“我們現在演奏”                                                                                   (尤牧師)

經文﹕哥林多前書1214-25                                                                 2006423

 

引言﹕1你很成功﹕一位成名的風琴家正在一個演奏會表演(舊日的風琴需要人在後  台大力拉風箱,將風打進風琴才能發聲)。每逢他演奏完一首樂曲,聽眾都起         立給以熱烈的鼓掌,表示讚賞。在他演奏最後一首樂曲之前,他站在表演台中 間向聽眾致謝,然後說﹕”我現在要演奏最後一首樂曲,。。。”,跟著他坐下  來,將樂譜放好,坐好姿勢,手放在鍵盤,腳踩在腳鍵上,然後上身向前俯, 雙手用力按下琴鍵,預備奏出一個雄壯的和音。但風琴一點聲音也沒有,他再 用力又一次按下琴鍵,仍然是一片寂靜。這時他聽到幕後傳來一個微小的聲音 說﹕”你要說: 我們現在演奏”

          2但不全是你的成功﹕在現實的生活經歷中,成功很少是全靠一個人的努力得   來的。除了你的決心,努力和勤奮之外,還有不少人的貢獻才使你有今天的成         就。(不管你承認不承認 ),不論是在學業上,事業上,家庭,工作,兒女,甚         至是在教會,如果你有何成功,絕不是你一個人的成就,在你周圍的人給你機         會,方便,支持,鼓勵,供應你所需要的資源,給你提建議意見等等,你要知 道,若沒有這些人,你不會有今天的成就。

 

神與你同行﹕

          1神也造夏娃﹕就算你以為你是世上第一個人,最了不起,神仍然知道你一人   獨居不好,所以,他為你造了夏娃,作為你的幫助,使你活得更充實,更有成         就。在神無限的智慧中,他不斷為忠心事奉他的僕人們預備幫手。神為摩西預 備了亞倫,為大衛王預備了約拿單,為以利亞預備了以利沙,為保羅預備了提 摩太,巴拿巴和西拉。為葛培理預備了奇里夫。今天,神在你四圍為你預備家 庭,好朋友,主內弟兄姐妹,熱心的同事,同工,提供你所需要的幫助,使你 達到今天的成就。沒有這些人,你不會有今天。

          2神為你創造機會﹕不論成功大小,如果你有些什麼成就,是因為你有合適的   環境,機會和條件。很少人有能力創造環境和機會,使自己成功,環境和機會         是神管理創造的,因為只有神才能管理世事的發生和運作,使我們在其中生     活,工作,成功。許多與你一樣或者比你更聰明,更努力的人沒有你一半的成 功,是因為他們沒有你的環境和機會。

          3神賜你智慧聰明﹕智慧的最簡單定義是﹕在各種知識環境中領悟,明白,融   匯貫通的能力。許多人可能面對許多知識和資料,但只有智慧的人能將它們融         匯貫通,領悟,分析然後應用在現實環境中。智慧又是分別善惡好壞的能力, 這些能力是與生俱來的,是神賜給你的。你可以努力追求知識,但你無法努力 去得到智慧。知識不能叫人成功,智慧才能叫人成功。

          4神保守你健康﹕這是另外一個重要條件,讓我們知道成功不是你一人的功          勞。不管你有多少機會,多少人肯幫助你,有多少智慧,你還缺乏一樣重要的     因素才能成功,就是要有健康。不管你自己如何小心飲食,作多少運動,鍛   煉,如何保持清潔衛生,住在最乾淨的地方,沒有人能保証你會有健康,不生         病。健康不是人為的保証,是神賜給你的,如果你沒有健康的身體,你不會達 到今天的成功。

                    故此,假如你有什麼成就,成績,使你覺得光彩,榮耀,千萬不可忘記是   神與你同行,賜給你的。

 

還有其他好多人﹕

          1你的父母﹕沒有人能否認在孩子身上的成就,父母有很大的貢獻。父母提供   孩子的各種需要,物質,關心,管教,督導,家庭的安全感,精神上的支持,         鼓勵,教導,還有其他數不清的供應,支持,忍耐,時間,金錢等,才能使孩 子在學業上,社交上有成就。就算你的父母沒有多少教育,但他們在許多方面 的貢獻不可抹煞。

          2你的老師﹕這包括學校,大學,教會的正規老師和其他許多指點,教導,提   醒你的人,使你作正確的選擇,採取正確的方法作人作事。在中國的文化傳統         中,老師佔非常重要的地位,僅次於父母的地位。你成功的時候,不可忘記這 些教導,指點,提醒你的人,沒有這些人,你不會有今天。

          3還有你的助手﹕沒有人可以全靠自己一人的努力就能爬上成功的寶座的。許   多人都對你的成功有貢獻,包括在你下面工作的助手,如果有一位常勝將軍,         他必是有不少勇敢的戰士為他打許多勝仗才得到這榮耀。正如那風琴大師一     樣,沒有在後台打氣的人,他就無法奏出任何音樂。

          4還有你的家庭﹕如果你有家庭的話,你的配偶,兒女,在你的成就上也大有貢獻。他們的支持,不管你自己如何小心和忍耐,都對你的成功大有幫助,在我從神學院得到博士學位時,我的太太從畢業校友會得到另一個 Honorary學位 “PH. T.”     (Put the Husband Through). 不論是學業或事業的成功,你不可忘記家人對你的貢獻。

 

從教會立場去看﹕(參考今天經文)

          1我們都屬一個身體﹕聖經用”一個身子”來形容信徒彼此間的關係是既特別又    必須的。特別是因為別的宗教從來沒有這個觀念,必須是因為我們對神的依賴         和對彼此的依賴才能使我們成長,壯大。不論身體上有多少肢體,也不論各肢 體間的形狀,功能如何不同,神將我們配搭一個完整健全,運作順利的身體。 故此,肢體之間必須彼此尊重,彼此接納。

          2各人有各人的功能﹕正如身體各個不同肢體各有不同功能一樣,教會的各個   弟兄姐妹有不同的功能,但在整個身體的運作上,有同等的重要性,一樣受尊         重。不論他是站在那個部門,發揮什麼貢獻,都對整個教會有貢獻。如果你看 到教會有什麼成功,是因為裏面的每一個成員忠心貢獻的結果、

          3我們是隨主的安排﹕不論是在任何地方,學校,公司,教會,甚至家裏,你   可能會碰到一些你覺得很難相處的人,聖經說﹕”神是隨他的意思將各肢體配搭       在這身子上”1218)神永恆的智慧有時在我們的生活環境中故意安插一兩個          我們不太喜歡的人,使我們可以學習忍耐,寬容,愛心,使我們更成熟,更屬         靈。可能你正是需要這些屬靈成長,神就在你週圍放下一些這樣的人,神永不 會作錯事,他有他的原因。

          4我們人人彼此相依﹕保羅用人體運作比喻教會中的人際關係,實在很有智          慧。讓我們看到我們有需要彼此依賴,才能發揮功能。沒有一個肢體單獨運作     可以使整個身體得益。不論你一舉手,一投足,都要動用許多肌肉骨頭,神   經,筋絡,沒有其中任何肢體的合作,你就無法作到。故此,在教會裏沒有明         星,沒有頭頭,不管你多有才能,多了不起,沒有其他人一起同工合作,你就 什麼也作不成。

 

結論﹕1在你成功時要謙卑﹕記住,成功不全是你自己的,因為有神幫助你,有許多  人幫助你,你才有今天。

          2要感謝幫助你的人﹕要知道別人對你的貢獻,並且作出適當的回報,謝意,   與人分享你成功的榮耀。

          3不可忘記榮耀神﹕在一切使你成功的條件中,神佔第一位,因為沒有他的供          應,環境,機會,和四圍的條件,你不會有今天。你要感謝神,相信神,求他     繼續帶領你前面的路。

“WE SHALL NOW PLAY”                                        Pastor YAU

Text: 1 Corinthians 12:14-25                                       April 23, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)      You are very successful: A well accomplished organist was giving a concert. (In the olden days someone had to pump large bellows backstage to provide air for the pipes.) After each piece of music, the audience gave him standing ovation heartily. Before the final number, the organist stood in the center of the stage to thank the audience and said, “Now I shall play. . .” and announced the title. He sat down, adjusted the music. With feet poised over the pedals and hands on the keyboard and began to play a might chord. But the organ remained silent. Then he heard a small voice came from the backstage: “Say ‘We’!”

2)      But you are not alone: In many aspects of real life, achievements seldom come because of a solo player or a lone ranger. Besides your determination and hard work to make it where you are, there are many others who have contributed to your achievement with or without your recognition. Be it your academic, your family, children, your career or even church achievements, if you have accomplished something extraordinary, it is never the result of you alone. There are many others around you who have given you opportunity or support, convenience or encouragement, resources and opinions and many others you know you won’t make it this far without their contribution.

 

GOD IS THERE WITH YOU:

1)     God also made Eve: Even if you think you were the first on this planet earth like Adam, God still felt it was not good enough for you to be alone so He created Eve to help you make your life easier. In His infinite wisdom, God always provides supporters to His servants in doing His mighty work: Aaron and Joshua to Moses, Jonathan to King David, Elisha to Elijah, Barnabas and Timothy to Paul and in modern days, Cliff Barrow to Billy Graham. Today, God places many people around you, your family, friends, coworkers, fellow believers, etc. to provide you all you need to make who you are today. You may not make it without all these people and their support.

2)     God created opportunities: In all events, big and small, we accomplish things in certain environment and opportunity that provides. Few people, if any, are able to create environment or opportunity by themselves to make things happen. God is the only One who controls the world and all events, opportunities in which we live and work. There are many who are as intelligent as you are but didn’t make it because they did not have the opportunity.

3)     God gives you wisdom: The simplest definition of wisdom is the ability to learn, to understand, to comprehend and to coordinate all knowledge we are given through different venues. We may be given lots of knowledge, but it is up to your ability to understand, to analyze and to apply them into situations to make knowledge beneficial. We also call wisdom the ability to determine good from bad, right from wrong and to make or choose the right decision. We may try very hard to obtain knowledge, but it is the God given wisdom that helps us to succeed.

4)     God keeps you healthy: This is another way we know we are not alone to make things happen. Given all the opportunity, the helpers, the wisdom, you still need one more important element to make it: good health. Yes, we may do all the right things, eat all the right food, do all the necessary exercise, live in the most clean and pollution free city, but none of the above may guarantee your health. Health is more than what man can do. It is the gift of God. Without a good body, I don’t think you are getting anywhere.

So, anytime you achieve something, get something done in a way you feel proud, don’t forget that God was there with you all the way.

 

THERE ARE MANY OTHERS?

1) Your parents: No one may take away the importance of parents in regard of their children’s success. They provide needs, supplies, the care, the discipline, the security, convenience, support, counsel and many other things parents do to bring up their children to where they are today. Even if your parents do not have the level of education as you have, they play an important role in your success.

         2) Your teachers: This includes teachers in school, college, at church and many other places where they taught you, showed you and helped you do things right. In the traditional Chinese culture, teachers occupy a high position only next to parents in terms of raising children to success. Never forget those who taught you, showed you and helped you to make you who you are today.

         3) Your supporters: No one climbed up the ladder of success alone. There are many who contributed to your success including those who are below you in rank. If a general is successful in winning battles, there are many lower level officers and soldiers who fought battles fiercely even gave up their lives to make it that way. Without the one who pumps the air, the famous organist can’t play anything.

         4) Your family: If you are married, your spouse and children also play an important role in your success. Their support, love, sacrifices and many others helped to put you up there. When I graduated with a doctorate degree from seminary, my wife also received a PHT from the alumni association. PHT represent “Put (the) Husband Through.” Either some academic pursuit or career advancement, your family contributed so much to your success.

 

 IN THE SETTING OF A CHURCH: (Today’s text)

1)   We are in one body: The idea that we are in one body is both unique and necessary. It is unique because no other religion claims the close tie between God and His believers except in Christian faith. It is necessary because of our dependency on God for survival. No matter how many parts and how different we are as parts of the body, we are made one in the Lord as the head of the body of Christ, the church. If the human body takes so many parts of different sizes and shapes to make it work, we as the parts of the body of Christ also need to accept and recognize one another.

2)   We are of different functions: Jut as different parts of the body has different functions, each member in a church is equally important no matter what position he/she may occupies. They are in the body to contribute different needs of the body—the Church. If you see your church is getting something done properly, it is because of her body was made of many different parts.

3)   We are on God’s assignment:  In any environment, family, work, school or church, sometimes we have some people we find it hard to deal with. But the Bible says it is God who made the decision on who is going to be where and with whom. (12:18) In His infinite wisdom, God purposely places some “difficult” people around us so we may learn lessons on love, forgiveness, patience and kind to mature our spiritual growth. May be your presence with those whom you find hard to love is meant for you to learn just that lesson. God never makes mistakes. He always has a good reason.

4)   We need each other to make it: Paul was wise to use the analogy of the human body to illustrate the function and inter-dependency of the parts. No part of the body alone may make the body to function properly or efficiently. It takes many parts to move an arm or lift a leg or open the mouth. Without the support of all the parts, the body will never function properly. Without the support of all the people around you, you can achieve very little. That is why there is no superstar in a church no matter how successful it may be. It is the result of contribution of all the people.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    Be humble when you are successful: Remember it is not ALL about you and your success. There is God and many others who helped you one way or another to bring you to this point.

2)    Be thankful to those who helped you get there: Recognize their contribution and do something to let them know you are thankful. Share with them your honor and glory because they deserve that.

3)    Never forget to glorify God: God is the ultimate backing of your success through His provision of the environment, opportunity, people and many other factors without them you won’t be here today. Trust Him with your future and He will lead your way.