謝謝 (尤牧師)

經文﹕路加福音1711-19 2006312

 

引言﹕1我們從小就學會﹕我們從小孩時起,就被教導要說謝謝。不論是人家給我 們東西,或是給一個方便,或是一句稱讚的話,我們都會說謝謝,我們知道這 是一個有禮貌的舉動。不論在家裏,在學校,在與朋友交往,甚至在教會,都 要表示謝意。大人告訴我們這是對的事,我們也作了,大家都高興。但事情會 改變。

2我們忘記了﹕有人說我們所有的好舉動,都是在幼稚園時候學到的。但許 多人長大後,就忘記了從前在幼稚園所學到的好習慣。或者有人覺得口口聲聲 謝謝未免太小孩子氣,或者有人認為長大了就不必再那麼有禮貌了。難怪有人 說這世界越來越粗暴無理。不論是在家裏,在學校,甚至在教會,許多人不再 注意禮貌,也不再說謝謝

 

為什麼心存感激那麼重要?

1神注意我們是否心存感激﹕今天這經文的故事,當耶穌醫治了十個大痳瘋之 後,只有一個人回來感謝他,他心中就不高興。這十個人長大痳瘋,是不道德 和羞辱的疾病,耶穌用一句話就醫治了他們,但卻只有一個人回來感謝他,耶 穌說﹕另外那九個在那裏?人人都知道,耶穌絕不需要人向他道謝才有面子, 或加添他什麼光榮,但神每一次施恩給我們的時候,他喜歡看到我們存感激的 心。古代的以色列人就不曉得要時時感激神的恩典和祝福,反而卻時常埋怨, 結果是受到神嚴厲的刑罰。

2感激表達你內心的態度﹕人人都知道作人的態度非常重要;對人,對工作, 在學校,在家裏,或在教會,不論任何環境,我們的態度非常重要。如果我們 有謙卑的態度,人家對我們的好處,我們就會感激。我們對人的態度正像橋 樑,可以決定我們與人的關係是友善或是敵對,是溫和或是緊張。大部分時候 我們與人建立良好關係,不是因為我們的本事,能幹或成功,乃是因為我們的 好態度。沒有人喜歡與驕傲無禮的人來往,更不必說作朋友了。

3感激表現出你的屬靈氣質﹕你或者不一定同意;存心感激和屬靈氣質大有關係,但事實是有的。大衛王被稱為合神心意的人,其中一個原因是因為他時常 存一個感謝神的心。當他被選作以色列王時,他存心感激,神賜給他一個兒子(所羅門)時,他向神感恩。每次神幫助大衛打勝仗時,他都大大讚美感謝神。後來所羅門王為神建造華麗的聖殿,他不只不因此驕傲,乃是多次感謝神給他這機會。保羅被選作使徒時,他心中無限感激,自稱是罪人中的罪魁。存 感激是一個屬靈氣質的表現。

4感激的心會增進人際關係﹕人人都知道人際關係大大影響我們的一生﹕從家 庭到職業,從交朋友到婚姻,一顆常常感謝的心會大大促進你與人的關係。會 知道感激的人不會傲漫。有人對他好,為他作點事,給他一些方便幫助,他都 誠懇地表示感謝。會感激的人有更多知心的朋友,會有更多肯幫助他的人, 他更有機會成功,快樂。

 

為何有人總是不會感激?

1因為他們認為是該得的這是最壞的心態,這些人認為別人的存在,(包 括家人,朋友,同學等)都是為了要滿足他們的需要。別人為他們作事,給方 便,給好處,他們都認為是應該的,或是欠他們的。這些人不只不知感激, 甚且有時會認為別人還作得不夠,不多,不好。這種人當然不會心存感激。

2這些人認為他們是眾人的中心﹕這種人不論在什麼地方,總覺得他們是眾人 的中心,其他人,物,事都應當使他們滿足,快樂。我們看見一些少年人,儘 管父母節儉省用,供應他們一切,他們也不會感到應當表達謝意。有人有好家 庭,有工作,總是覺得不滿意,夫妻之間被此指責,推卻責任。社會上不少人 不自力謀生,總是責怪政府提供福利不夠。以為我配得是一個非常有害的想 法,其實沒有人帶任何東西到世上來,也沒有任何人欠你什麼。

3這些人總覺得有得不夠﹕這是另一個使人不會感激的原因;他們永遠要個沒 完,這是明顯的貪婪無厭心理。當人覺得他所有的還不滿足時,怎麼會感激 呢?亞當和夏娃,儘管滿園子 這麼多果子吃不完,還是覺得不滿足,因為還有 一顆樹的果子他還未得到,那裏會感激神呢?不少女士家裏的衣櫃掛滿衣服, 心裏卻總是覺得還是不夠。小孩子房間雖然堆滿玩具,卻還是要店裏的另外一 樣。心中不滿足,就不會感激。

4這些人不知道會道謝的好處﹕有人以為對人說聲謝謝是對別人得好處,其實 不是。感激是一種心理和感情狀態,有人理智上知道應當對人感謝,但心理上 卻作不出來,因為心裏不滿足,不快樂,不會有感激的心情,心中沒有感激, 就不會享受你已有的,不會去建立更親密的人際關係,對人就不夠友善,和 靄,沒有看到別人的優點好處,心存感激最大得益的是你自己。

 

一個感激的好例子﹕(路加1711-19

1他自知自己的可憐光景﹕在古代患痳瘋病是表示這人道德上的失敗,羞恥, 有這病的人不可與別人同居,甚至不可接近,是社會中被輕視丟棄的人。當他 們被主醫治之後,其中一人就心存感激回來謝謝耶穌。我們應當自知自己的可 憐境況,才會對神對人給我們的好處和恩典心存感激。

2他自知人力無法作到﹕他們知道沒有人能醫治他們,才來求主的幫助。人要 自知無能,無助,才會到對神對人的幫助心存感激。自知無能,不配,才會感 激。這是謙卑的心態,人不謙卑,不會感激。

3他得到主的醫治﹕耶穌一句話就除去他們一切的羞恥和痛苦,他不再有病, 可以與他人同行同住,可以見祭司,這都是神的恩典和能力。所以,他回來向 耶穌說謝謝。當我們嘗到主恩的時候,得到醫治,拯救時,就當感謝神。

4他以行動表達感激﹕十個人都得到醫治,只有一個人回來謝謝耶穌。感激是 一種心態,有感激的心當然好用行動去表達感激就更好。我們相信耶穌不需要 這人的感謝使他得什麼光彩,但得到神的恩典向神感謝是應當的。向神感謝, 可以使別人看見神的愛和能力。如果你得到別人愛心的幫助,好處,應當以行 動去表達你的感激。

 

結論﹕1保存優良品格﹕我們不應該忘記在幼稚園日子所學的禮貌和好習慣。年記長 大不等於可以沒禮貌不懂禮,我們今天所有的一切,都是神和人給我們的。每 一次得到好處,都要記住說謝謝。

2用行動表達你的謝意﹕謝謝是一種內心的感覺,需要行出來,別人才會知 道,好像那得醫治的人一樣。我們不必有痳瘋病得醫治才來感謝。大事小事, 對任何人,特別是與你最接近的人,更當常常說謝謝

3人人都當感謝的﹕我們應當為耶穌無私的犧牲,釘死在十字架,流下寶血救 贖我們,天天心存感激。你若未曾信他,今天就應以行動表示你謝謝他,接受 他作你的救主。

SAY “THANK YOU!”                                                      Pastor YAU

Text: Luke 17:11-19                                                          March 12, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   We were taught: We all were taught, when we were still small, to say “Thank you” to people who either did us a favor or gave us something. We were told that it is the right manner to relate to people around us, family, friends people at school or church. We were also told that it was important to be nice and grateful when dealing with others. We did what we were told and everyone was happy. But things changed.

2)   We forgot: Some said that we learned good manners while we were in kindergarten. But most of us forget what we had learned in kindergarten when we grow up. Either we feel that it is too childish or we are too old to express gratitude, many of us treat “Thank you” as the lost art. We begin to take things for granted. Some may even feel odd when others say “thank you” to them. Many have come to conclusion that this world is becoming ruder and less courteous, be it at home or in school, at the work place or even in church. Few still care to say “Thank you.”

 

WHY IS BEING GRATEFUL IMPORTANT?

1)   It is what God is looking for: In the story of today’s passage, Jesus was disappointed to see only one out of ten men who had been healed of their most serious and disgraceful disease, leprosy, by His word had come back to show Him his gratitude. (17:17-18) Even though God doesn’t need any glory or recognition from man to make Him feel good, God still wants to see His children being grateful every time He bestows grace and mercy on us. It is the ungrateful spirit and attitude among the people of Israel that caused them to murmur in the wilderness that in turn brought them punishment as a nation.

2)   It shows your attitude: We all know the importance of attitude in our everyday life: toward people, our job, school, home, church and everything in our surroundings. Our grateful attitude shows our humility and sincerity toward others who show kindness to us either in words or deeds. Our attitude either builds or destroys the bridges from which we relate to others. We win people’s good will and support mostly not just by our talents or results but by our attitude on top of them. Few, if any, want to befriend with people of arrogant attitude.

3)   It shows your spiritual quality: You may not agree that grateful attitude has something to do with spiritual maturity, but it does. The fact that King David was called “a man after God’s heart” has to do, in part, with his grateful attitude toward God. He was grateful when he was chosen to be king of Israel. He was grateful and gave thanks to God when God gave him a son, Solomon. David was grateful and gave thanks to God every time God gave him victory over his enemies. King Solomon was grateful and humble even after he had built the first temple for God. Paul, the Apostle, was grateful that God has chosen him when he was the worst of all sinners. A grateful attitude is a spiritual attitude.

4)   It affects your personal relationship: We all know the importance of human relationship to the well being of our life: family, career, marriage, friendship and many others and grateful attitude has a lot to do with all of them. A grateful person doesn’t take things for granted. He shows his gratitude to those who help him, show good will to him or give him convenience or things. A grateful person keeps people closer to his heart and inner circle which in turn helps his relationship with them. People are more willing to show good will or do help again and again to grateful person.

 

WHY DON’T WE FEEL GRATEFUL?

1)     We take things and people for granted: This is the foremost lousy attitude anyone could have toward people and things around them. They feel they deserve all that they have and all people exist to cater to their needs. They take their family, friends and people who are close to them for granted. They don’t feel they need to be grateful and often times they don’t even feel they have enough or people have done their best to meet their needs.

2)     We think we deserve it all: People who are so proud, self-centered or think they deserve everything have difficulty to be grateful because they see them as the center of life and everything surrounding them. They think they deserve every bit they have. We see children are seldom grateful after their parents have done more than they can to provide their needs. We see adults don’t feel grateful to have a good pay job still feel they are being under paid. We see spouses who blame each other for not fulfilling their expectations. We see some people who don’t do their fair share to provide for themselves but blame the government not giving them everything free. The mentality of “I am entitled to” is a vicious virus that causing people not to be grateful for what others have done for them. There is no such thing as entitlement. No one owes you anything.

3)     We never have enough: This is another faulty reason people are not grateful: they always want more and never feel have enough. This is greed in its raw condition. When people are not happy with what they already have, how can they feel grateful? Adam and Eve were not happy with God in spite of all the provision they had because there was one more fruit they couldn’t have. How often we see some women feeling ungrateful with the huge collection of fashion in their wardrobe still wanting another one they saw at the department store the other day. Kids still want another new toy even though their toy closets are already overflow.

4)     We don’t know it is for our own good: To be grateful is more than just a mental condition it is also an emotional condition. Mental condition is about right and wrong or good and bad. We may understand, in mental condition, we need to be grateful, we just can’t be grateful on emotional level. But that is where we feel unhappy, discontent, unfulfilled and ungrateful. Being ungrateful either to people or environment puts us in a defeated position that hinders us from enjoying what we have, building close and cordial relationship, seeing the beauty of others and wrap us in the feeling of contentment and joy. Being grateful is primarily not to benefit others as it benefits ourselves more than we ever understand.

 

AN EXAMPLE OF A GRATEFUL HEART: (Luke 17:11-19)

1)   They realized their shameful condition: In the ancient time, leprosy was an incurable disease symbolized immorality and disgrace. People who had the disease were segregated from the rest of the community. They had to warn others of their shameful condition every time people were near them. This is the reason that one of them was so grateful after he was healed. We need to realize our helpless, hopeless, shameful and pitiful condition before we were saved so we will be grateful after we were delivered from those sinful conditions. If you feel that you are too good, chances are you won’t be impressed by things you have or good will or acts other have done for you. Being humble is the key to being grateful.

2)   They also realized they were helpless: They acknowledged their helpless and hopeless condition and called upon the Lord for help. It is that self realization of being helpless that puts them in position to be grateful when the Lord healed them from their disgraceful disease. We need to acknowledge that we are unable, undeserved, unmerited to any of the things God has done or given us so we will be grateful to receive any and all the Lord and others have done for us. Until you realize that all that you have and who you are not from your own effort but that of God and the good will of others, you won’t be grateful.

3)   They experienced the healing: It was Jesus’ words that made them well from the shameful disease and caused one of them to come back and showed his gratitude to Jesus. He was cleaned of the shameful disease. He was presentable to the priest and everyone else. He was no longer in that shameful condition. He experienced the power and grace of God. That caused him to come back to praise God and demonstrated his grateful heart to the Lord. We need to experience God and His grace, realizing that He is the power and the source of who we are and all we have then we will have a grateful heart.

4)   He demonstrated his gratitude: I am sure all ten men were happy that they were cleaned of leprosy but there was only one who had come back to praise God and gave thanks to Jesus. To have a grateful heart is good, but to show your grateful heart in action is far better. Even though Jesus didn’t need anything to add to His power and majesty, acknowledging gratitude and giving praises to God for what He has done for us is the right thing to do. It is also good to bring God glory and honor so others may see Him and believe in Him. If you are grateful to God and people, do something to show it.

 

CONCLUSION: 

1)     Saving the lost art: Let us not forget all those basic courtesy and manner we learned from kindergarten days. Growing older shouldn’t make us ruder or less grateful. We didn’t bring anything into this world when we came here. All that we have are blessings and good will either from God or people around us. It is good and appropriate to show our gratitude every time opportunity comes around.

2)     Show gratitude in action: While gratitude is an emotional condition on the inside, it needs to be expressed on the outside in words and deeds like the Samaritan man did. We don’t have to have our leprosy cleaned before we feel grateful. Say those two magic words: “Thank you!” anytime you are on the receiving end of a good will or deed. Do the same to God when you realize how much we are indebted to His goodness.

3)     One thing we all must do: How should we response to the ultra self sacrifice God has shown us in the sending of Jesus to die on the cross so men can be saved from sin? Shouldn’t we express our sincere gratitude by accepting His good will of giving us salvation? The loss we may suffer in not accepting God’s good will and mercy is worse than just an attitude problem, it is the loss of your eternal life with Him in heaven. Now is the time to show your gratitude: say to God: “I believe in Jesus.”