繼續走 (尤牧師)

經文﹕何西亞書111-4 20061015

 

引言1一個父親的喜樂﹕一位父親記述他幫助他孩子學走路的喜樂。記得我家孩 子學走路的時候,(那是都多年前的事)首先,他們會扶著椅子學站起來,然 後嘗試向前走一兩步。我和太太倆人會伸長我們雙手,鼓勵他們繼續向前走, 走到我們這邊來,有時候我們會拉著他們的小手,或是提起他們所穿褲子的吊 帶,幫助他們起步。儘管他們學走路的樣子可怪,但我們作父母的一點都不介 意,我們會不斷地鼓勵,當他們跌倒時,我們會將他們抱起來,他們灰心啼哭 時,我們會拍拍他們的背安慰他們,我們永不放棄扶持他們,直到他們真正會 走路時心中覺得樂不可支,心滿意足。

2我們天父的喜樂﹕當我們的天父在教導以色列走路時也是如此,神會拉住 他們的膀臂,用慈繩牽牽引他們(何113-4),我們的天父會站在我們前面, 伸出他的雙手,鼓勵我們向前走。我們跌倒了,他會扶起,儘管我們進度緩 慢,神永不灰心,他不會放棄我們,永遠會扶持我們,當我們需要祂的時候, 他就在我們身邊。出名的解經家麥佐治說﹕當我們走不動時,神會幫助我 們。當我們覺得路途艱難時,神會為我們舖平。但如果我們自己不願站起來, 不願向前走,神就一點辦法也沒有。

 

為什麼要會走?

1會走是表示發育健全﹕如果一個孩子已經18個月大,卻沒有想到學走路的跡 象,作父母的就會心中不好過,因為孩子恐怕在發育中有問題。神在每個孩子 身上都預備了他到一定年齡就會走路的能力,到了年齡,還不會走路,作父母 的就會擔憂。在屬靈生命成長過程中也是一樣。每一個初信主的信徒,都是屬 靈的嬰孩,只要有正常的營養供應,他應該學會站起來,會走路。如果有人信 主許多年,卻不會站立,不會走路,仍然需要別人的幫助扶持,可見他的屬靈 生長有問題,必需認真查看他的屬靈狀況,採取步驟去改善他的情形。

2會走是表示自立﹕人人都知道,沒有一個人能離開耶穌而在屬靈上能完全自 立。我所注重的是在每天屬靈成長上自己應負的責任。一個信徒,若能在屬靈 食糧上(聖經)得到充足營養,又肯時時作適當的操練(服事),他應該會有 自立的屬靈能力,在神托付他的人生道路上站立得住,沒有人可以一輩子成為 別人的擔子,總要依靠別人才能站起來行走。信主多年的人不應該老是教會其 他人的重擔。自己要為自己的屬靈成長負責,通過學習聖經,運用恩賜,參與 服事,他就會成長,剛強,有用。保羅在哥林多前書31-2中為當時的信徒不 成長而憂愁。

3會走是有用的表現﹕會走路最低限度表現出一個人有能力運作。孩子會走路 之後,自己就可以上廁所,去坐在沙發上,去自己的房間,不久之後還會幫爸 爸拿報紙,幫媽媽拿小腳凳,拿本故事書。一點一點,這小孩子的功能越來越 多,越強。這表現在平時生活上和屬靈生活上一樣重要,人人都想作有用的 作個沒用的人是使人難過的事。

4會走是達成目標的途徑﹕走路表示進步,每走一步,就是達到目的地的一點 成就。在沒有發明汔車之前,走路是到達目的的唯一方法。不論你要去何處, 去作什麼,去見誰,你都必須走路去。如果你不會走,不肯去,什麼也作不 成。這道理也可應用在靈命長進上。一個信徒必須要自己願意走,肯向前走, 才能長進,健壯,有用,完成神在他身上的目標。

走路會有難處﹕

1缺乏對走路正確認識﹕出名的婚姻關係專家,也是五個愛的語言的作者卓 加里在他的書中說﹕我兒子不懂得走路的意義和益處,每逢吃完晚飯後,我邀 請他出去走走,他都拒絕。他說﹕爸,走路是無意思的,出去走走到不了什麼 地方。如果你要去什麼地方,你可以開車。這兒子真不懂得跟爸爸飯後走步的 意義。許多信主多年的人也不會認識與主同行的喜樂。他們讓太多別的事情充 塞了他們的時間表,故此,他們從來就沒有真正明白神的心意,也得不到與主 同行的福份。

2缺乏決心﹕今天這個健康第一的社會中,許多人都知道走路對身體的益 處,但仍然有許多人就是從來不肯走路。最大的原因是他們從來就沒有下決 心的力量,故此,沒有得到走路的益處,與主同行也是如此。人人都知道每 天靈修與主交通的重要和好處,就是重新得力的時間,認罪悔改的時間,去除 壞習慣的時間,但卻從來沒有下決心的力量去作天天想作的事,這些人的靈命 永遠無法長進,永遠沒得到得救之喜。

3缺乏維持力量﹕好幾個朋友告訴我一件有趣的事,他們花幾百塊錢買了很好 的跑步機,放在家裏佔了地方,除了起初那幾天曾經使用之外,就這樣經 年累月癈置在一旁,舖滿灰塵,問他們原因何在,第一個答案是;太無 聊。第二個理由太忙。太多事情佔去了他們該用來鍛鍊的時間。開始一 個好習慣不容易,維持一個好習慣就更難。許多週而復始的事看來真無 聊,但卻是很重要的事,例如呼吸,吃飯,喝水,睡覺,鍛鍊,大小便,這些 都是不斷重複,無聊,但卻是保持生命和健康不可缺少的事。有人覺得天天靈 修,讀經,禱告,每星期天上教會崇拜,查經,實在太重複,無聊,但卻是靈 命成長必須的營養和操練,如果你沒有堅持的毅力,你不會得到預期的效果。

4缺乏力量﹕走路需要體力。如果你有病,或是身體虛弱或有殘障,你就不能 行走。你必須先治好身體,除去疾病和軟弱,才能行走。屬靈生命的能力也一 樣,你要省察你的心思意念,看看裏面是否有暗藏的罪,與人有不和的關係, 不良的生活習慣,惡劣的態度,這些東西會拖慢你前進的腳步。你若期望靈命 成長健康,就必須先除去纏累你的重擔,才會有力量向前走。先除去生命中的 污點,你的靈命就健康,就可以健步跟從神。

與神同行﹕(今天經文﹕何西亞書111-4

1行在神的愛中﹕111正如父母喜歡看到兒女學走路一樣,神也喜歡以 色列人行在祂的愛中。每個父母喜歡看到兒女起初走路的樣子,不論是如何怪 狀,如何緩慢,都會引以為榮。神也喜歡我們掙扎著走向祂,我們會走路當然 重要,神看到我們會走路而表達的愛心和喜悅一樣重要,神天天想我們走得 好,走得快,走得遠,我們所盡的每一分力量,神的心都感到滿足。

2拉住神的手走﹕113我教導以法蓮行走,我拉住他們的膀臂走。神不 止期望以色列會走路,祂教導他們如何走,牽住他們的手,扶持他們向前走。 神用我們容易明白的字眼來刑容祂如何愛我們,幫助我們,扶持帶領我們。當 我們不知怎走時,他教導我們,當我們乏力時,他扶持我們,拉住我們的手 向前,神永遠不會要我們作力量不及的事,我們只要緊緊跟從祂,靠近,就 可以繼續向前。

3神會醫治我們﹕113)神說是我醫治他們,走路會有危險,不論是作鍛 鍊或是在家附近散步,路上有破洞,有石頭,有積水,有滑腳之物,不小心就 會跌倒或扭到腳受傷。神跟在我們旁邊時時準備好醫治我們的傷口。人生的道 路,受傷害是必然的事,在受傷時有神在旁邊看顧醫治我們,是件非常安慰的 事,使人心靈平安的事。不論我們的傷口多重,內心多痛,神總會包扎,醫 治,安慰,賜平安。

4跟從神的帶領﹕耶和華說﹕我用慈繩愛索引領他們。(114)我們常常聽 到有人後悔因為跟從壞人走錯路而受傷害,所以,當你走步前行時,要小心你 是跟從誰?你要認定神,看清祂的引領,從他的真道中找到正路,每天清晨與 神見面,尋求祂的旨意帶領,跟從神有時會孤單,路會難走,但你如果緊 從神,你知道你是走在正路中,這路會帶領你直到永生。(馬太714

 

結論﹕1你準備好走路嗎?要長大,會走路,使你有用而且有成就感,不要再作屬靈 的小孩。曾經跌倒過,再爬起來,再向前走。

2與神同行﹕緊緊抓住神的手,跟從祂,尋找他的旨意和引導,你就不會走錯 路。

3抓住神﹕神永遠向我們伸手,要扶持我們,醫治我們,引領我們走正路,今 天你就可以請求神進入你心中,作你生命之主,你的人生道路就滿有信心,前 途光明。

“KEEP WALKING”                                                  By Pastor YAU

Hosea 11:1-4                                                              October 15, 2006.

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)    The joy of a father: Here is a story of a father’s joy in helping his child to walk. “I remember those days long ago when our children were learning to walk. First they showed their readiness by pulling themselves up and take a tentative step or two. My wife and I would reach out our hands and encourage them to walk toward us. We held them up by their hands or by their suspenders on their overalls. We praised their every effort and encouraged their every attempt. We never grew discouraged, nor did we give up on them until they learned to walk.

2)    The joy of the heavenly Father: So it is with the heavenly Father who “taught Israel to walk”, held them “by their arms and drew them with bands of love.” (Hosea 11:3-4) Our heavenly Father stands before us with outstretched arms, encouraging us to go forward, eager to catch us when we stumble. He will pick us up when we fall and will never be discouraged by our slow progress. He will never give up on us nor will He stop care for us when we need His help the most. Famous Bible teacher George MacDonald put it this way: “God will help us when we cannot walk and He will help us when we find it hard to walk but He cannot help us if we will not get up and walk.” Even though if you fall, you must get up and try again and He will hold you by your hand.

 

WHY WALKING:

1)   It is a sign of growth:  If a child is 18 months or older and still can’t walk, most of us would suspect that there must be some problem in his growth process. God has installed in each normal child the ability to walk when he/she reaches a certain age. When it doesn’t happen, we all have concern. This is true in the spiritual sense: a new Christian is a spiritual child, with proper nourishment he/she should be able to stand up on his own and begins to learn to walk. When someone has been a Christian for years and still can’t stand up or walk but depends on others for support all the time, there must be some spiritual problem in him and he needs to look into it and find a way to correct the problem.

2)   It is a sign of self supporting: We all know that we will never be completely self supporting in our spiritual journey, but in our daily life, if we properly taking spiritual food and have proper spiritual exercise, we should be able to support ourselves to go through life and be able to do things God has designated us to do. I am not advocating self reliance but self supporting. No one should remain a burden to others after many years of being a follower of Christ. We all are responsible for our own spiritual growth and maturity. Taking spiritual food, the Bible, and exercise your gifts, service, are some of the means to grow stronger and be more useful. Paul mourned the spiritual deficiency of the early Christians at Corinth. (1 Corinth. 3:1-2) They became burdens to the church.

3)   It is a sign of usefulness: Walking at least means being able of proper functioning as a person. When a child begins to walk and walks well, he can go to the bathroom, to the couch or to his bedroom. A little later, he will be able to help mom bring a paper, a little stool or a story book. Little by little he is becoming useful. This is a very important step both in physical and spiritual life. We all want to be useful, functioning and be able to make a difference. Being useless in whatever way creates a very bad feeling.

4)   It is a means to achieve goals: Walking represents progress, one step at a time, toward achieving a goal. Before cars were invented, walking was the only way to get somewhere, to do something or to meet someone. Without the ability or willingness to walk, you will never get anywhere or achieve anything. Same principle applies in spiritual matters. You have to learn to walk and be willing to walk to grow, to mature and to achieve the purpose God has for your life.

 

THE PROBLEMS OF WALKING:

1)     Lacking proper understanding: The popular marriage/family writer Gary Chapter, author of the popular Five Love Languages, says in his book that his son doesn’t believe in walking. When Chapman invited his son to take a walk after supper, the son said, “No, dad. Walking doesn’t get you anywhere. If you want to get somewhere, you drive.” He doesn’t have the proper understanding of walking, especially walking with dad around the block after supper. Some Christians never learn to appreciate the beauty of Christian walk, much less walking closely with Christ. They allow other things to substitute the close walk with God each day and therefore they never really know God or get the benefits of doing so.

2)     Lacking determination power: In this health-sensitive society, lots of people know the benefits of walking, be it walk in the track at a health club or around the block. But still many people never take time to do just that and the primary reason is they never gear up the necessary determination to do that. They know the benefit of it but they don’t have the power to make that decision and they never receive the benefits of doing that. Same applies to our Christian walk. We all know the importance and the benefits of having a daily quiet time with God, a time designated only to prayer, a time set for worship, a sin or a bad habit we always want to get rid of, just to name a few, but we never gear up the necessary determination to do what we always know we need to do and therefore we will never be able to improve our Christian walk with God.

3)     Lacking the sustaining power: Quite a few of my friends told me that they spent hundreds of dollars to buy treadmills and had tried a few days when the machine was new but have since left them collecting dusts for months and years. They can’t keep up the routines to get the benefits of walking/running the treadmill. The primary reason they quoted for not continue the routines was “it was so boring.” They also said there are other things that took the time they suppose to exercise. To start a good habit is one thing but to sustain that habit is quite another. Many routines in life are of vital importance: eat food, drink water, breathing, sleep and exercise, to keep us not just alive but strong. Spiritual exercise is the same: they are often times so routine and boring, week after week and year after year doing the same thing. If you don’t have the sustaining power, you won’t have the results. Don’t let distractions rob you of spiritual health.

4)     Lacking the strength: Walking takes physical strength. You can’t walk if you are sick or have physical infirmities. You have to deal with the sickness and get rid of whatever infirmity you may have before you are able to walk again. The same applies to your walk with Christ. Search your life and heart to see if there are hidden sins, unsolved problems with people, secret evil thoughts and not so good attitudes, just to list a few, which are dragging you slow or even stop in your spiritual growth. You can’t carry a heavy load of sin or the world and hope for good progress. Confess your sins to Jesus and ask for forgiveness, restore that broken relationship with people, clean up your heart of the evil thoughts and bad attitudes and you will be spiritually healthy again to continue your walk with God.

 

WALKING WITH GOD: (Today’s text: Hosea 11:1-4)

1)     Walk in His love: (11:1) Just as parents love to see their children learn to walk, God also loved to see Israel learned to walk in His love as a child. All parents love to see those first steps their children made, regardless of how clumsy they may be. God also loves to see us struggle to take the first step in walking with Him. It is more than just our learning to walk it is also the expression of God’s love in seeing us growing up and learning to progress. God loves to see we grow stronger, do better, walk further and mature more. Every effort we may try, no matter how funny, and every achievement we may attain, no matter how small, they all are precious in His sight because of His love.

2)     Walk in His hands: (11:3) “It was I taught Ephraim to walk, taking them by their arms.” God did not just expect Israel be able to walk, He taught them how to walk and held them up by holding their arms. God uses words we can clearly understand how He helps us to walk when we don’t know or are unable to. If you don’t know how to walk with God, He will teach you. If you lack strength to walk with God, He will hold you up and lead you go. God never demands anything from us knowing we can’t do it by ourselves. He will always be there to hold us up when we are too weak to continue. Listen to His instructions and hold on to His hands.

3)     Rest in His healing: (11:3b) “It was I who healed them,” God said. There are risks involved in walking, be it going somewhere or for exercise purpose. There are also dangers on the roadway we walk: potholes, rocks, stumbling, ditches and other objects that may cause us to trip, to fall and get hurt. God knows them all and is ever ready and able to bind our wounds, heal our hurts and calms our souls. God will never leave us alone in our walk with Him. He is watching over us everyday and everywhere we may go and will heal our hurts to give us a break and rest. In this world of danger and uncertainty, getting hurt is inevitable no matter where you may go. But you can be assured of God’s power of healing. In Him no wound is too serious beyond His caring hands.

4)     Follow His leading: “I led them with cords of kindness and ties of love,” said the Lord. (11:4) We heard many mourned their defeat and pain because they followed the wrong leader or the crowd. So as you set out the walk of your life, make sure you follow the lead God set for you. Seek His guidance, His roadmap from His word, and you will never get lost into the wrong way or sideway. Focus on Him each morning, find out His plan for your life and follow His instruction in the Bible to deal with life challenges. Sometimes you may feel lonely, other times you may find it hard, but if you walk closely with Jesus, that is the right path leading to eternal life. (Matt. 7:14)

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    Are you ready to walk now?  Grow up and begin to walk. It is by walking you prove you are useful and productive. Stop being a child. Try your best to get up and walk. Stumble? Get up, try again.

2)    Walk with God: Hold on to the hands of God and follow His lead. Seek His face and guidance each day and you won’t go strayed.

3)    Reach for His hand:  God’s hand is always out stretched to hold us when we fall, to heal us when we hare hurt, to guide us when we don’t know the way. Ask God to come into your heart and make Him the guide of your life. Then you will walk with confidence every day.