珍珠是這樣生下來的 (尤牧師)

經文﹕創世記451-8 200642

 

引言﹕1一顆閃閃生光的珍珠﹕當一些我們看來沒有理由的痛楚臨到我們的時候,我 們常會問誰要這些?且看一顆珍珠的形成。每顆珍珠的開始,是因為蠔受傷害 而來。當蠔將殼打開呼吸時,若有一粒幼沙掉進裏面,細軟的蠔就受到傷害。 蠔體內有一些治傷的液體馬上將沙粒包住,又將傷口貼好,積年累月的醫治, 傷口好了,沙粒就成為光輝可愛的珍珠。原本痛苦的經歷,成就了美麗的珍 品。

2一個偉人的塑造﹕今天的經文記述歷史上一位偉人約瑟,神將他提升有權柄 的地位,使他不只能救活他的全家,也救了當日世界千萬人的生命。這奇妙的 經歷是從一個痛苦開始的。他哥哥們的疾妒,將他賣到埃及作奴隸,加上被人 無辜的誣告,下入監牢。就在這種種的苦境中,神將他高舉,成為信心的偉 人,甚至有人將約瑟的生平與耶穌的生平相比。

 

為何要受傷?

1受傷是人生的一部份﹕人人都喜歡唸愛麗絲夢遊仙境這類的故事,但人人 都知道,在現實生活人是沒有這類事存在的。自從人類犯罪墮落後,世界就落 在苦難中(創316-19)人生就滿了失望,傷害,痛苦,這情形是人人必經歷 的,不分種族,學問,財富,地位,背境,出身,智慧或經歷,人人都必經歷 傷害和醫治,聖經說世上沒有義人,我說世上沒有不受傷害的人。

2傷害的方式千變萬化﹕正如世上沒有兩個人的人生經歷是完全一樣,傷害的 臨到也是千種萬種。有人或會以為他受的傷害比別人重,其實人人都各有痛撤 心肺的經歷。身體的傷害,心靈的痛苦,靈魂的折磨,都是痛苦難當的經歷。 有時我們希望能與別人調換傷口。但當你真正踏入他人的心靈深處時,你會明 白,他所受的,一點不比你容易輕省。所有的傷痛都是痛苦的經歷。

3傷痛從四面八方而來﹕許多時候,當傷痛臨到時,我們一點也不明白為什麼 會發生,但另有時候,我們會看到傷痛的來源。有時是因為我們自己的過 失,作錯事會有傷痛的結果. 有時傷痛是從他人而來,特別是從與我們十分親 密的人而來,因為我們與他們太接近,他們行事愚昧, 會連累我們受傷害。有 些傷痛是從撒旦而來,牠的惡謀正如約伯一樣,無緣無故受傷害。

4傷痛可能有好結果﹕耶穌在馬太1029-30說天父深愛我們,若不是他許 可,我們一條頭髮也不會掉。當神許可傷害臨到我們時,必有他的美好旨意。 有時是為了要我們更有信心,好像約伯。有時是要叫我們更謙卑,好像對保 羅,又有時要使我們更有能力事奉他,正如神對摩西和以利亞。有時候,神要 我們受傷,使我們對別人更有益處,好像耶穌受傷救世人一樣。如果你正落在 傷痛中,仍然看不到神的目標,是因為你尚未在屬靈上成熟,到你成熟時回頭 看,你就會明白。

 

約瑟一生受的傷痛﹕

1從一個不正常家庭開始﹕約瑟生在一個不正常的家庭,有一個父親,卻有四 個母親,並且有從不同母親生下來的孩子。當幾個母親互相爭寵,彼此爭奪 時,就造成兄弟之間許多不和。加上作父親的雅各偏心,幾個大兒子們又多行 惡事,這個家庭就永無寧日。有時候,我們落在一些環境中,不是我們有權力 去改變的,也不是我們自己要的。不少家庭,學校,工作場所都是受苦的地 方,我們活在其中必然會受傷害。

2加上人為的錯誤﹕有時我們受傷害是因為人為的過失,約瑟的父親不公正, 愛拉結比其他另外三個妻子更多,他又偏心約瑟,使他成為其他哥哥們的眼中 釘。人人都有自己比較喜歡的人。但你若是作父親,或作領袖,你不應該在家 庭或工作場所,或教會用偏心待人。約瑟又無知地將神賜他的夢告訴哥哥們, 豈不是更火上加油,使他們更嫉妒約瑟。他 哥哥們也不對,怎可以因嫉妒和生 氣,就將親弟弟賣了呢?我們受的傷害,都是有原因的,有時候是人的過失造 成的。

3傷痛裏沒有公平﹕有時我們受傷害不是因為我們作錯事,反之是因為我們作 對的事。約瑟因為拒絕作壞事,結果被間進監牢,他被誣告他從來沒有作過的 壞事。不少人都有這類似的經歷。後來他幫助監獄長解除困難,請求獄長記念 他放他出監,誰知獄長忘記得一乾二淨。就是因為獄長的忘記,約瑟才一直留 在監獄中,直到法老王作夢,沒有人能解,監長才記起他來。在受傷害的時 候,公平或公理是不存在的。你若定要爭取公平,是沒有結果的。

4傷口會成為冠冕上的鑽石﹕正是因為約瑟經歷過這麼多傷害,神預備他可以 後來成為被神使用,大有權柄,榮耀的人。假若他一生沒有受過那些傷害,他 根本就沒有機會成為埃及的宰相,被法老王尊敬如父親,以致他能救雅各全 家,也救了當時多國的民。神容許我們受傷害,他一定有美好的理由,只是我 們在當時沒法看到,很少人可以不經歷磨練就成為偉人的。石頭不經過重壓和 地心熟力,不會成為寶石。

 

將傷口變成珍珠﹕

1用恩慈的心態接受事實﹕正如蠔必需開口呼吸,外界物體會有機會進入傷害 一樣,我們要接受事實,我們活在一個充滿苦難罪惡的世界,受傷害是必然的 事。我們要鍛煉自己,要剛強,要學會在各種傷痛中如何渡過難關,世上永遠 沒有從此一帆風順的人生。好人如耶穌,保羅,和其他許多天國勇士都曾受傷 害,為什麼你可以免經苦難,天天快活渡日?生氣,流淚,埋怨,甚至咒罵, 是不能解決問題的,耶穌說;我們在世上會有苦難,受傷是必然的事,約瑟就 從沒有為他的傷口發怨言。

2在受傷時仍然忠心到底﹕受傷害並不表示死路一條。傷痕就好像人生戰場上 的獎章,人生比傷口大多了。不可讓受傷害打擊你,使你意志消沉,前途喪 失。雖然約瑟多次受傷,他每一次都堅守崗位,作到他最大的努力,不管在主 人家或是在監獄裏,他總是忠於職守,盡力而為。不可讓苦難改變你原本美好 的品格。在極黑暗的日子,仍然盡忠職守。

3堅持對神的信心﹕在各種傷痛的經歷中,約瑟永不失去對神的信心。他深信 他一生的遭遇,包括各種不公平的對待,傷害,都是神的旨意,為要達到更美 更高的目的。神的智慧難測,他總能在各樣看來受傷害的事中成就祝福的事, 我們能作的只是甘心等候,忍耐,神的時候總會來到,他的拯救永不太遲,約 瑟從來不懷疑神的慈愛和能力。

4時刻準備饒恕別人﹕在聖經中約瑟表現出許多美好的性格,其中最大感動人 的是他對哥哥們的饒恕。盡管哥哥們所作的是他後來受許多苦難的禍首,約瑟 老早就在心中饒恕了他們,他知道他哥哥們本是存心傷害他,但神卻存心成就 更美的結果。約瑟知道自己不是神,不應該以牙還牙去報復他的哥哥們。 5019-20)能饒恕那些曾經傷害你,使你痛心疾首的人,是一個極美的美 德,正如耶穌饒恕那些釘他十字架的人。用恩慈饒恕傷害你的人,是信徒的品 格中最美的一個。

 

結論﹕1在受傷時不必驚慌﹕受傷是成長過程中必經的鍛煉,使你更成熟,更堅強。 用忍耐,恩典去面對傷害,知道總有一天,傷口會變成珍珠。

2善用受傷的經歷﹕若不是神許可,傷害不會臨到我們。盡力從神的角度去看 事情,看看有什麼你可以學習長進,或改正的功課,多親近神,從他支取力 量,去渡過每一個艱難的日子。

3你不能忽略的傷痕﹕人人都不可忽略耶穌為救贖人類在各各他上十字架上所 受的傷痛,他受傷,是為我,為要赦免我們的罪,使我們可以得永生,上天 堂。你若未曾信耶穌,今天就應當接受他的愛,使你作神得救的子民。

ďTHIS IS HOW A PEARL IS BORNĒ†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† By Pastor YAU

Text: Genesis 45:1-8†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††April 2, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   The birth of a lustrous pearl: When seemingly needless suffering invades our lives we often ask ourselves, ďWho needs all this grief?Ē But consider the birth of a pearl. Each pearl is formed by an oysterís internal response to a wound caused by an irritant, such as a grain of sand. Resources of repair rush to the injured area. The final result is a lustrous pearl. Something beautiful is created that would have been impossible without the wound.

2)   The molding of a great man: In todayís Bible passage, we see Joseph in a position of power and influence, a position God used to save the lives of his family and surrounding nations during famine. It all began with wounds caused by the jealousy of his brothers and their selling him into slavery in a foreign country, combined with a false accusation, thrown into prison and then there God began to raise him into the position where he became a star of faith in the Bible. Some people even used his life to illustrate that of Jesus.

 

WHY WOUNDS?

1)    Wounds are part of life: We all love to read stories like ďAlice in the Wonderland.Ē But real life is not exactly the same thing. Since the Fall of Man in the early time after creation, man was doomed to have rough time in his life. (Genesis 3:16-19) This is true to all men regardless of his background, education, wealth, intelligence, position, power and anything man may have. The Bible says that no one is righteous and therefore no one is exempted from wounds.

2)    Wounds come in many sizes and shapes: Just as no two men may have the same experience, no two persons may have the same kinds of wounds. Some wounds are worse than others but they all are painful and sometimes heartbreaking. Wounds to our bodies, wounds to our hearts and wounds to our souls are all painful and often times beyond our ability to bear. Often times, we see our wounds as the worst and would like to think if we can exchange wounds of others. But until you are in their shoes, you know their wounds are equally painful or worse. No wound is easy to bear.

3)    Wounds hurled at us from all directions: There are times we canít figure it out why bad things happen to us, but other times we can see where they come from. Some wounds are results of our own faults, our sins. We all know that there are consequences of wrong actions and we get hurt. Wounds may come from bad people around us. We all know that there are so many bad people and their sins and faults may inflict wounds on us just because we are at the wrong place and wrong time. Wounds may also come because of Satanís schemes as it hurt Job aiming to bring us down from trusting God.

4)    Wounds may bring out the best of us: Jesus said it in Matt. 10:29-30 that nothing could happen to us without the permission of God. When God allows wounds happen to us He must have good reasons for that. Wounds may come as means of discipline from God because of our sins. They may come to test our faith as it was with Job. Wounds may come to keep us humble as to Paul. They may come to make us stronger and better as with Moses and Elijah. We may have to be wounded because of the good of others as Jesus was wounded so the world may be saved. If you still canít see why, it is because you are not mature or spiritually good enough to see them yet. You will know when time is right.

 

WOUNDS IN THE LIFE OF JOSEPH:

1)   It all began in a dysfunctional family: Joseph was born into a dysfunctional family, a family of a father with four wives and many children of different mothers. Complication got worse when there were strives among the wives and the siblings. It got worse because of the unfair treatment of the father toward his children. It topped off with the many sins of the older brothers. Sometimes we got into situations not of our choice and we were wounded. Homes, schools, jobs, friends, societies which we have little control but we are there and got wounded.

2)   It compounded with human failures: Some wounds come to us because of human failures. It all started with favoritism from the father, Jacob, to Joseph and his mother, Rachel. We all have our different feelings on others, but to allow favoritism to play a role in a family or a working place or a church, we will cause wounds on others. Joseph revealed the dreams to his brothers what God showed him about his future only added more fuel to their jealousy against him. His brothers allowed their anger and jealousy to take control and sold him to slavery is a crime against the family. Few wounds come from nowhere. They always happen with reasons.

3)   Wounds do not respect justice: Many wounds inflicted on us not because we do wrong but because we do right. Joseph was thrown into prison because he refused to do wrong. He was falsely accused of something he never did. Many of us have similar experiences on wounds like this. When he helped his prison official solved his problem but his request was all forgotten. But that was how he was kept in prison until the king needed him to explain a dream. If you expect justice in time of wounds, you are asking something that seldom happens in real life.

4)   Wounds become diamonds on a crown: It was all those wounds that prepared and molded Joseph into a man God waited for years to put him in position of power and influence. Should any of those wounds didnít happen he wonít be in that position of glory to save his family that was the ancestors of the nation of Israel from which Jesus was born. When God allows wounds to happen to us, He always has a good reason we usually canít see at the moment. Few men became great and useful without going through harsh process of discipline and training. No rock may become diamond without the process of excess pressure and heat.

 

TURNING WOUNDS INTO PEARLS:

1)   Gracefully accept the facts: Just as oysters need to open their shells to breath and foreign particles could come in to hurt them, we need to accept the fact that we live in this turbulent world that bumps and bruises are inevitable. We need to develop survival mechanism by toughen up our skins or learn better skills in navigating life through the currents. There is no such thing as live happily ever after. If good people like Jesus, Paul and many others had to suffer so much, who do you think you are to live a trouble free life? Crying, blaming or cursing others doesnít help a bit in handling wounds. Jesus warned us that this is a world full of tribulation. Getting hurt is part of life. Joseph never complained his misfortune.

2)   Do your best while you are wounded: Being wounded doesnít mean the end of life. Scars of wounds are medals of battles. Life is much more than wounds. Donít let hurts and wounds stop you from living the full potential of your life. Even Joseph was so mistreated and sold to be a slave he did his best at his masterís house. When he was thrown into jail by his vicious false accuser, he was faithful in doing his job in the jail. Do not allow adverse circumstance to alter or damage your good character. Keep up your good work even under the most difficult situation.

3)   Keep your faith in God strong: Through all the ordeals of his life, Joseph never gave up his faith in God. He strongly believed that all that had happened to him were in the will of the good God for a better purpose he might not understand at the moment. In Godís infinite wisdom, He always can turn something seemingly so bad into something so good. All we have to do is be patient waiting for that time to come. Through all those years lived in unjust wounds, Joseph waited for the day of deliverance. He never questioned the wisdom and power of his God.

4)   Always be ready to forgive: Among all the virtues Joseph showed in the Bible, the most outstanding one is his unconditional forgive-ness of his brothers. Even though they were the primary reason of all his wounds and pain, Joseph was ready to forgive them even before he met with them. He always knew that his brother meant to harm him but God meant it for good. He saw the act of his brothers as means God used to save his family. He also realized that he was no god and should not revenge evil with evil. (Genesis 50:19-20) Being able to forgive those who inflict wounds on us is a godly character such as Jesus forgave those who crucified Him. Nothing demonstrates your Christian character better than treating those who meant harm to you with grace and forgiveness.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)     Donít panic in facing wounds: This is part of growing, training, strengthening and maturing. Handle them with patience and grace knowing that all wounds may someday turn into pearls or better.

2)     Making the process profitable: No wounds will come without permission from God. Try to see them His way and find out if anything we may learn, grow or change for the better. Draw closer to God for extra portion of grace to go through the process.

3)     One wound you canít afford not to know: No one can afford to neglect the wounds Jesus suffered at Calvary for the forgiveness of sin, yours and mine. He was wounded for you to provide you a place in heaven, eternal life. Accept His call to repentance of your sin and receive from Him salvation through faith.