揀選幫手 (尤牧師)

經文﹕使徒行傳 61-7 2008914

 

引言﹕

1)          聖經的真實情況﹕有些聖經學者和牧師認為早期教會是完美的,沒有任何問題的,值得今天教會去效法的榜樣,其實不是這樣。早期教會也有許多問題,難處和缺點,像今天的教會一樣。耶路撒冷的第一個教會就面臨內部困擾,像今天許多教會一樣,他們需要揀選一些人出來幫忙解決問題,是人人可見的事實。

2)          今天的現實情況﹕人人都知道社會在不斷改變,人們的需求也不斷在增加,教會的工作,組織,越來越多越複雜,需要更多信徒參與是一個迫切的現實情況,假如沒有信徒肯挺身而出,樂意幫助,沒有任何教會能順利發展,更不必說要完成主所吩咐的大使命。從會眾中揀選人作幫手不止符合聖經,乃是教會的健康發展不可缺少的要素。

 

幫手面面觀﹕

1)          這是神的方法﹕儘管神有無限能力去作任何事,他卻選擇通過揀選的人去完成他的計劃,工作和旨意。神揀選亞伯拉罕,摩西,以利亞和舊約眾多先知是個明顯的見証。我們看見耶穌揀選十二門徒,將大使命交托他們,將教會交托給彼得和他的同伴。我們可以看出來;神喜歡揀選合適的人作他的幫手。今天教會揀選人作幫助,不是因為誰懶惰,乃是因為這是神作事的方式。

2)          這是為了服務﹕今天的經文是新約聖經中第一次選幫手的記錄,後來有譯作執事(羅馬書127)原文希臘文的意思是服事人食飯的人,今天我們稱為待應僕人。這是指這些人作什麼,不是指這些人是什麼。今天的教會將僕人和待應稱為執事,儼然是教會中領袖的頭頭,擁有一般會眾沒有的地位和權柄,這是完全不合聖經原則的看法和作法。這個觀念十分重要:人被揀選出來是為了作事,服務,不是為了地位和權柄。

3)          這是為了分工﹕在任何組織,包括教會,要達到更好效果,分工合作是十分重要的方式。耶城教會需要揀選人負責飯食的調配,不是因為彼得和其他使徒不懂得調配飯食之事,乃是神揀選他們去作別的工作;祈禱和傳道的事。神揀選不同的人去作不同的事,這並不指出那事比這事重要,卻是都對神的國度有貢獻,神指派的工作雖有同等價值,但卻各有不同責任,不同貢獻。

4)          這是為神子民﹕有人或會認為使徒們以祈禱傳道,領人信主的事重要,因為這是救人靈魂的事。但事實上,在教會中解決問題,滿足缺乏,去建立已信的人的靈命,使教會更和平,合作,發展,一樣重要。教會內部問題不解決,爭執不平息,靈性不成長,終必會影響到教會的健康和成長,影響到完成主的大使命。教會裏面的人與外面未信的人一樣重要。保羅就勸早期教會要向眾人行善,對信徒一家的人,更當這樣。(加拉太書610

 

錯誤的揀選原則﹕

1)          不可看才幹﹕不少人揀選幫手是看人的才幹,但這卻不合聖經原則。人人都知道才幹對工作有大幫助,但在神的教會中,才幹不是第一重要。任何正常人都可以學習,熟練任何才幹。

2)          不可看地位﹕有些教會或機構喜歡選一些在社會有名望,地位的人當董事, 顧問,或詢問團,因為這些人的地位,名望會增加教會或機構的形象,被人尊重,這乃是非常屬世的作法,不合聖經。

3)          不可看金錢﹕另一個揀選教會幫手的試探是看人的財富。當然教會需要錢財才能作事,但看錢財去揀選幫手是十分錯誤的作法,也是危險的作法,金錢不一定使人合乎主用。

4)          不要看人情﹕看人情去揀選教會幫手是另一個危險作法。有人什麼都不看,只看他喜不喜歡這個人,或這人是我親戚,好友,我就選他。人情友誼是好事,但在揀選教會幫手時,不能用人情友誼為標準。

 

正確的揀選原則﹕(參看今天的經文)

1)          因有實在需要﹕當教會有事情需要作的時候,我們必須揀選人去作。任何忽略教會工作的需要,或是忽略為神服務的責任,只會使教會的成長受傷害。教會中每個人都當注意﹕教會有什麼事需要人去作我能為教會作什麼,然後勇敢地站出來,承擔責任。

2)          各人分擔責任﹕神召十二使徒專心以祈禱傳道為事,必需有人願意出來負責教會中別的責任,例如管理飯食,使徒們不會因飯食之事而忽略他們的主要責任。

3)          應由會眾揀選﹕聖經中有少數例子,神自己或神的僕人揀選他們的幫手,例如摩西揀選約書亞,保羅揀選提摩太。但在新約教會中,由會眾公開揀選似乎是一個主要模式。我們教會就是這樣,不少教會也是這樣。有人主張由上級指派揀選,今天有些宗派教會仍採用指派制度,如天主教,聖公會等。民選和指派各有利弊。

4)          揀選合適人選﹕合適是指屬靈程度和個人道德,應是教會揀選幫手必須注意的條件﹕被聖靈充滿,有充足智慧,大有信心。這是服事教會者應有的屬靈品格,這樣的人才會使教會成長。

5)          尋求神的祝福﹕使徒在他們頭上按手為他們禱告,表示使徒,會眾和被選的人,都必須尋求神的認可和祝福,也表示他們甘心順從神的帶領和遵行神的原則作事。

6)          看見美好果效﹕因著這些具有屬靈質素的人忠心的服事,解決了教會內部的困難爭執,教會就大大蒙祝福,神的道就更被傳開,信徒數目大大增多,並且連原日反對福音的祭司,也有許多信了這道。

 

結論

1)          準備選舉﹕今天,我們教會舉行同工會選舉,選出弟兄姐妹在各部門參與服事。我們必須遵從聖經的原則提名,投票,選出合適的人在各小組中積極參與服務。先禱告,後提名,要投票,清楚你所作的是照聖經原則和神的心意所作的。

2)          準備服事﹕從聖經中,我們沒看見任何被揀選的人拒絕或退出服事的責職和機會。忠心的信徒必須樂意隨時應召入伍,參加服事神服務人的行列。服事神的教會不只是責任,也是榮耀,這表示神祝福你,人信任你。人人都當樂意參與服事。

3)          準備相信﹕耶路撒冷教會在眾信徒中選出七位弟兄分擔教會服事的工作,這些人是早先已接耶穌為救主的人,受浸加入教會的人。你若未曾信主,或未曾受浸,今天就是你的機會。我們十月第一星期會開始初信學道班,十二月的聖誕節會有浸禮,你應當今天就決定接受耶穌,才能在不久之後參加事奉行列。

“CHOOSING HELPERS”                                 By Pastor YAU

Text: Acts 6:1-7                                                 September 14, 2008

 

INTRODUCTION:   

1)      The biblical scenario: Some scholars and pastors believe that the early churches were so good or so perfect that they deserve to be models of churches today. The fact is there were many difficulties, problems and needs in those early churches as they are today in modern day churches. The very first church in Jerusalem faced internal problems, needs and difficulties as much as any church in Christian history. Anyone who reads this passage can see that problems, needs and difficulties is not limited to churches today. The fact that the first church needed to choose helpers to handle church business is self-explanatory.

2)      The practical scenario: No one will argue that societies have changed, needs have increased and structures become more sophisticated in modern-day churches, the need of helper to carry effective ministries in today’s churches are inevitable and more compelling. No church is able to cover all the grounds or do effective ministries or growing to fulfill either the Great Commission or the daily operation without the contribution of the people in the service of the church. Choosing helpers from the people to meet the needs of the church is not just biblical, it is also essential to the growth and health of any church.

 

ALL ABOUT HELPERS:

1)     This is a godly method: With all the powers God has, He chose to do most of the things by calling and using helpers. The fact that God called and used Abraham, Moses, Elijah and all the prophets in the Old Testament to fulfill His purposes and commands. We also see that Jesus called the Twelve disciples, giving them the Great Commission and the early church history are just a few examples that God loves to call and use people to carry out His plans. We are not asking people to help the church because someone is lazy but because this is God’s way.

2)     This is about service: The very Greek word, deaconos, which was translated “deacons” in the New Testament refers to those who were chosen to serve tables in the early church which we call “waiters” or “servants” today. This is about what they do, not about a position of power or authority as some may believe and do in many churches today. This is a very important concept and biblical principle: we are chosen to serve, not to occupy a position of authority.

3)     This is about delegation: Delegation is a very important concept and approach for effective ministries. It is not because Peter and the other disciples didn’t know how to manage food distribution but because they had other things God designated them to do: prayer and preaching the word. God called different people with different tasks to build His Kingdom. While there is no difference in importance of jobs, there are differences in nature of jobs. God gives some gifts for this job, He gives gifts to some for other jobs. They are different but all are important.

4)     This is about God’s people: Some may think that prayer and preaching the word are the more important tasks of a church to reach the unsaved. But meeting to the needs of the saved is as important as the unsaved. Neglecting the needs, spiritual or otherwise, of members of the church is going to hurt the church the same way if not more. Some churches are very fervent in reaching the unsaved at the expense of neglecting to meet the needs of their members. People inside the church are as important as that on the outside. Paul encouraged the early church to care those in the household of God. (Galatians 6:10)

 

HERE ARE SOME WRONG WAYS:

1)    Not about talents: Most people will choose helper because they have talents but that’s not how it happened in the Bible. No one will argue the importance of talents needed to do things, but in God’s church and in God’s work, talents is not a prerequisite. Normal people can learn to do things if he or she is committed.

2)    Not about fame: Some churches and Christian organizations have invited people to be leaders because of their fame or name in the society. We see many para-church organizations invited big name people to be so called “Advisors” or “Board of Reference.” This is very secular in nature.

3)    Not about money: Another temptation to choose people to sit in positions is about their money. No one will argue that money is important in doing works in the church, but money alone does not qualify anyone to be chosen to serve in a church.

4)    Not about personal favor: This is a serious problem in choosing people to serve in the church: some people choose helper because they are buddies. Friendship is good and important in the church. But friendship is never the right reason we vote for someone to serve in God’s church.

 

HERE ARE SOME RIGHT WAYS: (Refer to the text today)

1)   Meeting practical needs: When there are things need to be done, we need to choose people to do them. To ignore the needs of a church or to ignore the needs to serve is going to hurt the health and growth of the church. All people in the church need to see the needs and be willing to step up to meet the needs.

2)   Share responsibilities: God called the 12 apostles for specific tasks in prayer and preaching the gospel. Others need to step up to share other responsibilities in the church so the apostles won’t be over burdened by too many responsibilities.

3)   Chosen by the people: There are few examples that helpers were chosen by God or by God appointed servants such as in the case of Moses chose Joshua and Paul chose Timothy, but in the New Testament time, helpers were chosen by the people. This is true here and has been followed through the centuries. There are pros and cons in both election or appointment methods.

4)   Choose quality people: We are talking about spiritual quality and personal integrity as the criteria of choosing people to serve in church positions. The Bible lists these qualities in choosing the seven brothers: Full of the Spirit, wisdom and faith.

5)   Seeking God’s approval: The fact that the apostles lay their hands on the helpers and prayed for them means they sought the approval, blessing and guidance of God on these elected brothers. All who are elected to serve need to seek God’s leadership and wisdom to truly do a good job. Remember we are talking about serving in God’s church. Following God’s way in doing His work is required of all church helpers.

6)   Seeing great results: With the dedicated service of the quality helpers and problems in the church solved, the Jerusalem church was blessed with many great results: The word of God spread, the number of disciples increased and even the opponents of the gospel became obedient to the faith.

 

CONCLUSION:

1)   Ready to choose: Today, we will choose many helpers to serve in church ministry positions. We need to follow the biblical guidelines when we nominate and vote to choose people to serve in committees who will carry the ministries of the church on their shoulders. Be prayerful and serious when you nominate and vote. If we do this in accordance of God’s mandate, we will see blessing of God in our church.

2)   Ready to serve: We do not see in the Bible passage anyone who was nominated to serve declined or refuse to serve. Committed Christians need to stand ready to serve God and His church when they are called. Serving the Lord and His church is both a duty and an honor and all Christians should be ready to step out and take the baton.

3)   Ready to believe: The church in Jerusalem chose seven brothers among the believers to serve the needs of the church. Those who were chosen had confessed their sins and had accepted Jesus as their Lord and Savior. To believe in Jesus and baptized into the church are prerequisites in being chosen to serve in the church. If you have not accepted Jesus, you can do it today and join the New Believers class starting in October and be baptized on Christmas Sunday, December 21.