正在會談 (尤牧師)

經文﹕路線加福音111-10 2006年七月2

 

引言﹕1對不起,對不起﹕一間大公司的總經理要找他屬下工廠的廠長講話,但廠長 的秘書說廠長正在會談,不能打擾他,他每天這個時候都是他會談的時候。總 經理說:告訴他總經理有要事要馬上見他。但秘書卻很堅定地說﹕總經理先 生,廠長有特別吩咐,當他正在會談時,絕對不可騷擾他。總經理不奈煩了, 抹過秘書的辦公桌,一直走到廠長辦公室的門口,伸手打開門,往裏面伸頭一 看,馬上退出來,並且連連道歉說﹕對不起!對不起!原來他看見廠長正跪在 辦公桌後面,桌子上有一本打開的聖經。

2按時充電﹕好多年前有一個電視節目稱為萬能力士,這力士力大無窮。他 跑得比車還快,能提起很重的東西,例如汽車,有順風耳可以聽到很遠的聲 音,能作許多任何別人作不到的事。但有一個條件,他每早上都要充電,才能 有能力作一天的工作,如果有一天主人太忙,沒有時間給它充電,他就是一堆 廢鐵,什麼工作都不能作,比普通人更軟弱。有人將基督徒每天花時間與耶穌 會談,就和充電一樣,才能從新得力,每天能作剛強的信徒。

 

為何要花時間充電?

1這正是耶穌作的﹕聖經有許多經文,好像今天的經文一樣,記載耶穌生活和 工作中有一項很重要的事。就是花時間在禱告上面。雖然耶穌是神的兒子,他 仍然經常藉禱告去尋求父神的心意,使他所作的與神的旨意合一。如果連耶穌 都需要時常藉禱告重新得力,何況我們,豈不是更應加強禱告,使我們更在生 活和事奉上剛強有力。

2這也是保羅時常作的﹕我們知道保羅是一位勤於禱告的人。在他正在禱告的 時候,聖靈就差他去作外邦人的使徒,將救恩信息帶到外邦人中去。(徒13 1-4)在他選立教會長老之時,他先禱告(1422-23)他在腓立比監獄中時他禱 告(1625-30),在他返回耶路撒泠面對被控時他先禱告(2036),他為教 會和個別信徒禱告(林前14,弗115-17314),他又請求信徒為他禱告 (弗619),他不斷鼓勵信徒要恒切禱告(弗618),如果保羅那麼大有能 力的使徒也是如此需要禱告(弗618),何況我們呢?豈不是更需要禱告嗎?

3這也是千萬信徒時常作的﹕兩千年的基督教歷史,數不盡的信徒作過見証, 他們因禱告信心更堅固,希望更有力,更完全,在許多信仰生活上更有力,更 得勝。許多書,許多文章,研討會,講章,都不斷指出禱告的功效。除非你以 為自己了不起,否則你必須花時間親近神。

4這也是我們時常要作的﹕在弗610-19保羅詳細解釋信徒要時常禱告的理 由,原來我們是與空中的邪靈作戰,而禱告是使我們得勝的最重要武器。藉著 禱告,我們才有屬靈亮光去看到神的心意,才能在試探面前得能力去勝過,才 能勝過肉體和世俗的誘惑和攻擊。當我們每天生活,工作都通過禱告交托給主 時,我們就得保護,不至跌倒,不會向摩鬼低頭,不會作錯誤的決定和選擇, 我們每天求神管理我們的生命,使我們能站立得穩,都是從禱告而來的力量。

 

每天與主會談的益處﹕

1加強我們與神的關係﹕人人都知道,人與人之間必須有經常的溝通,才能加 強人際關係。不論是夫妻間,朋友間,父母與兒女之間,同事之間,甚至國與 國之間都是如此,人與人的關係也是如此。這不是說,多與神會談,神才了解 我們,神老早就知道我們的一切心思意念,這乃是使我們更明白神的心意。

2能保持我們的人生方向﹕許多人一生沒有目標,或是沒有正確的目標,以致 人生沒有意義,他們天天在忙,卻是沒有方向,不知道向何處去。每天與主相 會,可以讓我們天天走在神的正路上,使我們不至迷途失腳。正如你的一生是 神大計劃中的一部份,你每天的成長,正是完成神大計劃中的一部分,這就大 有意義。

3能增加我們的智慧﹕如果你天天有固定時間與神見面,藉著讀經禱告,你必 天天得著教導,對真理的認識天天加深,在靈修時學到一些屬靈原則,一點一 滴,你的靈命就強壯起來,有時連自己也不知道,很少人一天之間就長進起 來,大多數人都是一天一天,一點一滴疊積起來,才在信心,愛心和屬靈的長 進上長進起來,與神會談是不可少的事。

4能增加生活的力量﹕從人性本質來看,事奉神,順服神,遵行他的旨意,這 些都不是從人的本性來的。我們會覺得乏力,疲倦,灰心,覺得沒有希望,沒 有前途,年復年,日復日,失去原來的衝勁,或者甚至到燒盡的地步,這時 候,就是我們親近神,天天從他得著向前的能力,使我們在試煉中,在絕望中 仍然能站立得穩,能繼續向前奔跑,保持那起初的信心和愛主的心。這一切的 能力,可以從每天安靜在主前,靈修,讀經,禱告,經年累月積存下來的屬靈 能力,使你在低潮中不會被淹沒。

 

克服難阻﹕

1我實在太忙﹕這是最常見,常聽見的理由或藉口,因為太忙,所以沒有時間 親近神。很少人真的忙到連15分鍾也抽不出來,大多數是心中的感覺﹕這事實 在不那麼重要,人人都有時間作他認為重要的事,我們永遠有時間作我們認為 重要的事,與生活有關的事,如果你認為每天與主會談是人生不可少的重要事 ,你必然會有時間去作,並且會最先作完它。

2我過一陣子會作﹕大多數信徒都會同意靈修,讀經和禱告是重要的事,但現 在還沒辦法作到,過一陣子我會追上,等我的環境改善好些,工作沒那麼忙, 心情比較好些之後,我會作的。許多人就用這種推延手段,將許多重要的事推 到沒作為止。不少人推延工作,家課,該寫的信永遠沒有時間寫,該整理的家 從來沒有整理,一直到一團糟為止,使你覺得很失敗,沒效能。千萬不可讓這 推延習慣難阻你親近神。你既然知道這是很重要的事,就要立定心志,今天就 開始,不要等到下星期。

3太過無聊﹕許多孩子不喜歡他們母親所作的菜,天天差不多,味道總是一 樣,花樣從來不變,所以沒有興趣吃媽媽作的菜,假如有一個孩子停止吃母親 作的菜一段長時間,擔保他一定會營養不良,並且因此導發其他疾病,不肯讀 經禱告的人也必如此。有時你可能會覺得失去興趣,甚至覺得無聊,但你要知 道,這是增長靈命不可缺少的靈糧。不少對治病大有功效的藥物,味道也很不 好,天天吃也會失去興趣,但你仍然需要天天服用,因為對你的健康有益,讀 經禱告對靈命健康一樣重要,你不可以停止。

4我並不覺得有需要﹕我將這點列在最後,因為很少人會這麼大膽說出來,其 實許多沒有讀經禱告的信徒心中就是這麼想,當你不覺得你需要神的時候,你 就不會熱切想去見他,你覺得你已經不錯,不需要神操心,也不必他帶領,更 不必要他的保護和祝福,你自然不會覺得迫切需要神,這是十分危險的意念, 你以為你所向無敵?永不會錯?永遠成功?你只要等一等,下一個風浪來臨 時,看你如何孤軍作戰去應付。人人都需要神,你也不例外,今天就開始。

 

結論﹕1不可作錯誤決定﹕你要重新安排你的看法,要知道你一樣需要神,今天起就 要親近他,天天讀經,禱告,當你需要神時,他就在身邊。

2你不會有損失﹕我們花不少時間作一些根本沒有永恆價值的事;聊天,閒談,看電視,看球賽,看郵差送來的廣告,為什麼不花點時間作一樣對你永恆生命非常重要的事呢?將這事列在你每天必作的事上第一項,15分鍾不會 難。

3先信他後求他﹕保羅說﹕他們若未信他,怎能求他呢?(羅馬書1014 你若未曾信耶穌,應當先決志信他,然後你才能求他。未信耶穌的人,禱告是 沒有功效的,今天就信他,你的一切祈求,神就必垂聽。

“IN CONFERENCE”                                               By Pastor YAU

Text: Luke 11:1-10                                                   July 2, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   “I’m sorry!” The president of a large company wanted to talk to the factory’s manager. But the manager’s secretary said, “He cannot be disturbed. He’s in conference---as he is everyday at this time.” “Tell him the president wants to see him,” the man responded impatiently. The secretary firmly replied, “Sir, I have strict orders never to disturb him while he is in conference.” Angrily, the man brushed past the secretary and opened the door to the manager’s office. After one quick look he backed out, gently closed the door and said, “I’m sorry!” The president had found his manager on his knees in front of an open Bible.

2)   Time to recharge: Many years ago, there was a children TV program named Automan. This man could run much faster than anyone, could lift much heavier weights than anyone, was able to hear much farther than anyone and could do so many things others could never do. But there is one condition: he needed to be recharged every morning to regain his power for the day. If there is no time to recharge, he would lay dead, much weaker than anyone. Many people equate a quiet time each morning with Jesus as a time of recharging for Christians to regain power for that day.   

 

WHY SPENT TIME TO RECHARGE?:

1)    That was what Jesus did: Scripture references like the text of today’s message and Matthew 14:22-23 indicated the regular practice of a quiet time for prayer in the life and ministry of Jesus. Even as the Son of the living God, Jesus spent lots of time to seek the will of His Father and communicated with Him so He will be fully in accord with the Father. If Jesus needed time to recharge in prayer, how much more we need time with God to be strong in our living and serving Him.

2)    That was what Paul did: We all know that Paul was a man of prayer. He was sent by the Holy Spirit to bring the message of salvation to the gentiles when he was in a prayer meeting. (Acts 13:1-4) He prayed before installed elders in the church. (14:22-23) He prayed when he was in the prison at Philippi (16:25-30) and he prayed before embarked on board to face charges in Jerusalem. (20:36) Paul prayed for churches and individuals. (1 Corinthians 1:4, Ephesians 1:15-17, 3:14) He encouraged the early Christians to be fervent in prayer. (Eph. 6:18) He asked them to prayer for him. (Eph. 6:19) If Paul needed to recharge his spiritual power with prayer, all of us certainly need that as well.

3)    That is what many Christians do: Through the 2,000 years of history, countless Christians gave testimonies that their faith were strengthened, hope increased, power restored and many other aspects of Christian living became stronger and more dynamic all because they spent time in prayer. Books were written, workshops and conferences were conducted, sermons were preached on the power of prayer. Unless you believe you can do all things by your own power, you need to spend time with God.

4)    That is what we need to do: Apostle Paul explained in great detail in Ephesians 6:10-19 that we are fighting a war against the Evil Spirit and prayer is the best armor to defeat the Devil. We gain spiritual insight to see things God’s way, receive power to resist temptation from the devil, the world and our corrupt nature by submitted to the power of prayer. We commit our daily routines with prayer to protect us from falling, from being succumbed to evil, from making wrong choices. We ask the Lord to be in control of our lives each day through prayers and we may be able to stand firm by the power of prayer. In you want to win, you need to spend time with Him.

 

BENEFITS OF DAILY CONFERENCE:

1)     It strengthens relationship with God: We all understand the importance of constant communication between parties to strengthen relationships. Be it relationship between spouses, parents to children, between friends, coworkers and all other human relationships, regular communication is paramount in keeping and growing that relationship. The same is true between God and us. This is not for God to know us more or better because He knows everything about us to begin with. It is for us to know more about God and His will in our lives.

2)     It keeps us on right focus: We see too many people live their life without clear purpose and life becomes burden without meaning. They are so busy in daily routines but have not direction where they are going. To have a daily time with God provides us a channel to seek God’s purpose and direction for our life and helps to keep us from straying away from Him. Just as if you are doing something on a huge project, you know your part in the whole thing and the progress each day makes to the big picture. You know you are on the way to success some day.

3)     It improves our wisdom: When you have a regular schedule with God reading your Bible passage and study the daily lesson you always get something, some truth or lessons from the Bible and/or the devotional message. Bit by bit you are feeding and growing your spiritual appetite and statue with or without your knowing. Few people get an overnight dramatic change of life but lot many people grow their faith, love and spiritual maturity by small steps and daily time with God plays a huge part of it.

4)     It supplies us spiritual energy: We all know that serving the Lord, doing His will, obeying His commands are not part of our human nature. There are times we feel weak and unable, lose interest and meaning in doing what we have been doing for years, facing distractions and criticism or just plain burnout and want to quit. That is the time we need to stand close to God, to stand tall in time of trial and defeat, to keep running your race, fighting your good fight and keeping your faith. All these come from the accumulation of strength from your daily conference with God. The energy to go through difficult times and come out victorious comes from your quiet time with Him each day.

 

OVERCOMING OBSTACLES:

1)    I am just too busy: This is the most common reason or excuse many of us can’t keep a regular quiet time with God. Sometimes it is true but most times it is a matter of mindset: it is not really that important. We all have time to do things we MUST do because they are important to our life or needs. If you see daily time with God is the most important thing of your life, you always will find time to do it and do it the first thing of the day.

2)    I will do it later: Most Christians agree that it is good to have a quiet time with God each day but think that we may catch up at a later time when we have more time and focus. That attitude of procrastination pushes away what is important to you today. We procrastinate in many things and therefore things we should do but left undone, projects we never finish, letters we never get around to write, phones calls we never make and the list goes on and on and life ends up a big mess without any sense of accomplishment. Do no allow this attitude gets between you and God. If you know it is good and important, set your mind to do it today not tomorrow or next week or someday later.

3)    It is so boring: Many kids don’t like their mothers’ cooking: always the same thing, the same tastes and the same look. If some of these kids quit eating what their moms put on the table for a long period of time, they certainly will suffer many health problems due to under or malnutrition. The same is true in not taking spiritual food supply from daily time with God. It may be boring at times but it is necessary for us to grow spiritually strong and we can’t quit just because how we feel. Some medication may taste bad but they are good for our health and we can’t afford not to take them. Same principle applies in our conference time with God.

4)    I don’t really need that: The reason I list this at last is because not many people say it that way, but many think it that way at least subconsciously. When you don’t feel you really need God to lead you, to protect and guide you, to keep you from harms way, there is not urgent need to spend time with Him seeking anything. You are pretty confident that you can handle life quite well so far and in the foreseeable future, you don’t feel that you need to do so.  But this is a very dangerous attitude. Who do you think you are? Invincible? Always right? Always make it? On top of the world? Just wait for a little while for the next storm to come and you will be all alone to face it all. Yes, you do need God and you need to start seeking His face now.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Don’t make mistakes: Realign your priority and see the truth that you need God each and every day. Spend time to build a closer relationship with Him so when you need Him you know where to find. Don’t wait till the last minute for you may not find Him anywhere.

2)   You have nothing to lose:  We spent a lot of time doing things that are of no lasting value: gossiping on the phone, watching TV program or a ballgame, reading junk mail, etc. why not use time wisely and profitably with God that will certainly benefit your life now and in eternity. Make it #1 thing of the day and see how those 15 minutes may change your life.

3)   Believe Him to call Him: Paul said, “How can they call Him when they have not believed in Him.” (Romans 10:14) He was trying to encourage Christians to bring the gospel to the lost so they can believe Him and call Him. If you have not believed in Jesus, you cannot call Him or your calling won’t mean anything to you or Him. So, take Him to your heart today and begin to call on His name and you will be saved. (Romans 10:13)