我们是家人(9/5/04)

哥林多前书2:12-27

尤牧师

 

引言: 最近同工会的会议主要项目是为2004-2006年度的选举新同工提名. 在提名时大家都注意新血及三种语言有平衡的代表及贡献. 其主要目标是每个会友都是教会的家人, 每个对教会的成长都重要, 都应有参与和贡献.

这事使我记起上面这段经文, 正如所有教会一样, 我们的教会是主耶稣的身体. 每个会友是整体教会不可缺少的重要肢体. 教会的健康和成长, 有赖于各会员肢体对身体的贡献和功能.

 

全部肢体都属于同一的身体 (12:12-14)

经文中所提及的身体是指哥林多教会, 各肢体是指该教会的各个会员. 12-14这三节经文的重点是归属感, 是每个肢体都应有的. 虽然我们的出身, 背景, 语言, 文化各有不同, 我们必须有归属感使我们可以建成一个身体, 使教会能健康地成长.

人人都明白归属感的重要, 不论是婚姻, 家庭, 职业, 社会, 甚至国家都需要归属感. 当成员有强烈的归属感时, 人们就会尽心尽力为整体的利益努力, 他们会作得最好, 会期望最大的成功. 教会必须实行广泛容纳, 使每个会员都有归属感.

 

各个肢体有它独特的贡献 (12:15-17)

圣经的教导十分清楚: 每个会员都有他独特的贡献和功能; 不是全部肢体都一样, 这观念对教会的发展十分重要. 教会要明白会众的背景各不相同, 并且神托付各人有不同的恩赐和能力. 圣经借用人体的各肢体来表达教会中各会众是十分合宜的. 我们各有不同, 但各人对整体的利益都重要.

这使我们看到每个肢体的责任. 各人必须寻找, 了解, 发掘并使用各人独有的恩赐和功能, 使教会更健康, 更强壮. 这是各肢体的权利和义务. 没有人可以感觉到他不重要, 没有可以推卸责任和义务. 任何不肯参与, 不肯贡献的肢体, 只会对身体(教会)造成伤害.

 

神有主权将我们配搭在一起(12:18)

主耶稣对我们教会大施恩惠. 尽管我们是华人教会, 开始时只是向广东话的华侨传福音, 神却将不同肤色, 不同语言的人配搭在一起. 我们有学问不高的人, 有受高深教育的, 有从旧中国来的, 也有从新中国来的, 有香港, 台湾和东南亚来的, 还有一大群土生土长的. 这教会就象美国一样, 是个大熔炉. 每个人带进各人的特长, 使教会在合一中成长.

每个会员都应该对不同的肢体表示敬重, 支持和重视. 合一的基础是建立在彼此接纳和欣赏上面.

 

我们要互补不足(12:19-23)

使徒保罗借用身体及各肢体间的关系来说明一个真理: 没有任何肢体可以独立生存而不需要别的肢体. 尽管有些肢体比别的更光彩, 俊美, 但它的功能仍需要和别的肢体一同操作才产生功效. 每个肢体都会补足别的肢体的欠缺和不足, 各肢体必须彼此依赖, 才使整体得益处.

我们在这教会里不是为自己的利益或好处, 我们乃是要彼此相顾, 互相支持, 守望相助去促进和满足各人的需要. 在教会中, 优越感是没有地位的. 我们所有的一切, 成为怎么样的人, 都是住所赐的, 没有人可以誇口.

 

结论:

在以佛所书2:19-20, 使徒保罗鼓励全体信徒注意一个事实:我们不再作外人和客人, 乃是于圣徒同国, 是神家里的人, 并且被建造在耶酥为房角石的根基上. 我诚心地祷告, 切望我们教会, 或任何主的教会中的成员, 都会听从圣经的教导, 对主的教会效忠. 教会的前途, 不论是普世教会或是个别教会, 都有赖每个会众的心志, 参与和忠心.

“WE ARE FAMILY”                                            By Pastor YAU

I Corinthians 12:12-27                                     September 7, 2004

 

INTRODUCTION: At our recent Church council meeting on august 17, the main item of business was nominating people for the Council election for 2004-2006.  One emphasis in the process was searching for NEW blood from all three language groups that all groups will have representation and contribution to the ministry of the church.  The core idea is that we are all in the family of God and each member has his/her importance in the well-being of the church.

       The even led me to the Scripture passage selected today’s message, Our church, as well as any church anywhere, is the body of Christ. Every member of this church is an integral of this body and the well being of this body depends largely on the proper functioning of the members. This is the main message of the passage.

 

ALL MEMBERS BELONG TO THE SAME BODY: (12:12-14)

       The body mentioned in the passage is the church at Corinth, a local congregation, and members of the body are members of that church. The theme of these three verses is the SENSE OF BELONGING that all members of any church need to have. Even though we all come from diverse backgrounds, culture and languages, we need to have the COMMON BOND to bind us together for the health of the church.

       The importance of SENSE OF BELONGING needs no explanation. We all know its importance in marriage, family, workplace, society and nation. When people feel they BELONG, they will work hard, give their best and have the best hope for the body. It is very important that the body be inclusive of all members, big and small, to enhance the sense of belonging.

 

EACH MEMBER HAS HIS/HER UNIQUE CONTRIBUTION: (12:15-17)

       The passage is clear that each member has its unique function and contribution to the body.  They do not all have the same function and this is a very important concept in a church. We need to recognize the diversity of the people and the different gifts God has invested in them. The Bible uses body parts of a human body to illustrate the diversity of church members. We are all different but we are important to the body of Christ.

       This leads to the responsibility of each member to know, to develop and to make proper use of his/her unique function for the betterment of the church to which he/she belongs. It is a privilege as well as responsibility for all members to feel this way and go his/her best that the church will grow and function properly as the Lord asks of us. No one is to feel that he/she is not important or has no responsibility in the body.  Any one who idles or withholding his/her participation will hurt the total well being of the body.

 

GOD, IN HIS SOVEREIGNTY, PUTS US TOGETHER: (12:18)

       The Lord has mercy in our church. Even though we are a Chinese church, began the ministry among the Cantonese speaking many years ago, He has brought to us people from different racial, educational, economic and linguistic backgrounds. We have people who may not have  graduated from high school on one hand and those with degrees after degrees after their names on the other. We have people from the old China, the new China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, southeastern Asian countries and those whom we called them ABCs, the American Born Chinese. This church, like our nation, is a melting pot. Everyone brings to this church his/her unique contribution to make this church an example of unity in diversity.

       It is very important for each member to admire, to respect and to uphold others who is different from him/her. Acceptance and appreciation are important to build true unity and harmony that is essential to the good health of the church.

 

WE ARE HERE TO SUPPLEMENT EACH OTHER: (12:19-23)

       Using the bodily function as analogy, the apostle Paul stressed the fact that NO one part of the body is all self-sufficient of independent of others. Even though some parts are more visible than others, each part, no matter how small or invisible is VITAL to the total well being of the whole body. Each part is to supplement or compliment the insufficiency of others and all are important to each other.

       We are not here in a church for our own good or interest. We are here to uphold each other and to look after one another and to meet needs of each other. Sense of superiority is never a Christian attitude.  All that we have and who we are, we owe it to the Lord who is the sole source of our existence.

 

CONCLUSION:  In Ephesians 2:19-20, Apostle Paul encouraged all Christians to see the fact that “we are no longer foreigners nor strangers, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household, built on the foundation of Jesus Christ, the chief cornerstone.”  My prayer is that all who are members of this church, as well as members of any church, will hear these words and be committed to the commands of the Lord. The future of a local congregation and the Christian movement depends largely on us, members of the body of Christ.