影響力 尤牧師

經文﹕馬太福音513-16 2007325

 

引言﹕1一個真人真事﹕一位作者記述他年輕時的一段經歷﹕1964年的29英國的披頭四出現在美國的一個電視節目中,他們的表演風靡了全國千萬少年人,看過他們表演,聽過他們音樂的千萬少年中的一個就是我。此後,我作了一些其他無數少年人都作的事,我要求父母讓我留長頭髮。又將省食儉用省下來的錢,和幾位志同道合的好友,組織了一個車庫樂隊,披頭四的裝束,形象,音樂,對我們有巨大的影響力,全國千萬少年人都故意要像他們,這是一個非常明顯的例子去証明影響力的巨大力量。

2故事的新發展﹕幾年之後作者繼續記述,另一個巨大的影響力又發生在我身上。不過這一次的影響比上次披頭四的影響大多了。我相信了耶穌,我要活得像他,我甘心要照他的影響力作人。我要活得更像他,讓別人也可以相信他。他要我們向世人作光作鹽,光和鹽都是能影響的東西,使這黑暗敗壞的世界更光明,更美好。

 

為什麼影響力這麼大?

1因為這是人的本性﹕每個人生下來都俱有不少人的本性其中一個就是要模仿,效法別人,孩子小的時候,會模仿父母,稍大之後會模仿老師,再大一點,會模仿朋友或是有成功的人;如體育明星,電影明星,各種有成就的人。我們對這些人的羨慕,使我們去效法他們,如穿著,行動,說話,生活方式等等,這是人的本性,讓別人影響我們。

2因為裏面空虛的心﹕一個滿滿的水杯,就無法再容納別的東西,但若這杯是空的,它就是一個容器什麼東西都可以放在裏面,人的心也是如此。一個空虛的心是會吸引任何能填滿它的東西。不論年紀,社會階層,學問或財富,人人都是這樣。人類不斷在尋求填滿他那空洞的心,只要看到就放進去。故此,一個空虛的心是一件危險的事,你若不小心,許多不正當,有害的事物,理論,都會往你的心填進去。

3因為影響有吸引力﹕半世紀前的披頭四到今天仍有些影響力,是因為他們有吸引力。今天不少無知青少年受荷里活電影介雜誌封面人物的影響,是因為那些人有吸引力,他們美麗的外表,漂亮的衣著,多姿多彩的生活,花不完的金錢,千萬人的追求,崇拜和注目,樣樣都對別人有吸引力。吸引力不全是壞的,也有好的。例如成功的人物,學術界,商界,政界,俱有優良品格的人物,婚姻美滿的家庭,教養出優秀孩子的父母,在某方面具有領袖才能的成功人物,地位,這些人都有影響力,因為他們具有一些吸引人的特長。

4 因為影響使人滿足﹕所有的影響力,不分好的壞的,都造成一些效果,因為有些影響是壞的,許多父母很注意孩子交什麼朋友,看什麼電視節目,住什麼社區,(孟母三遷就是這原因)。好影響方面;例如成功的例子,改變的例子,使許多人更上進,更有目標,更成功。故此社會有大哥大姐的組織,教會有青少年人的活動,就是要通過模範人物的行為,生活,言論,價值去影響少年人,使他們向好方面去發展。當你能在別人身上有好影響力,使人變好,作好,你心中就有滿足。故此,我們看到不少人作志願工作,教練,參與少年活動,不斷付出,犧牲,去教,去帶,毫不疲倦,就是如此。

 

耶穌所指的影響力﹕(今天經文)

1)          第一是自我犧牲﹕在耶穌時代,人們只有油燈,常用的是橄欖油,你們若要發光,就必須燃燒油。當你將鹽放在食物或其他東西(如水)裏,它就融化,消失。這兩者都需要自我犧牲才能作到。當耶穌將基督徒比作光和鹽的時候,他的意思是要我們甘心樂意地去犧牲,才能達到目標。不少人想影響別人,卻是為自私的利益,但基督徒要影響人,卻要自我犧牲,正像兩千年前耶穌所作的一樣,就因著他肯將生命擺上,億萬世人才能得到永生。

2)          其次是積極參與﹕耶穌說﹕你們是世上的光,城造在山上,是不能隱藏的。人點燈,不能放在斗底下,乃是放在燈台上,就照亮一家的人。54-5人若是躲起來,在一個角落,在自己的小天地裏,不肯出來,不肯參與,他就不能發揮光的作用和功能。基督徒必須肯走出自己的生活小天地,肯站出來,肯參與,肯作貢獻,肯付出,不分大小,才能發揮影響力,每個人都有他的屋子裏的人就是你生活,工作,社交所接觸的人,你若只顧自己的需要,用許多藉口,就是不肯參與,你的光就不能照在人面前。

3)          再次是發揮功能﹕一個電器公司作廣告的口號是我們使你的生活更美好。 (We bring good things to life ).他們的產品可能會使人生活更方便。但基督的門徒,若忠心執行主的吩咐,真正作光作鹽,我們會使人的生活更美好。試想像黑夜裏沒有光,食物裏沒有鹽,人的生活會怎麼樣?人生的美好,正如加拉太書52223所記述;愛心,喜樂,平安,忍耐,恩慈,良善,信實,溫柔,節制,我們若能發揮這些功能,人人的人生必然會更美好。

4)          最後是防止腐化﹕社會上太多壞影響,不斷腐蝕多少人的生命,少年人,青年人,甚至成年人,都在受壞影響的破壞,腐化,電影明星,體育界成名人物,他們腐敗,無恥的生活方式,影響千萬人,這講章是二月14日寫的,上星期發生的 花花公子 出名性偶像妮科史密斯之死是最令人震憾的可憐例子。基督徒既是世上的光和鹽,我們就必須發揮我們正面的影響力,去防止腐化。

 

如何選擇影響力﹕

1)          第一,合不合聖經教訓?在你接受任何影響之前,不論是人,是事或是理論,你要先問﹕這影響合不合聖經教訓?每次都要回到聖經面前,問一句﹕耶穌喜歡這個嗎?我們既然靠聖經真理得救,就當照聖經真理生活,聖經的教訓原則容許這個嗎?

2)          第二;合不合道德標準?上帝給每一個人都有一個分別是非的能力,我們叫作良心我們所住地區的社會準則。在你接受某一個影響時,先問一問;你的良心怎樣說?在大多數人眼中人家怎麼說?你的家人會怎麼說?法律怎麼說?那些與你最親的人怎麼說?當你腦筋受影響時,你自己不可以作主張,你的偏見使你的決定不正確。

3)          第三,對你人生有益處?對你作基督徒的人格,名譽,每天與主同行,在別人面前的見証,對教會的名聲,對結屬靈果子有幫助嗎?對你的婚姻,家庭,兒女,事業,健康,人際關係,在別人面前的形像有益處嗎?若你的答案是否定的,你就不能接受。

4)          第四;能不能榮耀神?保羅勸哥林多教會的信徒在作選擇時必須注意一個

原則;凡你們所作的,都為榮耀神而行,(林前1031)基督徒的人生

不是為自己,乃是為主而活。當我們面對任何影響時,要我們選擇生活方

式,說話,態度,人生方向,必須注意;神的名會不會得榮耀?答案若是

不會你就應當拒絕,因為這會影響到我們將來見主面時所得的獎賞。

 

結論﹕1打開眼睛﹕不論看得見的或是看不見的,我們天天都面對許多外來的影響,

我們必須時常睜開眼睛,特別是屬靈眼睛,看清楚它們的性質,方向,要小心選擇對你有益,對神榮耀,對你人生有幫助的影響。

2打開心門﹕如果你正活在受世俗或罪惡影響之下,你必須打開心門,向主認

罪,求主給你力量回頭,讓你的心歸向耶穌,不可制造種種藉口,迷途要知返。

3打開恩門﹕你如果尚未曾信耶穌,今天就應該打開福音的門,求耶穌赦你的

罪,接受他作你生命之主,你就從他得著永恆生命和今生的能力。

“THE POWER OF INFLUENCE”                         By Pastor YAU

Text: Matthew 5:13-16                                           March 25, 2007

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)      A personal story: A writer shared his experience like this: “On February 9, 1964, the Beatles appeared on The Ed Sullivan Show and captivated millions of American youth. After hearing their music and seeing their “look”, I did what all American boys did---begged my parents to let me grow my hair. Then along with my best friends I started a garage band. The Beatles’ appearance and their music had such an impact on us that we intentionally tried to be like them. It is a vivid example on the power of influence.

2)      The story continued: “Years later,” the writer continued his story, “the power of influence came on me again, except this time it meant something far more important then that of the Beatles. I had trusted in Jesus and wanted to be like Him. I had the desire to live under His influence. I also wanted to model Jesus so others may also believe in Him. In part, this is what Jesus wanted all of us to be. He wanted us to be light and salt to our world. Light and salt are influencing factors in this world which is full of darkness and corruption.”

 

WHY IS INFLUENCE POWERFUL?

1)    Because it is human nature: All of us were born with many natural abilities and one of them is to imitate or learn form others. As a child, we learn or imitate our parents. Grow little older, we learn from teachers. Still growing older, we learn from friends or successful people like sport and movie stars or powerful people whom we admire. Our admiration on these people inspires us to dress like them, act like them, speak like them and even live like them. We just want to be like them as much as we can.

2)    Because of the empty heart: When a glass is full, no one can pour anything else into it. But if it is not full, it is receptive to invasion. Our hearts work the same way. When a heart is empty, it becomes a receptacle for anything that comes its way. This is true to people of all age, class, education or status. Man is continuously seeking to fill up the vacuum of his heart with things that are available to him. Therefore, an empty heart is a dangerous situation for anyone. We all need to take care of our heart and fill it with worthy things.

3)    Because of attraction: The fact that millions of American youth were influenced by the Beatles almost half a century ago and still are being influenced by Hollywood stars or magazine cover personalities is because these people had and still have some attraction on our youth. Attractions of beauty, success, money and fame are only a few of them. This is also true with good influence. People who are good in things are attractive too such as sports, academic, business, character, marriage and raising good kids and those who are in leadership position among other things are objects of imitation. They have the power to influence others.

4)    Because it brings satisfaction: We all see that influence brings results be it good or bad. On the bad side, parents are cautious on things and people that influence their kids. On the good side many stories of success and change for the better are resulted from positive influence by role models. So we have Big-brother and Big-sister program in the community and youth programs in churches. Countless people have testified how their lives were changed by those who influenced them with their words and deeds. It is the satisfaction of having positive results on others that keep the volunteer coaches, youth workers and many others continue to give, to lead, to sacrifice and never get tired.

 

THE JESUS KIND OF INFLUENCE:

1)   It begins with self giving: In Jesus time, lights were made possible by burning oil, mostly olive oil. In order to give light, one must be willing to burn oil. When salt is added to food for whatever purpose, one thing must happen: melt and disappear. Both take self giving or sacrifice to happen. When Jesus symbolized Christian influence in this world as light and salt, He had in mind that we must be willing to sacrifice to achieve the goal. Too many people want to influence others for their own purpose or gain, but Christian influence is self giving just as did Jesus some 2,000 years ago that millions have found forgiveness of sin and reconciliation with God in eternity.

2)   Then it is demonstration: Here is what Jesus said. “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand and it gives light to everyone in the house.” (5:4-5) No one may achieve the function of being a light if he hides himself in a corner or a closet without coming out and engage in the real world. We all are lights, big or small. We all have our own house to give our light as God has intended. But too many Christians just hide themselves behind many excuses and never allow their light to be seen to lead others to know God.

3)   It adds good taste to life:  An electric appliance company used a slogan in their commercial to sell their products and that slogan is “We bring good things to life.” While their products may help to add good things to life, Christians, if faithfully discharging their lives as salt, we add good taste to every life. Just imagine how food may taste without the taste of salt. Many good tastes are illustrated in the fruits of the Holy Spirit as recorded in Galatians 5:22-23. They are: “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.” With all these positive and sweet tastes, life is more worth living.

4)   It keeps corruptible incorruptible: Too many negative influences are corrupting our youth as well as adults. Movie stars and sports heroes who live shameless and reckless life have corrupted many lives. The death of a former Playboy magazine playmate just the week before this message was written on February 14 and how it becomes media frenzy is one vivid example of the corrupt condition of this world. Being the salt of this world, Christians are to live our life to prevent corruption from happening and to heal the wounds caused by corruption.

 

HOW TO CHOOSE INFLUENCE? Before you put yourself under some influence, ask yourself the following questions:

1)    First, if it is biblical? Before you put yourself under the influence of someone or something, ask yourself if this influence is biblical, be it an action, some value, a direction or a thought. Go back to the Bible to measure all influences that come your way. Ask this question: “What would Jesus do in this situation?” We are saved by the teaching of the Bible. We also live our life by the principles of the Bible. Will God and His word approve this?

2)    Secondly, if it is moral? We all have been given something we call conscience and we live in communities that accept social norms. Before you accept or follow any influence, ask this question: if this is right in your heart, right in the eyes of the majority of your family and community, right with the Law of the land and right in the eyes of those who truly love you. Don’t put yourself as the sole judge on this. You are bias to make any sound judgment when you are under the power of corruptible influence.

3)    Thirdly, if it is helpful? Helpful for your Christian life, helpful to your reputation, helpful to your daily walk with God, helpful to your service in God’s church, helpful to your being a productive member of your family, your church and your community or helpful to your character, health, relationship, self image and many other things that related to a healthy Christian life. If any influence is harmful to any of the above, reject them and run away.

4)    Finally, if it glorifies God? Paul gave the Corinthian Christians a simple principle to follow when making choices in 1 Corinth. 10:31, “Whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” We do not live our life for our own but for God. When we submit our life to some influence, will we live, act, pursue or direct our life that God will receive glory and honor from this? This has to do with the ultimate rewards we may receive in heaven.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Keep your eyes open: Visible and invisible, there are many powers of influence in the world we live. We need to keep our eyes open, especially the spiritual eyes, to discern their nature and direction. Make sure you choose the right kind of influence to grow your life and glorify God.

2)   Keep your heart open: If you are being influenced by worldly or sinful power, open your heart to God, ask Him to give you strength so you can runaway from it. Give the seat in your heart to God and He will lead you out of the bondage of the evil power.

3)   Keep yourself saved: When you ask Jesus into your heart, you won’t have room for evil or undesirable influence. He will fill your heart with joy, peace, hope and many other spiritual blessings. Ask Him now and receive from Him eternal life with God.