誰是主管? (尤牧師)

經文﹕申命記281-6 2006618

 

引言﹕1我不要你管我們常常聽到小孩子對大人的教導提出反抗說﹕我不要你 ﹕這句話裏面表示他要獨立,拒絕接受權威。其實這說法和想法不只是孩子 是這樣,許多成年人也是這樣。沒有人喜歡有人告訴他去作什麼,特別是一些 我們不喜歡作的事,不歡喜去的地方。

2有關權威的問題﹕自從人類被造起,人就不喜歡服從權柄。人類的歷史可以 說是反抗權威的歷史;反抗君王,反抗政府,不服從警察,不聽老師的教導, 不服上司的命令,不聽父母的話,又不遵敬有權柄者的教導。有些人不肯信 神,是因為他們不要神吩咐他們這可以作那不可以作,反抗權柄到處可見,從 社會或公司到家庭,甚至教會,處處可見。

 

人為什麼反抗權威?

1權威與自由衝突﹕人人都認為自由對人生很重要,為了維護自己,人就必須 反抗任何限制或失去自由的事發生,包括反抗權威在內,讓有權威的人吩咐我 們作這作那,就等於我們損失了某些自由。自由是我們的,權威是外來的,許 多人就會為自己的自由去反抗任何外來的權威。許多人要絕對的自由;我要行 我心所願的,沒有人可以干涉

2權威與形象有衝突﹕形象是指我們在他人面前的表現。人人都想給別人一 個好形象;自主,獨立,剛強,完全自信,沒有缺乏。如果有權威的人在我們 上面,要我們服從,就等於傷害我的公眾形容,人就不喜歡,特別是少年人 更不喜歡,因為他們正在建立形象階段豈可在朋友,特別是女朋友面前失去形 象,許多少年人因此誤以為拒絕權威,特別是父母的權威,等於建立自己 立自主的形象。

3權威表示責任﹕什麼時候權威加在我們身上,就等於加責任在我們身上, 要我們順從,我們就不喜歡,從老師加給我們家課,到政府限制開車速度,到 母親要我們吃光盤子裏的食物,到政府規定我們要納稅等等,都是將責任加在 我們身上,我們都不喜歡,人人會作他喜歡作的事,沒有人喜歡作他非作不可 的事。

4權威對別人有好處﹕很少人會完全拒絕權威。大多數人都接受有時需要有權 威,社會才安全,學校才有秩序,學生才能學到東西,需要有警察巡邏街道, 抓那些不守交通規則愛開快車的人,政府應當收稅,特別是向有錢人收稅才不 至富者更富,窮者更窮。家長也應該有權威,可以鎮壓蠻不講理的小妹妹或自 私自利的大塊頭哥哥,總之若權威使用在別人身上都很好。人人想別人都應當 服從權威,只有我不必。

 

權威何處而來?

1權威從神而來﹕當神頒佈十誡的時候,他沒有問過任何人,沒有得到任何人 的同意,他就自主地發出命令要人類遵從,其實在頒佈十誡很久已前,神就開 始吩咐人可以作這個,不可作那個。作為人類和天地萬物創造主,神是一切權 威的起源,只要神存在(其實沒有人可以叫神不存在)權威就會存在,不管你 不喜歡。權柄是神性的一部份,世上任何,物,事,包括你和我都服在神 權威之下。神的存在和權威,不必你批準或喜歡,人是無法難阻或改變的現 實。在你出生很久以前,神已經存在,已有權威。你最好乖乖接受,不要反 抗。

2神分派權威﹕在教導早期信徒要服從權柄時,保羅指出所有的權柄都是從神來的。(羅馬書131人人都當順服有權柄的人,因為 所有權柄都是從神而來,所有權柄都從神而來這句話,對有權柄的人和服在權 柄下的人都很重要。對那些有權柄的人來說;他們必須知道在他們之上還有神 比他們更大。他們在行使權柄時必須向神負責,必須遵從神的旨意使用權柄。 我們這些處在權柄下面的人,我們必須知道,服從地上的權威等於服從神。

3權柄使人安全﹕神要人為在上有權柄的人禱告,使他們行使權柄正確,使人 民可以安居樂業,因為在平安環境中,人可以培養敬虔和端正的品格,(提前 11-2)我們可以想像得到,假如社會沒有權威的管理,會如何混亂。工作場 所,學校,家庭,教會都是一樣。我們需要有權柄的人維持安全,使我和你可 以過平安敬虔的日子。

4權柄也為刑罰﹕權柄的一個責任就是維持法紀並且對違反法紀的人加以刑 罰,羅132-3說;抗拒掌權的就是抗拒神,抗拒的人必自取形罰。掌權的不 是叫行善的懼怕,乃是叫作惡的懼怕。雖然,我們知道形罰對改善人的行為效 用不大,但為了維持法紀,形罰是必須的。不少人守法紀因為怕刑罰。

 

服從權柄的好處﹕

1保証神的祝福﹕摩西向以色列人說完了這一切話,又說;我今日所警教你們 的,你們都要放在心上,要吩咐你們的子孫謹守遵行這律法上的話。因為這不 是虛空與你們無關的事,乃是你們的生命,使你們過約但河要得為業的地上, 必因這事日子得以長久。神多次應許屬神的人,凡遵守他命令的,聽從他權威 的人必蒙他的祝福。(281-14

2被保護免受災難﹕申命記2815-68節,摩西列出不遵從神權柄命令者將會 遭受的災難苦楚。前面281-14列出遵從神權柄命令者所蒙的福只有14節經 文,但違背神權柄命令者要受的災難是53節,差不多是蒙福者的四倍。在箴言 書中,所羅門王多次呼喊為人子女的要接受權威,要聽從父母的教訓,使他們 可以增長智慧,避免災害和受苦。人要經歷多少次自以為是,自行己路,違背 權威而受苦之後,才肯服從權柄蒙福呢?

3愛神者被神所愛﹕耶穌對門徒最長的教導中(約141516章)他列上一個 量度愛的標準﹕有了我的命令又遵守的,這人就是愛我的。愛我的必蒙我父愛 他,我也愛他.( 14:21)不是為了神得益處,乃是為了我們得益處,對神表示 愛他的最好方法是服從他的權柄,遵行他的命令,並且活在神的愛裏。有人形 容神向你傾倒他的愛是多麼蒙福嗎?

4神會使你升高﹕人不願意服從權柄種種理由中有一個非常錯誤的理由是﹕順 從權威等於表示你是弱者,或是失去個人尊嚴。其實卻剛剛相反,神應許凡接 受權柄,遵行他命令的人,都得高升。你們年幼的要順服年長的,就是眾人也 都要彼此順服,因為神阻擋驕傲的人,賜恩給謙卑的人。所以你們要自卑,服 在神大能的手下,到了時候,神必叫你們升高。(彼前55-6)人若驕傲,輕 視權柄,不服從命令,必定受災難,虧損。

 

結論﹕1人人需要比我們更大的﹕我們需要神的權柄來指引我們人生道路,給我們更 高的目標,使人生更有意義。神在以賽亞書558-9說﹕我的意念非同你們的 意念,我的道路非同你們的道路。天怎樣高過地,照樣我的道路高過你們的道 路,我的意念高過你們的意念。

2順從權柄並不使你弱小﹕生活要平安,社會要安全,我們必須服從神加在我 們身上的權柄,政府,警察,上司,老師,家長,社區和教會的領袖。輕視有 權柄的人並不使你成為英雄,只會使你成為社會的叛徒。

3接受最高權威﹕馬太2819耶穌就對他們說﹕天上地下的權柄都賜給我 。耶穌是萬物之主,也是你的主,你若尊敬他,接受他作你的救主,罪必得 赦免,並得永生。

“WHO IS THE BOSS?”                                               By Pastor YAU

Text: Deuteronomy 28:1-6.                                           June 18, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   “You are not my boss.” Often times we heard children said “You are not my boss” to people in authority. Statement like this is an attempt children will make to assert their independence. In fact this is not just true with children it is true with people of all ages. We don’t like having someone tell us what to do especially things we don’t want to do or put us in a situation we don’t want to be in.

2)   The problem of authority: Ever since man was created, he or his partner, she, did not abide well with authority, God. The history of man is in someway a history of rebellion against authority: kings and queens, governments and police, teachers and supervisors and parents and all others who have authority over us. Many people don’t believe in God for the very reason they don’t want God to tell them what to do or not to do. Resistance of authority is every where from society to business to schools to homes and churches.

 

WHY DO WE RESIST AUTHORITY?

1)    Authority conflicts with freedom: We all agree that freedom is important in our life and we will do our utmost to resist anything, including authority that may take freedom away from us. To have someone with authority over us is the same as to give up some freedom we have in our life. Authority is from outside while freedom is inside of us and we will do all we can to protect what we think we deserve to have. We want to live life our way.

2)    Authority hurts our image: Image is the “show” of who we are in front of others. We all want to impress others that we are independent, strong, free and in absolute control of our life. To have authority over us and to submit to it will certainly reduce our public image and therefore we don’t like it. This is especially true among teenagers because they are in the years of building their image before their peers especially girl friends. That is why many teenagers think that by resisting parental authority is important in building their otherwise “independent” image.

3)    Authority adds responsibility: Anytime authority puts its weight on us it always puts us under some responsibility we have to obey and we don’t like it. From authority of a teacher in giving homework assignments to authority of speed limit signs on highways and streets, from authority of parents requires us to finish everything on our plates to authority of government demands us to pay taxes, just to name a few, all add responsibilities on us and we won’t like any of them. Responsibility is obligation and few people like to live under obligations. We want to do things we LOVE to do, not things we HAVE to do.

4)    Authority is good for others: Few people will totally reject the need of authority for an orderly society, authority in schools to promote learning, authority of police patrol on highways and streets to protect us from reckless drivers, authority of government to collect taxes from the rich so they will not as so much richer and authority at home to subdue that bullying big brother or to stop that crying and noisy baby sister so long as authority plays its weight on others. We want others to submit to authority so we may enjoy all the benefits of it but to leave us out of its grip, free from any authority. They need authority but I don’t.

 

WHY IS THERE AUTHORITY?

1)      God is the authority: When God issued the Ten Commandments, He assumed all the authority in doing so without consulting with or getting permission from anyone anywhere. Even before that God exercised His authority in “telling” people what to do and where to go. As the sole creator of the universe including all human beings you and me, God is the sole source of authority anywhere and anytime. As long as God is there, and no one can make Him disappear, authority will be there you like it or not. It is part of the nature of God to be the authority over all things including you and me. The existence of God and His authority doesn’t need your permission even though you may not like it but you can do nothing about it. It has always been that way before you were even born. Don’t try to challenge God.

2)      God delegates authorities:  In teaching the early Christians on the importance of obeying authorities, Paul pointed out that all authorities were ordained by God in Romans 13:1, “Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has ordained.” The idea that God delegates authority is very important to both the authority and those under authority. To those who are given authority, they need to recognize God as the higher authority and to have the sense of stewardship. They need to follow God’s will in discharging authority God entrusted them. To those of us who are under the authority of others, we need to obey them as we obey God.

3)      Authority for peaceful living: God requires His people to pray for those who were given authority so that they will be able to provide peaceful environment for all people. God sees the importance to live peaceful and quiet life that godliness and holiness may be preserved. (1 Timothy 2:1-2) We all may imagine what kind of society we may have if there were no authority at all. How about the work place? The schools? In the family and the church. We need to have authority to keep us safe and peaceful so we may be able to pursue godliness and holiness.

4)      Authority for punishment: One of the duties of the authority is to maintain law and order and to punish those who violate the law. In Romans 13:2-3, the Bible says: “Consequently he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. For rulers hold no terror for those who do right but for those who do wrong.” Even though we all agree that punishment is the last step to correct wrong doers but it still is necessary to maintain law and order. One of the reasons people obey the law is the fear of being punished by the authority: the government, your boss or dad.

 

BENEFITS OF OBEYING AUTHORITY:

1)   Guarantees God’s blessings: “When Moses finished reciting all these words to all Israel, he said to them “Take to heart all the words I have solemnly declared to you this day, so that you may command your children to obey carefully all the words of this law. They are not just idle words, they are your life. By obeying them you will live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to possess.” (Deut. 32:45-47) Repeatedly God has promised His blessing on those who accept His authority and obey His words. (28:1-14)

2)   Protected us from harm and pain: In Deut. 28:15-68, Moses listed all the possible harm and suffering on those who reject God and His authority by not obeying His words. The pain and suffering one may receive because of rejecting God’s authority is more than 4 times than the blessings to those who obey Him. In the book of Proverbs, King Solomon repeatedly called on the sons (and daughters) to accept the authority of parents and to obey their teachings in order to gain wisdom and avoid trouble and suffering. How many times do we have to suffer the consequence of our own foolish rebellion before we recognize and obey authority?

3)   Beloved of God: In the longest discourse Jesus had with His disciples from John 14, 15 and 16, He laid out a formula of love by which we all will be measured: “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father and I too will love him.” (John 14:21) Accepting God and His authority is never for His good but for ours. The best way to show God you love Him is to submit yourself to His authority and therefore to be in His love. Can anyone explain how great it might be when God showers you with His love?

4)   Lifted up by God: One of the hindrances on accepting authority is the false idea of being wimpy or loss of personal dignity. The truth is far from it. God has promised those who submit themselves to authority His uplifting of position and honor. In 1 Peter 5:5-6 it says, “Young men be submissive to those who are older. All of you clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because ‘God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble’. Humble yourselves therefore under God’s mighty hand (authority) that He may lift you up in due time.” You won’t get anywhere by playing tough, snub your nose to authority God or his representatives.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   We need someone bigger than us: We need God to be our authority to show us a better way to live, higher goal to achieve and have more meaningful purpose for our life. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your way my way,” declared the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isa. 55:8-9)

2)   Obeying authority doesn’t make you small: For life to be peaceful and society without chaos, we are to respect human authorities God has placed over us: our government officials and police, your supervisors at work, teachers at school, parents at home, leaders in the community and the church. Snubbing your nose at people with authority doesn’t make you a hero but a rebel or social outcast.

3)   Accept the highest authority: “Then Jesus came to them and said, ‘All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me’.” (Matt. 28:19) He is the Lord of the universe and everything in it including you. Accept His authority over your life, pledge him your faith and receive forgiveness of all your sins and eternal life after this life. It is time now to submit yourself to Jesus.