“謝謝您肯給”                                                                                                                         (尤牧師)

經文﹕哥林多後書610                                                                                                  20051120

 

引言﹕1謝謝你﹕我們從小就學會說”謝謝”。人家給我們東西,給我們愛,給我們方便,給我們好處,我們都會說謝謝。這些人的給,使我們的人生更美,活得更 快樂,他們值得我們心存感謝。

            2”肯給”肯給是人類美德中最美的一個,盡管世界天天灌輸”更多更好的得”, 當人肯給的時候,實在很美。大部份人會給自己愛的人,家人,朋友,但也有 不少人會給一些他從來不認識的人。

 

為什麼””是那麼難?

1)             國際幼童協會會長莫麗莎曾寫了一篇”幼童的心願”,我們可以看到人心對”得和給”的看法﹕

                              我心所想要的,是我的。

                              我若給了你,後來改變決定,仍然是我的。

                              我能從別人身上拿走的,都是我的。

                              我曾經擁有過的東西,永遠是我的。

                              我的東西永遠是我的,沒有人可以拿走。

                              如果我們合作造了什麼東西,也是我的。

                              若有一樣東西看來像我的,一定是我的。

      人心的傾向是””而不是””,是”積存”,不是”分享”,這是人性貪婪敗壞,本性的最清楚表現,””是很難的事。

2)             我們誤解了”擁有”的定義﹕太多人認為他們所有的是”屬於”他們的。他們賺來的,擁有的,當然是他們的,所以他們有權積存。其實,我們所有的一切都是”屬神的”,是神暫時托管給我們可以與他人分享。沒有人帶任何東西到世上來,我們今天所有的,當然不是我們的,都是神托付的,我們必須要按著神的心意給出去。

3)             我們不認識”給的價值”許多人以為給多了,我就少了,太大的犧牲。其實絕不是這樣。給並不是犧牲,乃是得福,得神的祝福,也得你給出的對象的祝福,所以,你肯給的時候,你得的會更多,並且你得到的比物質,金錢更寶貴;好名聲,忠心的榜樣,別人的敬重,光彩的見証,還有神的賞賜。

 

肯給的榜樣﹕

1)             耶穌﹕屬靈的榜樣﹕(哥林多後書89”我們的主耶穌基督,他本來富足,卻為我們成了貧窮,叫我們因他的貧窮可以成為富足”。保羅特別指出耶穌”自我犧牲”(給)的榜樣。他又說;(耶穌)反倒虛己,取了奴僕的形象,成為人的樣式,自己卑微,存心順服,以至於死,且死在十字架上。(腓立比書28-9

2)             保羅﹕人類的榜樣﹕”似乎憂愁,卻常常快樂,似乎貧窮,卻是叫許多人富足,似乎一無所有,卻是樣樣都有”。(林後610今天經文)因為保羅肯給,他經歷許多苦難,但他卻非常快樂,因看到他犧牲的果效,他死在羅馬監牢中時,沒有留下一幢房子,一輛汽車,一個銀行戶口,卻留下成千上萬忠實 的好信徒,留下一串堅固的教會。因他忠心肯給,他必被主迎接到榮耀的天國裏去,那是世上財物無法相比的福份。

3)             歷代忠心肯給的信徒﹕兩千年的教會歷史,成千上萬的信徒在””上面作了美好忠心的見証。他們給時間,給金錢,給才能,給愛心,甚至有人將生命也給了,結果是數以千萬的靈魂得救,數不盡的教會建立起來,開主日學班,門徒訓練班,孩子學習聖經,認識耶穌,耶穌的名和他的救恩傳遍了普天下。若不是這些人犧牲的給,我們就不會有今天的結果。

 

向忠心的人致敬﹕(背景音樂”Thank You”

      你若在過去12個月﹕

      教主日學,帶門徒訓練班,帶兒童崇拜,協助托兒所,在AWANA參與工           作,教導少年班,參加詩班,在廚房做飯菜,幫忙洗盤子,清理場地,打掃廁所,割草,吸塵,你若有十一奉獻,忠心奉獻給建堂,教會預算,請你站起來,整個教會要向你致敬,要對你說﹕”謝謝你肯給”。(同唱”Thank You”

THANK YOU FOR GIVING                                            By Pastor YAU

Text: 2 Corinthians 6:9-10                                          November 20, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   Thank you:  We learned to say “Thank you” when we were still small when people gave us things, convenience, love or other expressions of good will. These people made our lives better, feel happier or easier and they deserve our expression of gratitude.

2)   For giving:  Give is the most beautiful character virtue among all the virtues. While this world hammers on us the need to get and to keep, those who are generous in giving make this world a much better place to live. While most people will give to their loved one, there are people who will give to others whom they don’t even know and that make it even more beautiful.

 

WHY IS GIVING SO HARD?

1)   Because it is against human nature: The nature of man is to get and to keep, not to give. Elisa Morgan, president of Mothers of Preschoolers International shared the following insight into a child’s view on possession and giving:

THE TODDLERS CREED

If I want it, it is mine,

If I give it to you and change my mind, it’s mine too.

If I can take it away from someone, it is mine.

If I had it for a while, it’s always mine.

If it is mine, it will never belong to someone else.

If we building something together,

All the pieces are mine.

If it looks just like mine, it must be mine.

     This Toddlers Creed creeps into our mindset and stays there forever. That’s why it is so hard to give even after we become adults.

2)   We don’t understand the true MEANING of giving: Many people believe that all that they have are “theirs.” They made them, own them and deserve to keep all of them. In reality, all that we have are “loans” or “trusts” from God. We were given the things we have to use with people around us. No one brings anything when he/she comes into this world and no one really owns anything he/she has.

3)   We don’t understand the VALUE of giving: Most people believe that if they give, they have less. Too much sacrifice. That idea is so wrong. Giving will not cost you to have less, it will make you have more: blessings from those you give to, good name, sincere respect, sweet memory, being faithful to God on His trusts, good Christian testimony, etc. All these are much more valuable than things you give away. All these will last much longer in people mind and heart than if you keep them to yourself. No money can buy honor.

 

MODELS OF SACRIFICIAL GIVING:

1)    Jesus, the divine model: “For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though He was rich, yet became poor for your sakes, so you through His poverty might become rich.” (2 Corinth. 8:9) Paul pointed out the example of self giving by Jesus so we, human beings, may become rich in the Kingdom of God. Paul also said that Jesus gave His own life and all the glory to become man and died on the cross. (Phil. 2:8-9) Without His giving, no one will ever be saved from his sins.

2)    Paul, the human model: “Dying and yet we live, beaten and yet not killed; sorrowful yet always rejoicing; poor yet making many rich, having nothing and yet possessing everything.”(Today’s text) Paul gave and became poor that many become rich. He never own a house, a car, a bank account or anything tangible yet he was one of the happiest men in the world because he led many to Christ, built many church, set great examples and became model for so many. Because of his selfless giving, he will be received into the Kingdom of God with all the glory no money can buy.

3)    All the saints in the 2,000 years of Christian history: Countless of the faithful have given: material possessions, sacrifices, all the hours, energy and sweat, love and dedication and even their lives,  tens of millions of souls were saved, thousands of churches were built, children were taught about Jesus, disciples were trained, meals were cooked, babies were taken cared of, the list goes on and on. Without the sacrificial giving of the saints before us and those who are still with us, we won’t have what we have today

 

SALUTE THE SAINTS:  In the past 12 months, if you have helped in:

Teaching Sunday School, leading discipleship training, helped in the Children church, the VBS, the AWANA program, sang in the choir or Praise Team, organized a prayer group, helped in the kitchen, cooking, cleaning, cut the grass, cleaned the restrooms, vacuumed the floor, emptied the trash, helped in the nursery, visited someone in need, picked  up someone to church or to church organized meetings, giving tithes or the best you can afford to church budget, building fund, mission, hurricane relief fund and many others, please all stand. We, the people at FCBC, want to salute you and say “Thanks you for giving.”