干擾或機會 (尤牧師)

經文﹕路加福音1029-37 200657

 

引言1神的干擾﹕許多時候,神要我們作些事情,正是我們最不方便的時刻,我們 會認為是對我們正常生活的干擾。例如﹕你已經忙了一整天,吃完晚飯後,正 想好好地安靜休息一個晚上,看看書或看看電視。突然有電話來,有人正遭遇 極大困難,需要你的指點。又或者你正在準備上床休息,電話來了,有人問你 能不能到醫院去,因為他母親剛剛覺得心口痛,正在急診室。

2人的機會﹕有一個撒瑪利亞人,正從耶路撒冷下去耶利哥,有重要事要辦。 在路上,他看見一個人受傷,躺在路旁。早先有人也看到他,但都從旁邊就過 去了。這撒瑪利亞人卻不是這樣,他原是被猶太人歧視的族人,大部份人想他 也會一樣從旁邊過去,不要讓這傷者妨礙他要辦的事。他卻停下來,對這受傷 者發出慈心,為他包扎傷口,扶他坐上他的牲口,送他到旅店照顧他,他將一 件別人認為是干擾的事變成一個幫助人的機會。

 

人人都不喜歡受干擾﹕

1干擾破壞我們的計劃﹕人人在生活上都有自己的計劃,都有自己認為重要的 事要辦,並且要辦得快,辦得好,沒有人喜歡受干擾。不管你是正在忙於寫報 告,作最後準備,計劃中要作好的事,就在你最想不到的時候,干擾就來了, 將你的計劃完全打亂了。人生實在有太多意想不到的干擾。

2干擾妨礙我們的進度﹕今天的社會非常注意效率,任何突發的干擾都會影響 我們工作的進度和效率。人人都想按時將工作作好,但干擾的事會拖延你的進 度,減低你的工作效率,人人都不會喜歡。

3干擾使我們分心﹕如果你正在集中精神作一件重要的事,干擾會使你分心, 不能集中精神去作得最好,這對你的效率和成就會有影響,沒有人能同時作兩 件事都作得好。

4干擾的事都不是重要的事﹕起碼是我們認為不重要的事。如果是對我們重要 的事,我們不會認為它是干擾。通常我們認為是干擾的事與我們切身利益毫無 關係的事。許多我們不關心的事臨到,都是干擾,都是我們覺得令人討厭的 事。

 

將干擾變成機會﹕(參考今天經文)

不管你討厭不討厭,干擾的事必會不斷出現。與其覺得討厭,不如想辦法將它 們美化,看成機會。

1他就動了慈心﹕慈心在聖經原文的意思是他的心腸被觸動,這是指他看 到那受傷的人時心中感情的波動;他對那受傷的人覺得很可憐。在浪子的故事 中,他父親看到那衣衫又髒又破爛的兒子時的心情。這不只是你知道那人可 憐,乃是你感受到他的可憐情況,當我們心中感受到他人可憐時,你不會覺得 是干擾,你會認為這是一個幫助人的機會。

2他包扎他的傷口﹕這是故事的中心;這人將他感情的感覺轉成行動的表現, 實際去幫助人。我相信先前從旁邊越過去的人或許也會覺得那受傷的人很可 憐,但沒有將感覺轉變成行動,反而這撒瑪利亞人,他不停止在感受 上面, 他將心裏的感受轉變到行動上的表現,他上前去為傷者包扎傷口,對可憐的人 心中有感動是好的。但單單有感動對人一點幫助都沒有,不能使人得到任何益 處。直到我們將心靈的感動化為行動,實際去為他人作些事,才能真正對人有 益處。

3他將傷者扶上他的牲口﹕牲口在當日常是指驢子,是他唯一的交通工具。他 將驢子讓給傷者,自己就只好走路,這等於 他改變他原來的計劃。許多時候, 突發的干擾常常將我們自己的計劃打亂,為了要照顧他人,我們必須犧牲自己 的利益。除非我們願意放棄自己的利益和計劃,我們無法真正會去幫助別人。 犧牲自己的行程,時間,計劃,方便,目標等。只有樂意放下自己,才會將干 擾看成機會。

4最後,他週到地照顧那受傷的人﹕他付給店子兩個小錢,並且答應回來時會還清一切費用。這是許多人作不到的地方;許多人會在開始時熱心幫助人,但卻沒有持續的心志,直到他人脫離困境才放手,開始幫助人不那麼難,但一直幫助到底就會感到責任太重太長,因為這要捨棄許多時間,精力,金錢,物質才能作到。但如果我們幫助人只幫助一半,那對受幫助的人有什麼益處呢?

 

改變看法﹕每個人在心中都有一套看人看事的方式;這事是干擾呢?還是機會呢,都 看法而定,一個從聖經立場出現的看法會使我們將干擾看成機會。世上很少 人可以控制干擾發生或不發生,但人人都可以控制自己的看法,將干擾看成機 會,關鍵在於認識到﹕

1神管理萬事﹕這是最重要的看法,從神的立場去看發生的一切事,包括我們 認為是干擾的事,不幸的事和壞事,任何事的發生都在神控制之下,經過神的 許可。故此,一切我們認為是干擾的事,其實都不是干擾。既然神許可許多人 打電話給你,有事要你幫助,我們就不應該認為是干擾,乃是神的差遣,要達 到神的目的。

2我們都是神的器皿﹕歷史上,神使用許多人去完成他的目標,而不是為了要 滿足我們的方便。例如;正當摩西在曠野安靜牧羊時,神要召他去將以色列人 從埃及為奴之地釋放出來。彼得和約翰正在忙於洗魚網,準備下次出海捕魚, 耶穌卻召他們去作得人漁夫 。保羅正要去大馬色抓人,為了保護猶太教信 仰,耶穌卻召他去作外邦人的信徒。如果你正在忙於工作,正在作例行工作, 正在準備好作自己想作的事,神打斷你的計劃,要你去作他召你作的事,這不 是干擾,這是機會,一個完成神更高更美旨意的機會。

3我們必須與人分享﹕認識到神是萬物的主宰,他擁有我們的時間,物質,家 庭,職業和其他一切你認為屬於你的。神要我們去使用他賜給我們的一切與別 人分享,去完成他的旨意,使他的名得榮耀,我們根本沒有什麼,一切所有的 全是神的,我們只是管家而已。當神要用他賜我們托管之物時,我們沒有權利 拒絕。

4肯分享,最高貴﹕在幼稚園時候,我們學習如何和他人分享,長大後,我們 必須照樣實行。如果我們從心中有肯分享的心,在神眼中會看為寶貴。人人都 會自私地樣樣為自己,只有那些在神面前有高貴品質的人才肯與人分享。為自 己利益,積財,從來不會成為偉人,只有那些肯捨己分享的人才可愛。

 

結論1問問自己﹕問一問自己,像那法利賽人一樣﹕誰是我的鄰舍?耶穌會回答 說﹕就是那我叫他打電話給你的人。你如果肯作,不知不覺,你可能會遇到天 使(來132

2你喜歡什麼?你喜歡人怎樣記念你?在你搬走之後,或是過世之後,人如何 想到你?一個自私自利,吝惜,硬心的人呢,還是一個甘心,慷慨,大方,不 辭勞苦的人呢?許多機會只來一次,它不會再來。

3一個不可失去的機會﹕這是一個你不可失去的干擾,就是當你正忙於許多世 俗事務時,神要你向他悔改,接受他的恩典,相信耶穌,使你可以得救,你如 果認為你正在忙,沒有時間給耶穌,你可能失去一生得救的機會。這不是人給 你的干擾,是神給你得永生的機會。

“INTERRUPTION OR OPPORTUNITY                     By Pastor YAU

Luke 10:29-37                                                                 May 7, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)    God’s interruption: Often times, God’s assignments for us come in strange ways, often in the form of interruption.  While you are busy with your work or when you think you’ve done your duties for the day and try to settle in for a quiet evening at your sweet home, someone calls on the phone with a problem he can’t handle or a lady asking if you have time to see her mom at the emergency room because she has a serious chess pain.

2)    Man’s opportunity: A Samaritan was making his way to Jericho from Jerusalem for some important business and saw a wounded Jew lying alongside the road. Others had hurried by, too busy with their own affairs to be interrupted. But this Samaritan who was despised by the Jews would be expected to pass by as well. Instead he “had compassion, bandaged the wounds, set him on his own animal, brought him to an inn and took care of him.” He changed an interruption to his business into an opportunity of doing good things to someone who needed help.

 

WE ALL HATE INTERRUPTIONS:

1)    They mess up our plans: Everyone has his/her plans of life. We all have things we deem important and we want to accomplish them without interruption. It may be some last minute homework, a project, a paper or just a much waited movies, we have planned for the day or the evening and just don’t want to be interrupted. But at the least expected moment, something happens and turns our plan upside down. Life is full of interruptions.

2)    They hinder our progress:  Efficiency is important in today’s life and interruptions certainly jeopardize efficiency. Everyone wants to get things done and done fast. No one wants to be left behind. Interruptions just get in the way of getting things done efficiently.

3)    They divert our attention:  If you are concentrating doing some things important, interruptions certainly get your attention away from what you are doing and that is bad for your work. No one can do a good job by divided attention. So, we hate interruptions.

4)    They are not things we truly care: When things we care come to us, they are not interruptions. Interruptions are things that concern us very little, if any. We all care about things and people we see important and will do all we can to get them done and done well. Interruptions just get in the way and therefore we hate them.

 

TURNING INTERRUPTIONS TO OPPORTUNITIES : (Today’s text)

Hate it or not, interruptions will happen and happen again, so what can we do about them? Well, change them into opportunities is a good way.

1)      He had compassion on him: The word “compassion” means his intestines “were moved.” This is about his emotional response to the wounded man. His has pity on the man’s situation. This same word was used to describe the emotional response the father had to his prodigal son when he saw his son’s pitiful condition. This is more than just “knowing” someone is pitiful but feeling his pitiful situation. If you are moved by the pitiful condition, you won’t feel interrupted. You will take it as an opportunity to do something.

2)      He bandaged his wounds: This is the key to the whole story: transforming emotional response into actual assistance. The Good Samaritan did not stop at the emotional level. He transformed his feeling into action: he went to him and bandaged his wounds. It is good to has compassion on the pitiful situation of those who need help, but that emotional feeling won’t do any good to elevate their pitiful situation until you actually go out and do something to meet their needs.

3)      He yielded his donkey: The donkey was the only means of transportation of the Samaritan. To allow his donkey to carry the wounded man means he was willing to divert his plan of life in order to help the wounded man. Often times, we face some situation we have to make a choice: Your needs verses the needs of others. Unless you are willing to give up your needs, sacrificing your plans, schedules, convenience or ambitions, you won’t be able to see interruptions as opportunities of helping someone.

4)      He followed through his care: He paid the innkeeper 2 silver coins and promised to pay the rest when he came back. This is where many of us fail: many of us are willing to start helping someone but are unable to follow through until the job is done. To start helping someone is not as hard as keep on helping until the guy gets on his feet. This takes a longer commitment of time, resource and emotional energy. But until you can help the guy to stand on his feel, all the effort you have done is in vain.

 

CHANGING OUR MINDSET: It is our mindset that perceives things: is this an interruption or an opportunity? A biblical mindset will help us see interruptions as opportunities. Few people can control things from happening including interruptions. Instead of grumbling on them we may be better off by changing our mindset to face them head on.

1)   God is in control of all things: This is the most important mindset we need to have to see things from God’s perspective: including things from the devil, all things happen under the will of God and therefore, nothing is an interruption. When God allows something to happen or someone to call you which we see as interruptions, they are in fact God’s agents to accomplish His will so we cannot see them as interruptions.

2)   We are instruments of God: Historically God used many human beings to accomplish His purpose and often times not cater to our convenience. When God called Moses to deliver the Israelis from the oppressive treatment in Egypt, Moses was busy tending his flock. John and Peter were called when they were cleaning their nets for another fishing trip. Paul was on his way to Damascus to protect the Jewish religion when God interrupted his journey but called him to bring the gospel to the gentile world. When God stops you from your routines or interrupts your comfort zone, He has a higher purpose in it and you are His agent to accomplish that purpose. They are not interruptions but opportunities.

3)   We are to share what we have: Recognizing that God is the true owner of all things including ours: time, material, family, job and everything else we may have, He wants us to share what He allows us to have with others near and afar for His purpose and glory. We are not owners but stewards of His trust. When God wants to use what He entrusted us we have no right to complain or say no.

4)   We are at our best when we share: We learned this great virtue in our kindergarten days: share with others, and we need to practice it everyday of our lives. It is the heart of sharing that makes us useful and beneficial in the eyes of both God and man. Everyone is capable of getting things for himself but only those who have big hearts are able to share. Getting things for oneself never makes anyone great and lovable but those who care about the needs of others and are willing to share will remain in people’s hearts.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    Asking that same question? If you ask that same question as did the lawyer in the Bible “Who is my neighbor?” Jesus may answer, “The person in need I am sending your way.” By doing so you may be helping angels. (Hebrews 13:2)

2)    How would you like? How would you like to be remembered by those who know you when you moved out of town or out of this world? A selfish, stingy, don’t-care, don’t-bother-me guy or a generous, helpful, willing and caring person? Often times, opportunity comes only once and if you miss it, it’s over.

3)    One important interruption: There is one important interruption you can’t afford to miss: God’s call for you to repentance and accept His gift of salvation through believing in Jesus Christ. You may think you are just too busy for God but if you miss this divine interruption, you will miss that opportunity for eternal life.