錯誤與糾正 (尤牧師)

經文﹕箴言97-12 2006730

 

引言﹕1承認錯誤﹕出名的癌症研究專家古德博士(Dr. Robert Good)是個既絕頂聰 明又十分勤勞的科學家。只要他看到的任何資料,他都會用來作研究的對象。 但是最令人佩服的優點卻不是這些,與他同事的人對他最高的評價是: 什麼時 候他發現在研究中出差錯,他都很快地會承認錯誤,並且馬上採取糾正措施 他的同事說﹕古博士從來不固執,他的假設任何時候出問題,他就馬上改正過 來。

2採取糾正﹕今天引用的經文出自箴言97-12,其中的重點是: 人若肯在錯 誤改正,是最美好的事。經文說一個聰明人肯在他的錯誤上學到功課,若有人 指出他的錯誤時,他不會臉紅耳赤的極力爭辦,死怕丟臉。他深知改正對他的 益處,可以使他作的更好。反過來,一個無知的人,被人指出錯誤時,會以生 氣,忿恕和強辯去爭論,這是因為他的自尊心過份澎張,死也不肯認錯。

 

犯錯的原恩﹕

1犯錯是人性﹕雖然有人會用這句話去為自己犯錯作擋箭牌。但這句話卻是千 真萬確;只要你是人,你必定會犯錯;不分年紀,性別,財富,學問,人生經 歷,社會地位,歷史上沒有一個從來未作錯事,說錯話的人。這事實一方面可 以使我們犯錯時心裏覺得好過一點(因我也是人呀!)另一方面,也可以使我 們更謙卑,更會體諒犯了錯的人,因為我們也會犯錯,只是錯在不同的事上而 已。任何認為自己從未犯錯的人,若不是過份驕傲,就是心理不正常。

2有些是無意的過錯﹕人人都犯過無意的錯誤,因為我們缺乏智慧,無法明白 全部事實,也無法預測未來的轉變。我們只能照過去的經驗,猜測,假設,但 人的假設和猜測總是對的少,錯的多。雖然是無意的錯誤,但犯錯仍然會造成 傷害,傷害自己,也傷害與我們接近,與事情有關的人。雖然錯誤是無意的, 但犯錯者仍然因此受傷;時時親近神,尋求神的指引,會減少犯無意的錯誤。

3有意的錯誤﹕因為人性中的敗壞本性,人有時會明知故犯作錯事。因這罪 性,人會故意走錯路,作錯事。這情形特別在論斷他人時更顯得清楚。人的壞 本性常常會故意將他人塗黑,抹煞別人的優點,卻放大他的弱點,大加批評。 許多時候,我們對人的論斷批評是不公正,不公平的。我們有時又會掉在明知 故犯的陷阱中,結果是自己吃苦果,也傷害他人。

4不斷犯錯﹕人的最大毛病不是會作錯,乃是重覆犯錯。人若不斷犯錯, 就很難再有爭辯的藉口或理由。第一次作錯,還可以原諒自己,得到別人的原 諒,但若一再作錯,就沒有藉口了。人若故意任意孤行,故意違反聖經教導, 故意硬著心走錯路,故意不為自己為別人著想,要一再犯錯,就是無藥可救的 人。

 

糾正錯誤的困難﹕

1糾正錯誤是難事﹕被人糾正當然是難過的事,要去糾正別人也是困難。要糾 正他人很難,因為我們很難了解他人的背景,原因,和複雜的因素。要找適合 的時間,方式,去表達你的善意也不容易。反過來,你若作錯事,有人來糾正 你,也是難事。要有足夠的量度才能接受人家的指正,甚至批評,更要有謙卑 的心態去接受人家的建議,自己會認錯,並且要有勇氣去改正錯誤。

2錯誤必須改正﹕正如苦藥治病一樣,改正錯誤是必要的,雖然不容易,沒有 人可以不斷犯錯卻若無其事一樣。你若犯錯,就必須誠實認錯,你需要有人肯 指出你的錯,你的家人,好友,愛你為你好的人,他們就像鏡子一樣,能看出 你的錯來,有時候 我們自己看不出來的錯處。偶然作錯是人之常情,但一再作 錯,就大有問題。不論是在 家中,在學校,在工作地方,與人相處,在教會, 不可以一錯再錯,不然,必會傷害你的一生。所以,我們需要有人常常提醒我 們。

3用愛心糾正錯誤﹕保羅教導我們,在改正他人錯誤時必須要有愛心。用愛心 誠實話。(弗415)是個很重要的動機。你若因自己的驕傲,自視,想去 改正他人,必然不會成功。我們要自知我並不比他好。我也有錯,只是錯的地 方不同而已。你若對他沒有足夠的愛心,就要等待,沒有愛心的糾正會變成責 備和衝突,雙方受害。

4改正錯誤要方法正確﹕就算你的愛心充足,動機純正,還要注意用適當的方 法;適合的時間,地點,適合的言語,態度,並且注意對方是否有適合的心情 接受你的糾正。上述各項中若有一項不適合,你的好心就不會得到預其目的果 效。你也要注意,你是不是傳達糾正的最適合人選,對方是否有心接受糾正。 在輔導學上有一條原則: 在對方未向你請教前,不要給什麼建議。因為對方尚 未準備接受你的建議,你說了等於沒說。糾正不能勉強。

 

聖經對糾正錯誤的教訓﹕

1誠實地察驗你的心﹕大衛王是個成功的君王,但他仍然謙卑地求神查察他的 內心。他說;神呀,求你監察我,知道我的心思,試練我,知道我的意念,看 在我裏面有什麼惡念沒有。(詩13923-24)對付錯誤的第一步是誠懇地查察 你的心思意念,看看有什麼得罪神得罪人的地方,誠實地,謙卑地省察自己, 是對付錯誤的起點。不可讓驕傲難阻你看到自己的錯誤。誠實地看你的真面 目。

2誠實地認罪和悔改﹕當先知撒母耳指出掃羅王的錯誤時,掃羅馬上承認他的 過失,求撒母耳說,我有罪了,。。。現在求你赦免我的罪。(撒上1524- 25)浪子也是一樣,當他知道自己作錯了時,他就回去告訴父親說;父親,我 得罪了天,又得罪了你,我不配作你的兒女。犯錯之後又硬心,又驕傲,又強 辯,想要將錯的說成對的,只會使錯誤越錯。

3不要恨指正你的人﹕神時常會差人來指出我們的錯誤,因為神不願意看到我 們一錯再錯。所羅門王說;當有人指出我們的錯誤時,我們的反應要像智慧 人,接受別人的好意,指正,並且改過。不要像愚頑人,反駁,嘰嘲,甚至憎 恨改正他的人。(98不要責備褻慢人,恐怕他恨你,要責備智慧人,他必 愛你。對人家好意愛心的責備,我們要謙卑地接受,承認自己錯誤,並且採取 行動去改正,並要向指正你的人表示感激,使你不會再覆錯誤。

4改正錯誤的益處﹕所羅門王說接受改正是福氣,他說;教導智慧人,他就越 發有智慧,指示義人,他就增長學問,敬畏耶和華是智慧的開端,認識至聖者 便是聰明,你藉著我,日子必增多,年歲也必加添,你若有智慧,是與自己有 益,你若褻慢,就必獨自擔當。99-12)接受糾正,改正錯誤不是羞恥的 事,拒絕糾正,一意孤行,才是羞恥。

 

結論﹕1人人都犯錯﹕不要驕傲,以為只有別人才會犯錯,你也要對犯錯的人寬容, 忍耐。改正自己,才能改正他人,你不一定比別人好到那裏。

2人人需要糾正﹕被人糾正時要謙卑接受,要感謝他,因為他愛你才想你改正 作得更好。要馬上接受指正,並且以行動去改正,並且注意不再重犯。

3悔改並且得赦﹕人所犯的最大錯誤是不肯接受耶穌作救主,不肯信他,不肯 認罪悔改,當聖靈感動你的心時,你不可硬著心,要馬上認罪悔改,接受神的 赦免,就必得著神賜的永生。

“MISTAKES AND CORRECTIONS”                            By Pastor YAU

Text: Proverbs 9:7-12; 2 Timothy 3:16-17                       July 30, 2006

                                                

INTRODUCTION:

1)    Recognize mistakes: Famous cancer researcher Dr. Robert Good was a hard-driving scientist with enormous faculty for new ideas. He had the ability to make use of any information he came across. However, the most impressed statement credited him “with a willingness to recognize any error in his research and made correction faster than anyone else in medical research.” One of his associates said, “Dr. Good never gets married to his hypothesis, so he doesn’t go through the pangs of divorce when one is proven wrong.”

2)    Make corrections: The Scripture reference today from Proverbs 9:7-12 puts a high premium on such a willingness to see one’s error and admit it. It describes a wise man as one who is willing to learn from his mistakes. When challenged, he resists the urge to get his back up like a threatened tomcat. Instead, correction becomes a faithful friend and a necessary means to improvement. On the other hand, when a scoffer is rebuked, he responds with anger and hatred. Because of his over inflated ego, he won’t listen when told he has made a mistake.

 

THE PROBLEM OF MISTAKES:

1)   It is part of being human: Even though some may use this sentence as excuse for making more mistakes, the statement is true to all people, young and old, rich and poor, educated or illiterate and everyone else in between. No one in human history has ever lived a life that is without mistakes. On one hand this fact gives us some degree of comfort when mistakes are made. On the other hand, it should humble all of us that we are all capable of making mistakes. For anyone to claim or think he has never made any mistake is beyond honesty or reason.

2)   Some are honest mistakes: Most of us have made honest mistakes because we lack wisdom and ability to foresee the future. We can only guess and sometimes our guessing is not good or right enough and mistakes are made. Honest mistakes are still hurtful. They still hurt those who made them and people close to them. Although honest mistakes are inevitable, we suffer consequences because of that. Seeking guidance of God and advices of man may reduce the chances of honest mistakes.

3)   Others are willful ones: Due to the evil nature of man, we also make many mistakes because of our inherent sinful nature. With this depraved nature, we tend to choose wrong more than right, bad more than good and evil more than righteous. This is especially true when we deal with people and make judgments on them. Our depraved nature tends to focus on the dark side of others and make wrong judgments on them. This depraved nature also lures us into making wrong choices for our life and bring pain and suffering on ourselves and others.

4)   Repeated mistakes: Our problem on this issue is not that we make mistakes but we repeatedly make the same or similar mistakes. The fact that we repeat same mistakes puts us on a defenseless situation. We can understand and find consolation on our first mistakes, but how can we find justification on repeated mistakes? It is that diehard blindness or arrogance or willful disregard of God’s grace and human responsibility that leads us to repeat many mistakes. No one is immune from making mistakes but no one is entitled to repeat the same mistakes.

 

THE PROBLEM OF CORRECTION:

1)      Correction is difficult: This is true both to the one who corrects and the one who is being corrected. It is difficult to the one who corrects because there are many issues involved in giving correction: knowing all the facts, making a proper understand and judgment, discerning the intention, both yours and the offender and finding a proper time and means to communicate your advice of correction. On the other hand, to be corrected is never easy either. It takes an extra portion of grace to accept advice or even criticism, a huge amount of humility to admit wrong and lots of courage and wisdom to correct the mistakes that had been done. That’s why too often, no one wants to tell anyone he is wrong and few wrong doers want to correct their own mistakes.

2)      Correction is necessary: Just as bitter medicine is good to heal sickness, correcting wrongs is absolutely necessary even though it is never easy. No reasonable people who had made a mistake would think it doesn’t matter and goes on repeat the mistake again and again. If you are the wrong doer and are honest of your well being, you want someone whom you trust to tell you if you have done wrong. Our family, loved ones, good friends, they are all mirrors of our life and they see things in us we can’t see from our standing. Making mistakes once in a while is being human. But continue to make mistakes repeatedly and frequently at home, in school or at work or with relationships may ruin your life. That’s why we need someone to correct us from time to time.

3)      Correction done with love: Paul, the Apostle, advised us that when we try to tell others the truth of their mistakes, we must do it because of love. “Telling the truth in love,” Paul said. (Ephesians 4:15) Never try to correct anyone because of your own pride or to humiliate the person or to put him down or because you pity him. Always bear in mind that you are no better than him only you made different mistakes. If you don’t have that sincere love for that person, you better wait until you have before you try to correct anyone.

4)      Correction done properly: Even if you have the best intention and genuine love for that person, you still need to be careful to find a proper time, proper place, use proper words, proper attitude and see if he/she is in proper condition to listen to your words of correction. Anything of the above if improperly executed may cause harm than help both to you and the other person. You also need to see if you are the proper person to bring up the correction. You also need to see if the offender is in condition to receive advice. One of the guidelines for giving advice is: never give unsolicited advice because the other party is not ready to listen to you. You can never force in correction on anyone when he/she doesn’t feel the need.

 

HANDLING CORRECTION THE BIBLE WAY:

1)   Honest search of the heart: As powerful and successful as King David, he beseeched God to search his heart in Psalm 139:23-24: “Search me, O God, and know my heart. Test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me.” The very first step in handling mistakes is to honestly search our hearts to see if there is anything offensive to God and to man. Having a heart of humility and honestly seeking to know ourselves is the beginning of correcting our mistakes. Don’t allow pride gets in the way of seeing your mistakes. Be honest to see the true you

2)   Sincere confession and repentance: When Prophet Samuel pointed out the mistake King Saul had done, Saul immediately confessed his mistake and asked for forgiveness. “Then Saul said to Samuel ‘I have sinned. I have violated the Lord’s command and your instruction…Now I beg you, forgive my sin.’” (1 Samuel 15:24-25) The same is true with the prodigal son. When he realized that he has made a mistake in his life, he went back and told his father: “Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.” Being arrogant and defensive trying to justify your mistakes can only make things worse.

3)   Don’t hate the messenger: God often times sends his messenger to help us correct our mistakes because He wants to see that we don’t repeat that same mistake again. King Solomon advised that when someone points out our mistakes, we need to act like a wise man to welcome the message and correct our mistakes accordingly instead of being a mocker or a fool who insults and hates the messenger. (9:8) “Do not rebuke a mocker (fool) or he will hate you. Rebuke a wise man and he will love you.” Be humble to accept good willed criticism or advice, admit your mistake and take appropriate steps to correct the mistake. Be thankful that someone loves you enough to point out your wrong so you may do it right next time.

4)   Benefits of correction: Solomon advocated the benefits of being wise to accept advice and correct mistakes in the following verses: “Instruct a wise man and he will be wiser still; teach a righteous man and he will add to his learning. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. For through me your days will be increased and years will be added to your life. If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you; if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.” (9:9-12) Accepting advice and make corrections is never a shameful thing. To refuse advice in pride and arrogance is.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   We all make mistakes: Don’t be too proud to think only others make mistakes. We all do. So, be gentle and generous to those who make mistakes. Correct your own mistakes before you can see better to correct others. No one is better than others.

2)   We all need corrections: Be humble and sincere to receive advice on correcting our mistakes. Also be thankful that people love you enough to tell you the truth. Be quick to recognize your fault and be sincere to take steps of remedy to correct the wrong.

3)   Repent and be saved: Your biggest mistake is not to accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior and through believing in Him your sins are forgiven. When the Word of God and His Holy Spirit move your heart to confess your sin, do it now and receive forgiveness from Him and enjoy the blessing of eternal life.