他們總是不肯聽 (尤牧師)

經文﹕馬太福音1120-24 2006813

 

引言﹕1一個令人傷心的情景﹕一幢高樓正在大火中燃燒,有一個女人住在頂樓,她在 窗口大聲求救。救火員伸高梯到她的窗口,伸出雙手要救她出來。當她伸頭往下一 看,見到距離地面那麼高,她害怕極了,馬上往裏面躲。救火員極力勸她出來,求 她信任他的能力可以救她安全脫險,但那女人卻不肯聽他的話。火焰越來越猛,救 火員無法,只好下來。下到地面之下,他痛苦地連連說;她就是不肯聽,她就是 不肯聽我的話。

2歷史記載的事實﹕耶穌周遊各地各城,傳道,醫病,行神蹟,特別是在伯賽大 和哥拉汛各處,但人們卻不聽他的教導,不肯悔改。耶穌為看他們的心硬,心中傷 痛,他們那種漠不關心,不信,不悔改的態度,令耶穌大大難過。耶穌期望人會信 他,罪可得赦免,可以得永生。兩城的人的不聽從,就正像那面對危險卻不肯聽救 火員的話的女人一樣,最後是死在火焰中。

 

他們就是不肯聽﹕ 不肯聽是現今時代流行的毛病,從家庭到教會,從學校到社會,人人都不肯聽別人的話,尊敬和聽從已不再存在。

1不肯聽從神的話﹕這是一切不肯聽的開始;人不再聽從神。這不聽從神的態 度不只在不信神的人中,也在許多自稱是信神的人中,這些人根本不放神的話在心 中。俗語說得好;人心中沒有神,眼中就沒有人。這種驕傲是何等無知。連神都 不尊敬,何來尊重人?

2不肯聽從父母的話﹕聽從父母已變成取笑的對像,特別是在青少年人中間更 是如此。有青少年人輕視父母,認為父母無知,或認為聽從父母是表示懦弱,青少 年人都以不聽從父母為榮,以為這是自已長大了的記號,是自立自主的表 現。有些子女因為比父母受多點教育,長大後多賺點錢,會玩些新玩意,如電腦, MP3等,好像他們就比父母能幹,本事,當然不必再聽父母的話。他們認為父母 的思想太落伍,意見不合潮流。

3不肯聽任何有權位的人﹕在學校不聽從老師,在工作地方不聽從上司,在社會 不聽從政府,在教會不聽從牧師,老師和有權柄的人,在今天的社會處處可見。反 叛,背逆是時下的潮流,已到不可收拾的地步。許多發生在學校,家庭,工作場所 和社會問題,甚至教會,都是因為這種反叛心態。學校罪案天天發生,工作地方 發生命案,社會秩序破壞,甚至教會爭執破裂,都是因這種不聽從權柄的態度造 成。

4連知心好友也不肯聽從﹕假如你看見一位你所愛,所關心的朋友作錯事,或正 在向錯誤方向走,你會關心他,向他提出勸告,提出建議,希望他回頭。但今天的 社會,大多數人都不會聽你的好言相勸。因為太多這種好心不得好報的經歷, 許多人根本就不再提意見或勸告,正如見死不救一樣, 只能內心陣陣傷痛。

 

為什麼他們就是不聽?

1最大的原因是驕傲﹕不肯聽人勸告有許多原因,排在第一的是人的驕傲。驕傲 堵住人的心,也堵住人的耳朵,就是不肯聽,今天的人越來越驕傲。驕傲擋住人的 心,不認為需要聽任何人的話,自以為什麼都懂,什麼事自己都會處理,所決定選 擇的永不會錯,就是錯了,自己有辦法應付。這些人也不信任他人,不認為別人會 有什麼好意思是自己不懂的。每個人都要小心,時時檢查自己驕傲的程度。

2其次是信任問題﹕信任是聽從和改過的重要因素,對家人,對朋友,對同事, 你若不信任他們,就不會聽他們所說的話。有人不信任別人有足夠的智慧,或不信 任別人的動機,或不信任別人所提的意見有益處,有道理。若人不信任你,不管你 說什麼,一點效用都沒有,一點都不能幫助他。正如那被大火燃燒高樓的女人一 樣。但是你若什麼人都不信任,你如何能活下去呢?我們必須對人有信任,事情和 生活才會順利。

3與尊重也有關係﹕聽從或不聽從,與尊重有關係,人要尊重你的知識,經驗, 才幹,品格,誠實和權威(在你提出意見的事物上)才會聽你的話。大多數人都認 為要他們聽你的話,不只你要有好心,好動機,你必須要加上別的條件,使他尊 重你。故此,在日常生活,言語行為,品格態度,建立別人對你的尊重很重要,因 為這是使別人聽從的基礎(條件),使你能真正幫助有需要的人,除了知識經驗 之外,平時與人相處,要使人尊重你的人格和智慧,這會使你的話有份量,被人接 受聽從。

4還要加上愛心﹕愛心是使人聽從你的最重要條件,不論對方是什麼人,如果你 要別人聽你的話,你必須有真正的愛心,為他的好處,否則不會有什麼果效,對 方會看得出你是否有真正的愛心。

 

為什麼我們應該聽從?

1這是神的命令﹕從舊約到新約,神不斷呼請人要聽從;聽從神,聽從父母,聽 從在位的等等。聖經有三百多次神要人聽從他的話。在向以色列人傳達神的命令律 法時,摩西苦口婆心地向他們說;以色列人哪,現在我所教訓你們的律例典章, 你們要聽從遵守,好叫你們存活,得以進入耶和華你們列祖的神所賜給你們的地, 承受為業。(申41)所羅門王在箴言中也多次叫人要聽從父親(神)使他們得 智慧和福份。在出名的登山寶訓結束時,耶穌也要人聽從他的教訓。他說;所以 凡聽見我這話就去行的好比一個聰明人把房子建在盤石上。(馬太724

2是蒙福的途徑﹕在申命記281-14,摩西傳達神的誡命之後,他語重心長地勸 以色列人要聽從,使他們蒙受神所預備的福份。與許多人的敷淺看法相反的,聽從 神,遵行他的話其實不是那麼差的事。如果你真的相信神大有智慧,他的能力比你 強,意見比你好,又相信神愛你,為什麼你覺得聽他的話那麼難呢?耶穌說,你若 愛他,就必會聽從他的話(約1421)你如果想得神 祝福,最好的途徑就是聽他 的話。

3可以增加你的智慧﹕所羅門王說我們若教導智慧人,他就增加智慧,並且會愛 你,愚頑人卻藐視訓誨,(箴言97-9)許多人為了增加智識,花錢花時間去參 加研討會,上大學,買書,上課。但所得到的只是知識,不是智慧。聽從神的話的 人必加增智慧和聰明。智慧比知識高多了,是深入了解知識後面的真理和意義。智 慧的能力不只是為賺錢,乃是使你的人生更豐富,更有意義。

4可以保護你免受傷害﹕耶穌說聽從他話的人,正如聰明人將房子(人生)建造 在(可靠,堅固)的盤石上,雨淋,風吹,水沖,撞著那房子,房子總不倒塌。 (馬太725)沒有人可以預料大水,大風,大雨會臨到,但人人都知道,打擊, 挫折,傷害隨時會發生,凡是聽從神的話而活的人,就蒙神保守,不會受到傷害。

 

結論﹕1撿查你聽話的態度﹕看看自己 ,你有多謙卑,或是多驕傲,特別是在聽從 神,父母,主管,有權柄的人時你的態度如何?如果你不是一個肯聽話的人,找出 不肯聽的原因,並且快快除去。

2時時準備聽從﹕除去驕傲,加強對神,對父母,對有權柄者的尊敬,作個聽話 的聰明人,虛心接受勸告和愛心的意見,使你的人生更美好。

3聽從最重要的呼請﹕你要聽耶穌的話;凡勞苦擔重擔的人,可以到我這裏來, 我就使你們得安息,耶穌要你聽從他,相信他,接受他作救主,使你得永生。

“THEY JUST WON’T LISTEN”                                   By Pastor YAU

Text: Matthew 11:20-24                                                 August 13, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)     A heartbreaking scenario: A woman was trapped on the top floor of a burning high rise building. When fire fighters arrived, one of them scrambled up a ladder to the window where the woman was screaming for help. With outstretched arms he offered to save her. But when she looked down and saw the great distance to the ground below, she panicked and drew back into her room. The fireman begged her to trust him for her safety but his pleas were not heeded. The woman retreated beyond the fireman’s reach. Finally the fireman, forced by flames, returned to the ground and told his comrades in tears, “I did all I could to save her life but she just won’t listen to me.”

2)     An account in the Bible: After preaching, teaching and healing the sick with miracles in cities like Bethsaida and Korazin and surrounding communities without seeing proper response, Jesus began to mourn the don’t care, don’t believe, unrepentant attitude of the people in those cities as recorded in the paragraph we use for today’s message. Jesus longed to forgive their sins and save their souls but the people stubbornly resisted to trust Him and His offer of salvation. They acted like the woman in the story who eventually perished in the flames even though she could have escaped to safety.

 

THEY JUST WON’T LISTEN: “Don’t want to listen” seems to be the current culture everywhere. Respect and obedience are no longer the theme of the song.

1)    They won’t listen to God: It seems this is where the “won’t listen” culture begins: people don’t respect or listen to God. This is true not only amount those who do not believe in God. It also is true among many who claim to believe in God but do not take God and His word seriously and obediently. A Chinese saying “those who don’t have God in their hearts won’t have people in their eyes” seems to tell it all. When people don’t respect God, there is little for them to respect people whom they will listen to.

2)    They won’t listen to parents: The virtue of “listening to parents” has become a joke to many people especially among the younger generation. Either young people think their parents know nothing or they see “listening to parents” as a sign of weakness or loss of independence. Even many grownups don’t listen to parents anymore. They think that because they have higher education than their parents, know more how to operate modern day gadgets like computers and make more money than their parents used to make they don’t need to listen to parents. Many of these people think their parents are out-of-date with the current society and therefore their counsels or suggestions are too old fashion and are irrelevant.

3)    They won’t listen to authority: Not listening to teachers in schools, supervisors at work, official in government or even leaders at churches is another serious problem in today’s society. The attitude of rebellion is wide spread and runs rampant. Many of the problems in schools, at working places, in the society and even in the churches are results of this rebellious attitude. Crimes in schools, at work places, in the society and disruptions in churches are directly related to this attitude of disrespect of authority.

4)    They won’t listen to anyone: Many of us when seeing someone we love has made a mistake will care enough to bring up the problem and give advice to our friends. But in today’s society, knowing that most people won’t listen to you, we just keep quiet and sometimes bleed on the inside in great sorrow.

 

WHY WON’T THEY LISTEN?

1)    It has to do with pride: Above all other possible reasons, pride stands out blocking the willingness of people to listen. Most people today have much more pride in their attitude toward others and that pride shields them off from seeing the need or validity of listening to anyone. Many of these people think they know the best for their life and therefore there is no need to listen to anyone who doesn’t know as much as they do. Check on your pride all the time.

2)    It has to do with trust: Trust is an essential ingredient for anyone to listen to and act on advices given by family and friends. No one will listen to anyone whom they don’t trust. Either people don’t trust your wisdom or intention or the validity of your advice, if they don’t trust you, there is nothing you can do to help them just as the fireman can’t help the woman trapped in a burning building. We all know that it is a risky thing to trust people. But how can we live a life fully and freely if we can’t trust anyone? We all have to trust someone to make life possible.

3)    It has to do with respect: Respect is another important ingredient for someone to listen to you. They need to respect your knowledge, experience, skill, character, integrity or authority in the area you are going to give advice. Most people realize that just to have a good heart or good intention is not enough to give valid advice to solve a problem or give a direction. It takes much more than that. Build a high level of respect among people is very important because it is your ticket to help others when they face needs. Live your life with integrity and honor on top of knowledge, wisdom and experience will prepare you to be a trusted friend to others.

4)    It has to do with love: Love is the most important element in gaining people to listen to you. With or without the recognition of the other party, whoever desires to give counsel or advice must have a genuine love to that person. Anything less than a true love for the good of the person won’t bring the desired results in getting him to listen to you. People can see or feel if you love them when you tell them what to do.

 

WHY DO WE WANT TO LISTEN?:

1)   It is God’s command: Through out the Bible, both in the Old and New Testaments, God has pleaded again and again that His people listen to Him. Over 300 times in the Bible, God called on His people to listen to Him and His words. Before delivered the laws and commands of God to the people of Israel, Moses encouraged them: “Hear now, O Israel, the decrees and laws I am about to teach you. Listen and follow them so that you may live and may go in and take possession of the land the Lord your God is giving you.” (Deut. 4:1) King Solomon in His proverbs also encouraged repeatedly that readers will listen to the teaching of the Father (God) and gain wisdom and blessings. At the end of the famous Sermon on the Mount, Jesus said, “Anyone who listen these words and puts them into practice is like a wise man who builds his house on the rock…” (Matt. 7:24)

2)   It is the way to blessings: In Deut. 28:1-14, after Moses finished deliver the laws and decrees of the Lord to the people of Israel, he pronounced the blessings God promised to bestow on those who will listen and obey them. Listening to God is not that bad as many might think. If we truly believe that He is the almighty, all powerful and loving God, why is it so hard to listen to His commands? Jesus said that if we truly love Him we will listen and obey Him that He and His Father will love us. (John 14:21) If you desire God’s blessings, this is the best way to get them.

3)   It is the way to wisdom: King Solomon encouraged us to teach the wise because they will increase their wisdom and love us. Only the fools will despise teaching and refuse to listen. (Proverbs 9:7-9) Lots of people will do all they can to increase knowledge by attending colleges, read books, attend seminars but those who are wise will listen to the advice of God and increase their understanding about life. Wisdom is much higher than knowledge. It is the ability to see and understand truth behind the superficial or appearance. The power of wisdom is more than just making money it is about making life more worthy of living.

4)   It is the way to protection: In the parable of the wise man, Jesus said those who listen to his words are like wise men who build their houses (lives) on the rock. “The rain came down, the streams rose and the winds blew and beat against the house; yet it did not fall because it has its foundation on the rock.” (Matt. 7:25) No one can predict when the rain will come, the water will rise or the wind will blow to beat against our life and cause us harm. But everyone can listen to God and be protected from all kinds of harm that may come our way often times unexpected and without warning.

CONCLUSION:

1)     Examine your listening attitude: Look at yourself how humble or arrogant you are in listening to God, to parents, people in authority and your good friends who want to see the best of you. Find out why you feel hard to listen and get rid of the obstacles.

2)     Prepare yourself to listen: Cut down your pride, build up your respect to God, to parents, to people in authority and people who love you and want to see the best of you. Wise up to be a good listener and follow good advice to avoid harm and have better life.

3)     You must listen to this one: Listen to the call of Jesus: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” This is the call of salvation and eternal security. All wise men and women need to heed that call and respond positively to God. It is a matter of eternal life and death.