“願你一生蒙福 ”                                                                   (尤牧師)

經文﹕以弗所書61-3 申命記516                      (Parents’ Day) 200565

 

引言﹕幾個月前,我在一個書店翻書,有一本書吸引了我的注意,因為在”序言”部份,作者舉七個問題要讀者誠實回答。

1)     你實實在在相信神真的愛你,並且他真的樂意天天賜福給你嗎?

2)     你實實在在相信你的父母真的無私地愛你,他們永遠誠實,對你的愛永不改變嗎?

3)     如果你已經結婚,你跟配偶的關係和諧,你毫無疑問完全信任他嗎?你是否真的認為你能與他結婚是你一生的福份嗎?

4)     如果你有孩子,你跟孩子的關係和諧嗎?他們尊敬你嗎?聽話嗎?他們肯與 你分享他們的生活中發生的事嗎?

5)     如果你在外工作,你喜歡現在的工作嗎?你和上司同事關係好嗎?你覺得工作有意義,前途光明嗎?

6)     你如果是個基督徒,你對你的教會滿意嗎?對教會中的人,特別是領袖,你喜歡他們嗎?你對教會有什麼貢獻嗎?

7)     對於你現在的人生,事業,家庭,人生目標,健康狀況,經濟條件覺得滿意嗎?

 

作者是位出名的基督徒輔導家,他的目的是想了解在他的眾多讀者中,他們的人生情況如何?調查的結果是這樣;絕大多數人,包括不少基督徒,他們的人生並不快樂,不滿意,他們的生活,各種事情不如心願的很多。

          聖經給我們指出一個與上述情況不同的答案。神答應屬他的人一生都會蒙福,諸事順利。(弗63)神給我們一個達到這人生目標的藍圖,使我們的人生,所作的事都順利,滿意,快樂,長壽和健康。這藍圖的出發點是;尊敬和服從父母。(61-2)這藍圖中有些要點是我們該注意的﹕

 

基本觀念

1)                 這是什麼藍圖?這是神給的藍圖,不是人的指示,是神賜的誡命。神賜給人類十誡,其中分成兩部份;第一部份是有關人與神的關係,人如何對待神。第二部份是人與人之間的關係,人如何對待人。在第二部份人與人之間的關係中,神將兒女如何對待父母放在最前面。許多心理學家和輔導專家都同意﹕兒女與父母之間的關係,對於孩子性格的發展和未來人生是否快樂,有非常大的影響。我們的神是全智的神,他知道人類渴望喜樂,故此他將人際關係最基本的原則放在誡命中。

2)                 誰需要這藍圖?這誡命是為天下作兒女的人而設立的;包括任何年齡,財富,教育,地位,權力的兒女在內。只要你是人,你就必然是父母的兒女,不論你現在身份多高,財富多大,你還是你父母的兒女,在聖經原文中,兒女的意思是”活在父母權柄下的人”

                   今天太多作兒女者,特別是青少年人,他們自以為他們已經長大了,因此,                       不必再服從父母的權柄,不必聽從父母的意見和教導。這種態度顯然是直接遺背       神的誡命。不管你年紀大小,不論你智慧多高,不管你多麼成功,不管你學                   業成績多好,你永遠是你父母的兒女,神的這條誡命就是為你寫的。

3)           為何要有這藍圖?因為神要作兒女的作”當作”的事(理所當然的事);就是尊敬和服從父母。”理所當然”的原文是”按照規則而行”。在神創造的萬物中,神都立了一些”規則”,使各物運行無誤。神給兒女立了”行為的規則”,使兒女在家庭中尊敬服從父母。許多家庭的破碎,痛苦,都是因為兒女不肯按照神所立的規則 而行,任何人若要尋求人生有意義,有成就,他必須認真遵行神這誡命;尊敬和順從父母,別無他法。

4)    這藍圖有什麼特別?這誡命的特別之處是﹕它是神所賜第一條帶有應許的誡命(2節)雖然順從父母是我們的本份責任,但神對肯尊敬順從父母的人有特別的祝福。神認為尊重父母是一切社會制度和個人品格的基礎,也是人際關係的起點。因此,神特別對守這誡命者祝福。

 

藍圖的根據”在主裏”;最少有三個意思﹕

1)          我們尊敬順服父母,要像尊敬順服主一樣,父母是神安排在家中的代表,我們若不能不肯尊敬順服看得見的父母,怎能尊敬服從看不見的神呢?父母是神在家中立的權威,我們若順從神,就必須順從父母。

2)          我們必須信主才能明白主的教導,才能尊行主的教導。未信主的人不可能認識明白主的心意。信主是順從主的起點,我們才知道如何去順從父母。

3)          你的父母若未信主,我們對他們的第一責任就是領他們信主,這不只是使他們得與神和好,得永生,並且會讓你和父母之間共同的信仰,價值和作人作事方式,會增長父母與子女之間的和睦。

 

我當作什麼這誡命要我們作兒女的作兩件事﹕

1)          順從﹕原文是指”在下聽命”,正如士兵在下聽長官的命令,或是僕人在下聽上面主人的命令。這是指人要守”本位”和要有適當的”態度”,就是謙卑,今天太多兒女者不肯服”在下”的地位,不肯謙卑,故此,就不肯聽從父母的教導。

2)          尊敬﹕原意是”寶貝””高舉”,即是”敬重”。我們敬重父母,不只是因為他們的智慧,經驗,地位和成就,最基本的是;他們是你的父母,我們就有責任高舉他們,寶貝他們的教導,以他們為榮,使我們所行所作,給他們帶來榮耀和喜樂,而不加給他們羞恥或痛心。

 

這誡命有什麼祝福神應許兩大福份﹕

1)          你的一生必蒙福﹕”蒙福”原意是順利,成就,心滿意足,在一切所作的事上有好果效。這不就是今天人類天天祈求的嗎?這和你對父母的態度有關係嗎?如果你敬重父母,必凡事蒙福。

2)          你必在世長壽﹕聖經中以”長壽”表示神祝福你的身體和心靈健康,內心的平安,精神充沛,這是指人內心的感受,不只是長壽,也是活得快樂。

 

我若不照聖經而行又怎麼樣你若不尊敬不順從你的父母,你會失去神應許的祝福,就是長壽,健康和喜樂,但這是小事。一個不肯順從不敬重父母人尚有更大的害處,就是品格上的破口﹕

1)          他不會有感激的心﹕這種人不會欣賞感激父母為他們所作的,供應的,他們會認為世界的人都欠他們的債。當他們將這態度帶到別的關係中時,例如婚姻,工作,交友等,這種人必會有許多衝突,因為他們總覺得別人作得不夠,不好。

2)          他們不信任父母的愛心,善意,經驗和動機。將這心態帶到與別人相處時,他們的自私,自大和驕傲會傷害他人,他們不會信任別人,不論是家人,朋友。他們常活在懼怕中。

3)          他們不會服從權柄﹕他們不會聽從老師,上司或任何比他有更高地位的人。他們不會甘心遵守法律,規則,容易觸犯法律,與人衝突,他們不會與人和諧合作。

 

結論﹕

1)          重建﹕今天的社會破碎不堪,因為有太多家庭破裂,婚姻破碎,兒女背叛。重建是從我們開始,基督徒必須遵行神的誡命,尊敬父母,這是重建的起點。

2)          從我家作起﹕回到家中,開始表達你對父母的尊敬和順服,凡事樂意幫助,使你的家更溫暖,更整潔,更多喜樂。看看神怎樣祝福你所作的一切。

3)          若你父母不在身邊﹕你仍然可以立志尊敬和順從他們,打電話,寫信表達你的心意。趁著父母還在,盡量作些好事,你這樣作就是榮耀神,必從神接受他應許的福份。

“MAY YOUR LIFE GO WELL WITH YOU”           By Pastor YAU

Ephesians 6:1-3; Deut. 5:16                        Parents’ Day, June 5, 2005

 

INTRODUCTION:  A few months ago I was at a Christian bookstore browsing through books. One particular book got my attention because the writer asked the following questions in the opening page:

1)   Do you really believe that God truly loves you everyday and wants to give you His blessings?

2)   Do you really believe that your parents truly love you, all unselfish, honest and will never change?

3)   If you are married, do you have a very smooth relationship with your spouse and trust him/her without question? Do you also believe that it is really a blessing to your life to marry him/her?

4)   If you have children, do you have a smooth relationship with them? Do they respect you as they should? Do they obey you, trust you and share with you things in their lives?

5)   If you work outside of your home, are you happy with your job? Do you have a good relationship with your boss, coworkers? Do you find it meaningful in what you do and your future is bright?

6)   If you are a Christian, are you happy with your church, people at the church, especially the leaders? Are you a blessing to the church you go?

7)   Are you happy with your life, your career, your family, goals of life, your health condition and material possessions, etc?

 

       The author was a popular Christian counselor. He wanted to find out how well were things in the lives of his readers. The result of his survey was that great majority of people, including some self-proclaimed Christians, are not happy with their lives. Things in their lives were not going well at all.

       But the Bible presents to us a different picture. God has promised His people that their lives and all things around them will go well. (Eph. 6:3) He has given us a blueprint for a happy, satisfactory and long life if we start out right, follow His guidelines: honor and obey our parents. (6:1-2) The blueprint contains some important points we may follow to achieve the intended results:

 

BASIC QUESTIONS ON THE BLUEPRINT:

1)   What is in the blueprint? This is a Commandment of God, not of man. There are two parts in the Ten Commandments: The first part contains the Commandments between man and God and the second part is about Commandments between man and man. God cares not just how man relates to Him. He also cares how man treats his fellow man. In the man-to-man part, God placed how children should relate to their parents as the first important Commandment. Many counselors and psychiatrists agree with this commandment that relationships between children and their parents play a major role in the development and happiness of the children. Our God is a God of wisdom. He knows the best of our needs. That’s why He puts this Commandment as the foundation of all human relationships.

2)   Who need this blueprint? This Commandment is for children, all children, regardless of age, wealth, education, status, power or anything else. If you are a person, you are a child of your parents regardless of who you are and what you have now. In the original text children means “all who are under the authority of parents.”  Too many children, especially teens, think they have grown up enough and therefore they are no longer under the authority of their parents. They think they do not need to listen to their parents much less to obey them. This kind of attitude is a direct violation to the commandment of God. It doesn’t matter how old or how smart you think you are or how well you may do with your school or job, you are always a child to your parents and this commandment is for you.

3)   Why is there a blueprint anyway? Because God sees it “right” or good for children to honor and obey their parents. The Greek word “right” means “in good order”. It is God who sets orders for everything to run well in His creation. The order He set for parents and children in families is for children to honor and obey their parents. Many dysfunctional and broken families are the results of disobedient children. Anyone who seeks meaningful and productive life need to heed this Commandment: honor and obey your parents. There is NO other way.

4)   Why is it so special? This Commandment is so special because it is the FIRST and ONLY Commandment with a promise. (v.2)While it is our duty to obey all Commandments of God, He gave special promise to those who follow this one: obey and honor parents. God sees honoring and obeying parents as foundational in social orders and in the building up of character and personality in children to obey and honor parents. This also is the foundation of all human relationships. That’s why God sees it fit to pronounce His blessings on those who obey His Command.

 

THE BASIS OF THE BLUEPRINT: The basis of this Commandment is: “IN THE LORD”---It is because of the LORD.

1)   We need to honor and obey our parents as we obey and honor the Lord. They are His representatives in the family. If you cannot honor and obey your parent whom you can see, how can you honor and obey God whom you cannot see? Your parents are the authority God places in your life. If you obey God, obey parents.

2)   We need to believe in the Lord, to become believers, to know the truth of the Lord and obey them. Only believers of God know the truth and teaching of God. Believing in God will receive clear guidelines and wisdom from God to obey parents.

3)   If we have non-believer parents, it is our first duty to lead them to the Lord. This will not just connect them with God for salvatio0n and eternal life. It also provides the common ground for values and approach in daily life.

 

WHAT IS REQUIRED OF ME?  This Commandment requires us to:

1)    Obey: It means “listen under” as soldiers to commanders or servants to masters. This is about position and attitude: being humble. Too many children are not willing to keep their position as children and be humble enough to their parents and therefore seldom listen and obey them.

2)    Honor: It means “to treasure” or “to hold high”. This means to respect. We respect our parents not just because of their wisdom, experiences, position, achievements, education or anything else. We respect them simply because they ARE parents. We are to hold them high, feel proud, treasure them and we are to do things to bring them joy and honor instead of shame and sadness.

 

WHAT ARE THE BLESSINGS?  God promised many blessings to those who follow His commandment.  

1)   Your life may go well: Going well means smooth ride, successful, satisfaction and many others related to what you do. Isn’t this what most people are looking for? Think of it why your life is not going as you want it to be? Does it have to do with your attitude toward your parents? Your life could go well if you honor your parents.

2)   You may enjoy long life: Long life in the Bible represents God’s blessings in your heart and your body: good health, inner peace and joy, keen mental condition, feeling good and carefree. This is about how you feel. It is not just long life but happy life.

 

WHAT HAPPEN IF I DON’T FOLLOW?  If you do not honor or obey your parents, the least is that God will not bestow on you His blessings: long and healthy life and things go well in what you do. But that is not the worst. Many children who do not obey nor honor their parents are people who have defective personalities:

1)   They take things for granted. They don’t appreciate things parents do for them or provide them. They feel that the whole world owes them everything and it begins with their parents. When they bring this bad attitude to other relationships: marriage, workplace and friendship, they will have constant conflict with people around them because they never feel enough.

2)   They don’t trust parents’ love, wisdom, good will, life experience and motives. When they bring this attitude to others in their life, their self-centeredness and pride will ruin other people. They will have suspicion and mistrust on people around them: family, friends and anyone who may relate to them. Life is always in fear to them.

3)   They won’t respect authority: they will have hard time to follow orders from their teachers, supervisors or anyone who is in higher position than theirs. They will not obey laws and orders. They are going to get tangled up in legal trouble or personal conflicts. They just can’t function as team-workers.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)     Rebuild the system: This country is being ruined by dysfunctional families, broken marriages and rebellious children. The way to come back begins from us, Christians who believe and obey the Commandments of God and therefore obey and honor our parents. It is our responsibility to rebuild the system God had instituted for this world.

2)     Begin at your own home: Go back to your own homes and show your respect and love to your parents. Help them anyway you can to make your family and home more admirable, warm and cheerful. Then wait and see how God is going to bless you as He has promised: things in your life will go well with you.

3)     When parents are not with you: If your parents are not here today, make that decision in your heart to honor and obey them. Write and call to demonstrate your commitment. Do all you can while you still have the opportunity. You will honor God and receive blessing of His promises when you honor and obey your dad and mom.