE: 

       There are too many examples of discipline, both teachings and actions, in the Bible.  The purpose of each act of discipline is different because the needs of each person are different. In general, three common purposes are found in most cases where discipline is applied.

1)      Discipline is applied for CORRECTION.  Sometimes, this kind of discipline is called punishment, but the purpose is to correct the wrongs done. God, in His total love for man, cannot and will not allow people continue to do wrong. He must apply the brake in the course of life of man to STOP him from going downward on the wrong path. The acts God applied on Adam, King Solomon, King David, the people of Israel and many other cases, give us a clear picture of a righteous God exercising His authority in the form of discipline to bring them back on track. We are all responsible for our words and actions and we deserve the discipline applied on us when we violate the laws God has set.

2)      Discipline is applied for PREVENTION.  This is more difficult for some to understand. Let’s see the Apostle Paul in the New Testament time. Almost all Bible scholars and believers of the Bible will agree that there are few, if any, in the Bible time who might be able to compete with Paul in terms of dedication, fervency, courage and results of his mission endeavor. Instead of crowning Paul with a golden crown for all his achievements, God planted a thorn in his flesh to make him suffer as an act of discipline to prevent him from being proud or boasting. (2 Corinthians 12:7) This is God’s wisdom in restriction.  Different people needs different “thorns” to hold them back from falling into the trap of pride which had led many into total destruction.

3)      Discipline is applied for PURIFICATION. In 2 Timothy 2:21, God says: ”If a man cleanses himself, he will be an instrument for noble purposes, made holy and useful to the Master.” When God has His eyes on some special people for glorious use, He will apply acts of purification to make him clean and holy so He can use him. This is like if you are under the training of a top notch sport coach who will train you to be an Olympian. You must change your life style, get rid of the old and wrong ways of practice and to reframe your mindset, etc. so you may be fit to compete and win at the Olympics.

 

PROPER RESPONSES TO DISCIPLINE:

       Different people respond to discipline in different ways. Some will complaint that it is NOT FAIR. Others will question if God is righteous. Still others will harden his heart and become more stiffened neck and some may become depressed and collapsed. In order to receive the MOST BENEFITS in discipline, our attitude is very important. Here are some suggestions for your choosing.

1)      We need to be reassured of God’s LOVE in time of discipline.  God will never discipline us because He hates us but because He loves us. He loves us like a Father who wants to see the best of His children.

2)      We also need to see His WISDOM in choosing the method of discipline. No one knows what we need more or better than God does. He will always choose the most appropriate means and levels of pressure just right for us to get us straighten up and not broken. Trust Him.

3)      We need to strengthen our feeble arms and weak knees to continue our journey of growth. Never allow Satan to cheat us of quitting God because God will never quit on us. It is never easy to be in discipline, but it is always good for us down the road. We always learn more or better in time of sorrow and weakness. We need to have strong faith that if God puts us in it, He will carry us through it.

 

CONCLUSION:

       Remember the words of King Solomon in Proverbs 15:32, concerning our attitude in time of discipline. “He who ignores discipline despises himself, but whoever heeds correction gains understanding.”  Let us ask God , ”Lord, show me the lessons you want me to learn in all these.”