噴上泥巴 尤牧師

經文﹕撒母耳記上 16-17 2007422

 

引言﹕1一種新產品﹕近十多年來,戶外活動十分流行。露營,釣魚,打獵被看為上

等活動,是有閒階級,成功人士,活力充沛者的象徵,是時麾的玩意。英國有

個廠家就發明一種人工噴上的泥巴 (Spray-on Mud),使居住在城市,足不出戶的

人可買來噴在名貴的 SUV4X4車上,看來好像車主剛從野外活動回來,其實他連車庫門都沒有開過。廠商還特別注意,在制造過程中細心過濾,將沙石除去,免得噴在車上會傷害車子的油漆。據說這新興事業的產品銷路不錯。

2一個老毛病﹕人類自古以來就有一個老毛病,就是過份注意外表的好看多過內心的實質。因此,有人申請工作時,在履歷上加添一些沒事實根據的項目,在寫回憶錄時加插一些毫無根據的故事。我們不只故意裝飾門面希望別人對我們有好印象,我們也常被別人的外表形象所欺騙。這不是一個今天才有的問題,當一位眾人尊敬的先知撒母耳去耶西的家,要從他眾兒子中選一個作以色列人之王的時候,他幾乎被以利押的外表相貌所欺騙,因為這以利押身材高大,又長得英俊,撒母耳心想這人必是神所喜悅作以色列王的人。但是神對撒母耳說﹕不要看他的外貌和他的身材高大,我不揀選他。因為耶和華不像人看人。人是看外貌,耶和華是看內心。(16:7)

 

為什麼我們看外貌?

1)          因為外表容易裝飾﹕今天市面上化裝品多得很,要打扮好看不難,只要你用適當的美容用品,穿上時麾服裝,戴上幾件合時首飾,臉上常掛上微笑,你就會很好看。有些人甚至花大筆錢去作臉部手術,割雙眼皮,拉緊臉皮,隆鼻,隆胸,抽掉肥油使肚皮縮小,身材苗條,性感,看起來年輕,雖然費用不少,但卻甘心花費,目的就是要給人看到一個好看的外表。裝飾外表好看,比起改造內心容易多了。例如要改掉貪婪,不良態度,壞習慣,壞思想,自私,驕傲,小氣,自卑和其他種種性格上的毛病太難了。

2)          因為外表人人可見﹕正如神對撒母耳所說﹕人是看外表,耶和華是看內心一樣。因為人只能看外表,只要我們在外表上花點功夫,就很容易可以把人騙過。不少沒有基礎的婚姻最後以離婚收場,就是他們開始時被外表吸引了,男看女的如何漂亮可愛,女看男的一表人材,風度翩翩,這樣簡單就愛上了,結婚了。長得好看的人真的佔許多便宜,從小就得人特別愛惜,遷就,誇獎,引人注目,使長相平凡的人羨慕不已,百貨公司知道包裝的重要,特別是在節日時候。廠商花高薪請藝術家,設計家,設計出版書籍的封面,貨品的樣式,顏色,香水瓶的名字及瓶子的形狀,手提包和皮鞋的花樣,款式,數也數不盡,因為這外表正是客人第一個注目的地方。

3 因為外表影響形象﹕人人都會注意自己的形象,特別是在別人面前的形

象。我們要別人看到好的一面,因而喜歡我們,尊重我們,對我們友善親

切。最容易的方法是將自己的外表弄得好看些,因為沒人會看到我們內心

是什麼樣子。一些從事經紀行業的人一般都會穿上等服裝,開名牌汽車,

目的是要給人一個成功的形象使人信任他們而作成生意。政治家,公

家人物,娛樂界人士,都十分注意外表形象,這是他們成功的本錢。

4 因為外表掩蓋真相﹕ 這大概是注意外表各種動機中最壞的動機。但卻是許

多內裏空無一物者常常作的事,目的是為了掩蓋內在的真相。曾經有一位

發達的商人向我展示他名牌的金筆,筆夾上鑲了七粒鑽石,他自己卻只有小學教育程度。有些人花錢去向郵箱大學買各種學位的文憑,然後印在名片上到處分發,自己信以為真,也希望別人會信以為真。每次看到開賭者的廣告和新聞,說他們捐多少錢給當地學校或慈善機構時,我內心就很悲哀。這些人開賭場,禍害千萬勞苦大眾,吸取血汗錢,然後拿出一點作善事,以為可以掩飾他們傷害千萬人的真相。

 

光看外表的危險﹕

1)          外表是不完全的﹕就算外表是正的,不是造的,也是不完全的,不能也不可能真正表示一個人的全部真面目,如果你只看人的外表就對人建立主信任,小者是判斷錯誤,大者是被騙受傷害。許多人注意第一印象,就在這上面大下功夫。你若以第一印象作標準去判斷人,是非常危險的作法,這危險特別是交友和男女關係上或是生意來往上。你要認真了解一個人才能建立正確的信任。只看他的外表,談吐,是不夠的。

2)          外表可能不成實﹕不少壞人會在外表上裝作得很好看,很誠懇,目的卻是欺騙老實,為了達到他們自私的目的。他們的目的可能是騙取你的金錢,你的信任,你的友誼,甚至是騙你的心。如果你只看人的外表,很容易被到無法真正看到對方的技倆當你太過用外表去看人時,你就失去正確判斷的能力,甚至會為自己的愚蠢信任辯護。這種不誠實的判斷,多數發生在男女關係上。不少天真的人就在這外表的吸引上受傷。

3)          外表形象太淺薄﹕不久前收到一個電子郵件,形容人的外表是多麼脆弱易變,當你年輕時,你巴不得長像年輕時的依麗沙伯泰萊或是馬龍白蘭度一樣美麗瀟但當你年老時,你天天禱告,千萬不要像他們年老時的長像俗語說得好美麗不足三分淺人的價值不只是外表的好看。千萬不可因為一個人的外表好看而被吸引。你必須了解他的人格,與家人的關係,他的信仰,所交的朋友,工作的態度,如何打發空閒時間等等,這些看來小事的地方才真正表達一個人的真相。

4)          外表好看不是福﹕不久前死於非命的Anna Nicole Smith,和流行音樂歌星

Brittney Spear都是外表美麗,可愛,引人注目的人物。他們的悲慘經歷是一些外表好看的人應當留意的警惕,長得漂亮不是壞事,但卻是危險的事。美貌常是魔鬼攻擊的對象。長得美貌的人常被驕縱,寵愛,長大後常被壞人看中,利用,很容易掉進自毀的生活方式中。美貌不一定是福氣,可能是隱藏的咒詛。

除了外表之外﹕

1)          要看內面﹕這是神對撒母耳的指示,不要只看外表,還要看內心。神沒有說外表長得好看是壞事,神乃是說他注重的不是人的外表,神所說的內心是指一個人的內心本質如果你要買一部車,不要只看車的外形和車身好看不好看,你還要看機件性能,這才是汽車的重點,車外形好看不是最重要,如果機件不好,有何用?看人也是一樣。我們不要單看外表,也要看內心。

2)          要看信仰﹕一個人若心中有神,他目中就有人。一個敬虔信仰的人一般會比較生活有原則,規律,尊重神的權柄,行為也比較有規律,待人對事比較負責任。敬畏神的人一般比較謙卑,負責。一個人若常跟從神的原則行事,一般比較可靠,誠實,有愛心和仁慈,我說的不是指只上教會的人,乃是指敬虔的信徒。

3)          要看品格﹕品格是一個人靈性的內涵,他的實質,這包括他的信仰,價值觀,生活方式,作事原則,仁慈,可信,真誠,謙卑,勤勞,自制,這是一個人的本質和價值,也是他是否值得人尊敬的優點。一般人,包括家人,好友,都會尊重這類人,他們行事有原則,不是機會主義者。

4)          要看美德﹕保羅勸早期信徒要如何增長他們品格時,他勸他們說﹕凡是正實的,可敬的,公義的,清潔的,可愛的,有美名的,若有什麼德行,若有什麼(值得)稱讚的,這些事,你們都要思念(存在心中)48)一個人的心若常常充滿上述這些美善的品質,他就是符合神心意的人。人的內心是什麼,言語行為上就表達出來,你要追求這些優點。

 

結論1不必噴上什麼要為神賜給你的一切而歡樂,感激,包括面貌,衣著,物

質擁有,學問,辦事能力等等,你不必去加上什麼去騙他們尊重你,喜歡你。

自然,誠實是最美的本質。

2多作內裏建造﹕不只神才注意人的內心,人也越來越注意內心的美德。認為真執行保羅的勸導,多作內心建造,你會越有價值。

3 最重要的接納﹕人人都喜歡被別人接納,所以要作許多外表功夫。但一切人為的造作都會失色。最重要的還是被神接納。你若向神認罪,求他饒恕,相信耶穌作救主,神必接納你作他的兒女,你就得到永生,並且有神天天與你同行的福份。

“SPRAY-ON MUD”                                             By Pastor YAU

1 Samuel 16:1-7                                                     April 22, 2007.

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   A new product: Since being active in out-door activities and sports is seen as being athletic, successful or just “cool”, a British company has developed a product called “Spray-On Mud” so city people and lazy bones may give their expensive SUVs or 4X4s the look of having been off-road for a day of hunting or fishing without even leaving their driveway. The “MUD” is even filtered to remove stones and debris that might scratch the paint. According to the company, sales are going well.

2)   An old problem: There is an age-old problem in all of us that values how we look on the outside more than who we are on the inside. It causes some people to pad their resume or embellish their memoirs. We are not just trying to impress others by making us look better on the outside than we really are but are also being impressed or fooled by others because they look good on the outside. This is not just a modern day problem as many might think. When Samuel, the respected and honest prophet, went to the house of Jesse to choose one of Jesse’s sons to be the king of Israel, he was almost fooled by the look of Eliab because he was tall and good looking. God admonished Samuel: “Do not consider his look or his height. The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance but the Lord looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7)

 

WHY WE CARE HOW WE LOOK?

1)     It is easier to put on: With modern day cosmetics, making you look better is relatively easy: some make ups, some nice clothes, a few pieces of appropriate jewelry and a sweet smile will make us look better. Some even go all the way to face lift, eye-lid and other cosmetic surgery procedures to make their faces and figures look more attractive and sexy. Even though this may cost them thousands of dollars, many people are willing to pay the price to make them look good on the outside because it is so hard to change anything on the inside: attitude, thoughts, habits, pride, inferior complex and vicious mindset, just to name a few.

2)     It is what people see: As God told Prophet Samuel that man sees the outside when God sees the inside, man can only see our outside so we can fool people if we just do something about our appearance and we can fool them. Many trouble marriages end up in divorce courts because both sides looked at how pretty (or cute) that girl was or how handsome that guy was and were attracted to each other by their look. We see good looking people have all the privileges and attention the plain looking never have. Packaging is always important in all department stores especially in holiday season. That’s why specialists and artists were paid high salaries to design book covers, perfume bottles, hand beg and shoe styles and countless other things for better sales because that is what potential customers will see.

3)     It is all about image: All of us are aware of our “self” image particularly when we are in front of others. We want people to see the good side of us, to respect us and to treat us nice. The easier way to gain all these is to make us look good on the outside regardless what is truly on the inside. People on sales business usually drive expensive cars when they entertain potential customers. They want to create an image of success on others to promote business. Politicians, public figures and people in entertainment industry are typical in putting on their best look when they appear before the public.

4)     It is for cover up: This may be the worst kind of attempt to make one look good, but it is a common practice of those who have little or nothing valuable on the inside to put on a show in order to cover up their true face. A rich businessman who has only 6 years of school showed me proudly his expensive name brand pen inlaid with 7 diamonds on the clip. People who spend $100s to buy fake diplomas and degrees from a mailbox and put them on their name cards belong to this category. Casinos that rip off tens of millions of dollars from local people then donate back a little of their “blood money” to schools and charitable organizations to cover up their ugly image.

 

THE DANGERS OF THE LOOK:

1)   It is incomplete: Even if the look is real, it still is incomplete to represent the real person. If you build your confidence or trust based only on the appearance, oftentimes, more than you want to admit, you are wrong at best or cheated at worst. Most people believe the importance of “the first impression” and try so hard to put on the best. You are in real danger if you build your confidence or trust based on their appearance. This is particularly important in romantic relationship or business deals. You need to know lot more of that person than how he or she looks or talks.

2)   It may be dishonest: Some real crooks will put on their best look to impress the plain and simple for their own benefits. They may want your money, your trust, your friendship and even your heart. If you are hooked on their looks, you will never discover their scheme because you are hypnotized by their appearance. When you are so impressed on their look, you may justify your foolish trust because you have lost your sense of sound discernment. This is particularly important if you are in a romantic relationship. Many innocent people suffer brokenhearted because they place too much on looks.

3)   It is only skin deep: In an email article I received a month ago, it says: “When you were younger, you want to look like Elizabeth Taylor or Marlon Brando. But when you grow older, you pray that you will never look like them.” The saying that “beauty is only skin deep” is so true. There is more to the value of a person than how he/she looks. Never be attracted to anyone just because of the look. Find out his character, his relationship with God and his family. Learn more about his work habit, the kind of friends he makes and how he spends his free time and weekends.

4)   It may be a liability: The recent death of Anna Nicole Smith, a former playmate of the PLAYBOY magazine and the broken life of Britney Spear, a superstar of the pop music industry gives us a wake-up call on the danger of being good looking. Good looking is seldom a blessing but very often a devil’s trap. Many beautiful people are so spoiled, exploited and lived in self-destructive life style. Being good looking may not be a blessing but a curse of life.

 

BEYOND APPEARANCE:

1)    Look on the inside: When God warned Samuel not to look on the outside but on the inside, He didn’t say good looking is evil but is not what He wants to look on a man. When God says he looks at the heart, He means the inner qualities of the person. If you are buying a car, don’t just look at the body or style but look at the engine and all other mechanical parts that make the car running. What is the good look for if the car doesn’t run? Same is true with people. We need to know more and deeper than just his look.

2)    Look for his faith: Religious belief and dedication to God is a sign of self discipline, faith and commitment to a higher authority. Religious people are usually more disciplined in their life and everyday practice with others. A man who fears God is usually a man of humility and responsibility. When a man is guided by the principles of God through His word, he is more dependable, responsible, honest, kind and loving. I am not talking about a churchgoer. I am talking about a dedicated follower of Jesus.

3)    Look for character: Character is best explained as the basic component of the soul, the real quality of a person. That includes his beliefs, his values, the way he lives his life and does things: honest, sincere, humble, diligent and well self-disciplined. These are the basic components that made a person with value and respect. People with good character are often respected by family and peers. They are people of principle rather than opportunity.

4)    Look into his heart:  When Apostle Paul advised the early Christians to build their quality of faith, he said, “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if anything is excellent or praise worthy, think about such things.” (Phil. 4:8) If the heart of a man is filled with all of these, he is a man after God’s heart. Whatever is in a man’s heart that is what he will think, say and do. Make sure you have these qualities.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    No need for the “Spray-on”: Be happy with whatever God has given you, your look, your clothing, your possessions, ability or education or anything else. There is NO need to fool yourself or others by putting on a show. Be natural and honest. Enjoy the blessings God has given you.

2)    Build on the inside: Not just God looks for your heart, people also want to see “quality” in you. Follow Paul’s instruction to build your inner quality and you will be the apple of the eyes of both God and people around you.

3)    The most important acceptance: People “spray-on” things to look good because they want acceptance from others. But all human acceptances are temporary and will fade. Make sure you are acceptable by God at the gate of Heaven. Trust the Lord Jesus, confess your sins, ask Him to come into your heart today and you will be accepted by God to eternity.