神將你放在我人生的路上 (尤牧師)

經文﹕路加福音1029-37 20061210

 

引言﹕1一個電影故事﹕在一部電影四根羽毛裏,在1880年代的英國,有位年輕 人名叫享利,他長途拔涉地從英國出發,要去非洲的穌丹尋找多年不見的好朋 友,這朋友正在英國遠征軍中服役,享利在非洲大沙漠中迷了路,當他的生命 快到盡頭時,有一位非洲土著救了他,照顧他,使他存活。享利驚異這非洲人 對一位侵略非洲的英國人如此友善,問他為什麼要救他一命,那非洲人的回答 既簡單又直接﹕因為神將你放在我人生路上

2一個耶穌故事﹕為了回答一位文士的問題,耶穌用一個故事作答案,就是舉 世聞名撒瑪利亞人的故事。在這故事中,有一個人從耶城下耶利哥,途中遇 劫,被打到半死,躺在路邊,奄奄一息。有一位祭司走過,看見,從這邊繞過 去。不久,有一位法利賽人走過,看見,從那邊繞過去,祭司和法利賽人本來 就有神的命令要照顧落在困苦無助中的人,但卻硬著心,自顧走自己的路。後 來,有一位猶太人看不起的撒瑪利亞人到來,看見,用他的愛心,時間,照顧 這將死的人,表達了像耶穌那樣的仁慈心懷。將他帶到客店,使他復原,這個 受傷的人,神將他放在三個人的人生路上,只有一個人,被猶太人輕視的撒瑪 利亞人,才作出正確的回應。

我們的人生道路﹕

1誰設計我們的人生路?對那些不承認神的人,他們會說這是巧合,是命運。 對我們這些相信有一位全智全能的神的人,我們說這是神的安排。我們相信神 不只計劃每個人的人生路,他並且掌管每條人生路的方向,轉彎,抹角,一直 到他所指定的終點。世上每一件事的發生都不是偶然的,也不是毫無目的的。 你如果不相信創造論,請看一看人體的構造運作,看看宇宙的運作均衡,這精 密無暇的設計,絕非偶然出現的現象,必定是有一位全智全能的造物主所創 造,管理,這造物主不只管理萬物,也管理你我的人生道路。

2人生道路如何運作?世上沒有一個人生下來是單獨存在的,不需要別人的。 每一個人生下來都有一個家庭,屬於一個家族 ,一個社區,一個社會,國家, 部落。每個人的人生路都會與別人交錯接觸,若有人忽略這種互相依賴的事 實,他的人生必會產出難題。神將我們放在一堆人中間有他的智慧和目標,使 我們彼此互相倚賴,使人生發揮更大的功能。這種對人生路的廣寬心胸看法, 使我們認識到每個人在大眾存在中的角色。在人生經歷中,每一個與你有過接 觸的人都是與你人生大版圖中的重要份子。你在別人生命中一樣有你的貢獻。

3, 壞,醜惡這是一部早期西部電影的片名,其意思是在世界眾多人中, 有好人,有壞人,也有比壞人更壞的醜惡人。在你的人生中,你如果只想遇到 好人,那你註定會大大失望。你自己有權選擇作這三種人中的一種,但你無權 決定你一生中只要遇到一種人, 你必會遇到壞人和醜惡的人,這類人到處都 有,過去有,今天有,以後也會有。世上有些人從來不守本份,不守規則,不 盡責任,不守信用,不盡力作事,不理會別人死活。我們盡責的人常要為他們 補洞,清理他們留下的麻煩,除掉他們留下的污漬,並且還要照顧他們的需 要。

4幸好有一位撒瑪利亞人﹕聖經中只記載一位好撒瑪利亞人,但現實社會中卻 有數不清這一類的好人,如果你願意,你也可以作個好撒瑪利亞人。好撒瑪利 亞人不只作份內該作的事,也會盡力去幫助作別人的事,他們會作別人不願 作,不肯作的事,他們樂意付出時間,金錢,關懷,愛心去使別人活得更好, 更有希望,使社會更光明,使人更喜樂。他們的存在就是為了使他人得益處, 在人生道路上令別人蒙福。這種人就是我們所稱的偉大的人,你如願意也可以 這樣作。

為何世上這麼少好撒瑪利亞人?

1最大的障礙﹕這就是人性的自我中心,人人生下來就有這個敗壞的本性; 自私,自我。你不妨去托兒所看看小孩子們如何為自己的利益兢爭,玩具,注 意力等。你如果看到一張你有份在內的團體照片,你必定首先看看自己站的位 置,有沒有讓別人擋住,好看不好看,你不會先去看別人,總是先看自己,這 種自我本性,常將自己的一切放在別人上面。人必須有更廣大的眼光度量,才 能克服這自我中心的敗壞本性,承認自己其實不是最大最重要,每個在你四週 的人一樣重要。

2我力量有限﹕不少人因恐怕自己資源不足,不敢輕易去作好撒瑪利亞人。要 作個好撒瑪利亞人,就必須付出代價,分享你本來就已有限的物資,自己就少 了,恐怕自己不夠,這想法從數學觀點來說是正確的,你給出去了,自己就少 。但你若從聖經觀點來看,卻不是這樣。聖經明明說﹕你們要給別人,就必 有給你們的。並且用十足的升斗,連搖帶按,上尖下流地,倒在你們懷裏。 (路加638)凡是慷慨幫助人的,從來就不會有缺乏。記得那將五餅二魚獻出 來給耶穌的小男孩嗎?耶穌用來餵飽五千人還有剩下的十二籃子。

3恐怕惹上麻煩﹕特別是今天的社會,有時好心不得好報,多管閑事反而惹上 法律是非,這是個現實的問題,必須小心注意。今天的社會確實比耶穌時代的 社會複雜多了,有時候好心想幫助人卻惹上了從沒想過的麻煩。但我們卻不應 該用這藉口就什麼也不管,只管打掃門前雪。我們可以捐出一點時間,或是某 種技能去幫助社區中心作些事,花些時間去幫助你附近的學校作義工,參加教 會的社區服務隊去作些照顧貧窮無依的人士,開放家庭,邀請留學生過節吃 飯,義務接送人看醫生,到學校或醫院當傳譯,其實可作的事數不完,只要你 有一顆肯給的心,你總可以找到一些可作的事,而不會惹上麻煩。

4我不作會有人作﹕這是另一個不願作好撒瑪利亞人的藉口,我相信大慨那個 祭司和法利賽人就會這樣想;我不理他必會有別人去理他,結果就是什麼也不 肯作。別人會不會作不是要點,要點是當你看到一個受傷的人,你肯不肯作些 什麼去幫助他,假如每個過路的人都想別人大慨會幫助他,自己不肯作任何 事,說不定這受傷的人就會死在路旁。當神將某人某事放在你人生路上時,神 要你作些事,你不應推辭。

好撒瑪利亞人作些什麼?

1) 首先,他有顆仁慈的心﹕仁慈是內心對別人的愛和關懷的表現,浪子故事上 的父親對浪子就滿有慈心。原文仁慈是指人體內的肚腸,是人體中最軟弱最溫 柔的器官。一個有慈心的人,不只眼睛看見別人的缺乏,乃是加上內心的感動 去補足他人的需要,慈心的能力遠超過理智,是由內心發出,而不是從腦筋出 來。

2其次,他不怕受干擾﹕在今天速度快的社會中,干擾是一件最不受歡迎的 事,讓一個你從不認識的人干擾你正在作的事,很少人肯這麼作,這也正是這 好撒瑪利亞人所作的。沒有人知道這撒瑪利亞人為何從耶路撒冷下耶利哥去? 去作什麼?但肯定他不是休閒去渡假,有的是時間,相信他必會有事要辦,必 須路過這裏,許多人太過注意自己的事,太重視自己的需要,就用來作藉口, 可以不理會他人的死活。

3再次,他捨得付出﹕這撒瑪利亞人不只付出他的愛心和時間,他也付出他的 財物;包扎的布,止血的酒和油,他自己騎的驢 子,並且他只有的錢,去幫助 這受傷的人,使他活著,得醫治。要作個好撒瑪利亞人,不只要有個仁慈的 心,同時也要有個捨得的心去付出財物,不少人就在這時停止了。我們幫助 人,不只要有一顆仁慈的心,一個憐恤的態度,還要有肯付出財物的慷慨,沒 有付出就不能幫助人。

4最後,他還肯繼續不斷﹕幫助人若只是一次過的事,不少人都肯作,但若是 不斷繼續的幫忙,就很少人肯作,當神將一些必須長期幫助的人放在我們的人 生道路中時,我們就不能只作一次,然後就放手不幹。人人都知道不斷幫助人 所要付出的代價,但這撒瑪利亞人若只是幫助一次就跑掉,這受傷的人就不會 痊癒。他答應回旅店時,會付清一切欠款,表示他樂意作事作到底的決心,一 直到那人完全康復為止。

結論﹕1為何撒瑪利亞人與眾不同?將他與先前路過的祭司和法利賽人相比,前面兩 人雖然有一樣的機會作個慈心的善人,但他們卻放棄機會。反而是這撒瑪利亞 人,看見神將受傷者放在他的人生路上,就勇敢地接受下來,他的事跡,千百 年來成為仁慈愛心的榜樣,與別不同,看看你自己,你在何事上與眾人不同?

2你會怎樣回應?如果神將一些需要你幫助的人或事放在你面前,會妨礙你的 時間或生活方式,你會如何回應?你會用什麼藉口推辭?你要作些什麼才能改 變你的心意肯去作些事?

3向耶穌的仁慈作回應﹕耶穌的心地仁慈,比世上任何人更仁慈,他看到世人 的罪,看到人人需要得赦免,得永生,今天,他邀請你相信他,請他進入你的 心,作你的救主和生命主宰,凡到我面前來的,我一個也不丟棄。(約6 37)你今天肯來信耶穌嗎?

“GOD PUT YOU IN MY PATH”                              By Pastor YAU

Text: Luke 10:29-37                                                   December 10, 2006.

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   A movies story: In the movie The Four Feathers, Harry left England in the 1880s to search for his friends in the King’s army in Sudan. In his quest, Harry got lost and was near death in the vast deserts of Africa. As his life was ebbing away, he was rescued by an African, Fatma, who cared for him. Stunned by the man’s kindness to a stranger, Harry asked why his new friend had done so much for him. Fatma’s response was simple and direct: “God put you in my path!”

2)   A Jesus’ story: To answer a question posted by a religious lawyer, Jesus also told a fictional story, the famous parable of the Good Samaritan. In this story, a priest and a religious scholar, whose calling was to help the needy and the downcasts, ignored the need of a fallen traveler who had been robbed, bitten and left to die on the roadside to Jericho. A despised Samaritan, however, gave his time and resource to help the hurting man, displaying compassion of Christ. He bandaged his wounds, brought him to an inn and took care of him. (Luke 10:34) This ravaged man has been put in the path of all three travelers, but only one, the Samaritan, responded.

 

THE PATHS OF OUR LIFE: 

1)   Who designs our paths? For people who don’t believe anyone is wiser and better than them, they call it “fate”. For those of us who believe there is someone who is much bigger and wiser than all of us, we call Him God. We believe that God is the one who not just designs the paths of all men, but he is also in full control of the going, turning and arriving at the spot He has planned for each one of us. Nothing in this universe happens because of an accident or by chance without purpose. If you don’t believe the creation story, just look at how your body functions or how the universe moves and you can’t deny that there is a God who made all things and is in charge of all their movements including you and me.

2)   How do our paths work? No one is created to exist on the planet earth all by himself or for himself alone. Everyone was born into a family, a clan, a community or a tribe or race. The path of one man usually connects or intertwined with that of others. To ignore this fact will create problems for us and others. You are here not just for your own needs or purpose. God puts you among others for a greater purpose and your life will be lot more beneficial and productive if you function that way. This panoramic view of life puts us not in the center of the world but as important parts of the mosaic. Every person you may contact with is an important part of your life and it is true the other way around.

3)   The good, the bad and the ugly”: This is the title of an old western movie very popular long time ago. The title tells us there are many kinds of people, the good, the bad and some are worse than the bad, the ugly. If you are looking only for the good ones, you will be disappointed everyday of your life. It is your choice to be one of the categories. No one can force you to be anything else. One thing you have no choice is crossing the paths of the bad and the ugly. They are here and there and everywhere. There are people who will never keep up their duties, never do their fair share to the well being of others. Some of us will have to clean up their mess, wipe their noses and pamper them to make them happy.

4)   Here come the Samaritans: There was one Samaritan in the Bible but many good Samaritans are here all around us and you can be one of them if you choose to. These Samaritans will do more than their duty’s call. They will go the extra mile to do something no one else care or help someone others ignore. They will give their time, love, care and resource to make the surrounding better, people happier and hopes brighter. Their purpose of life is much bigger than taking care of their own needs. They exist to benefit others along the paths of life. These are the kind of people we call them great. You can be like that if you choose to.

 

WHY ARE SO FEW SAMARITANS?

1)    The biggest stumbling block: And that is the self-centered nature of man. All of us were born with that depraved nature: everyone is selfish to begin with. All you have to see is go to the church nursery and see how little ones fight to keep the toys. Or see what all of us will do when a group picture is in front of us: try hard to find yourself and how you look in that picture. This human nature plays an important role in setting ourselves on top of others and our needs are more important than that of others. It will take a much bigger perspective of life to overcome this selfish nature: you are not the most important one. Others are as important as you are if not more.

2)    My limited resources: Many of us will shy off in being a Good Samaritan because we are afraid of the shortage of our resource. To be a Good Samaritan means we may have to give or share our limited resources with those who have needs and that may hurt our own needs. This formula may be true in mathematical sense. But it will not be true in biblical sense. The Bible has so much to say on: “Give and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap.” (Luke 6:38) No one who is generous in helping and giving will ever suffer loss or shortage for them or their beneficiaries. How about the little lunch of that little boy who gave it to Jesus to feed the 5,000 and still have 12 baskets of remnants?

3)    Fear of getting into trouble: Especially in today’s society, legal liability and entanglement are some of the things we are all afraid of when we try to help someone. This is a real issue and it needs to be handled properly. Today’s society is lot more complicated than that of the Bible time. Helping others may cause you more than you expect. But that doesn’t mean we stop doing that. Volunteer your time or expertise in a community organization is one way. Go and help in the schools your kids go to is another. Join the church team in helping a community project is still another. Invite student groups to your home for a holiday dinner or helping a family in time of need and the list goes on and on. The sky is the limit on what you can do without the risks of getting into legal troubles.

4)    Others may do it: This is another excuse many of us will give when we don’t want to be a Good Samaritan. I guess that may be the thought in the mind of the priest and the Pharisee who passed by that dying man and did nothing. Others may or may not do anything is not the point. The point is will you do something to help this man who has immediate needs. If everyone uses this excuse and not willing to help, there won’t be anyone who will. In the story of the Bible, if that Samaritan didn’t do any help that wounded man may die on the roadside while hundreds, if not thousands, of people passed by him. When God puts someone in your path of life, He intends for you to do something about it.

 

WHAT MAKES A GOOD SAMARITAN?

1)    He has compassion: Compassion is an inner quality of love and care for people who are in need. In the parable of the Prodigal Son, the father had compassion for his son when he came home broke. In Greek the word means “moving of the intestines”, the softest part inside a person.  Compassion causes a man more than just to see the need but to “feel” the need and respond to it. Compassion goes beyond reason or intellectual faculty. It comes from the heart of man, not from his brain.

2)    He doesn’t mind interruption: Interruption is a nuisance in today’s fast moving society. Stopping what you are doing to help someone you don’t even know is something very few will do. But that was exactly what the Good Samaritan did when he stopped his journey to help that dying man. No one knows what might be the purpose of his taking the trip from Jerusalem to Jericho. But one thing for sure he was not on vacation and had plenty of time to spend. Too often, we make excuses for not helping the unexpected because we are so much caught up with our own business and don’t want to be interrupted. We see our plans and business more important than the person who has immediate needs.

3)    He is willing to give: This Good Samaritan did not just give his heart and time, he gave his resources: bandages, oil and wine, his own donkey and money to keep the man a live and get well. To be a Good Samaritan takes more than just a soft heart and compassion, it often times costs us material resources and that may be a main reason many will decline to be one. We must be willing to give more than just our good will and compassion; we also need to be willing to sacrifice our material resources. No giving, no helping.

4)    He is willing to follow up: Most people are more willing to give help if it is only a one-shot deal. Few people are willing to take on a long term responsibility in helping others. When God puts on our paths someone who may have long term needs, we can’t just give him a “lift” and then disappear. We all understand the weight of a long term responsibility, but if we run away from the initial help, what good could it be when the man still lying in bed dying in an inn. Follow up is as important as the initial assistance by the Good Samaritan. His promise of returning and paying set an example of being helpful all the way until the man is well to stand on his feel.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    What sets the Samaritan apart? Compare him with the priest and the Pharisee who also had the opportunity to being a good helper but chose not to, this Samaritan made the best of the opportunity God puts in his path of life. For thousands of years, he has become a model of good will and compassion and may have helped many to follow his good example. What sets you apart?

2)    How will you respond? What will you do when God interrupts your plans with the urgent needs of someone? When God puts someone in your path, what excuses will you give to avoid getting involved? What do you need to do to change your attitude to see the needs and have the compassion to act?

3)    Respond to the compassion of Jesus: Jesus has the softest of all the hearts of men. He sees the needs of all men to be saved from their sins. He died on the cross for you and me. Today, He invites you to believe in Him and take Him into your heart. “Whoever comes to me,” Jesus said, “I will never drive him away.” (John 6:37) Are you ready to come to Jesus today?