生活的智慧 (1) 敬畏神

箴言1:7

尤牧师

 

 

引言: 敬畏耶和华是知识的开端. 愚妄人藐视智慧和训诲. 这是被誉为人类历史上最有智慧的所罗门王在3000年前所说的话. 我们都知道智慧和知识的分别: 知识是从学习和经验得来的, 智慧却是神所赐的, 是与生俱来的. 所罗门王认为敬畏神是得智慧的基础, 就得能分辨事物的能力.

 

为何许多人不要神?

没有人可以列举世人不要神的全部原因. 下面所列举的是大部分人的理由:

(1)   人不要神是因为人不要活在 权威 之下: 从孩子时期开始, 人就不要受权威的约束和管制. 人人都想 我行我素. 权威表示限制和失去自由. 自从亚当和夏娃拒绝神的权威开始, 人类不断与权威对抗.

(2)   人不要神是因为人不愿改变他的生活方式: 大部分人都知道他们的生活方式及不上上帝为他们所定的标准, 但又不肯改变, 最好的方式就是没有神. 尽管不少人自知他们的生活方式错误, 自私, 甚至最自取毁灭, 他们还是固执地不愿改进.

(3)   人不要神因为他不肯承认自己已有缺乏: 承认缺乏等于自认人性的不足和脆弱. 许多人以为他们可以主宰他们的人生, 可以控制事情的发展. 他们认为只有无能的, 软弱的人才需要神的帮助.

 

什么是敬畏神?

敬畏 若译作尊敬 会较为容易明白. 神从来就没有要人畏惧 , 神却要人尊敬 , 敬重他.

(1)   敬畏神的起点是承认一位比你我更有智慧, 更有能力, 更了解知道一切的神. 他能作我们作不到的事, 能看见我们看不见的事, 知道我们无法知道的知识. 这是意识上的接受, 承认有这样一位神存在.

(2)   敬畏神有表示尊重神, 寻求他指引我们人生的方向. 美国首任总统华盛顿的话可以表达得清楚, 他说: 没有神的参与, 人是无法有正确的方向去统治国家. 我们的人生需要他, 政府需要他, 在我们所行所作的一切事上都需要他.

(3)   敬畏神又表示信任神, 甘心跟从他的教训, 引导. 甚至他的教训和引导与我们的喜好和意见不同时我们仍要信任和顺从. 奇怪的是我们信任服从医生对我们健康所提供的教训和指示, 但对这位全知全能神在人生道路上的教导和指引, 我们却常是心不甘情不愿地不肯去行.

 

为什么敬畏神是 智慧的开端?

(1)   开端 这词是 起点, 正如建造房屋时以建造 地基一样. 当一个人敬畏神时, 他就有正确的基础去学习, 认识和明白生命和生活中各样的意义, 因为他因对神的尊重, 而心中有谦卑的态度. 他会自认无知, 不足, 有限, 这个起点是他获得知识的开始.

(2)   敬畏神的人承认神是一切知识和智慧的源头. 从世界被造到世界的末日, 从物质世界和人的思想意念, 没有一样神不知道. 敬畏神的人因从神得到智慧不止能明白世上物质的事物, 他们也能明白属灵界的事物和意义. 这些人能看到不信神的人看不到的事和事后面的意义. 世上的人只知为今生活着. 敬畏神的人却知道如何籍今生活着的机会为永生作准备.

 

我们该作什么?

(1)   向神谦卑, 承认自己的无知和缺乏. 只要你的起点正确, 以后的人生道路都会正确.

(2)   在你人生一切事上, 寻求神的指引. 箴言3:5-6. 他必会指引你每一步, 信任他, 顺从他.

 

结论: 许多人和许多书本都会教导我们作这样作那样, 人生就会有喜乐, 但没有一个人或一本书能与神相比. 你如果真心寻求一个 新的开始, 你应许 从神开始.

“WISDOM OF LIVING”(1): FEAR GOD         By Pastor YAU

Proverbs 1:7                                                    September 12, 2004

(If you need a larger type for easier reading, highlight the message and click on your desired font size.)

 

INTRODUCTION: “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, but the fools despise wisdom and discipline.”  These are the words of King Solomon who was believed to be the most wise man in human history. We all know the difference between wisdom and knowledge. Knowledge is the result of study and experience and wisdom is the in-born capacity given by God. People make use of wisdom to acquire knowledge through study and experience. Solomon ascribed to the idea that fearing God is the foundation of wisdom, the capacity to learn, to knowing and to understand.

 

WHY DO SO MANY PEOPLE DON’T WANT GOD?

       It is impossible to list all the reasons why so many people don’t want God in their lives. The following are just a few which are common in many people:

1)      They don’t want authority: People from their very young age don’t want authority in their lives. They want to live their lives THEIR way. Authority symbolizes restriction and loss of freedom. Ever since Adam and Eve rejected the authority of God restricting them from eating that particular tree, men try so hard to live their lives on their own will.

2)      They don’t want to change their life style. Many people realize that their life style doesn’t measure up to that of God and they don’t want to change. Even many of these life styles are harmful, selfish and destructive, men rather keep it that way than to have God who demands changes.

3)      They don’t want to admit they have needs. Admitting to have needs exposes their human nature: finite and fragile. Many people today want to believe they can handle everything and in control. They believe only those who can’t handle their lives need God.

 

WHAT IS FEAR GOD?

       The word fear may render better as “respect” or “revere”. God doesn’t want people to be afraid of God. He wants people to respect Him, honor Him and pay reverence to Him.  To fear God means:

1)      To acknowledge God as being wiser, more powerful and dynamic, can do things we can’t and see further than we see.  This is a mental acceptance of a BEING who exists and is in control.

2)      Respect God and seek His advice in the path of life. George Washington’s declaration of his dependency on God as he said, “It is impossible to govern rightly without believing in God,” gives us a clear understanding what fearing God is about. We NEED Him in our lives, in government and in everything we do.

3)      To trust, follow and obey His leadership, teaching and direction in our lives. Even sometimes, His leadership of direction may not be OUR likes, if we respect Him, trust Him, we will follow and obey.  It is ironic that we obey and follow directions of human doctors on the needs of our bodies, but we are reluctant to follow and obey God on the needs of our lives and souls.

 

WHY IS FEARING GOD THE “BEGINNING” OF WISDOM?

1)      The word “beginning” means “the starting point”, as the foundation of a building. When a person fears God, he has the right foundation to learn, to know and to understand because he has a humble attitude of himself and respect of God. He acknowledges his ignorance, inadequacy and limitation.  From there all wisdom and knowledge are available to him.

2)      People who fear God acknowledge God as the ultimate source of wisdom and knowledge. From creation to the end of the world, from the physical world to the thoughts of men, nothing ever escape the eyes of God. Those who fear God has the capacity of knowing not just the physical world, but also the spiritual world. They know more than just things our eyes can see but also things human eyes cannot see. Men of the world live only this life, those who fear God live their lives from this world into eternity.

 

WHAT SHOULD WE DO:

1)      Be humble before God, acknowledging our ignorance and needs. Start it right with God and the rest of your journey will be secured.

2)      Seek His words and direction in all we do, Proverbs 3:5-6, and He will direct your path. Trust Him and obey His commands.

 

CONCLUSION:  So many people, books, ideas on the internet, etc. will tell you what to do and how to live your life and be happy. But none of them may come close to what God can do to your live.  If you really need a fresh start, start with the best, GOD.