該是饒恕的時候 (尤牧師)

經文﹕路加2326-34 2006910

 

引言﹕1一件值得記念的事﹕在印尼首都耶加達有一個教會正在舉行佈道會。開始那一 晚,講員早到了一點。牧師帶他去參觀教會的建築物。該教堂建築美觀,令人印象 甚深。最後,牧師帶著客人到聯誼廳,看到最前面放著一張聖餐桌,桌子後面有一 面平凡的石牆,牆上掛了個木頭造的十字架,十字架下面有一個木牌,上面用印尼 文寫了兩行字。講員是外地來的,他問牧師木牌上寫了些什麼,牧師說﹕木牌寫的 是耶穌的話,就是父啊,赦免他們,因為他們所作的,他們不曉得

2一句話背後的故事﹕講員問牧師為什麼要寫這句話?牧師回答說﹕好幾年前, 耶加達發生大暴動,有二十多間教會被人放火燒盡,我們的教堂是其中的一間。你 看到的石牆是唯一仍然站立的牆。那石牆和上面的十字架下面的那句話,正是顯 示耶穌基督饒恕人的記念。報復只會使仇恨更深,傷口更流血,但饒恕卻醫治了傷 口,正像耶穌2000年前一樣。

 

為何要饒恕?

1因為神如此待我們﹕許多人不明白基督信仰中神饒恕罪人的教導。他們將人 的罪過,分成為幾個等級;有些是輕微的,有些是嚴重的。他們認為;如果神是公 義的神,他不可能赦免那些一生無惡不作,等到生命最後才信耶穌的人,就像耶穌 饒恕那與他同釘十字架的殺人犯一樣,但這正是基督信仰中最美的一點。不論人的 罪何等嚴重,何等凶殘,只要他真心悔改,為罪傷痛,神都會赦免,這就是約翰一 19所說人若認自己的罪,神是信實的,是公義的,必要赦免我們的罪,洗淨 我們一切的不義。

2除此之外,別無他法﹕試想像一下,假如神不饒恕人先時所犯的罪,人能作什 麼去除掉他已犯的罪呢?如何能與神和好呢?人還能回去不作他已犯的罪嗎?他 能作些好事去補償他已作的惡事嗎?他能作什麼去彌補別人因他犯罪的傷害呢?他 又能作什麼,可以付清他因罪而得罪神呢?不饒恕人的罪,人如何能救自己呢?

3都是因為有愛﹕饒恕和愛是不可分開的。什麼時候有愛,什麼時候就有饒恕。 神就是愛,也是一切愛的源頭。神不可能不斷記住人的罪,多到他無法饒恕,約 316說﹕神愛世人,奠下了神無限饒恕的基礎。正如父母永遠會饒恕自己的兒 女一樣,神對我們的愛比父母對兒女的愛何止高過千萬倍,當心中充滿了愛,饒恕 是極自然的事。

4這是神的吩咐﹕聖經中,耶穌和使徒保羅的教導,都要信徒彼此饒恕,正如神 饒恕我們一樣,(馬太614-15 1835,弗432,西313等)耶穌和保羅 將我們饒恕人和神饒恕我們連在一起,如果我們想得到神的赦免,(我想人人都 要)我們就必須饒恕別人,這是神的命令,是無可選擇的。饒恕的重點不在乎對方 值不值得你去饒恕他,乃是我們該聽神的話。

 

聖經中饒恕的教導﹕

1神是饒恕的神﹕聖經對神的描寫是多方面的,從全能的創造者到謙卑的僕人, 從偉大的教師到十字架上的囚犯,聖經記載耶穌的降生和受死,就是為了給我們一 個明確的信息;神就是愛,他樂意饒恕世人的罪。從違背神旨意的始祖到多番背逆 的以色列人,一直到耶穌在十字架上說的那句話,都指出﹕神饒恕人的罪的道理, 如果你將聖經中神饒恕人的教訓除去,根本就沒有福音,不必要有教會,耶穌也 不必降生,不必死在十字架上,信徒也不必作見証,人也不必相耶穌,什麼都不必 了。就是因為神赦免人的罪,我們今天才有這美好的信息。

2耶穌是赦罪的救主﹕今天經文的最後一句話是耶穌的禱告,他被釘在十字架在 生命的最後一刻,他祈求天父赦免那些將他釘死在十字架上的人。雖然釘他在十字 架上的人是那麼殘忍兇惡,但耶穌求天父饒恕他們,因為耶穌認為是因為他們所 作的他們不曉得。2324)耶穌的降生,他的被釘死,都是為了赦免世人的 當施浸約翰首次公開介紹耶穌時,他說看哪,神的羔羊,除去(赦免)世人罪惡 (約129)正是因為這神羔羊的血,我們的罪才獲得赦免,饒恕。

3福音是饒恕的信息﹕聖經中描寫神許多持性,整個基督信仰的中心是神的愛和 饒恕,這是福音信仰的最重要一點,正因為要饒恕世人的罪,耶穌才會降生,也因 為要使世人的罪得赦免,福音不斷呼求人悔改,得永生。因為要使世人的罪得饒 恕,耶穌才差遣我們要到地極去傳福音。假如沒有饒恕就沒有福音信息,沒有得 救,也沒有永生。

4信徒是饒恕的人﹕在整個新約聖經中,耶穌和保羅的教訓,都不斷要信徒彼此 饒恕。因為我們是人,總免不了會彼此得罪,因此,必須彼此饒恕。人人都知道饒 恕不是一件容易的事。故此,彼得才問耶穌他必需饒恕得罪他的弟兄多少次。(馬 1821)耶穌在論到饒恕的比喻中,指出人若要得神的饒恕,就必須饒恕得罪 他的人。(182835

 

彼此饒恕的理由﹕人人都想得到別人的饒恕,但是要饒恕別人卻是很難。讓我們看看饒恕的重要,大概可以幫助我們去饒恕別人﹕

1我們都曾得罪人﹕這是一件既真實又明顯的事,人人都犯罪,得罪神,也得罪 人,這事實應當給我們一個極明顯的理由去彼此饒恕。假如你是個誠實人,明明知 道你一定曾經得罪人,那麼饒恕別人就等於饒恕你自己。世上沒有一個人可以只要 得到別人的饒恕而可以不饒恕別人。只有當你肯饒恕別人時,你才有資格要求別人 饒恕你,這才是公平。你若是誠實地知道你曾得罪人,需要別人饒恕你,這是使你 去饒恕人的最好理由。

2我們都曾得饒恕﹕假如你未曾得到人的饒恕,起碼你已經得到神的饒恕,當你 認罪悔改,求神赦免你的那一刻,神就饒恕你,洗淨你的一切不義。(約一1 9)你要將這被饒恕的恩惠,放在別人身上,去饒恕別人,能夠饒恕是福份,是你 的福份。不要想到對方是否值得你饒恕,乃要想到這是順從神命令的行動,是蒙福 的美德。

3饒恕使自己得益﹕有些人不肯饒恕人,其中有一個原因是他有錯誤的想法﹕認 為饒恕人是太便宜了別人,因為這人得罪你,卻沒有得到應得的懲罰。事實卻是相 反,如果你因為被別人得罪,一直不肯放下,心中忿忿不平,你就成為忿怒的囚 ,受傷害的是你,不是那曾得罪你的人。饒恕人是要自己將忿怒放下,丟棄, 不要再睡不著,吃不下,消化不良。你自己會感覺好得多,輕鬆得多,不要讓別人 的過失手指你,使你坐立不安,饒恕是對你自己有益。

4饒恕才真正是神的兒女﹕耶穌說﹕使人和好的人有福了,因為他們真是神的兒 女。(馬太59)饒恕就是與人和好,是使你和得罪你的人和好,又使你與神 和好。耶穌說神會大大賜福給這些人。你還有什麼希望比得到神的祝福更美更好的 呢?如果你覺得神很久沒有祝福你,說不定是因為你一直不肯饒恕別人。

 

結論﹕1饒恕人是神的命令﹕只有當我們肯饒恕人時我們才能得到神的饒恕。一直對唰 別人生氣,抱怨,是得罪神的行為。神不會祝福你,你會覺得不安,生氣,何苦 呢?

2立刻採取行動﹕找出曾經得罪你的人,求神給你力量,勇氣,從心中饒恕他 們,作些行動去消除彼此間的對立狀態。下一次你與他見面時,心中不會有疙 瘩,不 會有不自然的情緒,將你的怒氣,不安帶到主面前,交托給主後,不再拿 回來。

3求神饒恕你﹕這是你為自己能作最重要的事,求神饒恕你的罪,向他承認,心 中悔改,接受耶穌作你的救主。千萬不可帶著未曾饒恕的罪離開世界,你就會得著 神所賜的永生。

“IT’S TIME TO FORGIVE”                                   By Pastor YAU

Text: Luke 23:26-34                                                September 10, 2006.

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   Something to remember: A Christian church in Jakarta, Indonesia, was having a revival. Before the opening session was to begin, the hosting pastor led the guest speaker to look around the church complex. It was impressive in its beauty. Then the pastor took his guest to the fellowship hall. At the front of the hall were a pulpit and a communion table. Behind the pulpit was a plain concrete wall on which hung a wooden cross. At the bottom of the cross were some words in the Indonesian language. When asked of the meaning, the pastor said it was a quote from the words of Christ, “Father, forgive them, for they don’t know what they do.”

2)   The reason behind the words: When asked if it was for a particular reason, the pastor said, “Several years earlier there had been riots in the city and 21 churches were burned to the ground in one day including ours. This wall was the only thing of our former building remained standing.” The guest speaker later said, “That wall and the words under the cross formed a reminder of the compassion of Christ showed on the cross and that became the message of that church to their city: Revenge and bitterness will never heal wounds inflicted by rage and hatred in a lost world. But the compassion of Christ will just as it was some 2,000 years ago.”

 

WHY FORGIVE?

1)   That is what God did to us: One of the doctrines of Christian faith many find it hard to understand is “God always forgives.” Many people sub-divide sins to many categories: some are more serious than others. They think that if God is a God of justice, how can he forgive someone with horrendous sins or crimes at the last minutes of his life as Jesus did to that criminal on the cross? But that is exactly what God does the best: forgives sins no matter how many or how serious when men come to Him with sincere remorse and repentance. The best reference of this belief is from l John 1:9: “If we confess our sins, God is faithful and just and will forgive our sins and purity us from all unrighteousness.”

2)   There is no other way: Just imagine if God doesn’t forgive the sins of men, what can a man do to remove his sins in order to reconcile with God? Can a man undo what he has done? Can he do good things good enough to “eradicate” his sins and the evil come with them? Or can he try hard to “pay back all debts and hurts” of his sins to save himself from the punishment of God? The way God chose to deal with the sins of man is the best way: to forgive. No man can “undo” what he has done. No man can do good enough to “balance out” the evil of his sins. No man can pay back the evils and hurts inflicted on God and others by his sin. If there were no forgiveness of sin, man will never be able to be saved.

3)   Because there is love: Forgiveness and love are inseparable. When there is love, there is forgiveness. Since God is love and the origin of love, God cannot keep counts of the sins of men to the point that He cannot forgive. “For God so loved the world,” as in John 3:16 lays down the groundwork of God’s unlimited capacity to forgive. Just as parents have unlimited love to forgive their children, God has more love for us that compels Him to forgive our sins. When love abounds, forgiveness never ceases.

4)   Because we were told to: Both in the teachings of Jesus and the Apostle Paul, Christians were told repeatedly to forgive each other as God has forgiven them. (Matt. 6:14-15; 18:35; Eph. 4:32; Col. 3:13) Both Jesus and Paul linked forgiving each other to being forgiven by God. If we desire to be forgiven by God which we all do, then we must forgive one another. This is a command, not an option. The basis of forgiving is not if the offender deserves but we need to obey the command of God.

 

FORGIVENESS IN THE BIBLE:

1)   God is a forgiving God: Through the whole Bible God is portrayed in many ways from the powerful Creator of the universe to the humble Savior of man hung on the cross. The whole reason of the Bible and the coming and death of Jesus convey one unique message: God is love and is ready to forgive the sins of man. From the disobedient first parents to the rebellious chosen people of Israel to the words uttered from the breath of the dying Savior, all were about forgiveness of sin. If you take away forgiveness of the sins of men, there is no gospel, no need for Jesus to die on the cross, no need to have churches, no need of witnessing, no need of the Bible and the list goes on and on. It is all because of God who forgives we are here today to share this good news.

2)   Jesus is a forgiving Savior: The last verse of today’s Scripture reading is a prayer offered by the dying Savior for the forgiveness of men. Even though Jesus died in the hands of vicious men, He asked Father God to forgive them because “they do not know what they do.” (23:34) The coming of the Lord Jesus and His death on the cross were all predestined by the Father for the forgiveness of the sins of all men. The first public introduction of the Lord Jesus by John the Baptist was about “The lamb of God who took away the sins of men.” (John 1:29) It is the blood of the Lamb of God we are forgiven of our sins.

3)   The gospel is a forgiving message: Although there are many aspects of the God in the Bible, the preeminent doctrine of the whole Christian faith is the love of God and His forgiveness of the sins of man and that is the center piece of the gospel message. It is for the forgiveness of sin that brought Jesus to the world and onto the cross. It is for the forgiveness of sin that men are call to confess and receive eternal life. It is the message of forgiveness of sin the Christian church was commanded to bring the gospel to the utter most part of the world. Without the forgiveness of sin there will be no gospel, no salvation, no hope and no eternal life.

4)   Christians are called to forgive: Through the most part of the New Testament, both in the teaching of Jesus and the letters of Paul, the theme of forgive one another occupies an important place. Being human, it is inevitable that we have sinned or offended each other and need forgiveness from one another. We all realize how difficult it is to forgive others that prompted Peter to ask the Lord how many times he should forgive his brother who has sinned against him. (Matt. 18:21) In his parable Jesus linked our forgiving others to being forgiven by God. (18:28-35)

 

REASONS TO FORGIVE: To be forgiven is easy but to forgive is hard. We all want to be forgiven but find it so hard to forgive others. Let us see some of the reasons that may help us to forgive.

1)    We all have sinned: This is the fundamental mental concept that may help us to forgive. If you recognize that we all are sinners, including yourself, then forgiving others is also forgiving yourself. No one is given the advantage to receive forgiveness from others without forgiving them. It is a fair deal to forgive others and receive forgiveness from them. To admit your need of forgiveness is the key in this concept.

2)    We have been forgiven: If you haven’t been forgiven by people, you at least have been forgiven by God. As soon as you confess your sins and ask God to forgive you, He will forgive and cleanse your sins as white as snow. (1 John 1:9) Extend that same mercy to your fellow men as you have received mercy from God. To forgive is grace depends not on if the other side deserves. To forgive is a virtue in respond to the call of God.

3)    We will be better off: One stumbling block to forgive is the false idea that you are letting the offender go without proper punishment. The fact is just the opposite. If you keep holding the anger, the grudges against the offender, you are holding yourself a prisoner of those anger and grudges, not them. Forgiving others is letting yourself go of the anger and pain inside of you. You will feel better, digest better, sleep better when you stop allow the offender and his fault bother you, causing you to feel miserable. You certainly will be better off when you forgive him/her.

4)    We are truly children of God: Jesus described the peacemakers as truly the children of God in Matt. 5:9 when He said, “Blessed are the peacemakers for they will be called sons of God.” Forgiving is peacemaking. It makes peace between you and your offender and peace between you and God. Jesus said these are the people God will bestow His blessings. What is more than be blessed by the Almighty God? If you feel that God hasn’t blessed you for a long time, may be it is because you have not forgiven your offenders.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Forgiving is not an option: It is a command from God that we need to forgive one another in order to receive His blessings. Holding anger and grudges against someone is against God’s command and is punishable by misery and loneliness.

2)   Take steps to forgive: Identify those who have offended you. Ask God to give you strength to forgive them from the bottom of your heart. Take steps to make peace with them so you will feel ease next time you think of them or see them. Bring out all the anger and lay them at the feet of Jesus and never take them back.

3)   Seek forgiveness from God: This is the ultimate step you need to take for your own good: be forgiven of your sins by repentance and acceptance of Jesus as your Lord and Savior. Never leave this world without the forgiveness of your sin and receiving eternal life from the Lord.