從信徒到門徒 (尤牧師)

經文﹕馬可福音834-38 2006924

 

引言﹕1我大概會考慮﹕舉世聞名的印度總理甘地,有一位朋友問他說﹕你既然那麼 崇敬基督,為什麼不作基督徒?甘地回答說﹕假如有一天我碰到一位真正跟從基 督的門徒,我大概會考慮。問題是;難道基督徒不應該都是基督的門徒嗎?

2一位假冒的門徒﹕慕迪神學院前任院長吏都維在他著作跟從基督中這麼說﹕ 不少自稱為基督徒的人,他們在生活上的表現卻是;基督的存在是為我的益處, 而基督徒的存在應該是為基督而活。許多人認為基督應該為他們服務,供應他們的 需要,滿足他們的要求。這種都是為我的基督徒,將信耶穌變成他生活中的一項 財產。

 

為什麼人們要上教會﹕

1因為這是時尚的事﹕不久前有一份中文報紙訪問一些中國人為什麼他們要上教 堂,其中一個答案是;這是美國社會流行的事,是美國人在星期天習慣作的事,總 好過起得晚,中午出外吃飯,下午回家打麻將或是去逛公司。隨著潮流生活不一定 是壞事,但上教會若是因為是流行的習慣,那就失去重要的意義。

2教會是個社交場所﹕特別是來美國不久的人,能夠有個地方去與同文化同種族 的人交往聊天,見見朋友,是件好事,特別是少數民族和語言教會,都有這需要和 功能,因為大家很親切,習慣也相似。但是教會不是個社區中心。若是為社交活動 上教會,理由還不充份。

3教會對我有幫助﹕有些人來美國前,在國內時就有親人好友勸他們一到美國, 第一件事就是上教會,因為教會裏的人都熱心,都有愛心,對新到的人都肯幫助, 當然教會應該對有缺乏的人多多幫助,這也是耶穌在世時常常作的。但耶穌建立教 會時,不是要教會成為社會服務中心,或慈善機構。有些人上教會,相信耶穌, 是要從教會或耶穌身上得好處,遇有困難,缺乏,可以隨時提供援助。我們當知 道,神不是我們的僕人,我們應該是神的僕人,又有人上教會是為了找女朋友,找 機會認識有權有勢的人,找關係,得好處。又有人想在教會中得名聲地位,這都不 是正確的目的。

4因為教會對孩子好﹕許多教會有很好的少年兒童設備和活動,對孩子的成長有 好處,例如聖經班,小組活動,音樂,幫助孩子建立健全性格,學好習慣,生活原 則,態度等,這些都是好的。故此,有些家長將教會當成免費托兒所,少年中心, 將孩子送到教會後就走了,作自己的事去。教會也有不少對成年人有益的活動,孩 子要學習,要長進,家長也要學習,也要長進。教會不只對孩子有益,對家長也一 樣有益。

 

耶穌的要求不只這些﹕耶穌心目中的門徒是什麼意思?

1作主門徒是一個個人決志這是耶穌對跟從他的人提出的第一個條件,他 說﹕若有人要跟從我句子中的字,原決是決志,願意,這是個個人的決 。作主門徒是每個人自己必須決定的事,沒有人能為你作這決定。跟從耶穌 不是一件譁眾取寵的事,不是人云亦云的事,也不是大眾流行的事。故此, 在耶穌所用的句子中,他用單數字若有一個人要跟從我

2作主門徒要有正確優先次序﹕對一個決定作主門徒的人,耶穌提出第一個條 件;捨己。這裏的捨己,不是指沒有自己,或是自己毫無價值,乃是將自己 放在比耶穌次一等的位置,這是優先次序的問題,你人生中誰最重要?你自己? 還是耶穌?人生過程中有不少事是會互相衝突的。一個真正跟從耶穌的人,當他自 己的旨意,利益,方式,與耶穌的旨意,利益方式有衝突時,耶穌說﹕這人應該 將自己放在次要地位。句子中的字,表示這條件是絕對的,不可缺少的。

3作主門徒必須付代價﹕除了我們的得救不必付代價之外(因為耶穌為我們付了 贖罪代價)屬靈的成長是要付代價的。兩千年的教會歷史顯示,從來沒有一個人可 以不付價而成為屬靈的偉人或榜樣,不付代價而在屬靈上成熟,結果子榮耀神。所 付的代價和人的成長常常是成正比的﹕代價越高,成長越堅強。耶穌說﹕若有人 決定要跟從我,他不只要將自己放在次要地位,他並且要背起他的十字架,來跟從 我。 背十字架表示學效主的自我犧牲。在許多日常生活上,如果你想成功,必 須肯犧牲。例如作上好運動員,軍人,音樂家,科學家等,你要犧牲許多個人嗜 好,花許多時間,心力,放棄許多別人可以有的自由,作主門徒也是一樣。

4作主門徒是跟從耶穌在耶穌時代,跟從一位拉比不是只作他的學生,聽他 講話。作門徒乃是一生的鍛練,效法,學習拉比的思想,態度,作人方式,價值觀 點。當一個人決志作主門徒時,他不只要將主放在第一位,他並且天天學習像 。跟從他的人生方向,作人作事方式,評論事物所用的標準,人若不肯天天跟 從主,就不是主的門徒。

 

為什麼要跟從耶穌?跟從耶穌既然要這麼大代價,為何有人還肯跟從他呢?

1因為耶穌是真神﹕這是跟從耶穌和信仰別宗教的最大分別。盡管許多宗教各有 長處,教主也是好人,但別的宗教只是在尋求真神,而跟從耶穌卻是跟從神。約翰 作福音書一開始就介紹耶穌說﹕太初有道,道與神同在,道就是神。(11)盡 管別宗教的教主真心誠意,但只有耶穌才是神。如果人要跟從神,就必須跟從耶 穌。

2因為耶穌有永生﹕當跟從耶穌之人中有人離開他時,耶穌就問他的十二個門徒 是否他們也會離開。彼得代表眾門徒說﹕主呀,你有永生之道,我們還要跟從誰 呢?(約666-68)各種宗教有各種道理,教訓,許多有很好倫理價值,但只有 耶穌的道才有永生,才能領人歸向真神,這是信從耶穌和信從別宗教的另一大分 別。

3耶穌是好牧人﹕這是耶穌對自己身份的描寫。他說﹕我是好牧人,好牧人為羊 捨命。(約1011)在這章聖經中,耶穌描寫好牧人的責任;引導,帶領,保 護,供應跟從他的羊。跟從耶穌是只有得著,萬無一失

4耶穌是真光﹕約翰為耶穌作見証說﹕他就是那光,是真光,照亮生在世上的 人。19)聖經所說的光,是指真理,方向,其知識和釋放。歷史上千萬人都 在尋求這些,宗教家,哲學家,日夜找的都在耶穌身上。人類生下來就有尋求真理 的本性,想知道人生的意義,正確的方向,認識神的知識,脫離罪的能力,這一切 都從耶穌而來,都在耶穌身上找到。

 

結論﹕1耶穌召我們作門徒﹕自從耶穌選召十二門徒起,他就不斷呼召人跟從他,他要 每個信他的人不只作信徒,乃是要長進作門徒。信耶穌可以得永生,作門徒卻是效 法耶穌的生命,使別人從我們身上可以看見這位救主,這是真正領人得永生最有力 的見証。

2得生命,不是得世界﹕耶穌指出人生最終極的選擇,他說﹕人若得到全世界, 卻失去生命,有什麼益處呢?(約836-37)作個忠心跟從耶穌的門徒不是為別 人好,也不是為耶穌好,乃是為你自己的好處,得回你的生命(靈魂),世上人所 可能得的一切,無法換取你的靈魂,今天你就要作個聰明的選擇。

3你若未曾信耶穌﹕你今天就應當信耶穌,這是作門徒的第一步,人若未信他, 就無法跟從他,你相信耶穌之後,可以立志作個跟從他的門徒,你的家人,朋友就 可以從你身上看見耶穌,因此得救。這就是耶穌所說﹕你們就是我的見証,大使 命的起點是從你作門徒開始。

“FROM BELIEVERS TO DISCIPLES”                   By Pastor YAU

Text: Mark 8:34-38; Matthew 4:19                           September 24, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   “I may consider it.” A close friend asked Gandhi, the legendary prime minister of India, “Since you admire Christ so much, why don’t you become a Christian?” He replied, “When I meet a Christian who is a true disciple of Christ, I may consider it.” But isn’t it what a Christian supposed to be—a true disciple of Christ?

2)   A disguised disciple: Dr. Joe Stowell, former president of Moody Bible Institute, wrote in his book: Following Christ, “Many of us who claimed to be followers of Christ live out our faith as though Christ exists to follow us instead of we follow Him. We come to believe that Christ exists to satisfy our needs and demands. This disguised form of self-serving religion sets Christ up as one more commodity in life to enhance and empower our dreams.”

 

REASONS SOME PEOPLE GO TO CHURCH:

1)     It is fashionable: Once I read an article in a Chinese website which asked a soul searching question: Why do many Chinese from China go to church in the U.S.? One of the reasons the writer suggested was: because it is fashionable. Going to church on Sundays is the culture of the land: better than get up late, go out to lunch, play marjong or other meaningless routines in the afternoon. While it is better to go to church on Sundays than going gambling or shopping, if one goes to church for that reason, he will miss the most important part of doing so. Being in fashion is not bad but that should not be the reason of going to church.

2)     It is a place to social: To the recent comers to this country, being with “my own people”, speaking “my language”, “meeting my friends”, are important parts of life in a strange country. It is important for an ethnic church to provide a place where people of similar background may feel more comfortable to congregate and promote friendship, culture, tradition or just be there. But a church is not a civic center or a place of social activity where people go because of cultural, language or social purposes.

3)     It is beneficial: A church should be able to provide support for her people in many ways but following Jesus for the purpose of getting something is not what Jesus meant when He found the church. There are some so called Christians who accept Jesus for the purpose of “having Jesus by my side to help me when I need Him.” Jesus is not a Genie whom you may command in your time of needs. God is never our servant but we are His. Some may go to church to find girl friends. Others may go to build “guangxi” for personal benefits. Still others go to church looking for position of leadership, power or recognition.

4)     It is good for my kids: It is true that many churches have programs that are good for kids and youth: Bible study class, group activities, programs that encourage character building and healthy life style and habits just to name a few. But churches are not training grounds for youth and children only. Parents should not use the church as a children sitting place where they can drop their kids off and they can go and do something else without kids bothering them. It is important that parents are involved with their kids and youth when they are learning and growing. Churches are good for everyone in the family, not just for kids.

 

JESUS ASKS MORE THAN THAT: What did He ask of a disciple?

1)   It is a personal decision: This is what Jesus mentioned first when he started talking about people who want to follow him. The verb in Greek text means “wish, want, decide,” and all indicate a personal choice. No one can make that decision for you except yourself.  Following Jesus is not a popular contest, not following a crowd, not because it is fashionable or because of someone else but you. It is your personal response to the call of Jesus the same way he called his disciples. Christianity is not built on mass movements but on individual commitments. That is why Jesus used a singular pronoun “any one” in his call.

2)   It is about priority: When Jesus set the conditions on following him, he asked that we “deny” ourselves to following him. “Denial” doesn’t mean “non-existence” or “worthless” but means “place it under” or “secondary”. It is about priority: about who or what is the primary purpose of your life. Life comes with many elements and often times they are in conflict of each other. A true follower of Jesus will always place Jesus and his interest on top of his list of priority at the expense of his own interest and that is true “denial.” The adverb “must” indicates that self-denial is not an option but a pre-requisite.

3)   It is about paying a price: Apart from salvation which was paid in full by the blood of Jesus, spiritual growth is always about paying a price. Through the history of Christian church, no one became a strong follower without paying a price and the size of the price is in accordance with his level of commitment. When Jesus asked that his followers “carry his cross”, he meant “bear the burden of self sacrifice.” This is true in many areas of worthy pursuit: sports, music, military, scientific research, just to name a few. Anyone who is serious on his pursuit, he must pay a price to be the best he can be. Same is required of a true follower of Jesus.

4)   It is about “following” Jesus: In Jesus time, a follower of a rabbi is more than a student who learns from a teacher. It is a process of life transformation, imitation of life purpose, style, value and mind-set. A true follower of Christ is a “mini-Christ” in form and substance. He will follow Christ’ steps, values, life style, ways of handling things and people, purpose and direction. This “following Christ” comes after he has denied himself and is willing to carry his cross, his share of self sacrifice. Without those pre-requisites he can’t truly be a follower.

 

WHY FOLLOWING JESUS? If following Christ involves so much high costs, why would anyone want to follow him?

1)     Jesus is God: This is the biggest difference between following Jesus and following other founders of religion, philosophy or political system. While many of the founders of religions were respectable people, all they tried to do was searching to know about God. But Jesus was God to begin with. When John began to introduce Jesus, he said, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” (John 1:1) Why would anyone want to follow some other religious founders who may be sincere in search of God when he has Jesus as God he can follow?

2)     Jesus is eternal life: When many of his followers turned back from following him, Jesus asked the Twelve if they want to leave him too. Being the assumed spokesman of the Twelve, Simon Peter answered Jesus, “Lord, whom shall we follow? You have the words of eternal life.” (John 6:66-68) All religious founders have their own words and many of them contain ethical or moral values. But none of them had words like the words of Jesus that leads to eternal life with God. This is another important difference between following Jesus and following other religions. No words of other religious founder offer eternal life except the words of Jesus.

3)     Jesus is the good shepherd: When Jesus described his relationship with his followers, he said, “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” (John 10:11) In fact, from 10:1-16, Jesus detailed his role as a good shepherd that he will lead, protect and provide for his sheep. Following Jesus is not something to lose but everything to gain.

4)     Jesus is the light: In a personal testimony given by John, he called Jesus the light, “The true light that gives light to every man.” (1:9) In the Bible, light represents truth, direction, knowledge and life without the bondage of sin. All these are objects of earnest seeking by countless sincere but ignorant religionists and philosophers. Man was born with the yarning for truth, knowledge of self and all about the world, right direction for his life so he won’t live his life in the bondage of sin. You can have all these if you are committed to follow Jesus.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)    We are called to follow: As Jesus called the 12 disciples to carry on his mission of salvation for mankind he continues to call all Christians to be followers, not just believers. To believe is to be saved. To follow is to portray the life of Jesus so others may see him and be saved. This is the only way to accomplish the mission Jesus has entrusted us.

2)    Gain life, not the world: Jesus laid out a final choice for us: “What good is it for a man to gain the whole world yet forfeit his soul? What can a man give in exchange for his soul?” (8:36-37) To be a faithful disciple of Jesus is not to benefit Jesus or others but to benefit yourself, your own soul. Nothing you may gain in this world may exchange for your soul. Make a wise choice.

3)    If you have not yet believed: You need to take the first step to be a follower of Jesus and it is to accept him as your Lord and Savior. Then you need to make a life commitment to be a true follower of him so others like your family and friends may see him through you and be saved. This is how the mission of Jesus is to be accomplished: one follower at a time, starting from you.