期望面面觀 (尤牧師)

經文﹕提摩太後書416-18 2006820

 

引言﹕1一個個人的經歷﹕有一位作家描寫他對期望的經歷: 在我長大期間我學到許 多道理,其中一個就是: 不要對別人有太多期望。許多時候,我們對某一件事掏盡 心血,對某人盡情付出,對某個友誼盡心竭力,結果事情的發展遠遠不如理想,別 人的回應全無或是微不足道。甚至有人爭去你勞力的結果,或者有人根本不珍惜你 向他付出的。他說;如果你期望得到你認為該得的回報,你一定會大失所望,甚 至大受傷害。你會自問: 我所得 回報就是這些嗎?

2一個痛心的故事﹕在那令你痛心疾首時,你能回頭看看你的動機,檢查你的態 度,是否你認為你該得的沒得到?或是別人忽略了你的付出,沒有給你相對的讚 賞?你能否作到只問付出,不計較回報?讓別人有自由去決定他應該如何回報你, 而你不加要求。使徒保羅的一生盡忠職守,為主犧牲無人能及,竭盡心力為救人靈 魂,但在他最需要人留下來與他同面對困境時,需要有人肯站在他旁邊給他一點支 持的時候,那些人全都丟棄他,離開他,讓他獨自去面對人生中最艱難的時刻,人 的期望很可能使你痛心疾首。

 

期望面面觀﹕

1它是動力的源頭﹕人人都知道希望是人生非常重要的一環。人不止活在今天, 人也為明天而活。我們今天勤勞工作,希望有個更好的明天,我們今天耕種,期望 明天有好收成,我們投入時間,心血,感情,期望對方會對你更好。希望的根本就 是期望(期待)。人生若沒有希望或期待,就是絕望,人就失去活下去的動力。

2它是生存意志的動力﹕在各種生存動力中,期待最有能量,它推動我們付出, 投入,向前,作得更多,爬得更高,挖得更深,跑得更遠。人心中與生俱來的 心理會驅使我們今天作得好,明天會有更好的收獲,期待更好的生活,更親密 的關係,更滿足的心靈,這些都是人生的重要動力。

3它也是無法預料的﹕期望是個人的,故此會有主觀成份。雖然一些事物會有自 然律在內,你撒一粒種子,只要好好澆灌,它就會發芽。但許多促成期望成事實的 外在因素,不是你能了解的,更不必說能控制了,你可以期望,但無法保証會有結 果。這現象在對人的期望上更明顯常見,在世界上人是最不可測,最善變的。不管 你從你的立場多麼盡心,努力,付出,投入,但對方如何反應,是你絕對無法預料 或控制的。你所期望的,有可能永遠不會來,或永遠與你想像的會不一樣。

4它常帶來傷痛﹕如果你是個正常看事情,頭腦清醒的人,你會發現,絕大多數 的期望若不是完全落空,就是面目全非,與你心中期望得到的大不相同,你會感到 傷痛。人是自相矛盾的,一方面,人人都有期望,另一方面,卻在期望落空時受傷 害,若不是完全失望,就是差距太遠。如果你不想受傷害,最好是不要有期望,或 只期一點點。

 

從保羅的經歷學功課﹕再一次唸今天的經文,嘗試設身處地,想像保羅被人丟棄的心情。當他最需要朋友時,他們全都離棄他。

1一個忠勇的精兵﹕當保羅回顧他的一生和他對主的呼召那種至死忠心的心志, 他說﹕我現在被澆奠,離世的時候到了,那美好的仗我打過了,當跑的路我跑盡 了,所信的道我守住了。從今以後,有公義的冠冕為我存留。(提後46-7)在 他的記憶中,沒有一件事使我覺得遺憾,他對得起主,也對得起人,他竭盡所能完 成神對他的托付。

2一個孤單的囚犯﹕當他面對人生最後一刻時,他所信賴的朋友都離開他,在他 心中只有一片空白。只要你看他如何迫切希望提摩太作伴。他說﹕你要趕緊到我 這裏來,因為底馬貪愛現今的世界,就離棄我往帖撒羅尼迦去了。革勒士往加拉太 去,提多往撻馬太去,獨有路加在我這裏。(提後49-11)當人不滿足我們的 期望時,總有他們的理由,你可能不同意,但你不能難阻別人的決定,特別是當那 些你最愛,最信任的人,使你期望落空時,真會叫你痛不欲生。

3在你最需要的時刻﹕當你的處境越差時,你對人的期望會越多。在你的人生走 到最難的日子時,你會對那些你平時最愛,最信任,投入最多的人最多期望,你期 望他們會了解你,同情你,站在你身邊支持你,扶持你渡過最黑暗的時刻,保羅也 這樣期望。但當他面對初次申訴,大部份他認為會留下來幫助他的人都離開他。 416)這些人是保羅最親密的朋友,但事實是他們竟然都離棄我,是不是保 羅對那些人的期望過高?我認為不是。

4保羅卻不孤單﹕這是我們對主耶穌應有的期望,我們的主是昨日,今日,以後 到永遠,都不會改變。他絕對不會離棄屬他的人,特別是當他們遭遇困境時更是不 會,保羅作見証說﹕唯有主站在我旁邊,加給我力量。417)當保羅看不見 一位朋友站在他旁邊時,他看見主就在他旁邊,加他力量,去經過人生最黑暗的時 刻。當你對人的期望落空時,神會親自與你同在,填滿人留下的空缺。

 

如何正確地處理期望?

1人人都有權期望﹕正如希望一樣,期望是人生過程中很重要的一環,是人生向 前,向上活得更好,更美,更光明的明天。今天你作得更好,期望明天有更好的收 獲,這是正確的人生方向。用努力,代價,去支持你的期望。你不但要有好期望, 更需要好的代價,才不會是空調的如意算盤,今天要活得積極有力,有衝勁,才會 有更好的明天。

2保持期望合實際﹕你要有週詳的考慮,想到一切的可能性,好的,壞的,都要 作準備,因為許多因素會影響你所期望的是否實現。結果未必如你所願。不要將期 望定得太高,根本沒有可能實際。了解人性和事情的發展規律,不要對任何人期望 太高,否則你會受傷害,沒有人會滿足或作到你對他一切的 期望。

3不要只有一個期望﹕你要準備第二計劃,若你的期望不成功時,你才不會走 進死胡同。不可將全部期望放在一個人或一件事上面。人生有太多不可預測的變 化,轉變,和意想不到的事發生。人人都會變,你會變,別人也會,沒有人要對你 的期望負責,也沒有人必要符合你的期望不可,當有人不符合你的期望時,你必需 有第二條路可走,使你能繼續活下去。只有你能為你自己負責。

4將一切期望放在神身上﹕如果你真的相信神是全愛,全知,全能和全智,你應 該可以將你全部的期望放在他身上。神永不變心,永不失信,永不逃跑。他永不撇 下你,特別是當你落在黑暗日子時。只要你到他面前來,他總不丟棄你。他的愛使 他會全神貫注你的缺乏,他永遠以你的利益為重,他能夠滿足你一切的缺乏。神是 我們唯一合理的期望。只要你相信他,他永不失信。

 

結論﹕1人生不能沒有期望﹕對期望的人,是希望,對被期望的人是責任和挑戰。人人 應該有合理的期望,才使人生有目標,有動力。各人對自己也應該有期望,使自 己更上進,更有效果,更向前。對人,對事,對自己有期望是應該的。

2面對期望的難題﹕期望是個人的,也是主觀的。個人的期望,未必是別人的期 望。期望是主觀的,有可能不合現實,也有可能是錯誤的。當期望的人或事不如你 所想的,你會受傷,關係會破裂。人人都要有心理準備。

3最可靠的期望對象﹕神才是我們一切期望最可靠的對象,不論是人,事物,他 都能作。正如他站在保羅旁邊給他力量,神也會站在你旁邊加你力量,當你日子 最黑暗,前路茫茫時,你可以信任神的同在和引導,盡管別人會改變,會離開,神 永遠不改變,也不離開你,你只要相信他,接受他作你生命之主,他就永不離開 你。

“FACES OF EXPECTATION”                                By Pastor YAU

Text: 2 Timothy 4:16-18                                           August 20, 2006

 

INTRODUCTION:

1)   A personal experience: A writer described his personal insight on expectation like this: “One of the things I’ve learned as I have grown older is not to expect too much from people,” He said. “It’s possible for us to pour a good deal of energy and love into a relationship, a family member or a friendship and receive little or no response or growth or gratitude for our efforts. It’s even possible that others may get all the credit for the work we’ve done.” He also said, “If we expect people to respond the way we deserve or to recognize and appreciate what we have done, we will certainly be deeply hurt. Then we will begin to ask, ‘Is this all I get?’”

2)   A sad story: It is good in those times of disappointment to look at our motive, to examine our attitude of entitlement or to see if there is a passion to be seen and applauded for our efforts. Can we give freely and allow others to take their responsibility for their own responses? The Apostle Paul went through times in his faithful and sacrificial service for the Lord, poured out his heart to people around him but when he was in desperate need of support everyone forsook and left him to face the most difficult moments of his life. All that expectation may bring us is heartbreaking.

 

FACES OF EXPECTATION:

1)    It is the essence of hope: Hope it a big part of human experience. We do not just live for today but also for tomorrow. We work hard today in hope of a better tomorrow. We plant today, hoping growth and harvest tomorrow. We invest time, energy, emotion on a relationship, hoping it will bring results tomorrow. The essence of hope rests squarely on expectation. Without hope or expectation, life will be hopeless without much incentive.

2)    It is a powerful motivation: Among all the driving forces of life, expectation or hope is one of the most powerful forces that pushed us to do more, get higher, dig deeper and go further. The law of cause and effect which is deeply embedded in our life motivates us to put out our best today expecting results tomorrow. Expecting a better life, a sweeter relationship, a more rewarding satisfaction on what we do are all powerful motivating forces of life.

3)    It is also a risky business: Expectation is personal and subjective. Although there are some natural laws that may provide degrees of confidence: you plant a seed and expect to see the sprout, there are many unknown conditions way beyond our control to guarantee the kind of results we expect to have. This is particularly true when our expectations focus on people. Nothing in this world can change faster or more unpredictable than human beings. We may do all we can and expect results from our stand point but how others may respond is always unpredictable and in most cases way beyond our control. There is always a risk our expectation will never come or if it does come it is not exactly what we expect.

4)    It is mostly hurting: If you are a fair and balanced person, you will find out that more often than not, most expectations failed far short of what we want them to be and that hurts. Human beings are contradicting themselves. On the one hand we all have expectation. On the other hand we feel hurt when our expectations are not met or fulfilled and it happens more often than we want them to. It is nothing wrong to have expectation but we need to be prepared to accept the fact that most expectations just never measure up to. If you don’t want to get hurt, expect less or nothing.

 

ON THE CASE OF PAUL: Read the text of today again and try to feel how Paul felt when he was abandoned by those whom he expected will stand with him when he needed them the most. 

1)      A faithful soldier: When Paul looked back on his life and his commitment to the mission God has called him to, he said, “For I am already being poured out like a drink offering and the time has come for my departure. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race and I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness.” (2 Tim. 4:6-7) Nothing in his heart or memory would make he regret of his life. He had been faithful to his call and had done what all he could.

2)      A lonely prisoner: When he faced the last days of his life, most, if not all, of those who were with him had left him leaving an empty space in his heart. See how much he longed to have company of Timothy when he said, “Do your best to come to me as soon as you can. For Demas, because he loved this world, has deserted me and has gone to Thessalonica. Crescens has gone to Galatia, and Titus to Dalmatia. Only Luke is with me.” (4:9-11) When people did not meet our expectation, they all have their reasons we may not agree. It is heartbreaking especially when those whom we have most confidence turn out to be much less than they really are.

3)      In time of need: We expect more when time is desperate and urgent. We usually expect those whom we love and trust the most to stand with us in time of pain and trial. But when Paul was facing his first defense, all those whom he expected to stand by him and support him had deserted him. “At my first defense, no one came to my support but everyone deserted me.” (4:16) These were the people who knew Paul and his life. They were the best support and defense Paul needed at the time. But “everyone” has deserted him, not even one had stayed. Had Paul expected too much of these people? You make the judge. I don’t think so.

4)      Not exactly alone: That is what we can expect on our Lord Jesus Christ. He is the same yesterday, today and forever. He will never desert His people especially those who are faithful to His call. Paul said, “But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength.” (4:17) When Paul saw no one was there to support him and was disheartened, he saw the Lord stood by him and gave him strength to go through the defense. When our expectation on people fails, God will make it up with His presence.

 

HOW TO HANDLE EXPECTATION?

1)   Do not hesitate to expect: Like hope, expectation is important in real life and we need to have that to motivate us for a better and brighter tomorrow. Do our best today and expect good results tomorrow. Support your expectation with good work, not just good wishes. Keep your expectation alive and for a vibrant life today.

2)   Keep expectations realistic: Consider all the possibilities, both positive and negative, that may affect the outcome of expectation. Things may not happen exactly the way we want them to. Do not expect something that is highly impossible. Understand the nature of people and environment. Do not over expect on anyone or you will certainly be hurt. No one can meet all your expectations.

3)   Always have a Plan 2: We need to have plan 2 on our expectation just in case plan 1 doesn’t work. Do not put all your expectations on one person or one thing. Life is full of unexpected twists and turns. We all change so as others. No one is responsible to meet all of your expectations. When they don’t, you need to have a plan to continue to live and live well. It is your life. No one is responsible except you. Never put all your eggs in one basket.

4)   Place all expectations on God: If you really believe that God is all loving, all powerful and all knowing, you certainly can place all your expectations on Him. For God never change his mind or takes back his promises. He will never leave us especially when we need him the most. He will never turn us away when we come to him for help. His love will cause him to do the best for our good and his power will cause him to provide our every need. God is our only most realistic expectation and hope. In Him, we can never fail.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Expectation is important: To the one who expects, it is hope. To those who are being expected, it is a duty or challenge. We need to have healthy expectation to keep life driving forward. We also need to have expectation on us to keep us do better, go further. It is not wrong to expect someone, something or ourselves. When you lost expectation on anything or anyone, tomorrow doesn’t mean anything to you and life has lost its purpose to continue.

2)   Facing the problems of expectation: Expectation is mostly personal and subjective. It is personal therefore others may not share our points of view. It is subjective therefore we may be bias, unrealistic or even totally wrong. When things and people do not measure up to our expectation, someone may get hurt and relationships turn sour.

3)   The bedrock of all expectations: God is the bedrock of all of our expectations, be it on things or people or anything else. Just as He stood by Paul when everyone else deserted Paul, God is there with him through the most difficult moments. You always can count on God to be there with you no matter how others may fail you. Trust Him and expect Him to be with you when you need Him. Jesus made this promise: “Whoever comes to me I will never drive him away.” (John 6:37)